Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smug irish celebs

• 30-12-2008 12:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭

Craig doyle must be the smuggest irish male ever - big head on him when he's knocking around doing the top irish millionaires - nearly stuck up some of their ar5es. Ronan keating has to get an honourable mention as well.

Female number one has to be Lorraine keane - yer one of expose. You'd swear her sh1t doesn't smell. Recently interviewed about her christmas plans she says she goes to the house in france with the kids and hubby. They go to midnight mass and it's amazing cause they say the mass in french!! No Sh1t Sherlock - mass in france and they say it in french - what next!! Her 4 year old translates it for her as her french is amazing - yeah sure it is!!

Anyone care to rival these smug Irish "celebs"!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,364 ✭✭✭✭walshb

C'mon, it has to be Bono, has to be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,157 ✭✭✭✭Berty

newmills wrote: »
    Craig doyle must be the smuggest irish male ever - big head on him when he's knocking around doing the top irish millionaires - nearly stuck up some of their ar5es.

Did you see when he dragged his old man on to his show the other night. He said something about having a tight as* and his dad kept looking at this ass until the section ended on the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭newmills

I seriously detest him - doing the rugby on bbc when it's clear he knows feck all about it. Also doing the tv ads for irish rail - he would sh1t a brick if he had to use the train and sit beside us mere mortals!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Most of these dumbos are liggers in the finest sense of the word.

Try to blag their way into everything and want to pay for nothing.

Smuggest has to be Chubby Chops Ryan G who loves travelling /dining/ enjoying himself at others expense.

watch for the 'career walk/trip/adventure leaders too.

pay all their expense and they will do the San Diego/Los Angeles walk and try to hook in other poor cnunts who have to pay their own way..... :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Terry Wogan - if he is indeed still Irish! (I hope not - he insults us every opportunity he gets)
    He's an insulting patronising gobschite!

Jesus how did I forget gay byrne. Remember on the late late when he used to call someone to tell them they'd won a renault laguna and he'd ask "do you have a car" or "what are you driving". Once just once I wanted someone to say "actually gay i bought a new merc/bmw/audi last week but the laguna will do the young lad for staging round the fields"!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

These people are big fish in a small pond. (And i use the phrase big fish loosely) Their nobodies in the grand scheme of things. And that is pretty satisfying when you think about it.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I know she's not Irish but Christ almighty I fcuking detest Kerry Katona!

Ya fat b!tch, thats why mums go to rehab!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Bono, Geldof, Gerry Ryan, Kenny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭limericklady87

Wesley Quirke and im using the term celeb extremely loosely here. He just does my head in. "on a career break" ir never worked a day in his life, sponged off daddy and landed on his feet with a gorgeous gf. I dont particularly like her but at least she does a bit for charity and the like but he's a waste of ****** and ink in the sindo if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

Why validate them by making them a focal point of conversation if they don't impact on your life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭LolaDub

glenda gilson, smug and overated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭limericklady87

Blush_01 wrote: »
    Why validate them by making them a focal point of conversation if they don't impact on your life?

cos i find him to be a smug irish "celeb"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Smug boards.ie poster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭The Mighty Ken

Jealousy? Insecurity? Self-doubt? Self-hatred? Take your pick...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Hector Ó hEochagáin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

LolaDub wrote: »
    glenda gilson, smug and overated

Shes actually a very nice, down to earth person

Have you met her or are you going on what you read in the papers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

I don't know any of these people personally and I'm not going to listen to the bull**** our papers come out with.

But Lisa Murphy (Michael Flatley's ex) and Rachel Allen have the most affected, fake accents I've ever heard in my life, and I hate them just for that.

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    Smug boards.ie poster

Far from it. But surely if you find someone you never interact with smug, then they make no impact on your life and you make none on theirs. Why dwell on it? Sounds like a waste of energy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Far from it. But surely if you find someone you never interact with smug, then they make no impact on your life and you make none on theirs. Why dwell on it? Sounds like a waste of energy.

This is After Hours. Topics like this are the lifeblood of this forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Not really.

The original poster is entitled to create a thread venting about smug Irish celebrities. There are many such people and they deserve criticism.

This comment

adds nothing to the discussion and creates the impression that you consider yourself superior to those individuals who do get worked up about smug celebrities. One can also interpret your comment as being an attempt to deflect such negative posts because you may be friendly with some of aforementioned gobshi*es.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I've never heard of most of these people until just now.

And stop using the word "celeb".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭ElCrapula

Davidius wrote: »
    I've never heard of most of these people until just now.

And stop using the word "celeb".

