Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Passenger foils Bus Hijack in the Liberties last night

• 11-01-2009 12:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

Passenger foils Dublin bus hijack, The bus was hijacked in the Liberties area of Dublin. A passenger on a bus in Dublin had to take control of the vehicle from a man who hijacked it in the Liberties area. The bus driver was assaulted both inside and outside the bus at about 2145 GMT on Saturday night. A man drove the bus down Cork Street before a passenger stepped in to take control of the vehicle. Gardai have arrested a man. The bus driver was treated in hospital for two broken bones in his hand and severe bruising.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0111/bus.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Fair play to the passenger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

That_Guy wrote: »
    Would make nice CCTV footage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭MiniD

What a horrible incident. Unfortunately this won't come to a shock to passengers and drivers who see the scum on the bus every day.

I really hope this person gets a lengthy jail sentence and the cctv footage is released to the news to help highlight the dangers Dublin Bus drivers are in every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

hows they get at the driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,182 ✭✭✭✭L1011

NBRU rep on the radio this morning says he got out of his cage/cabin/whatever its called.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭SickCert

Pulled through the window from what im told.

could have not taken out the keys? how about one of those skijet like killswitch attachements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Would make nice CCTV footage.
    Working up to the angle..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

could have not taken out the keys?

What makes you think they have keys ?

Thaedydal wrote: »
    What makes you think they have keys ?

well if they don't have keys could you expand on what they do have rather then just asking rhetorical questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭SickCert

The engine was running as the bus was in service.

It starts via a couple of switches.

and it stops by ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

and it stops by ...

Brakes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Magic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Celticfire

and it stops by ...

Turning off the switches perhaps ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

Whoever these scum are, they deserve to be bet up and down the quays with hurls, fcuk putting them in jail [aka 4 star hotel in Ireland] and wasting MORE taxpayer's money.

Celticfire wrote: »
    Turning off the switches perhaps ?

how many switches...

Don't busses have "kill buttons" outside on the back to stop the engines in an emergency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

Don't busses have "kill buttons" outside on the back to stop the engines in an emergency.

yeh they do have emergency engine off switches

patrickc wrote: »
    yeh they do have emergency engine off switches
    I believe they are under the engine lid.

One of the red-tops was saying the driver in question was also a Garda Reservist, this may have been why he got out of the cabin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Ham'nd'egger

MYOB wrote: »
    One of the red-tops was saying the driver in question was also a Garda Reservist, this may have been why he got out of the cabin?

A holder of a PSV Licence isn't allowed to be in the Gardaí, either reserved or full. Correct me if I am wrong here but I was under the impression that all DB drivers are in possession of PSV....

I will admit I was reading the paper upside down in the queue in the newsagents so I might have misread it! Not helped by all their websites being for the UK editions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

I don't know if its fair to criticise the driver for not turning off the bus. It was heat of the moment, and its well known that the human brain does not act rationally.

The driver made a human mistake by leaving the bus running. This action on its own did not cause any harm to the public. He was attempting to call the cops and perhaps he felt safer from outside the cabin.

It was the actions of the attackers who took it upon themselves to drive the bus that may have caused the harm to the public.

Well done to the lads who took control of the situation, the driver for getting the cops. And best of luck to the driver. I heard this morning that he is to undergo a HIV test due to spitting in his face.

A HIV test for that is reactionary in the highest - not saying its a bad idea, but the HIV transmission rate by salivary contact is miniscule - ISTR its less than 1 per 100,000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭paulm17781

Hamndegger wrote: »
    A holder of a PSV Licence isn't allowed to be in the Gardaí, either reserved or full. Correct me if I am wrong here but I was under the impression that all DB drivers are in possession of PSV....

According to the Star he is in the Garda reserve. Not sure what the Star stories are worth though.

Anyone know the motivation for the attack / hijacking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

paulm17781 wrote: »
    Anyone know the motivation for the attack / hijacking?

Scumbags don't need motivation!

However in this case, they wanted to get off between stops and the driver correctly wanted to wait until the next stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

There are several BAC staff who are now members of the Garda Reserve.

The confusion stems from the ban on SPSV PERMIT holders (Taxi Plate) from membership,which stems from the Garda involvement in the issue of those permits.

The motive for this attack appears to have been a simple refusal..ie: somebody being told No,which sticks in the gullet of a huge section of modern Irish gentry.

It`s reassuring to see the level of disinterest being exhibited in the perpretators of this attack.
    Bad form etc for the Driver being given a precautionary AIDS test,even if it may have been offered as part of any follow-up programme related to assault whilst at work.

Good to see the native sense of priorities kicking(!) in :)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭bauderline

In summary...

1. Muppets wanted to get off between stops. Driver said no.
    2. Muppets became displeased and started a row on the bus.
    3. Driver stopped bus and got out of his cabin to phone Gardai. Hand to hand combat started and continued on the pavement outside the bus. Bus drivers broke two bones in his hand defending himself.
    4. Two students also on the bus helped to break up the fight, one of the muppets ran back onto the bus and drove it down the street a little bit then hopped off leaving it in gear and moving.
    5. One of the students ran after the bus and managed to get on it and bring it to a halt.
    6. Terrified granny helped from bus.
    7. Gardai arrive and arrest one muppet.

P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭paulm17781

I'd heard it was because of being told no, I didn't believe it was true. What is wrong with people in this country? We just can't handle not getting our own way.

I hope the perpetrator gets a lengthy sentence, he certainly deserves it.

Is the fact that the driver was in the Garda reserve likely to do anything to impose a transport police or are we more likely going to do the usual and bury our heads in the sand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

I hope it's not the same Chinese Garda reservist that had his arm broken in Cabra last year or the year before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭dowlingm

That_Guy wrote: »
    Bet the little toerag will try to get free legal aid to sue him for false imprisonment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

IIMII wrote: »
    I hope it's not the same Chinese Garda reservist that had his arm broken in Cabra last year or the year before

A shame that Chinese people are lactose intolerant. He sounds like he could really do with drinking more milk!