Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf shops in the North

• 03-01-2009 10:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭

Where are the best golf shops to head to over the border? Any good ones in and around Newry or would i be better heading up to Belfast?

Not looking for a debate about the rights and wrongs of shopping up there, just some advice about the best places to head to. Main reason is to buy an electric trolley.

Cheers for any help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    Main reason is to buy an electric trolley.

Jaysus Graeme you're a bit young for that!

The auld pins mustn't be as strong as they used to be when you were a young man ;)

On topic, dunno about golf shops up north but am up there a bit with work so will keep an eye out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Brockagh

A friend of mine was going up north to buy clubs from American Discount, but found that there was much much better value in McGuirk's down here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,650 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    Where are the best golf shops to head to over the border? Any good ones in and around Newry or would i be better heading up to Belfast?

Not looking for a debate about the rights and wrongs of shopping up there, just some advice about the best places to head to. Main reason is to buy an electric trolley.

Cheers for any help!
    hi graeme there is a couple of golf shops in newry the best and biggest is on the warrenpoint road in the industrial park where newry town soccer pitch is cant remember the name of it but its only a mile or two outside newry once on the warrenpoint road take the right turn on the roundabout after the carriage restaurant its near the end of the industrial estate think it is pound for euro at the moment.
    there was a great sale in joe frawley golf in dundalk ends today i think half price of absoloutely everything probably feck all left now .
    if you want to travel further head to the boucher road in belfast where you have nevada bobs plus many more shops to keep herself happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭golfbgud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

The best selection of clubs is in Nevada Bob's in Boucher Estate in Belfast (off the M1).

I'm not sure what they have in the way of trollies........I'd call them before travelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Boden08

stockdam wrote: »
    The best selection of clubs is in Nevada Bob's in Boucher Estate in Belfast (off the M1).

I'm not sure what they have in the way of trollies........I'd call them before travelling.

Definitely call them before travelling. I went up Monday to that branch and was pretty underwhelmed. I ended up buying clubs from Stephen Hamill's pro-shop in Lisburn Golf Club. The JJB sports shop in the Sprucefield Centre just South of Lisburn is also worth a look, but there's nothing in their branch in the centre of Lisburn.
    Go early and avoid Newry town centre like the plague unless you love to sit in traffic...