Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The GAA Lovefest Thread - All are welcome!

• 09-01-2009 4:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭

Arising from the Most Annoying Poster of 2008 thread and a reference in it a post about a "Lovefest" that was in a thread last year, I hereby launch the GAA Lovefest Thread. :D

This thread is dedicated to all the real GAA fans on this forum, ones that post all year round. This is the time of year to do it, as it is predominantly the real fans here now and ones that can be seen posting here at any time of year. It is for the posters who respect each other here and respect the other counties people come from. It is for the posters who have as much of an interest in matches where their own county or club are not involved, as they do for their matches with their own teams playing. I am a GAA fan from Dublin, not just a Dublin GAA fan, and the same can be said of many others here when it comes to their county. It is for the posters who don't roll out the typical stereotypes associated with the counties of other posters. It is for the posters who can still have a dig at other counties and posters, but do it in a good spirit. It is for people who see beyond what county we come from and not judge us on that, but judge us on our passion for GAA and for the real people that we are. I've said it before, whatever about our county loyalties and the rivalries that go with that, we all share a love of GAA all year round and it is the one thing that unites us.

Over the past couple of years posters here from various counties have met in person and gone to watch matches together, often supporting rival teams, and then sat down over a drink or two, discussed the games they were at and shared their passion for GAA and have become friends offline. Hopefully that will widen and we'll all get to meet more of the people that we post with here all year round. During 2009 hopefully people will come and join some of the GAA Boards Beers that will happen. Anyone can organise one in any county when it is likely that others from here will be in the area! As has been the case up to now they've included both posters and friends. So don't be afraid to throw open an invitation to a poster here to meet up with you and your other friends on match days.

So, finally, to all the real GAA people that keep this forum going, I salute you all, and invite you to join the GAA Lovefest Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

Love you too dude. I havent been able to get to a match of any kind in over 3 months now. Im starting to get a bit depressed and feeling a bit lost. If it wasnt for Boards and all the guys on here I may have taken a walk off Dun Laoghaire Pier by now

so eh Thanks Boards GAA posters.

PS I promise to make it to more pre/post match beers this this year !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Mr. Incognito *Throws Shoulder*

"This is a mans game, take your lovefest to the rugby forums."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Flukey wrote: »
    Arising from the Most Annoying Poster of 2008 thread and a reference in it a post about a "Lovefest" that was in a thread last year, I hereby launch the GAA Lovefest Thread. :D

This thread is dedicated to all the real GAA fans on this forum, ones that post all year round. This is the time of year to do it, as it is predominantly the real fans here now and ones that can be seen posting here at any time of year. It is for the posters who respect each other here and respect the other counties people come from. It is for the posters who have as much of an interest in matches where their own county or club are not involved, as they do for their matches with their own teams playing. I am a GAA fan from Dublin, not just a Dublin GAA fan, and the same can be said of many others here when it comes to their county. It is for the posters who don't roll out the typical stereotypes associated with the counties of other posters. It is for the posters who can still have a dig at other counties and posters, but do it in a good spirit. It is for people who see beyond what county we come from and not judge us on that, but judge us on our passion for GAA and for the real people that we are. I've said it before, whatever about our county loyalties and the rivalries that go with that, we all share a love of GAA all year round and it is the one thing that unites us.

Over the past couple of years posters here from various counties have met in person and gone to watch matches together, often supporting rival teams, and then sat down over a drink or two, discussed the games they were at and shared their passion for GAA and have become friends offline. Hopefully that will widen and we'll all get to meet more of the people that we post with here all year round. During 2009 hopefully people will come and join some of the GAA Boards Beers that will happen. Anyone can organise one in any county when it is likely that others from here will be in the area! As has been the case up to now they've included both posters and friends. So don't be afraid to throw open an invitation to a poster here to meet up with you and your other friends on match days.

So, finally, to all the real GAA people that keep this forum going, I salute you all, and invite you to join the GAA Lovefest Thread.

Typical feckin jackeen trying to tell us what to do and how to do it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I'm in:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭lorweld

Can I join please????:)

Even though I is a girl?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

lorweld wrote: »

Even though I is a girl?

Lol the lovefest is open to all.We meet in our loveshack called Parnell Park and Kitty Kiernans.:cool::p

blackbelt wrote: »
    Lol the lovefest is open to all.We meet in our loveshack called Parnell Park and Kitty Kiernans.:cool::p

Thank you:)

Even though I is a girl?

Yes, we can use the glamour and the vibrancy of youth. Most posters here are in their 70's, and blackbelt has a zimmerframe. Someone will have to be able to ring the ambulance when I am having my 7th heart attack;):D:D:D:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

:eek: I expected to see a big banner saying FLUKEY <3 DEISE the moment I opened this thread :D

I'm all for it. The soccer forum have a great off topic thread where some of the regulars there just post about whatever they wish. Maybe this can go the similar direction?

