Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

blood of the irish

• 05-01-2009 10:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭

i was watching blood of the irish on rte 1 this evening but i missed the second half. does anyone know if it'll be repeated soon as it was very interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

just after finishing there a minute ago. Was very interesting. Dont know if it is going to be repeated though. It might be uploaded onto a site i be on. Ill keep an eye out and let you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

good good.
    my spanish housemate arrived back so we had a good chat and i had to knock it off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

It's on again tomrrow night at 23.55.

Just watching now, looks good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭DenMan

Hopefully it will be put up on the RTE website aswell. I'll have a chat to them about it. Do broadcast work for them and have some contacts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

BaZmO* wrote: »
    It's on again tomrrow night at 23.55.

Just watching now, looks good

balls! i'm working at 7am on wednesday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭shqipshume

Just finished watching aswell.Hahaha what was funny was him trying to relate Irish to basque still? they look nothing like us :eek: maybe small handful of people but cmon hahaha thats like saying we are Chinese.We will see whats next.
    The guy even said to him no way he was basque :D
    Looking forward to next part cause he said in clip we are not Celts!

The thing about bears in Ireland was interesting aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

shqipshume wrote: »
    Just finished watching aswell.Hahaha what was funny was him trying to relate Irish to basque still? they look nothing like us :eek: maybe small handful of people but cmon hahaha thats like saying we are Chinese.We will see whats next.
    The guy even said to him no way he was basque :D
    Looking forward to next part cause he said in clip we are not Celts!

The thing about bears in Ireland was interesting aswell

Who is us?
    Where you from?

btw He knew he wasnt Basque, it was a joke!!!
    He already knew where he was "from" that was the point because
    It was a joke er...!!!

Was it not published years ago that we are not celts(some are but not all), a lot of the "celts" are not actually celt.:eek:
    Apparently Celt culture was adopted by many in much the way American culture is today
    As for the Spanish/Basque in the West of Ireland thing........

Good show ish, wrong presenter!
    lacked flow because of this!?

elshambo wrote: »
    Who is us?
    Where you from?

btw He knew he wasnt Basque, it was a joke!!!
    He is from the east!!!
    It was a joke er...!!!

Was it not published years ago that we are not celts(some are but not all), a lot of the "celts" are not actually celt.:eek:
    Apparently Celt culture was adopted by many in much the way American culture is today
    As for the Spanish/Basque in the West of Ireland thing........

Good show ish, wrong presenter!
    lacked flow because of this!?

I am from Ireland!
    Where are you from? lol
    I know just adding to his joke :D

Yep i know thats what i heard aswell.
    Well they have said that any Basque who did make it to Ireland were few as their ships sank off the coast and was not enough to make impression on Irish blood,apparently.

p.s who would you think would be better for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Decent enough but chock full of filler and tedious repetition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Gardeners should garden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Tristram wrote: »
    Gardeners should garden.
    True that. Celebrity gardner. What the fook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Good show, very watchable. Slow in parts though, and not very much new learned, but the series isn't over yet.

The old people in Basque could easily have been Irish people. It was hard to tell with some of them, they looked like they wouldn't be out of place with a pitchfork, tending the farm in the west.

Everyone knows there's a touch of the Spanish in the West though, but it's kind of like someone a couple of hundred years from now saying there was a touch of the Brazilian looks about people in Galway and Roscommon.

Liked the part with the symmetrical cave drawings, they looked a bit like airplane wings...

That Tanti lad looks like one of those guys used as a ship's runner, doing all the crappy jobs on voyager tallships.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Deadeyes

KerranJast wrote: »
    Decent enough but chock full of filler and tedious repetition.
    Yeah, I switched off because of that. Programme makers seem to think we have a three second memory. More and more I'm looking at programs thinking you just told me that for the second time five minutes ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

This is the website belonging to the two lads doing the genetic testing: http://www.ethnoancestry.com/. Some interesting extra info on there. €200 to analyse my spit - I think I'll pass.

Wasn't it a bit creepy how the American researchers traveled around Ireland back in the 30's doing all their measuring and profiling? Sounds like a precursor to eugenics that was in vogue back then in the Third Reich.