OK,I will

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

Jaysus lads, when you think about it, theres loads of them!!
    My nominations would go to Amanda Brunker. Half the Sunday World is taken up with pictures of her and her kids, the other half is taken up with Paul Williams and his pictures of gangsters coming out of the shop after buying a pint of milk or the likes. In her defence tho, she does have a cracking pair of tits.
    My other nominees would be for Glenda Gilson who isnt half as good looking as she thinks she is, Craig Doyle for reasons already stated and that northy pr!ck off the panel thats dressed up as a polar bear in the Harp lager adverts.
    The lifetime achievement award has to go to Wogan tho. At this stage he may as well be walking around in that union jack dress ginger spice used to wear.

Could my "comment" not have been a genuine question?
    The title of the thread is Smug irish celebs. I am equally as entitled to wonder why someone would bother letting said "smug celebrities" annoy them as the OP is to post their rant.

Am I to take it that if I can't understand the motivation behind something I should keep schtum rather than wondering why? I'm actually genuinely interested in why people get worked up about people they don't know.

As far as I can see, there was nothing wrong with asking a question regarding the original subject matter. It was in no way off topic, and if the only way to contribute to a thread in your opinion is to agree with everything that has been said up to that point that strikes me as more than a bit silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭call d

what about that little fat midget stephen gately with his new face lift, his face is all streched back behind his ears, and the whole disney thing, grow up you over rated karoke has been.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭Hub

Female number one has to be Lorraine keane - yer one of expose. You'd swear her sh1t doesn't smell. Recently interviewed about her christmas plans she says she goes to the house in france with the kids and hubby. They go to midnight mass and it's amazing cause they say the mass in french!! No Sh1t Sherlock - mass in france and they say it in french - what next!! Her 4 year old translates it for her as her french is amazing - yeah sure it is!!

Aaahahaha

I remember reading that over Christmas.

Mass in Frech LOL

WTF does she expect?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

ThunderCat wrote: »
    ...The lifetime achievement award has to go to Wogan tho. At this stage he may as well be walking around in that union jack dress ginger spice used to wear.

Thank gawd, they took the Eurovision off him for next year.
    I know its a crap show but with Graham Norton doing it now, it might actually be entertaining to hear his commentary - he WILL be actually funny, not droll and and not be insulting (his own) consistently every year.

Good riddance to Wogan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Dave mc savage (well celeb moocher anyhow)

Then there's Mary Harney with her €500 hair doo, you see her on the news sitting behind Brian(fred flintstone) Cowen barely able to see out of her fat squinted eyes wallowing in her smugness after spending €60000 flying around Ireland opening off licences for some smug mate, why can't she walk around Ireland it's not as if she dosn't need the exerise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Gerald Keane.

How could anyone refer to themselves as a "celebrity lawyer" and be so desperate to hand around with people because they are famous? If they were interesting fair enough, but just being palsy with people so you can name drop.

Could my "comment" not have been a genuine question?
    The title of the thread is Smug irish celebs. I am equally as entitled to wonder why someone would bother letting said "smug celebrities" annoy them as the OP is to post their rant.

Am I to take it that if I can't understand the motivation behind something I should keep schtum rather than wondering why? I'm actually genuinely interested in why people get worked up about people they don't know.

As far as I can see, there was nothing wrong with asking a question regarding the original subject matter. It was in no way off topic, and if the only way to contribute to a thread in your opinion is to agree with everything that has been said up to that point that strikes me as more than a bit silly.
    Jealousy? Insecurity? Self-doubt? Self-hatred? Take your pick...

No no no no! It's not about being annoyed by tosser celebs. It's about slagging the sh1t out of them. If you didn't bitch about them they'd get a free ride and become even more knobby. It's all about keeping them grounded.

Never mind the Buzzcocks is one example. It ridicules certain celebrities. Keeps them on their toes. Deconstructs a lot of what the so called celebs have done in terms of promoting their images, (usually naff and shameful like "celebrity" reality shows)

It's just fun to do it, when they are in your faces, without you asking them to be

I don't mind celebs with talent who are not always in your face, ie always in the papers, but these people are gimps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

God I love this thread. What about Bill Cullen? If that cnut was made of chocolate he'd eat himself

I remember he was on the Late Late Show a number of years backs saying 'that when he gets up in the morning, he looks in the mirror and says to himself how great he is'

My Dad new him years ago when he worked in Walden Motors and thought he owned the place...a muppet of the highest order

and that knob jockey Harry Crosby

The bill cullen is a good one. The missus was coming home from london a few years ago and he was on the plane sitting across from her. She was reading the vip and there was an interview with him telling all how he doesn't need sleep and can get by on 2-3 hours a night. The plane was barely of the runway and he was unconscious with jackie asleep beside him. The missus nearly burst her sides laughing at the article while looking at big bill flat out across from her!!

Hub wrote: »
    No no no no! It's not about being annoyed by tosser celebs. It's about slagging the sh1t out of them. If you didn't bitch about them they'd get a free ride and become even more knobby. It's all about keeping them grounded.

