Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you actually know about the Israeli-Palestinian conflict?

• 30-12-2008 7:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭

I know there's been a few threads here about it already especially after the latest battles. What shocks me about the threads and the opinions put for is the level of general ignorance among so many posters. I don't really know how to phrase this, but do you actually know anything about the history of this conflict, or are you just mouthing off? Where do you think it stems from? What do you think its about? Why do you think one group is more in the right than another?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Rabble rabble rabble?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Nope, not touching this one with a barge pole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I'm supportin whichever team wears red.

So which one is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

How far back in history do you want to go?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

galwayrush wrote: »
    How far back in history do you want to go?:rolleyes:

Back to Isaac and Ishamel should be sufficent :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sillymoo

Ah Luv. Bit too serious for AH I think Petal.

Back to Isaac and Ishamel should be sufficent :pac:

That's what i was thinking.:D

Fizman wrote: »
    I'm supportin whichever team wears red.

So which one is that?

The Bleeding Hearts?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'm circumsized, so I'm biased and out of this one with Biggins too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

sillymoo wrote: »
    Ah Luv. Bit too serious for AH I think Petal.

Perhaps. But if one thread is allowed run on the topic then I think its worthwhile to try and understand people's understanding, if you follow. For example a lot of people either believe that Israel's legitimacy as a state stems from 1948, or else, even worse, are oblivious to the idea that there wasn't always an Israeli state. That sort of thing needs to be countered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

*shouts through megaphone*

OP, you have the right to remain silent. Put your hands above your head and please step down from your high horse.

Mairt wrote: »
    I'm circumsized, so I'm biased and out of this one with Biggins too.

Biased towards both creeds???

phenomenon wrote: »
    *shouts through megaphone*

OP, you have the right to remain silent. Put your hands above your head and please step down from your high horse.

NO! I love my high horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I always thought it was cause of some lad born the same day as Jesus. Think his name is Brian :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

A bit of craic tbh.

Biased towards both creeds???

Beat me to it..
    Ponders............... Being Circumsised in a hot climate sure can lead to a lot of hostility.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

We all know lack of marmite has a part to play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I would say I'm quite informed on the history of the conflict, prior to and after the creation of the Israeli state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

All I know for sure is that it started before I was born and shall be going after I die.

dlofnep wrote: »
    I would say I'm quite informed on the history of the conflict, prior to and after the creation of the Israeli state.

Schhhhhhhh. You'll open up a can of worms.:eek:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I'm fairly up to speed on the military history of Israel and the associated frameworks. I haven't put too much effort onto the political side. Frankly, I don't think any single person can know it all at this point anyway, it's just far too complicated for an amatuer.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

God how awesome would it be to open up new gentlemans club.

The Gaza-Stripclub.

/runs off to copyright name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

It's a war over religion, something that causes a lot of hassle (again something about this Brian guy I think). The rest is all bollix really.

ShooterSF wrote: »
    It's a war over religion, something that causes a lot of hassle (again something about this Brian guy I think). The rest is all bollix really.

Its a nationalist issue, not a religious issue. The religion is just used as part of the nationals origins mythos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

I know enough about it to know I don't know enough to have an informed opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Actually religion has only a little to do with it.

There are Jewish communities north of Beirut in Lebanon, Iraq and even Iran have Jewish communities.

Its more to do with humous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

Most people here don't even know enough about Ireland to have a proper debate on its history let alone Palestine-Israel. Its perfectly fair of somebody like Mairt to voice his informed opinion with an air of authority because of his personal experience in the region, however the majoirty of the other people involved in the discussion are on fairly shakey grounds rergards the value of their posts in adding to the debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Its a nationalist issue, not a religious issue. The religion is just used as part of the nationals origins mythos.
    So its because of the Judean Peoples Front or the Peoples Front of Judea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

All I know is Isreal won the Eurovision with a he/she. What've the Palestinians ever won?

Mairt wrote: »
    Its more to do with humous.

A Greek bread dip?

So its because of the Judean Peoples Front or the Peoples Front of Judea?

You're a very naughty boy bringing them into it.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

It's the fault of the British (complete lack of foresight along with arrogance and disdain towards the Palestinians) and the Germans (No explanation needed).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Oooh ooh pick me, PICK ME!! I learned all about it last night.

Israel = Bad
    Palestine = Good

.....or is the other way around?

Dang, I've forgotten. :confused:

DCC160 wrote: »
    All I know is Isreal won the Eurovision with a he/she. What've the Palestinians ever won?

Was he \ she the first female circumsised Israeli ?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Okay Im just gonna come out and say it. I have not been involved in other similar threads because of this reason............I DONT HAVE A CLUE TBH! There I said it!

I know the very basics but its definetly not enough to hold an arguement on an internet forum!!

I just havnt educated myself with its history, but I would like to.

Anyone like to give me a crash course?:D

At least Im honest;)

It's the fault of the British (complete lack of foresight along with arrogance and disdain towards the Palestinians) and the Germans (No explanation needed).

You forgot the Americans and the Zionist movements there.

The two sides can't even chat over a Pint.:rolleyes:
    Muslims ; Alcohol bad
    Jews ; Alcohol ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

So your answer to the question is "I know very little about the conflict."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

enough to say that one thread in ah is more than enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Nevermind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

sink wrote: »
    A Greek bread dip?

LMAO! I thought he was talking about humus, an important component of fertile soils.

I'd know a bit about it...some people hate some other people who hate them right back. Natural part of civilisation.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

I know there's been a few threads here about it already especially after the latest battles. What shocks me about the threads and the opinions put for is the level of general ignorance among so many posters. I don't really know how to phrase this, but do you actually know anything about the history of this conflict, or are you just mouthing off? Where do you think it stems from? What do you think its about? Why do you think one group is more in the right than another?

I don't think it's either groups fault. It's the bloody Polish, taking our jobs and our women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Israel isn't a real country.

Set up by both the British and Americans after the second World War.

Land stolen from the Palestinians.

Israel should be wiped from the planet.

Holsten wrote: »

I know enough to know this guy knows nothing.

Thats right... poke the sleeping angry dog! :eek:

Oh dear.

sillymoo wrote: »
    Oh dear.

Aye, I'm right now heading for my bunker! Yikes....

Incoming... Incoming...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Tannylan

Fu@k All and d'ont really give a SH"TE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

Biggins wrote: »
    Thats right... poke the sleeping angry dog! :eek:

woof woof
    thats my other dog impression

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

I'll be completely honest, i dont know anything about it and in all honesty i couldnt give a shite! I know thats wrong and that i shouldnt think like that but i really dont care! Doesn't affect me or my loved ones in anyway so....meh.

Im going to hell for saying that!

IRISH RAIL wrote: »
    woof woof
    thats my other dog impression

Interesting location IRISH RAIL :D