Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women Fake Tan and Being Orange...Why?

• 29-12-2008 11:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭

Can someone please explain to me what the story is with women and fake tans? I can understand why pasty skinned people would want a little bit of colour to look like their more exotic Latin Cousins. But the fake tan colour of choice here seems to be orange and I can't remember seeing any women who live in sunny climes being orange.
    It looks ridiculous. Naturally tanned women must think ye are mad. Relatives from South Africa recently visited here for a wedding and were convinced that many of the women in attendance were of mixed race due to their odd colouration.
    How can ye find this even remotely attractive? It must do horrid things to your skin. What type of man does it attract? (The sunbed/colourblind kind I'm guessing). It's so bizarre I need it explained to me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭MysticalSoul

I have only worn fake tan a few times, however some brands are just rubbish and has this effect IMHO. It is about shopping around to find one that suits your colouring, same as with make-up. I know a girl who goes overload on the make-up with a very obvious tideline. Less is usually more IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

Can someone please explain to me what the story is with women being orange.

because they are worth it;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Some people don't know how to apply it, some people use crap products, some people don't know when to stop, and I'm pretty sure that some peoples' skin will turn out that colour no matter what!

On the other hand, there are people who apply it very well to the point where you can't tell they are wearing fake tan.

I am neither. I am as pale as it gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭garrincha62

I dunno Janeybabe, even well applied it looks unnatural...

Nah there are definitely women out there who wear it well and you wouldn't be able to tell if they had just been on a sun holiday or not.

Don't get me wrong, there are plenty of oompa loompas out there, and I'm not a fan of fake tan, but to say everyone looks unnatural is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

What type of man does it attract?

The kind that think Ben Sherman shirts are the height of fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Wow, a thread about fake tan. How unusual and original.

Pythia wrote: »
    Wow, a thread about fake tan. How unusual and original.

Yeah we've read it all before but why not try to convince people again that some women look natural with fake tan? That's always fun. ;)

Ye Gads! A sarcastic response!! How original and perceptive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

But the fake tan colour of choice here seems to be orange

It's not about choice - all fake tan products are based on one substance called dihydroxyacetone (DHA) which gives your skin this orange tinge. Some products are better than others in hiding it if some xtra colouring is added to make the shade more bronze or golden but you can't eliminate the orange shade completely since it's what DHA is about and in most cases it comes out anyway as the tan settles or is striking in some types of light and less obvious in other.

herya wrote: »
    It's not about choice - all fake tan products are based on one substance called dihydroxyacetone (DHA) which gives your skin this orange tinge.

Why take the risk?

Dunno. I'm pearly white and proud of it :D

Ye Gads! A sarcastic response!! How original and perceptive.

Do a search. This has been brought up countless times already so it's a fair point. Also, you used one of the words in your retort that I used in my original response, fail.

Also, you used one of the words in your retort that I used in my original response, fail.
    What exactly have I failed in? Your idea of a response competition? If so, I'm glad as you sound like an idiot.
    Do a search. This has been brought up countless times already so it's a fair point.
    A fair point. So why respond?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Fake tan looks good, too much of it does not. Its simple really.

Not really. Myself and my sisters and friends have tried countless products of various type and strength over the years and the result of these "tests" was that the only thing that matters is your natural skin colour. If you have darker complexion the tan will blend in nicely but if you're pale the tan will always turn out yellowish as there is nothing to blend with (which also really emphasizes any possible streaks).

There are girls who will always look unnatural no matter what they use and how carefully they apply it and if they say otherwise they need to check themselves in the mirror outdoors. And check behind their ears!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Aurther Hugh

How well you can carry off fake tan depends on what your basic colouring is:
    If you have very dark hair naturally and medium skin tone then go for it in moderation. If you're blonde but tan easily in the sun proceed with caution, if blonde and pale - avoid. Red hair - regardless of the skin tone - shop assistants shouldn't even sell it to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

tastless, bland, crowd following, insecure Irish women.

Fake tan looks good, too much of it does not. Its simple really.
    None of it does. I have no time for any girl who wears it. It looks fowl in all cases, all it serves to do is publish the fact that those who wear it arent the happiest being themselves. We are Irish for god sake, any fella who expects a girl to have a dark complexion is a bollox,

It is true that the quality of the product depends on whether you turn out orange or not, you do need to spend big bucks on the good stuff to get a "natural" tan, and the truth of the matter is that the reason people think all fake tan wearers are orange, is simply because they can't tell that the "good" wearers, are wearing it at all!

at the end of the day, isn't it better to cover yourself in that kind of muck than it is to go on sunbeds and riddle yourself with skin cancer!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Firstly, who cares if there's been 100 threads on it before? This one is new, it's a new conversation. Get a grip.

