Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weight Training for women

• 09-01-2009 2:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47

Just wondering, is there any females in Ireland who actually lift weights heavier than 3kgs??? Everytime im in the gym i see girls doing endless bicep curls with 3 or 4kgs, is there any girls out there who like to challenge themselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Muhahahahahah

/waits for g'em to find this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

No, and not only that none of us ever use any kind of weight that is not pink or lilac. There you go.

But what if it was red and sparkley ?
    Cos I don't like pink.

Once it doesn't clash with your cute little outfit I'd say you're good to go.

Oh and there any of them reps thingys which are good for getting rid of the bingo wings ?

Of course, do 100 of them, everyone knows spot reductions really AWESOMELY work every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

scquinn wrote: »
    Just wondering, is there any females in Ireland who actually lift weights heavier than 3kgs??? Everytime im in the gym i see girls doing endless bicep curls with 3 or 4kgs, is there any girls out there who like to challenge themselves?
    Nice way to start on boards. :rolleyes:

As you're new, I'll just give you a wee bit of advice. Any more trollish posts from you and they will be your last posts on this forum.

Thread locked until g'em gets here. I'm sure she will put you straight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

I see guys curling with little more than that all the time. Worse, I see them do it in the squat rack. Still, I don't go making sweeping statements like the one you made above; that's just rude and a little sad.

Sure there's girls who lift heavy, we're in the minority, but we definitely exist. Was there any particular reason why you wanted to know or was it simply that you were in the mood to patronize 52% of the country's population?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 scquinn

Sorry came across wrong obviously, I am the ONLY girl in the gym i go to who lifts heavy and i was just wondering if anybody else does as all i see in the gym is girls with 3kg weights and its so frustrating to watch!

I'll be squatting 100kg for reps later this evening if you want some friendly competition?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

g'em wrote: »
    I see guys curling with little more than that all the time. Worse, I see them do it in the squat rack. Still, I don't go making sweeping statements like the one you made above; that's just rude and a little sad.

Sure there's girls who lift heavy, we're in the minority, but we definitely exist. Was there any particular reason why you wanted to know or was it simply that you were in the mood to patronize 52% of the country's population?

unfortunately girls who lift heave are in a minortiy which is a shame because the handful of irish female lifters are bloddy good at it!

My DL was 72.5k yesterday and I'm pretty sure I can go heavier (but I still want to keep my form right) The heavier the better in my view. There are a few ladies at my gym who lift heavy and it's great to see, but even if there wasn't I wouldn't spend any of my time worrying about what other people are lifting, if they want to lift 3k then let them. Worry about what you're doing and enjoy your work out.

Im not able to squat 100kg yet, but im near enough :)

Damn you good squatters! * is disgustingly jealous*

Thanks it good to know im not the only one in Ireland ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

<3 Women who Sqaut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

Killme00 wrote: »
    <3 Women who Sqaut

ROFL, if only i had the copter to go along with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Thanks it good to know im not the only one in Ireland ;)

If you become a regular on this forum you'll realise that there are already a few female heavy lifters here. Bloody good at it too by all accounts.

One question for g'em, this 100kg squat you'll be doing, that'll be with pink weight plates, right? :pac:

please don't ban me *cowers* :)

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

There may be that old belief that youll get 'big' if you lift heavy. It could be ignorance of what they are capable of. Or maybe those girls with the 3kgs simply are there for a different reason from you, not everyone has the same aim. For you, weights may be the be-all, for someone else it might be endurance a la long distance running.

I looooooove to challenge myself. I dont do it with 100kg weights cos of no access to a gym, and I aint gonna start that kind of thing at home with no coaching. Would that I had the chance. So dont write off the girlies in a sweeping statement, please. Your not the only tough gal out there.

r3nu4l wrote: »
    One question for g'em, this 100kg squat you'll be doing, that'll be with pink weight plates, right? :pac:
    Oh God no.