I feel all warm and fuzzy inside now :)

Lorweld - good one, but we all know females don't exist on teh interwebz :pac:

To get you all the mood of things:

The lovefest that started it all

deise59 wrote: »

Lorweld - good one, but we all know females don't exist on teh interwebz :pac:

Haha and females Gaa fans don't exist:pac:

They sure don't. There was this one match when I thought I saw a female in the crowd at a hurling match, but it was probably just the eyes playing tricks on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

I'm away traveling and not coming back 'til recession is over or Westmeath reach a final. I'll leave it to Patmac to keep the Westmeath flag flying in the meantime...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Curlypinkie

Of course not!
    We just make teh sangwiches for the lads:rolleyes:

I'm joining the lovefest!!

Of course not!
    We just make teh sangwiches for the lads:rolleyes:

I'm joining the lovefest!!

And wash the gear!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭funloving

it goes without saying I'm in too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Females have been a regular part of our GAA Boards Beers, coming from as far as Italy and California (putting the travel moaners to shame). The GAA Beers seem to have been almost exclusively in Dublin, though we have had one or two outside Dublin, including Kilkenny and Cork last year. While most are in Dublin, non-Dubs have been a regular part of them, with one in particular being a key member of the group!

This year though, we really need to franchise the GAA Boards Beers out a bit. Dublin-based ones will continue, with the next one tomorrow, but it would be great to get reports of other GAA Boardsies meeting up around the country. If our experience is anything to go by, and others can vouch for this, you very quickly get over the awkwardness of meeting "strangers" and they soon become friends and suddenly you've broadened your range of GAA pals and meeting up with them along with your existing GAA pals becomes the norm. Many of our GAA Beers include people who never post here, but are friends of one or other of us, and then become friends of all of us.

Plenty of counties here are represented by more than one individual and naturally they will often be in the same venues on the same day. It is very simple to arrange to meet up. When our counties meet each other there are likely to be even more GAA Boardsies there, and with some of them being locals, they'll know the best places to meet the visitors. So go on guys and gals, make it happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭funloving

Females have been a regular part of our GAA Boards Beers, coming from as far as Italy and California (putting the travel moaners to shame). .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

As long as there are Wimmins this thread isn't as gay. I'm in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

You forgot madigans :P
    This year though, we really need to franchise the GAA Boards Beers out a bit. Dublin-based ones will continue, with the next one tomorrow,

Is this beers in town or kittys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Hey GAAman,

Tomorrow is Parnell Park and Kitty Kiernans as Dublin play Wicklow in the O Byrne Cup.Usually Parnell Park means we go to Kitty Kiernans and usually Croke Park means we go to Madigans.

Hey GAAman,

Tomorrow is Parnell Park and Kitty Kiernans as Dublin play Wicklow in the O Byrne Cup.Usually Parnell Park means we go to Kitty Kiernans and usually Croke Park means we go to Madigans.

I wont be there:(, broke after Christmas. I wont be at any until I get a job, which I probably wont do until College finishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I wont be there:(, broke after Christmas. I wont be at any until I get a job, which I probably wont do until College finishes.

Different beers, different excuse :p

I'll be there in the summer, maybe earlier. I was at the Dublin Championship beers which was fun all round. Maybe I'll see you at the Leinster semi-final in the hurling, Wexford vs Dublin to play the winners of Galway vs Kilkenny. Only Dublin wont throw it away this time:D

Hey GAAman,

Yeah i figured as much man i am gonna try get over for the match (last minute maybe wont even have a Dubs jersey first ever match without one will it be a bad omen? :D )

Tickets at the gate as usual yeah?

GAAman wrote: »
    Yeah i figured as much man i am gonna try get over for the match (last minute maybe wont even have a Dubs jersey first ever match without one will it be a bad omen? :D )

Tickets at the gate as usual yeah?

Its Wicklow, a 10 point victory is guaranteed, even with the kids playing;):D
    I'd say the crowd will be big without being full and you can pay at the stiles.

Wont be makin this one unfortunately will just see you lads on the 31st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

we'll just have to wait and see but i'd say the smoke etc of the big city has muddled your brain but we will just have to wait and see

Wicklow 0 05 Dublin 0 02 HT

Bf said weather is really bad at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Im in, not for today though

I live next to Parnell Pk so Kitty' is close too although Croabh Chiarans clubhouse would be closer/better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭DublinDes

Well, so long as it's in the Capital and not little towns like Cork etc :)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

Flukey Blackbelt and Tir Eoghan are having a lovefest in Kittys as we speak. I left them an hour ago as it was too much :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

deise59 wrote: »
    They sure don't. There was this one match when I thought I saw a female in the crowd at a hurling match, but it was probably just the eyes playing tricks on me.

Yeah, the Man Boobs on some of them male supporters. Fecking dying their hair blonde too. Makes Mortimer look like Francie!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

Mullet wrote: »
    Flukey Blackbelt and Tir Eoghan are having a lovefest in Kittys as we speak. I left them an hour ago as I couldn't handle my drink and it was to much for me...sick all over the floor and crying children.Not a pretty sight.

It got worse for all concerned when my bingo numbers didn't come out.

Not impressed my post was edited by a mod for no given reason. please note the description describled by the mod is totally untrue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

I have removed my thanks for obvious reasons
    Im also locking this thread for now. Reasons should be obvious... but for those who like it spelt out. This is no longer a lovefest of anykind.