Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celeb Fitness DVDs

• 07-01-2009 2:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭

Big Brother host Davina McCall has been named 2009's fitness queen after soaring to the top of a New Year DVD chart.

Her Fitness 5 Super Body Workout is easily outselling all other keep fit DVDs, Tesco said.

She has already sold thousands of copies of her DVD at stores around the UK and Tesco predict sales will rocket further after Celebrity Big Brother kicks off tonight.

Also in the top ten are DVDs presented by Leticia Dean, Denise Van Outen, Mel B and Claire from Steps.

Sales of fitness DVDs at the store in the week between Christmas and New Year are up 65% on the same period last year.

Tesco's Claire Giles said: "It's well recognised in the fitness DVD industry that whoever gets to the No 1 position in the charts by New Year's Day is acknowledged as holding the fitness king or queen of Britain title.

"During January, keep fit DVDs are so popular they even outsell many Hollywood blockbuster films."

I think they are all aload of bull to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Eh no i reviewed them and some are quite good.

http://www.tv3.ie/ireland_am.php?video=4216

You did well Transform. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Transform wrote: »

Our very own boards.ie media personality :D

the home exercise clip is funny as!!

http://www.tv3.ie/ireland_am.php?video=4257

The tesco stuff is mostly junk! 0.5kg dumbbells - wanted to pump the arms with those!!

The twister - man total rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

That kit is gas but you come across very well. Who else knows that that Alan fella is the bloke who used to be in that old add for the ESB?... or was it Bord Gais, I forget. The one with the Dusty Springfield song in it.

Roper ---> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=btqSxlUJyxo

Emotional ad. Jesus. I was only 3 or something when it came out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭j@utis

I think you should do your personal DVD sometime. I'd buy it just to listen to your voice for half and hour or so... :D

What's wrong with his voice???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭MargeS

j@utis wrote: »
    I think you should do your personal DVD sometime. I'd buy it just to listen to your voice for half and hour or so... :D
    or just look at him!!!
    Jaysus... did you see those arms and torso??:eek: Noice!!:D

*voice* sexy as hell

p.s. i'm a girl, just in case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

the home exercise clip is funny as!!

http://www.tv3.ie/ireland_am.php?video=4257

The tesco stuff is mostly junk! 0.5kg dumbbells - wanted to pump the arms with those!!

The twister - man total rubbish.

I think Alan liked your top.

Gettin in well with tv3 man fair play!

We'll have to start a thread were we suggest phrases and you have to slip them in on your next TV spot.

lol Transform you have a fanclub developing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

JP Liz wrote: »
    I think they are all aload of bull to be honest
    It is not like Davina would have come up with it herself. I expect they get a load of experts in to show her what to do, then it is her fame on top of that which sells it.
    Emotional ad. Jesus. I was only 3 or something when it came out.
    Brings a tear to my eye, the fact that they waste customers money advertising monopolies like this? Like WTF are they doing advertising electricity for? Hmm better stick on some more lights, I forgot about that "product". If its a public service ad telling people to turn off stuff etc, fair enough, but there is no point to that ad. Though I do love Dusty...
    kevpants wrote: »
    I think Alan liked your top.
    Always had my doubts about that lad, more camp than a cubscout jamboree!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭gnolan

Ha! I love it when he goes, "Do more things with the Swiss Ball! Go on, yeah, thats it, bend all the way over! That red top really makes your eyes pop!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

I have a friend who is involved with football and gets interviewed a bit, and I've been interviewed a couple of times now and written a few articles, so we have an ongoing competition. Basically, we try to get the word "inconceivable" in as many times as possible*. The rules are: It has to be in context, and it has to survive the edit. He got three in the Herald one night and that's the record for a piece not written by yourself. I squeezed 5 into an article I wrote myself but that's not fair.

So inconcievable Transform. Are you up to the challenge?

*(some of you might be able to guess which movie we're both fans of)

gnolan wrote: »
    Ha! I love it when he goes, "Do more things with the Swiss Ball! Go on, yeah, thats it, bend all the way over! That red top really makes your eyes pop!"

yeah, I got so inspired that even bought red sleeveless adidas top on ebay 10mins ago :D really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Roper wrote: »
    I have a friend who is involved with football and gets interviewed a bit, and I've been interviewed a couple of times now and written a few articles, so we have an ongoing competition. Basically, we try to get the word "inconceivable" in as many times as possible*. The rules are: It has to be in context, and it has to survive the edit. He got three in the Herald one night and that's the record for a piece not written by yourself. I squeezed 5 into an article I wrote myself but that's not fair.

So inconcievable Transform. Are you up to the challenge?

*(some of you might be able to guess which movie we're both fans of)

I remember some Welsh rugby players doing this with song titles. Amazing how they got some fairly obscure song titles into the interview, in context.

BTW - great performance by TF - very polished. It's not easy to explain things while trying to do the exercise properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭gnolan

j@utis wrote: »
    yeah, I got so inspired that even bought red sleeveless adidas top on ebay 10mins ago :D really!

I was just havin' a laugh. You took it too far...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

rubadub wrote: »

Always had my doubts about that lad, more camp than a cubscout jamboree!

Doubts? Is he not out yet?

I thought he was.

If he is still in the closet it's a big sparkly one covered in sequince.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Doubts? Is he not out yet?
    You are correct. I had never heard of him before TBH.

http://www.highbeam.com/doc/1G1-130260528.html
    a big sparkly one covered in sequince.
    Brilliant! :D

Sean_K wrote: »
    man that vid is some utter junk!!

Inconceiable, jesus will give it a go but god thats tough to put into a sentence!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

I remember some Welsh rugby players doing this with song titles. Amazing how they got some fairly obscure song titles into the interview, in context.

BTW - great performance by TF - very polished. It's not easy to explain things while trying to do the exercise properly.

It was the English football team at the World Cup in 98.:D