It's midnight purple with diamante Swarovski cuffs, pink is so 2006 ;)

Here you go pink wrist straps and all!!!!:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bP2nZ4RmKHo

I was compared to her at a competition not long ago - I frickin wish I lifted like that!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Trainer at my gym yesterday was doing a programme for me, gave me 4KGs i was like sorry these are just too heavy for me!
    so he relented and gave me 3kgs and i still found them heavy but he said once i get used to it I should be on 4 kgs in no time....

g'em wrote: »
    I was compared to her at a competition not long ago - I frickin wish I lifted like that!! :D

i robbed it from your log:)

which hasnt been updated in a while!!!:p

I think the problem is a fear of "bulking" up if they lift heavy, i am very lean and have gotten that way from lifting heavy and cutting way back on cardio.

I understand that everyone has different goals at the gym... but i think most girls under estimate their own strenght:confused:

I think the problem is a fear of "bulking" up if they lift heavy, i am very lean and have gotten that way from lifting heavy and cutting way back on cardio.
    That vid above proves the lie of the bulking up thing.
    I understand that everyone has different goals at the gym... but i think most girls under estimate their own strenght:confused:
    Thats very true. I know I used to. I had to be bullied into doing the 'hard' stuff. Part of the problem too, is that you may need to start quite light, (as per banshee above) but once you get used to that, you dont push yourself on to harder things. More reps, more weight etc.

Oryx wrote: »
    That vid above proves the lie of the bulking up thing.

Thats very true. I know I used to. I had to be bullied into doing the 'hard' stuff. Part of the problem too, is that you may need to start quite light, (as per banshee above) but once you get used to that, you dont push yourself on to harder things. More reps, more weight etc.

Yes that is exactly true, there is no problem starting light, correcting your forum and building up strenght but everyone should at least move up weights when they get used to a certain amount. Dont most people go to the gym or workout to get fitter or stronger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

Trippie wrote: »
    ROFL, if only i had the copter to go along with it

Here you go :D

roflcopter.gif

It is a shame though that alot women are not getting into weight training a bit more seriously. Most gyms don't actively encourage it either (really only Irish gyms dont), hence the 'Shiny Silver Dumbell Pyramid of Woe' in the padded & matted little room with bosu balls :rolleyes:

Not only would it make the gym more diverse but it would make the weekend warriors think about changing their routines from half ROM'd Bicep Curls and Tricep Kickbacks when they see girls effectively out Squatting and Deadlifting them. Women are more serious when it comes to form and technique while some chicken legged gym goer has rubber neck and invisable lat syndrome while hoisting the feck out of the barbell curls in the squat rack. Not all male gym goers are like that, but i know that everyone has came across the sort im talking about (even probably have been that person, i know i was many moons ago). It makes me think of one of G'ems videos when she deadlifts 140kg's for 3 reps with flawless form and you can see the lads in the back at the machines turning around and going :eek:, always makes me laugh :D

I think it would be a damn refreshing change to see it more, woman breaking free of the taboo that lifting anything more 5% of your bodyweight will cause you to break out the she-hulk (she-hulk is damn sexy though). I thought id just leave this post on an image i came across and it gave me laugh....
    exercise%20girl%20-%20dumbbell%20curl.jpg
    FEEL THE BURN!

Yes that is exactly true, there is no problem starting light, correcting your forum and building up strenght but everyone should at least move up weights when they get used to a certain amount. Dont most people go to the gym or workout to get fitter or stronger?
    Yup, but I can tell you from personal experience, that you can keep doing the same old routine and not know any better, and think youre doing grand. Unless someone more knowledgeable tells you otherwise. :)

Its only because of good advice from a trainer and reading all the stuff here, that Im actually getting somewhere. Left to my own devices Id still be doing 2kg bicep curls. ;)

yeah why do people pay gym membership if they dont want to get anything out of it? i spoke to a trainer because i wanted to tone up and needed advice on what to do to combat certain areas, arms-bingo wings! bums, tums and thighs.
    He told me i have good posture and control and most people that come in dont know their ass from their elbow! i was like, "o i bet you say that to all the girls!!":)

so i have to go back to him in 6 weeks to see how the programme is going for me, after a while you get used to your routine so you need to change it to keep getting results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭chrism2007

i blame the instructors who sit there looking at people doing rounds of machines for months on end. bit of a joke really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Trainer at my gym yesterday was doing a programme for me, gave me 4KGs i was like sorry these are just too heavy for me!
    so he relented and gave me 3kgs and i still found them heavy but he said once i get used to it I should be on 4 kgs in no time....

