Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farmhouse Darts Competition

• 08-01-2009 9:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭

All Proceeds - Irish Heart Foundation

Farmhouse Pub (Monkstown - Dun Laoghaire) will be running a Open Doubles Competition on the Sunday 08th February. Th draw will be an open draw (so u wont be able to pick your partner)

Its open to all darts club so please spread the word

Registration will be open from 4 o clock to 5 o clock.
    Draw will commence at 5.10
    First match to begin at 5.20 sharp.

Entry Fee - 5.00 Euros per person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Was at one of these 2 years ago, most players who turned up did not know your partner was going to be drawn out of hat, seen the prize money, did not read rest of the poster:rolleyes: Thought it was great success but one player who turned up and seen the format and walked away was a certain Mr Gurney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

why did her walk away, because he couldnt play with his mate from his club or county

pffft, waster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

This is the second tournament in arow that is being hosted the day after I return from the States. I couldn't even see the board I was so jetlagged last time LOL

I will definitely make an attempt to come down on Sunday, although I may have to day the next day off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Yep and funny enough, his mate got to the final, so he hardly missed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

This is the second tournament in arow that is being hosted the day after I return from the States. I couldn't even see the board I was so jetlagged last time LOL

I will definitely make an attempt to come down on Sunday, although I may have to day the next day off.

We new you were coming back from the states that why we held it on the 8th hahaha jetlagged my arse...........you were on fire :rolleyes: although tbh maybe in the semi's you did look a shade tired.........maybe :P
    shiibata wrote: »
    Yep and funny enough, his mate got to the final, so he hardly missed him.

Haha Id say he was sick..........although I heard he did play some good darts yesterday and was getting great reviews from the commentators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

Ah well last night i couldnt fault him bar his logic on 103 down but he otherwise played a fine game of darts and should have won 4-1 had he held his bottle, he lost 2 sets from 2-0 up in legs. that shouldnt really happen, but to be fair its his first time in the BDO World Championship and he's only 22

still plenty of time to blitz the field

By the way if anyone is looking for directions here is a map:

http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF8&hl=en&msa=0&msid=107684489417435015812.0004456ac25e20af6111b&ll=53.252377,-6.122046&spn=0.009179,0.019312&z=16

The 46A & 746 Buses leave you literally 2mins walk away. Also Monkstown Train/Dart Station is about 20mins walk.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Cheers lads, will definitely try and make this. Wonder who the lucky person will be who gets me as their partner? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

MBC wrote: »
    By the way if anyone is looking for directions here is a map:

http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF8&hl=en&msa=0&msid=107684489417435015812.0004456ac25e20af6111b&ll=53.252377,-6.122046&spn=0.009179,0.019312&z=16

The 46A & 746 Buses leave you literally 2mins walk away. Also Monkstown Train/Dart Station is about 20mins walk.

It's a 20 minute walk if you start off in the right direction. I on the other hand ........ lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Double Top

Last farmhouse tournament came Third (had a great match with rented mule to get the spot) this time i'll be aiming a little higher:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭clivebaby

All Proceeds - Irish Heart Foundation

Farmhouse Pub (Monkstown - Dun Laoghaire) will be running a Open Doubles Competition on the Sunday 08th February. Th draw will be an open draw (so u wont be able to pick your partner)

Its open to all darts club so please spread the word

Registration will be open from 4 o clock to 5 o clock.
    Draw will commence at 5.10
    First match to begin at 5.20 sharp.

Entry Fee - 5.00 Euros per person.
    Ye cant wait its a bit of crack when you get someone who cant play darts and falls into everything.Should be a good night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭S.T.D Ste

Clive that is usually you ha ha ha hope to do a lot better in this one then the tony hinch but fair play to charlo who beat me going on to win it

Ye thats me when im pissed fall into evrything haha Who was your partner last time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

I like the bit of banter before hand, should be a great tournament, theres a chap that signs in the bar every sunday from 6 to 8, were hoping he will sing that night after the darts - suppose to be very good

Darts Comp in Farmhouse

All proceeds to Heart Foundation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 igolady

Is it only for men or is it mixed doubles.

igolady wrote: »
    Is it only for men or is it mixed doubles.