Never mind the Buzzcocks is one example. It ridicules certain celebrities. Keeps them on their toes. Deconstructs a lot of what the so called celebs have done in terms of promoting their images, (usually naff and shameful like "celebrity" reality shows)

It's just fun to do it, when they are in your faces, without you asking them to be

I don't mind celebs with talent who are not always in your face, ie always in the papers, but these people are gimps

I suppose my issue is I have no idea who half the people mentioned in this thread are, so I can't see how they're celebrities, never mind smug ones. I don't know why they wind people up so much.

I recently returned to Ireland after a year abroad.

Man what I saw on TV and the papers was so lame.

On the on hand nothing ever changed with the likes of the Sunday world. Paul Williams writing rubbish about a bunch of knackers dealing drugs and and shooting each other. Yaaaaawn! Seriously who cares. It's actually depressing looking at that ****. There's that element in every city in the world but I really think Ireland focuses on it way to much.

Then you have those absolute Muppets on TV3 type programmes, nouveau Ritchie women/men bull****ting on about perfume and shopping in boutiques in the powerscourt shopping centre. Was watching these clowns on couches spew verbal diarrhea all over Christmas. Seriously, can we not have something a little bit more intelligent on the TV?

Then of course there was "Ireland's richest celebrates!!!11" Like...wtf seriously...it's kind of funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

Shes actually a very nice, down to earth person If you're a smug Krystle-frequenting polo-shirt wearing D4 tossbag.
    Have you met her or are you going on what you read in the papers?

fixed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭The Mighty Ken

Hub wrote: »

Sorry but if you read those types of papers and watch the trash on telly that they generally appear on, then you're just as much of a gimp. The reason that there are so many of these talentless 'celebrities' who offer little or nothing to the planet is because there is a market for them. Mostly made of bitchy little retards who, while they can't stop lapping them up, love to put them down on internet forums.

I know it's a cliche at this stage but... get a life.

I hate, just hate Jason Byrne.

Sorry but if you read those types of papers and watch the trash on telly that they generally appear on, then you're just as much of a gimp. The reason that there are so many of these talentless 'celebrities' who offer little or nothing to the planet is because there is a market for them. Mostly made of bitchy little retards who, while they can't stop lapping them up, love to put them down on internet forums.

lol

I don't buy these rags or read them. I see them on the front of papers and magazines, and when I'm flicking through channels. What can you do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Gavin Lambe Murphy. GAP. Annoying. Arrogant. Simple. Immature. Half-witted. Ponce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭lovemypinkhat

BrightEyes wrote: »
    Gavin Lambe Murphy. GAP. Annoying. Arrogant. Simple. Immature. Half-witted. Ponce.

QFT!
    I won't even bother listing them as there are so many of them but basically anyone who gave their views on that richest celebrities show on TV3 shown TWICE in the last week. Ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

walshb wrote: »
    C'mon, it has to be Bono, has to be!

well, bono is a steaming turd, the rest of them (often featured on programmes like Xpose) are just like the flies that you'd often find feeding off a steaming turd, so you could be right..... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

Anyone in the first few pages of the Daily Mail's Sunday magazine, I have no clue who they are but look as smug as cats.

Sorry, I don't read those kinds of papers or watch that trash on telly but the smug celebs are still there. The "celebs" that you say are talentless are indeed that but that doesn't make people "bitchy little retards" for having an interest in them - I don't - some people do.

Even normal tv shows are hijacked by the talentless people. Watching a program over xmas about why people get violent/angry and they show a clip of Jamiroquai attacking a photographer. Trying to be the voice of reason the person hosting the show explains about invasion of privacy etc. Suddenly Calum Best appears on screen with the word "celebrity" under his name to give his views on violence with invasion of privacy. Yes his oul lad was one of the greatest players to ever kick a ball but to have no talent and rely on "celebrity" to enter you into that world is pathetic.

Ricky gervais was asked by a reporter "what advice would you give to someone who wants to become famous?" He replied "kill a prostitute!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

That bloody Amanda Brunker drives me mad along with that Fiona Looney one. Always on about their bloody kids. I couldn't give a damn about their kids and they are bound to be spoiled little brats. The Looney one was on about her kids picking up their poo in their hands on the radio once, as all kids do in her opinion! What the hell?????:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

Craig doyle must be the smuggest irish male ever - big head on him when he's knocking around doing the top irish millionaires - nearly stuck up some of their ar5es. Ronan keating has to get an honourable mention as well.

Anyone care to rival these smug Irish "celebs"!!
    Someone with a big chip on their shoulder there! Are you jealous perhaps? Her 4 year old sounds very clever to me! I wish I knew French at that age. If someone you know has a bigger car or house than you then do you get annoyed? I would call you a FIRST CLASS BEGRUDGER!! Live and let live is what I say and try to get over your small-mindedness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭XxlauraxX

Twink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 cylon

Hahaha