I was waiting for there to be some mention of the Victorian caricatures that used to show the Irish to be directly descended from apes (:rolleyes:)! Maybe in the next programme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

nah i reckon the us guys were legit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Great show. Very impressed with it. Well I am fairly dark skinned, i think there may be some truth to us being related to the basques.

There was one of the basques looked like Paidi Ó'Se. You could see some bit of a similarity.

I thought the Bear in Leitrim was very interesting. Bears in Ireland 3000 years ago.

Considering the amount of immigration from Vikings, Normans, Scots in Ulster, English and the accompanying slaughter of the existing native population - throw in the catastrophe of the Famine too with its emmigration effects - then its unlikely the majority of us can be traced back to Celtic or even early Christian Ireland.

So many historical errors with that paragraph, I wouldn't know where to start.

Actually, I would have loved if they mapped the DNA of Kerry footballers and Kilkenny hurlers to see what it is about those counties that make them so good at their sport.

Well i heard before the Stronger Hurling counties have a strong Norman connection. Tipperary, Kilkenny, Cork, Limerick etc. Its something to do with landlords taking pride in there tennants having the better team in there area. Seriously now, there is something to that.

Deedsie wrote: »
    Well i heard before the Stronger Hurling counties have a strong Norman connection. Tipperary, Kilkenny, Cork, Limerick etc. Its something to do with landlords taking pride in there tennants having the better team in there area. Seriously now, there is something to that.

Interesting, and I suppose the better players would all have their pick of the women so would be able to pass their great-hurling-ability/genetic material on, providing the sport continued (which we all know it did).

I was thinking though that we just don't seem to have the interest other countries have with regards our anthropological heritage. Anyone know of any other good programmes on this topic?

Dr. Robert Winston had a great one about the evolution of human beings before, and looked at how genetics, over time, have evolved and why. It would be interesting to know what genetic traits ancient Irish people had, and why. Though I guess it wouldn't be far off the ancient Brits.

Interesting, and I suppose the better players would all have their pick of the women so would be able to pass their great-hurling-ability/genetic material on, providing the sport continued (which we all know it did).

I was thinking though that we just don't seem to have the interest other countries have with regards our anthropological heritage. Anyone know of any other good programmes on this topic?

Dr. Robert Winston had a great one about the evolution of human beings before, and looked at how genetics, over time, have evolved and why. It would be interesting to know what genetic traits ancient Irish people had, and why. Though I guess it wouldn't be far off the ancient Brits.

Did we have much to do with southern Britons prior to 1169? And most of them would have been Norman descendants after this untill the plantations? And I wonder if the divide between Native Catholic Irish and Protestant planters kept the mixing of the two apart to the most part? Obviously not completely?

I read Winstons book, Human Instinct. Really good read.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Was an interesting programme but the way it was shot made me seasick.Was there any need for all those speeded up shots of commuters and gimmecky editing and the camera focussing on something then flying off with exagerated whossing sounds from the sound effects department.The bbc do these type of programmes much better.And they wouldent have a gardener presenting a science programme.

darkdubh wrote: »
    Was an interesting programme but the way it was shot made me seasick.Was there any need for all those speeded up shots of commuters and gimmecky editing and the camera focussing on something then flying off with exagerated whossing sounds from the sound effects department.The bbc do these type of programmes much better.And they wouldent have a gardener presenting a science programme.

WTF is it with RTE and their stupid camera angles??

Deedsie, started a thread in Humanities about genetics, in case you're interested in discussing outside of TV.

Bwah? Enlighten me. There was Viking and Norman settlements of the main coastal cities in the early Middle ages. Then in the 1600s Cromwell and the Plantations displaced a lot of the native population of Munster and Leinster along with the majority in Ulster. The Famine killed a raft of people and a lot emmigrated as well. What am I mistaken in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Not sure that Dirmuid was the right choice of presenter for this? I also have reservations about the amount of filler and tedious repetition + the lack of discussion about how our African ancestors became White!

I thought the first episode was seriously lacking in maps of the british isles, & why discuss Ireland in isolation ? surely the influx of people into this island should be discussed in the context of the british isles as a whole > Maybe all will be revealed in Part Two?

