Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sharing accounts to share downloads.

• 29-12-2008 11:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭

Has anyone shared their account on PSN ,so they could give someone a few games?
    Not sure how safe it is and if someone could change your password after logging into your account ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭bluemachaveli

If you give them the password to your account they can do what they like with it incl change ur password.

Also tis illegal!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

its not illegal, sony tell ua how to do it on their site and yes i've done it with friends, just clear ur cc info and the pass to somethin like 123456, if they change the password all ya have to do is send a lost passwordd request and sony will send an email with a link to make a new pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

I've done it before, a friend let me get the home beta!!

All you do is change your passto abc123 and log out, then when you go back on fix your password. As long as the person has the pass abc123 on their ps3, they're grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭ongarite

Its not illegal. I have shared my PSN account with 2 others before.
    What you do is clear your card details through account management (its one of the settings in the menu) and change your PSN password to new temporary one.
    Then give that person the new login/password to download games/addons.

When they are finished, change your password back again and enter your card details.

ongarite wrote: »
    Its not illegal. I have shared my PSN account with 2 others before.
    What you do is clear your card details through account management (its one of the settings in the menu) and change your PSN password to new temporary one.
    Then give that person the new login/password to download games/addons.

When they are finished, change your password back again and enter your card details.
    what i said but in a better way

anyone wanna give it a try? PM me

what games/addons ya got

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

When a person downloads with your account ,do they not have to log in with your name to play the game ?

no but they have to make a new user acc on their ps3 to sign into ur psn to d/l, they can play any game on any user acc on their ps3

Thanks lads ,had someone looking for my details last night and I was a bit shocked to be honest.
    Don't think I'd give my details to someone from PSN or Home ,could be anyone. Not so bad here on boards though.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

not all games will work though, afaik premium psn games such as warhawk and gta5 prologue won't let you do it.

well, they'll let you do it, but won't let you log in the same or possibly a different account for 24 hours to play the game on another console or something like that.

i.e. if you log onto a mates ps3 and download your paid fr warhawk and then log into your own and play the game, he can't play online for 24 hours and viasa versa from then on. could be wrong though, never actually tried it, but i seem to remember reading about it when the game came out.

i'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong though. :)

wats to stop a person changeing ur email and f***ing you over??

Surely you would need someones email password to accept the link for changing it ?

311 wrote: »
    Surely you would need someones email password to accept the link for changing it ?

i don't know, maybe

anyway got echochrome, high velocity bowling, locoroco and some other stuff if an HONEST person wants to try and trade?

I've got PAIN,Linger in shadows,Prince or persia classic ,Siren Blood curse ,Feel ski ,Pixeljunk monsters ,Bionic commando rearmed ,Burnout paradise 1.5 ,Wipeout ,Snakeball ,Pixeljunk eden ,Last guy ,GT5P ,Mortal kombat 2 ,Trials of Topoq ,mesmerize ,tori -emaki ,calling all cars ,flow ,stardust and warhawk.

Not sure whether to start sharing ,I don't have many downloads left on some of my games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

surely the best thing is to try it out with someone you actually know first. to see if its all working etc... before iving all your details to someone you dont know.

I've got PAIN,Linger in shadows,Prince or persia classic ,Siren Blood curse ,Feel ski ,Pixeljunk monsters ,Bionic commando rearmed ,Burnout paradise 1.5 ,Wipeout ,Snakeball ,Pixeljunk eden ,Last guy ,GT5P ,Mortal kombat 2 ,Trials of Topoq ,mesmerize ,tori -emaki ,calling all cars ,flow ,stardust and warhawk.

Not sure whether to start sharing ,I don't have many downloads left on some of my games.

i have alot of urs but also medieval, reel fishing, street fighter 2 turbo hd remix, megaman 9, everyday shooter,

You can only activate a game five times ,my concern is that some of my older games like warhawk only have one download left.
    I messed around with my settings a few times and I had to reactivate a good few games a couple of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

i wouldnt do it with anyone over the web tbh

they need to keep your account on their playstation in order to play the games and vice versa, its grand for real life mates but i wouldnt go down that road with someone from a forum

Helix wrote: »

they need to keep your account on their playstation in order to play the games and vice versa, its grand for real life mates but i wouldnt go down that road with someone from a forum
    no they dont

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Sweeno

heard this works with the cod4 mappack, but i cant fid anyone who wants to share >;-[ anyone wanna share with me?

guil07 wrote: »
    no they dont

yes they do, once the account you downloaded the game with is deleted the game doesnt work, which i learned first hand while setting up my brothers on christmas morning

i got gtp from vibe ages ago and i deleted the acc and it worked

might be a new addition with a more recent firmware upgrade, but it most definitely doesnt work any more

it brings up a license error when you try to open the game after the downloading account has been deleted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Thanks lads ,had someone looking for my details last night and I was a bit shocked to be honest.
    Don't think I'd give my details to someone from PSN or Home ,could be anyone. Not so bad here on boards though.

Cheers.

Was'nt a guy calld Deondavis something by any chance?, met they guy on wipeout and he tried that crap on me and 2 mates. Told him politely to go **** himself.

BTW my mate uses it pretty succesfully with his brothers account. The cheapskate loaned his bro 1 or 2 games so he'd buy the extra content a nd then he could dl and use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

guil07 wrote: »
    i got gtp from vibe ages ago and i deleted the acc and it worked

that was the demo of prologue afaik, the full version of prologue will stop working. same with warhawk, but some of the el cheapo psn games may still work depending on if they bothered to set up any copy protection or not when they released them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Helix wrote: »

They just need a password. As long as they have a "password", by which I mean your temporary one, you can switch back to your secure pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭Polar101

giggsy664 wrote: »
    They just need a password. As long as they have a "password", by which I mean your temporary one, you can switch back to your secure pass.

Unless they changed the contact details and password, and stole your account..

I really wouldn't give my account details to anyone unless I knew them, I don't think it's worth the risk to save a few pennies on some downloads.

sony send an automated email straight away when ur acc is modified and gives a link to go to if ya didnt change the details