Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scangers With Stupid Looking Winter Hats?

• 07-01-2009 1:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭

Most of the stalls on Henry Street are selling them, they come in White/Black or Grey, Really ugly looking things that are resting on the craniums of Scangers about the city like head crabs from Half Life...

What is provoking them to straighten their hair and wear these stupid looking hats? They are even growing their hair now? If you did that a few years ago, You would be called a 'smelly rocker'

http://4imgs.com/306/x/700125_FULL.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I've always associated those hats with Arts students, you know, the ones who always knew where to get their hands on a 5-spot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

r3nu4l wrote: »
    I've always associated those hats with Arts students, you know, the ones who always knew where to get their hands on a 5-spot.

Yeah, I've not seem many scummers wearing them. Mainly stoned hippies.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

N Dubz, its a new "hip hop" band from London, and they wear those type of hats, horrible things, Heres their Myspace

Nick

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

You mean there are non-stupid looking winter hats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Nearly annoys me as much as the snobs on Harcourt st etc who wear scarfs losely around their neck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I used to wear one of them back in 2000 when i lived in the states. I'd come back over here at Christmas sometimes and i'd wear it. Nobody wore them then. I guess i was just ahead of my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭My name is Mud

I have had my "stupid looking winter hat" for about 9 years now.

It keeps my ears and head warm at the same time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭abi2007

I think i'll get one, they look cosy. keep my ears warm:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

abi2007 wrote: »
    I think i'll get one, they look cosy. keep my ears warm:o

Your location seems to suggest that you and your hat will fit right in. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭flushje

OP you are correct. I've noticed a huge increase in the number of shambowla's wearing these hats.
    They used to be cool, as some one said art students would generally wear them. Even the hot posh girl in the AIB add had one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I'd rather freeze

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I thought you needed an old VW Van or similar to wear one of those. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    Most of the stalls on Henry Street are selling them, they come in White/Black or Grey, Really ugly looking things that are resting on the craniums of Scangers about the city like head crabs from Half Life...

What is provoking them to straighten their hair and wear these stupid looking hats? They are even growing their hair now? If you did that a few years ago, You would be called a 'smelly rocker'

http://4imgs.com/306/x/700125_FULL.jpg

times change my friend.

even for skangers

Berty wrote: »
    Your location seems to suggest that you and your hat will fit right in. :D

They haven't come this far North yet!! Must be just inner city at the mo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Its something you would see in a country with snow or Canadian teenagers wearing? Just doesn't look right on the scangers noggin, Makes them look like Dumb asses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭ninkynonk

Yeah a few of my mates had them a few years ago, and the scangers at the times would laugh at them for wearing them. At the time the Fasion for them would to have a baseball cap at an angle and have their hair down into a row of points. I used to be laughed at for spiking/ messing up my hair, the the Scangers started doing that too.:mad: then they started to grow mullits! Sure the Clobber on scangers now is mad- they seen to be wearing these hats with multi coloured tracksuit tops which look like something from 1983 and tracksuit bottoms tucked into their Lovely white socks. Its like a uniform they all must wear!

I hate Scangers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

As far I can tell, skangers still wear those manky baseball caps that seem to just float over the back of their heads. Those woolly hats are more of hippy thing, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I've seen plenty of "normal" people wearing these, but they instantly make me think that person hasn't showered for a number of days and that they stink.

Also, of the few people in this world I can honestly say I 100% dislike, the vast majority of them have at one time been seen wearing one of these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Mark200 wrote: »
    I'd rather freeze

That would make you a silly silly billy now wouldnt it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

i always wear an ear flap hat during winter, i even bought a brand new one (not the cheap ass ones on the stalls in henry st) this year, and then noticed all these little cream crackers wearing them too, wtf? Well hopefulyl if its a trend started by some **** hip hop band it will have died out by next year and i can go back to wearing my hat and only have people confuse me with an arts student (im not) rather than a scally

omfg you could end up wearing the same clothes as someone who speaks with a flat dublin accent :eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Although I agree that its a stlye many others had long before our bum fluff lipped friends adopted, it sweeps through their ranks like the fookin plague.

Just like Like these did:

Pink T-Shirts
    Tucking Track suit bottoms into socks
    and Nike Air Max (a classic)

I hear that the High Skanger of BumFluffton is the only one capable of combining all the above itmes on his person as a lesser squire would implode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

I will be up in Dublin at the weekend. I will have a look for any pyjama wearing howyas wearing one of these hats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

They probably robbed it off these cool college kids. :rolleyes:

I still don't understand the tracksuit bottoms tucked into socks. :confused:

Acacia wrote: »
    As far I can tell, skangers still wear those manky baseball caps that seem to just float over the back of their heads. Those woolly hats are more of hippy thing, no?

Yeah some of the hardcore scangers try to keep the cap nikey cap going, I knew a girl that wore them hats years ago and she got stick for it off the scangers.

Larianne wrote: »
    kids. :rolleyes:

I still don't understand the tracksuit bottoms tucked into socks. :confused:

It's for aerodynamics when running if the flare at the bottom is out it slows you down....

