Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tucking a shirt in

• 11-01-2009 7:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭

How do you know if a shirt should be tucked in or not? (its been so long since I've worn one!) thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Show_me_Safety

i never do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

Think if you're wearing a suit in an office should be tucked in (if you're a man - out if woman)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

DCC160 wrote: »
    Think if you're wearing a suit in an office should be tucked in (if you're a man - out if woman)

+1 -only tuck in if wearing with a suit, tucking a shirt into jeans looks awful imo, I only ever see it done really outside of Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Rule I use is - If you're wearing a jumper/top/jacket over it, tuck it in. Otherwise, leave it out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Rule I use is - If you're wearing a jumper/top/jacket over it, tuck it in. Otherwise, leave it out

Exact same, can look stupid with a shirt sticking out from under a jumper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Always tuck it in - it looks silly out and you'll look like Jeremy Clarkson! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

colly10 wrote: »
    +1 -only tuck in if wearing with a suit, tucking a shirt into jeans looks awful imo, I only ever see it done really outside of Dublin

Well I am a culchie so that must be why I thought I should tuck it. Plus it'll show off my ass :P
    Always tuck it in - it looks silly out and you'll look like Jeremy Clarkson! :eek:

Now I'm confused!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Plus it'll show off my ass :P
    Oh Brian. *Swoons*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Oh Brian. *Swoons*

/sighs

Get a room, you two! :p

Don't be jealous randy!

Thought clarkson tends to wear them in?
    When I say wear them out im talking about short shirts, shirts that go half way to the knees worn out don't look great either imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭abi2007

colly10 wrote: »

Yup I agree, has to be out unless worn with a suit. Shirts tucked in reminds me of farmers

Depends on teh shirt.

I have some which are long and hence will be tucked in, other less formal shirts are shorter and hence I wear out. A nice shirt (ie not Dunne or Jack Jones etc) will look fine tucked in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Depends on teh shirt.

I have some which are long and hence will be tucked in, other less formal shirts are shorter and hence I wear out. A nice shirt (ie not Dunne or Jack Jones etc) will look fine tucked in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭*Dallas

any kind of casual shirts should be left out. like so or like this

Dressy shirts are a little bit trickier, if your wearing around the office or to a function, you should really wear it in. like so

pub or club, dressy/casual then wear them out like so

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Dress Shirt = In
    Casual Shirt = Out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Less formal shirt is OK out, but most shirts look better tucked in, especially if you're a bit older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭antoinolachtnai

It was once observed that the difference between Radio 1 and 2FM presenters was the way in which they wore their shirts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

*Dallas wrote: »
    Dressy shirts are a little bit trickier, if your wearing around the office or to a function, you should really wear it in. like so

Brilliant advice.

As for the guy in the link quoted, tucked in shirt with white runners?

naaaah mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Jose,SpecialOne

I think I do not like shirt tucked in. That is just my opinion but it is fantastic opinion.

Be Champions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

That's good logic, smart = tucked, casual = untucked. I would never ever wear a shirt tucked in. However, what about smart / casual? Would you tuck in your shirt then? I think s/c is one of the worst ever inventions, as I only have "smart" or "casual", and nothing in between. But I guess in that case you could wear smart(ish) trousers and a slim fitting shirt tucked in. But ONLY if it was slim fitting and the wearer was slim themselves. And not with jeans.

What about big fat party animals wearing shirts untucked? When you can see the big roll of belly where it meets the trousers, but then the shirt goes on that little bit more? I would nearly say "tuck in" for someone with a big fat belly. Leaving it untucked won't make you look any slimmer, just sloppy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭noby

When you're wearing a denim shirt and jeans trying to decide whether to tuck your shirt in or not is like rearranging deck chairs on the Titanic.

As well as the smart/casual guideline age is a factor too.
    AA Gill has some strict rules on this, like by the time you reach your mid thirties you should stick to long sleeved shirts (rolled up if it's warm), tucked in. Obviously there are exceptions, but it's a good guide.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,616 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

noby wrote: »
    When you're wearing a denim shirt and jeans trying to decide whether to tuck your shirt in or not is like rearranging deck chairs on the Titanic.

agreed, but if you are wearing a denim shirt with jeans you are clearly in an american prison in the 50s so you have more to worry about than fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Listen.

Only ever tuck the shirt in if it is under a suit.

Ever.

Otherwise you will look like you are in your 40s.

Which is fine if you are.

But not if you're not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Peared wrote: »
    Listen.

Ever.

But not if you're not.

Hardly.

If you're are wearing only jeans and a shirt always have it tucked out. The shirt shouldn't go much past your belt and it should be well fitting. If you're wearing a jumper/sweater as well you should probably tuck it in (but don't always have to).

If you're going for a more formal look, like dressy casual and are wearing a pair of slacks/chinos with a shirt then tuck it in.

We live on different side of the style divide Sangre.

Although I agree tuck it in if you wear a jumper.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,616 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

The style divide of one of ye having a job the other not? I don't wear a suit to work, so I can't tuck my shirt in? You trying to get me fired?

I am looking at it from a purely girl point of view relating only to the way it looks, therefore piddling little things like getting fired matter not a jot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I agree, I'm on the correct side.

Sangre wrote: »
    I agree, I'm on the correct side. You honestly think someone wearing slacks/chinos should have his shirt tucked out?

Do you wear slacks on a night out though? You have no option in work anyway and even if you did it would be too casual/unprofessional to wear out.
    I don't think when the OP posted the question he was talking about work, work is just common sense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Listen.

Ever.

But not if you're not.

Horse ****e of the highest order :rolleyes:

It really depends on the shirt OP, if its just a casual shirt then just leave it outside. If its a more formal or dress shirt then tuck it in as it will nearly always look smarter/sharper no matter what your age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Don't be jealous randy!

This.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Listen.

Ever.

But not if you're not.

Nonsense.

I am looking at it from a purely girl point of view relating only to the way it looks, therefore piddling little things like getting fired matter not a jot.

This was the main point of the thread in fairness. I don't really know what people mean by a dress shirt though, I know of three or four shirt types;

school uniform, suit shirt, lumberjack, other. The last one is the type I had sunday.

Fellas, yiz are all getting quite excited about the shirts!

Easy knowing which way all your lads hang. So to speak.

I like it out, most of ye like it in. Lets not fall out.

Brianthebard if we ever meet we can try it both in and out and decide which looks best ;)

Noice, sounds like fun. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

... we can try it both in and out and decide which looks best ;)
    Is it entirely a matter of how it looks though?

Surely other things are important too? ... the fit, how comfortable it is, whether you would want to repeat the experience?

I am sure that if I were to demonstrate the Peared 'putting it in' technique yiz would all be swayed.

Look, fit and repeat custom. I mean wear, not custom. Obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Groe

I like the front in back out, but then again Im young