Hi there

No its open to Men and Women

It be an open draw at 5, all are welcome hope to see you there

Gary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 igolady

Thanks a mill.

Saoirse

The winners of the Myles Healy memorial were Redser Bergin and Noely Kerr(Farmhouse).They beat Gary Patton and Anto Hinch (Robbins)3-2.
    The trophies were massive:p but there was a few bob made for the Irish Heart Foundation.Fair play to the lads who organised and ran it.

clivebaby wrote: »
    The winners of the Myles Healy memorial were Redser Bergin and Noely Kerr(Farmhouse).They beat Gary Patton and Anto Hinch (Robbins)3-2.
    The trophies were massive:p but there was a few bob made for the Irish Heart Foundation.Fair play to the lads who organised and ran it.

Cheers for posting that clive, just a quick question - the club donated €140 from there own pockets to pay for prizes (cash was giving out instead of trophies) what do people think?

It was a long day, 58 players played in the event, think it might have been the highest so far in the tournament

A total of €290 Euro was raised , well done to the winners and thanks for all who played.

Gary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭GazPat

Cheers for posting that clive, just a quick question - the club donated €140 from there own pockets to pay for prizes (cash was giving out instead of trophies) what do people think?

It was a long day, 58 players played in the event, think it might have been the highest so far in the tournament

A total of €290 Euro was raised , well done to the winners and thanks for all who played.

Gary

I would have preferred a trophy to be honest, money not really important!!
    But all in all a good day, Thanks

GazPat wrote: »
    I would have preferred a trophy to be honest, money not really important!!
    But all in all a good day, Thanks

Cheers Gar, we worked it out on the trophies and they were 204 Euros so we went with the cheaper option.

There will be another event next month, singles should be a good day again, will speak to the committee today and find out more

Ye its hard to keep everybody happy.Its the 1st year without trophies though which was a shame the presentation didnt look as good handing out envelopes.But it was a great turn out and delighted that it went well.I wish every tournament was like that.How much did the pub donate with all the custom the tournament gave them?

I know Clive, i was wrecked doing it, think i take a step back from the next one.
    Ye thinking now it was a shame that i didnt get trophies, they look better for presentation. We get no donation off the pub just the fee agreed at the start of the year, with that amount of people i taught they would have thrown something back to us.

I know Clive, i was wrecked doing it, think i take a step back from the next one.
    Ye thinking now it was a shame that i didnt get trophies, they look better for presentation. We get no donation off the pub just the fee agreed at the start of the year, with that amount of people i taught they would have thrown something back to us.

Without a doubt they should have thrown something in. There hasn't been a turnout for a tournament like that for few years now.

Ah yeah id say it was head wrecking.What is the next competition called?Hopefully there is another good turnout mate

Frank Kavanagh i was told, i dont really know this chap, would you have any idea. I was thinking of €10 entry would that be to dear, i would leave it at €5 if i knew we would got the turnout

I reckon that a lot of the regulars in the pub that would get into the tournament wouldn't because of the fee if it were to go to €10. I think €5 is good but have a word with colin and ask him if you can get another turnout like the last one if he will be willing to support also by putting his hand in Trainor's pocket.:rolleyes:

Yeah very well run comp...........fair play Gary ya did a great job mate.

Also well done to Redzer and Noelly and the runners up.

GazPat wrote: »
    I reckon that a lot of the regulars in the pub that would get into the tournament wouldn't because of the fee if it were to go to €10. I think €5 is good but have a word with colin and ask him if you can get another turnout like the last one if he will be willing to support also by putting his hand in Trainor's pocket.:rolleyes:

Yes will have to do that, €5 is grand i think myself, I was thinking of the 29th March for the next one,

Anyway u making a comeback next year, u make a difference to one of the teams

MBC wrote: »
    and the runners up.

Cheers

Anyway u making a comeback next year, u make a difference to one of the teams

I would say so gettin the bug again!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭AndyP

Fair play lads, enjoyable (but long) day. Good laugh and nice bunch of lads.