Funny how Gavin was sitting down & remarking how he could look into peoples eyes/faces & see the Irishness within them, next thing you know his saliva proves that he himself is not as Irish as he thought, with his own ancestry back in eastern England/Scotland & the Alps :)

Being generous, I would rate the first episode 6/10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

WTF is it with RTE and their stupid camera angles??

Deedsie, started a thread in Humanities about genetics, in case you're interested in discussing outside of TV.

Anyone with a passing interest in the subject will have been bored for most of the show. We came out of Africa - surely everyone knows this already? Did it justify 20 minutes of showing a few tribesmen? At least show the path they took out of Africa. The bear was interesting though.

Showing him in 30-second clips driving and parking his jeep badly (twice!) was pure filler. As for Daniel O'Donnell (cringe).

I disagree that those Basques looked in any way Irish TBH. For a start they all had brown eyes. Go to any city in north-western Europe and you will see more "Irish" looking people... I have often seen lads who wouldn't look out of place on the junior hurling team or pitching hay.

The people in Conemara he picked out didn't look particularly dark to me (although I agree there is a dark skinned influence there).

Here's hoping Part 2 is better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

I'm annoyed I missed this. Will definitely try to watch the repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

You really didn't miss anything. I'm confused by the response generated.

Bwah? Enlighten me. There was Viking and Norman settlements of the main coastal cities in the early Middle ages. Then in the 1600s Cromwell and the Plantations displaced a lot of the native population of Munster and Leinster along with the majority in Ulster. The Famine killed a raft of people and a lot emmigrated as well. What am I mistaken in?

In terms of timescale, you're grand, but your post was in relation to the genetic mix of people. A lot of english people are descendants of the same people we are, so they would not add to the mix. Neither would the Ulster scots.

The British Isles, including Ireland, would be a mix of Norman and Viking predominantly, so any inter-country mingling won't affect our genes on any great level.

In terms of timescale, you're grand, but your post was in relation to the genetic mix of people. A lot of english people are descendants of the same people we are, so they would not add to the mix. Neither would the Ulster scots.

The British Isles, including Ireland, would be a mix of Norman and Viking predominantly, so any inter-country mingling won't affect our genes on any great level.
    I get you. What I was implying was that any romantic notions we have that somehow we're a seperate breed to the Saxon/Norman ancestry of "them across the water", are inaccurate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Thought it was very boring. Won't be watching next episode. Very little detail, I know they have to dumb things down to catch a wider audience, but they could have fitted all the interesting facts they gave into about 30 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Kai

Deedsie wrote: »

Complete rubbish, Speaking as a Kilkenny person its nothing to do with genetics, most of the people i know have at least one parent from different counties. I would reckon only a tiny fraction of the genetic makeup from people who lived in the area during norman times is still within the current population of the county. Ireland is small and people move around a lot...

Blaming your losses on genetic inferiority is a poor excuse :)

Damn trust Daniel o Donnell to be from royal blood whats the fricken chances :D

What was it about tonight guys i forgot :(

I know my family are from connemara and both of my great great great etc..grand parents came from the mediterranean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭pepsicokeacola

well i know im of part french origin because my surname is french and my dad has a german surname. but like seriously erin go brath.

and btw shock horror ireland shares genes with other european nations hardly a million miles a part. has anyone heard that ****e in the usa about the 'black irish'...i laugh on yahoo answers when i hear it.

and also i dont think basques are dark are they? they seem paleish to me. any pictures to contradict my claim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 johnfurlongfrom

Tristram wrote: »
    Gardeners should garden.

with you all the way there....Jaysus how the hell does he get on telly. He is a mess and he actually looks like a garden. booooooo

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Basque_people.png

wouldnt say theres anything not alike with the irish. if i seen any of them wearing dublin jerseys id be like fair enough.

Part Two, tonight, RTE One, 9.35pm .................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Camelot wrote: »
    Part Two, tonight, RTE One, 9.35pm .................

JUST TELL ME WHERE WE ARE FROM! GOD DAMN IT! STOP WITH THE SHOTS OF SHOCKED LOOKS ON OTHER PEOPLE'S FACES WHEN THEY FIND OUT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Elmo wrote: »
    JUST TELL ME WHERE WE ARE FROM! GOD DAMN IT! STOP WITH THE SHOTS OF SHOCKED LOOKS ON OTHER PEOPLE'S FACES WHEN THEY FIND OUT.