Secondly, fake tan is rubbish. Idiots lining the pockets of people who are already very rich just to make themselves feel more confident. I'm Irish, I'm meant to be pale. As has already been said, marketed towards insecure girls, many of whom also wear fake nails and have a fake hair colour. Fake girls. Some guys are into fake girls though so...

If a woman feels she needs it well why not. Maybe some overdo it.

Anyone remember the tanning tablets years back- I worked with a blonde girl who took them and who had a healthy orange glow- which faded to yellow over time. The pills were carretine - extract of carrot used in food colouring.

and make-up - suppose that makes you totally insecure too seeing as it's covering up what god gave you? and push up bras to make your boobs look bigger, and anyone who has ever dies their hair, must be totally insecure. and anyone who tried getting a tan on holidays - must hate the way they look seeing as they're "meant" to be pale.

seriously.
    mp1972 wrote: »
    Some guys are into fake girls though so...

and some guys are into girls who don't bother their arse to make an effort.....everyone's a winner

It looks fowl in all cases

Personally I don't feel it makes me look like a chicken.

A roast chicken?

It is true that the quality of the product depends on whether you turn out orange or not, you do need to spend big bucks on the good stuff to get a "natural" tan, and the truth of the matter is that the reason people think all fake tan wearers are orange, is simply because they can't tell that the "good" wearers, are wearing it at all!

Not true - no matter how nice they think they had it applied nothing betrays a milky white Irish girl better than her white scalp and hairline, and ears.
    at the end of the day, isn't it better to cover yourself in that kind of muck than it is to go on sunbeds and riddle yourself with skin cancer!

Surely it's not between one and the other. Who said you need to be tanned at all? If you're not naturally and it doesn't suit you.

Not true - no matter how nice they think they had it applied nothing betrays a milky white Irish girl better than her white scalp and hairline, and ears.

there you go - you've proven my point, if you see this, it means it's not applied correctly!

How do you apply it to your scalp correctly? Or ears? :eek:

I don't mean that they are doing it wrong, you can tell it's the best you can get (judging by these girls outfits and handbags). It's just that some areas are not meant to be fake tanned - and you can spot it easily.

A roast chicken?
    chicken a l'orange

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I'm pale and pasty...like nature intended me to be. I personally hate fake tan. Its always obvious to me anyway, when a girl is wearing it (and I've seen it on guys :eek:). It rarely looks natural, however, if you must tan, its better from a bottle than from some cancer rays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

I use fake tan if i'm ever wearing a sleevless top or dress or whatever cos it makes me feel better and in my opinion slimmer - i don't see the problem - and as far as i can see i don't look orange! I hope i don't anyway! I think as others have said it depends on how you apply it, the brand you use and also your skin tone - like i don't think fake tan would look great on redheads and some blondes - I do agree though the whole oompa loompa looks hideous- the word 'chav' springs to mind:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

these thread are now really starting to irk me a lot.

i used to dislike anyone who'd plaster themselves in fake tan etc.

but then one day it hit me, and i looked at myself. i ain't perfect, like a lot of things other don't, dislike a lot of things that others love and realised who the hell am i to judge peoples fashion choices.

i've met people who look down on people who wear certain clothes/makeup/tan etc. and it just wasn't nice, i saw myself becoming one of these and wanted to stop it and i did.

at the end of the day it comes down to the individual, i like to think that they have a brain and they choose to wear what they want etc. and if they are happy with that - as i am happy with the choices i make about my appearance/fashion choices - then who are you to judge.

now there's no harm in saying you dislike x, y and z for x1, y2 and y3 reasons but the why question is just pointless. everyone is different everyone likes different things and let that be that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I have to admit, I have worn fake tan only once, and that was in an attempt to blend in some sunburn which hadn't returned to the same pinky shade of white I normally am while wearing a dress with a low neckline (the attractive triangle of post-sunburned skin was magnificent, but I was afraid I'd incur the wrath of all the other girls there who couldn't stand how amazing I looked with it). It did the job, sort of, but I'd never bother again.

I really don't see the point to it, it's not something I'd personally choose to use ever again.

at the end of the day it comes down to the individual, i like to think that they have a brain and they choose to wear what they want etc. and if they are happy with that - as i am happy with the choices i make about my appearance/fashion choices - then who are you to judge.

It's not about this really, I fully respect other people's choices and I don't mind all these orange teens I see every day. They'll grow out of it or not. I dabbled in fake tanning myself before I understood that with my complexion it's doing me no good. I have my deal of mistakes with it too which I could only spot in the photos afterwards (yuck!). I was not aware of all these traps at the time - who checks the back of their neck in the mirror outdoors or their ears for colour contrast or streaks?