Everyone has to start somewhere. Perhaps the thread should be stickied? The more women that know about lifting and how it fits their aims the better. Many of the women here pwn me mightily with their lifts, but its inspiring to see.

Thanks Brian ! Good idea!

I was talking to a male instructor in my gym the other day saying that i had just started a new weight training routine for women (new rules of lifting for women) and he asked "why was i doing that and that i didnt want to build muscle did i?" this from someone who works in a gym!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭j@utis

it is, it is! I lift up to 12kg dumbells, do some squats and deadlifts, and also can do a few chin ups, ok maybe 5 of them. But unfortunatelly, I'm the only one female like this in my gym. And it's quite upsetting cause I have nobody to compete with :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Reyman

I think what's interesting is that there are a large percentage of women using very light weights and a very small percentage of women using heavy weights.

There doesn't seem to be any group using medium level weights. Say squatting or deadlifting with 30-70Kg. Anyone any ideas on why this is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I would've said that 70kg is a heavy weight, considering it would bodyweight or higher for a lot of women?

Well i think "heavy" is a relative term, what i consider heavy and a challange to me might be very easy for someone else. All i would like to see is more females doing some free weights and not spending all their time down in the cardio areas. Lifting heavy weights doesnt have to just be for men or women wanting to bodybuilders!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭figs86

on a related point - are there weight plates, squat racks etc in curves does anyone know?

seeing as it's a very popular women-only gym i'd be impressed if the gym had the sense to provide and encourage weights use

Well i think "heavy" is a relative term, what i consider heavy and a challange to me might be very easy for someone else. All i would like to see is more females doing some free weights and not spending all their time down in the cardio areas. Lifting heavy weights doesnt have to just be for men or women wanting to bodybuilders!

Sounds like only a small amount are shown or encouraged to use the weights and mot of them then get into it and move up to the heavier sections.

Despite using the gym in college and in one of the places I work I never used the weights, it's not that I'm not strong enough/ too delicate or didn't have an interest it was that no one was arsed helping me out cos girls don't do that type of thing.

And comments about hurry up and get out of they way so the weights could be put to some real use was more then enough to put me off trying.

I'd like to think the weights not for girls/women is changing but it's slow but the more women who do and who talk about it the better so fair play scquinn and the rest of you ladies.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

figs86 wrote: »
    on a related point - are there weight plates, squat racks etc in curves does anyone know?

seeing as it's a very popular women-only gym i'd be impressed if the gym had the sense to provide and encourage weights use

No. Curves isn't a gym.

mp1972 wrote: »
    No. Curves isn't a gym.

is that a joke? i wouldn't know much about them so...

taken from curves.com ''A Curves 30 minute fitness center is a woman’s gym that provides a total body workout''

It's not a gym there are no scarey or intimidating weights.:P
    It's a fitness centre ie room with a fitiness circuit on it ie 20 jumping jacks then on to the skipping rope then on to the excerise ball ect.

figs86 wrote: »
    is that a joke? i wouldn't know much about them so...

taken from curves.com ''A Curves 30 minute fitness center is a woman’s gym that provides a total body workout''

Do they say that on their site? I've never seen them claim to be a gym anywhere else.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    It's not a gym there are no scarey or intimidating weights.:P
    It's a fitness centre ie room with a fitiness circuit on it ie 20 jumping jacks then on to the skipping rope then on to the excerise ball ect.

There are no exercise balls...or skipping ropes. Well there's not meant to be anyway as it's against their 'ethos' or some ****e like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I hope women don't take up weight lifting. Would mean the weights area would be even more crowded!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Sangre wrote: »
    I hope women don't take up weight lifting. Would mean the weights area would be even more crowded!

This is one of the reasons many women dont lift weight, they feel they dont "belong" in the weight room!

davyjose wrote: »

niiiiice.... and its motivational!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Gingface

that link gets pretty FUNKY after you click 'next' a few time :eek: