Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2008 - The year in gear

• 29-12-2008 10:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭

I did an absurd amount of buying, selling and trading this year, though I have roughly the same amount of gear as this time last year, honest ;) It's better gear though ;) After all the messing the two pieces of gear which really stand out for me are the Duke and the P.

duke3.jpg

I ****ing love this guitar. I wanted something that would make me change how I played, break out of just chugging riffs all the time, and this guitar made me do it. It's got a big, fat neck and the P90's are meaty and full and the oiled finish is so nice to play. The more I play it, the more I want to play it. Once I got this, I said goodbye to a PRS McCarty Soapbar, there was just no comparison. It's the best thing I did this year, no question.

peee.jpg

I'd been GASsing for a P for a while and managed to pick up one of these before the line was discontinued. It's everything a good P bass should be. There's so much great tone to be had from a single pickup instrument, just from how you play it and subtle tweaks of the tone control. It's got balls, it's just got so much balls, a great instrument.

How did you do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

I didn't do any selling, but I acquired a few yokes to round off my setup and get all my basses covered. :pac:

First off I got a new Ashdown MAG 2x10 cab to go with the 1x15 combo, sounds much fuller now.

45150786a9343557950l.jpg

And with it i got one of the new EHX Bass Big MUffs, great little pedal. The dry blend switch is the job!

45150786a9343557919l.jpg

And for an early Christmas present I got this sweet yoke. The neck is the nicest I've ever played. It's a very welcome break from playing a big sixer the whole time:

45150786a9652675970l.jpg45150786a9652676041l.jpg

I'm happy with the year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Darkstrike

I dunno weather I should be happy with the year or scared of 09.
    Lets see, got a,
    Marshall rig(finally an amp I'm happy with),
    Micro Cube,
    Squier Delux V,
    Squier Affinity P,
    Squier VM Telebass,
    Cort GB-74,
    Cort Artisan C4H,
    Traben Tribal Sun (fretless)
    Shine 6er,
    Venson 8string,
    Blackstar Distortion Pedal,
    Boss Reverb,
    Boss Flanger,
    Boss Super Octave,
    A few more pedals I can't think of offhand,
    and the parts that I used to mod my SX, and my Jazz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I suppose the best thing i did this year was selling my eastwood gp, and buying a Bacchus Gplayer 05. Oooowwweeeeee that was seriously the best decision ever, and to think i was about to take the plunge on a Fender Srv model strat! The bacchus plays better, looks nicer, and was under half the price.
    Im currently GASing for a squier classic vibe 50 of all things, it's gonna turn into a bit of a project guitar have a set of GFS lipstick tubes to pop into it, and i'm considering upgrading the bridge tuners and nut. Thinking of throwng a brass nut onto it, and some gold hardware. Can't wait!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

The biggest news for me in '08 was a custom-made guitar from some luthiers in Thailand. That was something I had been thinking about for quite a while, one of those things I would get around to 'at some stage', and finally the time was right this year.

I needed to sell a few bits of gear to pay for it, so actually my gear-count has gone down a good bit in '08, but it was well worth it, its a lovely guitar, and its all mine. Its completely hand-made, the entire guitar was carved from a single maple tree, including all the pickups and hardware.

DSCN2197.jpg

I got a few nice little pedals too, a MXR Carbon Copy and Korg Pitch Black, and I think a few others. And a nice pedal board, but I just looked at it this morning and all the velcro has fallen off the pedals...doh! :(

the entire guitar was carved from a single maple tree, including all the pickups and hardware.

Wooden pickups!! They must be awesome....ah no i jest i jest! I'm Just jealous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

Sold my Cube 30 and bought and sold a Bass (can't even remember the name of it). Also sold my Vox tone lab and a few pedals.

Bought a Bacchus G Studio and a Bacchus BST 62 Strat. I also bought a Matamp First Lady and a Marshall 30th Anniversary amp. Pedal wise I added a TC Electronics G thingy and a Brit Fuzz.

For 09 I don't think I'll buy any more guitars or amps. I'll get my Tokai ES100 wiring problem fixed though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

I can has Gretsch?

001.jpg

I can also has Technics 1210 turntables? I has no picture though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭darrenw5094

Went f**kin' mental this year.......midlife crisis.......wait till you guys reach the big 3-0.