I saw a terribly white eared otherwise very "tanned" girl a couple of days ago (expensive looking Christmas tan?), if she could see herself from behind or from the side she'd be shocked. I saw another with huge streaks under her knees and on calves. I'm sure they were convinced they look great, polished and very natural and would say so if asked. Myself I'd appreciate comments on all these traps which might actually look extremely bad if you're not aware of them.

Thank you creamy goddess, that was the most sensible post ever likely to appear in this forum!!

Herya, as shocking as it may sound to you, I do actually tan behind my ears!!! Infact I have the whole thing down to a fine art!
    I'm not a little teenager by the way, I'm a married woman, I have experimented over the years with various different products (I'm sure I got it wrong plenty of times) and finally settled on a favourite which I swear by, noone ever knows I have tan on, mainly because I'm not that tanned, just a nicer tone to my skin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭DenMan

I think it looks awful, no offense ladies. Two years ago I brought my then Maltese girlfriend over to Ireland for Christmas. She definitely noticed it and asked me why the girls are all looking like oranges. She said they looked like Oompa Loompas. The OP said it looks unnatural and there is definitely something not natural with it. If it is done good I suppose it could work but here are a few fashion disasters. Our friends the Oompa Loompas look the best.

fake_tan_fail.jpg

1000019052.jpg

OompaLoompa.jpg

Herya, as shocking as it may sound to you, I do actually tan behind my ears!!! Infact I have the whole thing down to a fine art!

Ah but behind the ears is not that much of a problem - it's the backs of them and the insides :)
    And the scalp and hairline?

Jesus that middle picture is scary!

Ah but behind the ears is not that much of a problem - it's the backs of them and the insides :)
    And the scalp and hairline?

as I said, fine art!!!

For my 21st I went and got fake tanned, in a salon, a very good salon, and they showed me exactly how to do it, and yeh, you do inside your ears and everything, you even need a slightly different shade of foundation when you're wearing tan, that's where alot of people fail!

and make-up - suppose that makes you totally insecure too seeing as it's covering up what god gave you? and push up bras to make your boobs look bigger, and anyone who has ever dies their hair, must be totally insecure. and anyone who tried getting a tan on holidays - must hate the way they look seeing as they're "meant" to be pale.

seriously.

and some guys are into girls who don't bother their arse to make an effort.....everyone's a winner

Incorrect, LOTS of guys like girls who be themselves. Not painting your skin and hair doesn't mean you don't make an effort. I rarely wear make up and when I do Iwear very little make-up, but I take pride in my appearance, I'm happy with my appearance as it is, if others don't, then, oh well.

P.s. Sunbathing on your holidays is completely different to painting your skin, don't be silly.

Incorrect, LOTS of guys like girls who be themselves..

and LOTS of guys are into girls who wear make up etc. I'm not having a go at anyone that doesn't wear fake tan!! I was merely retaliating to the "fake girls" comment. I'm far from being a fake girl, just because I wear fake tan doesn't make me fake - just my shading!!!

That wasn't actually what I said, I said girls who wear fake tan, fake nails, dyed hair etc...all together are fake.

and I never said that all girls who don't wear make up aren't bothering to make an effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

So some women go for an exaggerated look... what is wrong with that? I quite like that there are people who aren't beaten down into looking plain all the time. Long live orange faces, fake nails, dyed hair, etc a bit of variety makes the world a vastly better place :D

So the notion of being yourself has all but disappeared then?

leahyl wrote: »
    I use fake tan if i'm ever wearing a sleevless top or dress or whatever cos it makes me feel better and in my opinion slimmer - i don't see the problem - and as far as i can see i don't look orange! I hope i don't anyway! I think as others have said it depends on how you apply it, the brand you use and also your skin tone - like i don't think fake tan would look great on redheads and some blondes - I do agree though the whole oompa loompa looks hideous- the word 'chav' springs to mind:D

So it makes one feel slim nowadays?

interesting. God you really fit into the category of retards who use it

So it makes one feel slim nowadays?

interesting. God you really fit into the category of retards who use it
    Ah yer not being fair- some tanning products look really realistic.

Most women I know- know how to apply them. I dont think you are being fair,its like make up -some people overuse and others are more discreet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

BOY TAN! LOL

n1465920124_30099027_6965.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I find it hilarious. The poor women think their sexy but look hideous with their orange heads. Its like their father had an affair with a wotsit.
    Love the way the have the "everyone is looking at me" head on em. Poor yokes think their gods gift and people just laughing at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Women are idiots, simple.