Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Log Book Lost

• 07-01-2009 12:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭

Hi All, strange one this. I bought a car off a guy, all above board etc. Thing is he doesn't have the vlc anymore (lost it) so therefore need to replace it with RF134. Only thing is he has moved to middle east so he can't get the replacement, can i apply for the replacement log book in my name and address once a Cop signs it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

ya you can! you need to fill out and attach a change of ownership form (RF102, i think) to the replacement doc form. the previous owner is supposed to sign this himself but if he's gone away just sign his name. then get a garda to stamp the replacement doc cert and attach a cheque/postal order for €12 and send it away!!! new cert in your name in a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I'm i a similar situation. Wanted to book an early NCT, but can't find the VLC (though I KNOW I saw it somewhere in the hose only about 2 weeks ago). If I'm already the registered owner, is it just a matter of ringing Shannon and getting them to send me one.

I assume new VLC will have a different VLC identifier so that the old one can't be used if found.

it'll say duplicate on it if its being re-issued to a current owner.
    cant ring shannon, you need to fill out a replacement document form, sign it in front of a garda and get him to witness and stamp it and then send it with a cheque for €12 to Shannon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

it'll say duplicate on it if its being re-issued to a current owner.
    cant ring shannon, you need to fill out a replacement document form, sign it in front of a garda and get him to witness and stamp it and then send it with a cheque for €12 to Shannon

I suppose it's too much to expect that DELG could accept PayPal:pac::pac:

I'll have another root around over the weekend. NCT isn't due til May anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭mick.fr

Why in the hell do they call this Log Book.
    Should be Certificate of Ownership or so.
    Log Book makes me think about Service History more than ownership

Just my 2 cents

It used to be that you actually got a little book that was called the LOGBOOK.
    The official name for todays item is the Vehicle Licencing Certificate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭mick.fr

It used to be that you actually got a little book that was called the LOGBOOK.
    The official name for todays item is the Vehicle Licencing Certificate.

Alright ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

ya you can! you need to fill out and attach a change of ownership form (RF102, i think) to the replacement doc form. the previous owner is supposed to sign this himself but if he's gone away just sign his name. then get a garda to stamp the replacement doc cert and attach a cheque/postal order for €12 and send it away!!! new cert in your name in a few weeks.

Thanks Charlie, one question, where do I send it? Tax Office or Shannon? And who fills out the replacement doc form, me or him?
    EDIT: can't find the change of ownership form anywhere as websites say need VLC to get anywhere which is what I am missing?

Just send the whole lot to Shannon. call into your local garda station, they'll have them. I'm faily sure you can download them from motortax.ie

https://www.motortax.ie/OMT/pdf/RF200_en.pdf change of ownership

https://www.motortax.ie/OMT/pdf/RF134_en.pdf relacement docs.

fill out the RF134 but don't sign it until your in front of the Garda.

Cheers Charlie, thought RF200 was for pre 1993 cars only, this is 1995? Sorry for being pain in hole but anxious to get it sorted so I can tax the yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

TheDriver wrote: »
    Cheers Charlie, thought RF200 was for pre 1993 cars only, this is 1995? Sorry for being pain in hole but anxious to get it sorted so I can tax the yoke

Is the rf200 the aul brown handwritten log book?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Im in the exact situation as op.

My car is 92, so will I need a RF134 form and RF200 form to get it changed into my name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭ash_18x

ring 1890 20 20 21 and tell them the story, they will send you out a from- not sure which one it is where it says that you are claiming ownership of the car. you will have to have the name and address of the guy you bought it off- as in the address he had the car registered at. you will have to get it signed by a commissioner of oaths in your area (that cost a tenner and you can get names of these people from a solicitior in your area as some solicitiors do it too) or else a solicitor and the date of sale. send it back with 'URGENT' marked on the outside of the envelope and you will be sorted.

this happened to me- the previous owner said the form and replacement form was lost on the way to Shannon!! It took about a week to get sorted out in the end after i waited five months for him to sort it! Happy days!

thanks Ash, can't seem to get past hold though but hopefully someone will pick up soon!

i was on hold for about ten minutes the last time i rang!

Got through, lady took my reg details, told me what i owned and will send form, apparently i must fill out chassis number, get a garage (any garage) to verify it, get a commissioner of oaths to sign it and send it back. Thanks!!!

oh ya i forgot to say that you needed it stamped by a garage. if you know someone in one they could do it for you!
    at least you will have it sorted though!

well got the form in the post and seems grand, need last owners name and address, garage to verify it and oaths or peace commissioner to sign it so sorted! Did you have to send any cash back with it?

no,no need to send any money back!

Thanks All and especially Ash, will report back how things go but hopefully all will be good!

just to report back, got the logbook/vlc within the week from Shannon so all rosey! thanks Ash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

OP - can I ask why do you need your logbook anyway? I have never needed mine...

kingtut wrote: »
    OP - can I ask why do you need your logbook anyway? I have never needed mine...

well if you want to sell your car you need it and some insurance companies ask for a copy of it when you are getting insurance (they did this year and last anyway)!

TheDriver wrote: »
    just to report back, got the logbook/vlc within the week from Shannon so all rosey! thanks Ash

no problem, at least you are sorted now!