You know anyone who wears a tracksuit or nike's spends all their time robbing cars and houses and watching out for new trends in hats...

it's _all_ they're into

Yeah some of the hardcore scangers try to keep the cap nikey cap going, I knew a girl that wore them hats years ago and she got stick for it off the scangers.

what's the difference between a skanger and a hardkore one>?

does one only beat up random strangers rob houses and bang up on the weekends were the other is full time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Ah sure, some people just slag anyone for the sake of slagging. Time was when the 'skangers' in my town slagged anyone with long hair/ a liking for music with guitars as a 'rockur!'- a few years later, they were listening to Metallica because it had been deemed cool.

ntlbell wrote: »
    It's for aerodynamics when running if the flare at the bottom is out it slows you down....

You know anyone who wears a tracksuit or nike's spends all their time robbing cars and houses and watching out for new trends in hats...

it's _all_ they're into

That makes a lot of sense! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I hate anyone he wears those hats.

Do you know how ****ing stupid you look! :eek: :eek: :eek: :P

ntlbell wrote: »
    what's the difference between a skanger and a hardkore one>?

does one only beat up random strangers rob houses and bang up on the weekends were the other is full time?

There's a few that live across from my estate, Its like jumping into the back to the future car and going back ten years ago, They still wear the white tracksuits, Gelled fringe, Nike runners, Gold Chains and bear the dodgy tash.

They hired one for the Christmas, He was bringing all the old school rave CD's, Its like they don't wont to evolve like the current scangers? They don't want to be teh ghey with the hair and fancy clothes.

There's a few that live across from my estate, Its like jumping into the back to the future car and going back ten years ago, They still wear the white tracksuits, Gelled fringe, Nike runners, Gold Chains and bear the dodgy tash.

They hired one for the Christmas, He was bringing all the old school rave CD's, Its like they don't wont to evolve like the current scangers? They don't want to be teh ghey with the hair and fancy clothes.

That's what I'd call a proper skanger - born and bred. Others are just wannabes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Today I will be mostly wearing a tea-cosy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Scangers ruin good clothes. See it's like that with Converse, they can look grand with a nice pair of jeans etc... but when you tuck them into a pair of white tracksuit bottoms they look really stupid. Same with these hats, they look amusingly nice on a normal human being, but they would look ugly on the Michelin man. In fact, im gonna buy one of those hats today! Any good hat shops near walkinstown?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Jaysus - I used to wear those hats about 14 years ago in the States. I'm ahead of my time obviously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

I hate these threads... silly silly op...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Have one left over from when I lived in Montreal.

Amazing how when faced with -40 temperatures I ceased to give a fcuk what people could possibly have to say about what I was wearing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭stardust_dublin

oh my god, are you serious OP? what a stupid thread. those hats are winter hats, their use is to keep your head and ears warm. they have been around for years. who cares whether they look stupid or not? why do you care about the hats people wear on their heads?

if i wore one i wouldnt give a **** about how stupid people may think it looks on my head, id still wear it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

They're bloody stupid looking. Add to the fact that there's skangers wearing them, makes it even more stupid.

I was on a bus with some of the guys from the football team and one of them was pining for one of those hats, which he called a 'loser hat'

I laughed at him! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

They're bloody stupid looking. Add to the fact that there's skangers wearing them, makes it even more stupid.

I was on a bus with some of the guys from the football team and one of them was pining for one of those hats, which he called a 'loser hat'

I laughed at him! :rolleyes:

Cos your a spa :)

Yes OP, the hats are stupid. We like them. I think that about covers all we can in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 poshie

But scangers are wearing them. This is what forums were invented for. They have started turning up one of the ear-flaps too, the dirty bastards. Possibly so they can talk on their phones easier about how they'll be 'there in a bleeeeeedin minaaaaaah' as they travel on the bus to visit their chums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

I would usually associate these hats with the douchebags who return from a week on a hill in Peru saying to anyone who will listen 'yea loike I tooootally found myself when I had to live the third world life style, loike, makes you really appreciate what you have' - Fcuk off.

Now I hear the skangers have stolen the style, curse those handsome devils!

any one want one of these hats.. pm me. a mate of mine, that has some is selling them cheap.. he said somethin about them falling off the back of a lorry. Nothin dodgy bout them i swear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Wagon wrote: »
    Cos your a spa :)

Yes OP, the hats are stupid. We like them. I think that about covers all we can in this thread.

Eh?

Oh and it's *you're.

'Spa'

Pfft.

oh my god, are you serious OP? what a stupid thread. those hats are winter hats, their use is to keep your head and ears warm. they have been around for years. who cares whether they look stupid or not? why do you care about the hats people wear on their heads?

if i wore one i wouldnt give a **** about how stupid people may think it looks on my head, id still wear it!

They look like something a granny would make, the scangers don't wear them to keep their heads warm, Its about looking 'Massive', It just doesn't look right on them, Next thing they will be wearing Soviet hats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

I bought mine in Peru. Right skanger country that is, they were all wearing them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭The Citizen

I agree OP, the hats are like something your granny would put on a tea pot and look absolutely retarded.

Nobody with a brain would wear them. The scumbags do not have brains. We should unite in a total resistence towards the scum enforcing their fashion sense on this city.

They should be burned, just like the scum who wear them.
    They should be burned by, The Citizen.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Of course the real question is is it skangers with a k or scangers with a c?

I'm going for k.