I bet they'll have some vague conclusion like the irish are a mix of many different races or that we were always here or something like that withput finding any specific details.

I'm preparing to be disappointed.

:eek:English?:eek:

Well it was a bit like watching paint dry, first we learned that Britain was populated long long before the island of Ireland . . .

Britain has signs of Human activity going back 700.000 years, but Ireland only has a Human history of 10.000 years, so then the speculation began > did some ancient people come across from Wales? (maybe this was the answer), but did they sail across or did they walk across the land bridge from Britain to Ireland? (possibly), but maybe the land bridge had gone by then)? so where did the first Irish people come from?

Well apparently we all came from the Basque region of Spain (not just the Irish), but because Ireland is the last stop before the atlantic (just like a Cul-De-Sac) the Basqueues congregated here, and then after wave after wave of other invaders came to Ireland from the island next door & from further afield including France & central Europe.

The only conclusive proof of the Basque connection came from a 3500 year old childs bone found in a cave in Limerick, so although we know that we have a Basque connection with that bone 3500 years ago, we still dont know where our original ancestors came from 9000 or 10.000 years ago!

This documantary prooved nothing to me really, apart from the fact that Diarmuid has a genetic marker from the Alps, and he really struggles with his THs :)

its based on more then jsut one bone/person

but it was like teh first program
    landbridge
    landbridge
    landbridge
    LANDBRIDGE

oh btw its wasn't by landbridge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

It seemed at times that they just wanted to prove we had a link with the Basques then find out the origins of the irish.

Also i didnt like they way they seemed to focus purely on the people in Connemara instead of looking at DNA from people in different parts of the country.

basically we are irish european and african.

camelot i laughed at your post. :P

did the fact we have 98% of that blood type indicate a high level of inbreeding?

for **** sake i wish we were part of mainland europe.

did the fact we have 98% of that blood type indicate a high level of inbreeding?

for **** sake i wish we were part of mainland europe.

30 some odd years as an Irishman, out west with the 98%'ers and for the first time i can proudly say, MY Dad's English thank fcuk:D

but i have spent most of my life with people asking me if im Italian or SPANISH

elshambo wrote: »
    30 some odd years as an Irishman, out west with the 98%'ers and for the first time i can proudly say, MY Dad's English thank fcuk:D

but i have spent most of my life with people asking me if im Italian or SPANISH

You must have taken after you mother's inbreeding. :(

Oh so we come from Spain, could they have dragged it out much long.

Gavin: In episode one ...... in episode one

FFS Gavin their are only 2 episodes we might all be inbreds but we have the memory of an elephant, not a gold fish.

so how long were these 'basque' people in 'basque'

did they not stop off in cornwall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

so how long were these 'basque' people in 'basque'

did they not stop off in cornwall?
    No they got the Booze Cruise straight across to Ireland. English immigration laws were much tougher back then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭jaxy999

Jeez, they didn't half drag out this programme. I enjoyed prog. 1 coz it was new info but no. 2 was just a rehash. They could have fitted it all into 1 program. Typical RTE. If they didn't have so many advert breaks.......
    I'm still none the wiser as to where the Irish came from other than knowing Tante in Connemara, his ancesters came from the basque but what about all the ppl living in the SE and E of the country. The bit about the 3 kids been connected to the child from 3000 yrs ago was interesting however I'd say the children were abit bored by it all & couldn't care less!!!! :D

jaxy999 wrote: »
    Jeez, they didn't half drag out this programme. I enjoyed prog. 1 coz it was new info but no. 2 was just a rehash. They could have fitted it all into 1 program. Typical RTE. If they didn't have so many advert breaks.......

Anyone else notice on the second ad break they only advertised RTÉ programmes! I didn't notice the first ad break, it may have been the same.

Also they could have gone into more detail on how DNA test where carried out.

Darmiud: These test are very complex.... these test are so complex we are sending them to germany..... these test are so incredible complex you just would ****ing understand you ****ing pack of paddy irish inbreds..... thank god I side line for the BBC.