Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gaisce (The Presidents award)

• 03-01-2009 12:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭

Not sure were to post this as it straddles a few topics but just wondering if I could get a bit of info on this.

Id be interested in doing the gold award but Im 22 and doing a bit of research it seems most people do this in school. Am I a bit long in the tooth at this stage?

Id be interested in it as it would give me the motivation to finally get around to doing some things I have wanted to do, I feel it would be a nice achievement and also from a careers perspective.

I would someday like to work for the civil service (Junior Diplomat/Third secretary) and I feel this would look good and stand to me...am I wrong? Is it something employers would pay attention to at my stage or is it really only good for someone looking for summer work or a first job after school?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

lol wut?

Only joking OP, but only about the poor grammar. I really have no ****ing clue what you're talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭ManwitaPlan

lol wut?

Only joking OP, but only about the poor grammar. I really have no ****ing clue what you're talking about.

:confused:Sorry did'nt realise internet message boards had such high standards;)

I assume your confusion is stemming from not knowing what "Gaisce" is.

Wiki on it here:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gaisce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

lol wut?

But he's a ManwitaPlan , so it might make sense to reserve judgement.:D

Is it a Goldfinger award , Op ?

Or looking to get some gold filling's perhaps?

You will have to explain , if you want help.

Don't think you are really. They are advertising it all the time in GMIT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

But he's a ManwitaPlan , so it might make sense to reserve judgement.:D

Is it a Goldfinger award , Op ?

Or looking to get some gold filling's perhaps?

You will have to explain , if you want help.

Lol, sorry for not explaining it fully in the OP lads.

The reason I didnt is because the questions I ask could only really be answered by somebody who already has knowledge of what the award is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

:confused:Sorry did'nt realise internet message boards had such high standards;)

No, I meant my own sarcastic poor grammar in the beginning of my previous post.

eVeNtInE wrote: »

Yeah, its up to the age of 25. By the time I complete it I would be pretty close to the limit though and Id feel a bit weird collecting an award surrounded by a load of transition year students........perhaps me and herself could go for a few drinks after the ceremony;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭chat2joe

I think you have to have it done by the time you're 25... and some parts take 18months... so you'll need to start by the time you're 23.5! 22 is a grand age - there's loads of college students do it in "Gaisce Soc"s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭gary82

Go for it... I'm starting into it properly myself now and I'm 23. When you're older you can usually do a serious foreign adventure project with mates too! (not some stupid trip to an adventure centre planned by a teacher or somethin!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

I toyed around with the idea of doing a Gold Award for quite some time, and haven't even completely given up the idea. (I'm nearly 22 btw.) I called them up and had a chat. I was about to start a postgrad in UCD at the time and they said that if I wanted to, they'd put me in touch with "plenty" of people in UCD who are "going for gold". That indicates that we wouldn't be all that long in the tooth, maybe a year older than other people, but sure that's nothing.

Cheers fella's...I was half expecting a bit of stick at 12 o'clock of a Friday night on after hours but the replies have been really helpful:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭adamb92

lol our religion 'teacher' tried to make us do that in transition year :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Cow Moolester

Im in transition year and doing the bronze one :) I have nearly all of it done now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭gary82

Imagine youself on your 25th birthday.... Me thinks you'd be kicking yourself for not starting now! :P

I'd say it looks good on the aul CV and we need every help we can get these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

If you're only starting now, it probably won't be Mary Mac giving you the award. Probably President Bertie or Bono instead. That would sour the achievement a little for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

I remember signing up for the bronze back in Transition Year. We had a deadly hike up around Glendalough. It was really fun. I had most of my stuff but being in TY, I wasn't bothered filling out forms so I never got the prize in the end. It cost me that tenner though!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,970 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I did the Bronze Medal, in TY of course, but I still plan to start the Gold some day soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

eVeNtInE wrote: »

Would yer man O'Searcaigh qualify then?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Camping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

How does one get registered or what ever for the gold?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

I have a bronze one because I'm so cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Fringe wrote: »
    I remember signing up for the bronze back in Transition Year. We had a deadly hike up around Glendalough. It was really fun. I had most of my stuff but being in TY, I wasn't bothered filling out forms so I never got the prize in the end. It cost me that tenner though!

You weren't in my feckin class were you now? o.O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

WTF?

Personal Skill – ECDL or music lessons. Requires one hour per week for 13, 39 or 50 weeks (Bronze, Silver and Gold)

Anybody with more them two brain cells can pass all of the ECDL in less in a 2 hours at most, and that includes the time to load each section which is about 10-15mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Beaniebop

Do it. Its good craic-finished my gold about two years ago and ended up in Thailand for a month of all places. Coolest thing ever. Plus there's no chance you'd end up getting your award with a pile of TY's cause most people who finish it are alot older. Check out their website www.gaisce.ie, download the form and ring them so you can be assigned a PAL or leader dude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 gnr.rigney

strongr wrote: »
    How does one get registered or what ever for the gold?
    mail@gaisce.ie

they can send you out a registration card which you send off with you're fee, or you can download a form directly from the website www.gasice.ie
    make sure you find a PAL ! its really important, for the gold award in particular !
    the best job is to ring the office directly and they can set you straight, all the numbers you need are on the website

Not sure were to post this as it straddles a few topics but just wondering if I could get a bit of info on this.

Id be interested in doing the gold award but Im 22 and doing a bit of research it seems most people do this in school. Am I a bit long in the tooth at this stage?

Id be interested in it as it would give me the motivation to finally get around to doing some things I have wanted to do, I feel it would be a nice achievement and also from a careers perspective.

I would someday like to work for the civil service (Junior Diplomat/Third secretary) and I feel this would look good and stand to me...am I wrong? Is it something employers would pay attention to at my stage or is it really only good for someone looking for summer work or a first job after school?
    Hey, saw you were thinking of starting you're gold award ! fair play !
    do you know what you're gonna do for you're adventure challenge ?
    Im getting mine going too, but im at a loss as to what I can do for my skill section !
    hope all goes well for ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Can people not do community work without looking for an award? ;)

Confab wrote: »
    Can people not do community work without looking for an award? ;)
    Its not like we're looking for a medal !
    the gaisce award is a reward for hard work and dedication in four areas ! physical, community, personal skill and adventure.
    there's a lot more to it than you seem to think !!

very few LC's go for the gold award ! most gold award participants are in college. im starting mine now, im 19 going on 20, heading into 2nd year of college ! cant wait to get it going ! it looks really great on CV's and it gives you a real edge in interviews

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

gnr.rigney wrote: »
    Its not like we're looking for a medal !
    the gaisce award is a reward for hard work and dedication in four areas ! physical, community, personal skill and adventure.
    there's a lot more to it than you seem to think !!

Really?
    ery few LC's go for the gold award ! most gold award participants are in college. im starting mine now, im 19 going on 20, heading into 2nd year of college ! cant wait to get it going ! it looks really great on CV's and it gives you a real edge in interviews

dan719 wrote: »
    Really?

you should give it a go !
    you really do learn a lot about yourself !