PRS Custom 24
    MusicMan Axis
    Peavey Wolfgang
    Marshall JVM410c
    TC Electronic G-Force
    Voodoo Lab Ground Control
    ISP Decimator
    BBE Chorus
    BBE Sonic Stomp (Maximizer)
    BBE Green Screamer
    Keeley Fuzz

And now a J Custom Ibanez RG8420ZD RS (have to pay for this one yet)

Gear sold:
    PRS Custom 22 in Emerald Green
    PRS Singlecut Satin Green (for sale)
    Clatter of Boss pedals
    Marshall Valvestate 80w
    Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003
    Edwards Les Paul JS Custom
    Epiphone Les Paul Custom AW
    Ibanez RG2570

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Quattroste wrote: »
    I'll get my Tokai ES100 wiring problem fixed though :)
    Yes, do that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭adox

Ok purists turn away now for amp details:

Sold my little Line 6 Spider 2 15 watt amp and bought..................................
    a Spider Jam! I know, I know, buts its an ideal learning tool for me.

Also bought a new guitar recently, in case anyone hadnt noticed. Pictures probably posted on too many threads already but just in case someone didnt see them, heres one:

DSCN0576.jpg

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Hmm, this year I sold my Microcube, bought a Fender amp that I don't use and a Les Paul which is awesome. Oh, and I got out and actually played the fecking things!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭Fingers Mcginty

DOC...that LP is beautiful...what's the neck profile like?

Bought:
    Soundcraft mixer
    Yamaha SA1000
    Facelift fuzz
    MJM London Fuzz
    Boss DD-20
    Vox Wah

Sold
    Boss DD3
    POD v2
    Maxon AD999
    Mark Tremonti Power Wah
    Ibanez TS808
    Yamaha Pacifica Custom
    Keeley compressor

It's a proper big neck, really really comfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Glassheart

I went a bit mad this year too.
    Thinking about it now everything i have was bought this year.Everything i had pre-08 i sold this year...

Guitars:
    Rickenbacker 360/6 Jetglo
    Rickenbacker 360/12 Fireglo
    Rickenbacker 620/12 Jetglo (Sold for the SG)
    Gibson SG Standard
    Fender Strat American Standard (Sold for the Deluxe Strat)
    Fender 62 Reissue Deluxe Strat
    Fender CIJ Baritone Sunburst Jaguar
    Martin DX112 12-string

Amps:
    Fender 59 Bassman
    Vox AC30 with Alnico Blues (Sold for the Orange)
    Orange AD30 Head - I'll pick up the cab next month...
    1963 Selmer Zodiac (Sold it on)

Pedals:
    T Rex Mudhoney
    Ibanex TS808 Tube Screamer
    Big Muff
    Electro Harmonix Memory Man
    Electro Harmonix Micro Pog
    Line 6 Echo Park
    Boss Digital Dimension
    Boss RE-20 Rotary Ensemble

It seems really excessive but i sold a LOT of other stuff throughout the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Some lovely gear here guys, nicely done :)

Also, I completely forgot that I got a Fender YJM Strat in June, oops :o

DSCN1933-1.jpg

How could you "forget" that? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Darkstrike

Doctor J wrote: »
    How could you "forget" that? :pac:
    I'd guess something along these lines caused the 'ol memory loss.
    DSCN2197.jpg

That's two guitars that you did us out of seeing Voodoo, I can't even remember you telling us about that one. Fix it! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭spoonbadger

7652424947a9058526903l.jpg
    7652424947a9058526969l.jpg

Ceriatone JTM45. Tis yummers :).

Looking forward to 09...
    3637_12.JPG
    :D.

Oooooh, Dukeness. Spill the beans :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭spoonbadger

Doctor J wrote: »
    Oooooh, Dukeness. Spill the beans :)
    Nopes!.Not a duke,but close!. BLS-59.

As for beans, it costs 1,102 of 'em :D.

Oh!.Bit of advice for the Doc and other MIJ-ies out there, hisashi is offereing free P n' P to Ireland on a load of gear!!. Between that and the falling currency rates, you could save 350/400E on a Hisashi bacchus compared to 3 months ago! :).

Oh you mean, mean person. There I was thinking about getting a mortgage, now you're dangling that in my face :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

Nopes!.Not a duke,but close!. BLS-59.

As for beans, it costs 1,102 of 'em :D.

378777b~Chimpanzee-with-its-fingers-in-its-ears-Posters.jpg

LALALALALA :mad:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

*reaches for anti-gas pills, finds none*

Wonder can I blacklist ebay?

GAS much???????!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!
    d519_1.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Demeyes

I got some nice pieces of gear this year. I didn't actually get rid of anything in the last 12 months either so I'm happy. I got

Boss GT8
    Telecaster copy
    Ibanez RG7621
    and recently I got an Engl E530
    I also got an Ibanez RG 7 string body and a BKP pickup for it but the neck hasn't been made for it yet to finish out the project.

I had planned on getting more during the year but College ended up leeching more than I'd planned. I was supposed to get a Carvin 7 string and a Peavey 6505 but instead I got the Engl preamp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Pretty boring year for me as per usual but some nice new additions to the family:

~gear gone~
    Warwick $$ 5
    Godin Radiator (O how i miss this one)

~Gear i got~
    Cello(ordered, expect pics in febuary)
    Musicman Sterling 4
    4X10 Ashdown cab
    Parts for my Pacifica(ordered too, pics when its done)
    Little Big Muff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭ham_n_mustard

Budget deficit this year....

