Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cardigans on lads

• 08-01-2009 7:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭

what do people think, i own too and wear them out with a tshirt underneath or a white shirt and skinny tie if i wanna dress up a bit.most of the time i just stick to shirt and jeans.anyways,my mates give me plenty of grief over it while with girls its been nothin but positive.i personally like them but was wondering on other peoples opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

df1985 wrote: »
    what do people think, i own too and wear them out with a tshirt underneath or a white shirt and skinny tie if i wanna dress up a bit.most of the time i just stick to shirt and jeans.anyways,my mates give me plenty of grief over it while with girls its been nothin but positive.i personally like them but was wondering on other peoples opinions.

I wear them too alot, especially with a white t-shirt underneath, they're very in right now and you do look more dressed up with them. One or two of my mates try and make fun of it, but I know its because they don't have the confidence to wear it (the same as I style my hair) themselves. I've been wearing them a lot over xmas and trust me girls love them, sets you apart from 90% of the same shirt and jean combo crowd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

It's finally catching on, I got a lovely All Saints one last month. Not sure about the skinny tie with though tbh, a plain white or black t-shirt for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭irishvamp90

i like a plain cardigan on a guy but not very thin guy.i hate them skinny ties tho its like their trying too hard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

I've one, a nice plain black one. Had a red one, wasn't digging it.

Wear it once in a blue moon, normally with my red Fred Perry polo underneath. Never got grief over it from the lads, but the little brother finds it hilarious I'd wear a 'womans top' :rolleyes:

Izod Lacoste were making beautiful mens cardigans in the 70s, its not some 'what boyband are you in' trend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

Sexy!! Especially if you smell good. That's the killer combo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭bigpinkelephant

They're awful.
    Sorry boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

They're awful.
    Sorry boys.

Agreed. Why would you want to look like everyone else anyway?

Try harder.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

They're grand, but there can't be even a hint of a belly or it goes down the Grandad route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

There's nothing majorly wrong with cardigans, I have a few that I wear often. The problem is there's a bit of a cliché look going round among many guys - that sort of Steve Jones on T4 thing that you described. It came in thick and fast and like any trend that catches on quick like that, I choose to avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭BIRDCAGE1

I think they look cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭bennyblanco

generic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭professorpete

PillyPen wrote: »
    Sexy!! Especially if you smell good. That's the killer combo.

Yeah me OH got me one for xmas there a couple of years back; I wasn't pushed really so I left it hanging on the back of me chair at work to throw on when going for a smoke, but I wore it over xmas time this year and got loads of "ooh you look nice" in a surprised tone from me girl mates; also discovered the smelling nice thing, it works!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Seems to be 'the look' at the moment... the way a blazer jacket was with a cool t-shirt a few years ago.
    Probably suits younger lads better... more in the 'yeah, I'm in a band' style going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Well fitted, decent quality cardy looks nice with something like a tipped-collar Fred Perry polo.

Don't really like the junkie-fit ones though, especially with shirts and skinny ties.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Only if they have ample Werther's Original and snuff storage space.

2994-d2.jpg

Don't think you can go wrong with that myself to be honest.
    Its when people get into mental River Island colour combos that it goes a bit pear. I also would never wear a white t-shirt with a cardigan. Saying that its ex. rare I wear the bloody thing at all....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

"I also would never wear a white t-shirt with a cardigan. Saying that its ex. rare I wear the bloody thing at all...."

But that's what's in the photo you posted?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I'm wearing a black one at the moment with a black print tee underneath. I have to admit, i look great today. Nice pair of loose fitting jeans and white sneaks to round it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭professorpete

"I also would never wear a white t-shirt with a cardigan. Saying that its ex. rare I wear the bloody thing at all...."

if you look closely at the photo, you'll find it's a dummy wearing the cardy/ white t-shirt combo, not a real boy!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭noby

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Probably suits younger lads better... more in the 'yeah, I'm in a band' style going on.

All depends on the way it's worn.

I've worn cardigans for years, and will no doubt still be after the current trend passes. Today I have a black cardigan over a grey v-neck sleeveless pullover and a black shirt.

Look again....
    51QYHWM7RCL._SL500_AA280_.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 robin1981

I think the cardigan did make a comeback but not it should probably go back lol ok that wasn't very good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 rubyrua

Sorry guys for me cardigans on men aint all that at all. Kinda has a pompous feel to it? (i know, i know i am being ruthless but its just my personal opinion) sorry... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭sc9736

defo no....think it makes some men look like they are trying to hard to be cool :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

A guy wearing a cardigan immediately puts himself in the Friend Zone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭ukgalwaymcguire

if your a gay man.. great

if your not they look totally gay.. im not being mean but they do..

if i see a man with one on who is not over 70, then i instantly think he is gay.. its the same with tight t shirts and the non wooly type of scarf..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭AnnieB82

I wouldn't be keen on cardigans on men - to be honest I don't like anything too trendy. Jean and t-shirt does it for me. That said though, the clothes a guy wears are not important to me...

Jeez, they're coming out of the woodwork today.

EDIT:Referring to the 11.30 post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Fine if you work in a hairdressers.

kmick wrote: »
    Fine if you work in a hairdressers.

Sure you're not thinking of a smock?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭macy9

I liked them as a going-out piece about a year ago but now i prefer them as a casual thing. Personally i dont think they look good on very skinny frames as that looks like the skinny jeans, skinny tie etc look of 2 years ago.

But yeah they're cool for a change!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Mr. Frost wrote: »
    Agreed. Why would you want to look like everyone else anyway?

Try harder.

Don't try so hard

old bachelor farmer style cardigans worn by young hip guys is tragic

another stupid ugly trend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

My husband wears them and I think that he looks sexy in them, the only thing is that I often borrow them off him as they look so comfy and they have his scent...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭smares

emm love carigans on guys with a t-shirt underneath but not a skinny tie hate that look.