In:
    Gibson Explorer (cheers doctorj)

Sandberg California JM
    2035592585a9550600850l.jpg

60's Hofner Verithin
    2035592585a9550600962l.jpg

Squire Fat Strat
    Alesis Firewire 16 Mixer
    Various bits and bobs/software for home recording

Out:
    Warwick $$ 5 string (again cheers doctorj)
    2035592585a9550600895l.jpg

Ashdown ABM Evo 575w head
    Ashdown ABM 4x10
    Ashdown ABM 1x15
    2035592585a9747490993l.jpg

Ibanez soundgear 5 string

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

Some really great stuff there lads :)

Well 2008 brought me:

2x 92 Berlin Pros (cherry burst with KAs and Pink Glow with SDs)
    Berlin92s.jpg

1x 92 New York Standard
    NewYork92USABlue.jpg

NewYork92BerlinPro92.jpg

and a Brian May Red Special Pedal and a Vox AC30 AmPlug...

D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

That sandeburg california looks SICK :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭boycey

Hmmm, some nice gear has passed through our hands in the space of 12 short months. For me its been all about cutting back this year, I even lost my 'music room' - damn wife and kids ruining my plans for world wide musical domination...

OUT:
    Orville Les Paul Custom
    PRS CE24
    Gibson Les Paul Classic (Guitar of the week 14)
    Fender MIM Classic 60s Strat
    Marshall 1987x head & 1936 2x12 Cab
    EH Deluxe Memory Man
    Fulltone Fulldrive II
    IN:
    Hamer Artist
    Bacchus Duke Standard
    Matamp 1224 head and 2x12cab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭ham_n_mustard

Patricide wrote: »
    That sandeburg california looks SICK :o

hah, whats sick is the fact that i dont have an amp to play it through anymore :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

This year I got an Epiphone Les Paul Custom up in Belfast for €525 including a hard case. Happy with that, and that was when £1 = €1.26

177279411a8707754542l.jpg

I like white Les Pauls, it's a colour that really works with that shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

2008, I sold the Schecter

DSCF1486.jpg

to help fund the Edwards

DSCF1474.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭fish-head

This year has been good to me.. of course, now I am broke. However, I'm well 'appy.

First of all, I had a custom handbuilt amp built for me by Tommy Blair at THB Custom Amps. It's essentially a Deluxe Reverb with some interesting mods like a RAW control which allows me to dial in more gain. It's got a Weber Ferromax speaker and has a few nice NOS tubes..

P1020041.jpg

also got a custom decal for it..

P1020043.jpg

It's a flippin' awesome amp, I know people usually associate Fender type amps with clean tones but this amp really rips for the sort of stuff I'm doing. Sounds amazing on 10. The reverb is to die for.

Next up, the coolest looking thing known to man..

P1020065.jpg

It's a Clavia Nord C1 Combo Organ, and it is the best bit of gear I've ever heard. Ain't no church organ.. It's a garage rock machine, a jazz wailer and blues stomper... It's everything I could ever need in a keyboard. I love it for it's straightforward purpose. There's no piano, no synths, nothing but three organs. You've got your Hammond, your Vox Continental and your motherflipping Farfisa. Just plug it into an amp and you're off.

On the guitar side of things, I bought a Gretsch Corvette on Adverts.ie but there's a pic of that floating around and this is a pic heavy post as it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭freshcream

haven't been on here in awhile, too busy:eek:

sold most of what I bought this year already, 8/9 pedals all bought this year:o almost all sold this year, sold 1 amp, two gibbys 1 was bought at the start of the year:( as was the amp sold a tokai strat and loads of other bits and pieces.

bought a les paul gold top with p90s which I am very happy with:D (will keep this ) and a fender custom shop anniversery amp:D (don't know the model off hand but its small about 25/30 watts). So for the last 3 months it's just been GOLD TOP LEAD AND AMP absolute heaven:D.

freshcream wrote: »
    So for the last 3 months it's just been GOLD TOP LEAD AND AMP absolute heaven:D.

Amen bruvver :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Jeez, I'm not sure I'll be able to remember all the stuff I got in '08.

Jazz bass in Sherwood Metallic Green built to own specs. I got Derrick Nelson to put it together for me.

Genz-Benz Shuttle 6.0-12T Bass Amp
    Fender '72 Telecaster Deluxe Reissue (SOLD)
    Guttermouth Compressor
    Guttermouth Booster
    '87 Gibson Les Paul Junior DC
    Akai Headrush E2
    Boss TU-2 :p

Umm... I think that's it. :confused: