Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much/what have ye drunk over the xmas holidays?

• 29-12-2008 3:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭

I for one have been on a 12 can a day dutch gold spree!

Enlighten me so i dont feel like a total smuck!? ;)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Not enough :( stupid family being around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

immune to voka at this stage tbh:D
    it started on the 13th dec,i haven't driven since,all hail the missus!
    i'll pay for it in the new year though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

Precisely fupp all ... and I counted twice :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭bantee

4.2 gallons and counting! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

trout wrote: »
    Precisely fupp all ... and I counted twice :(

I too have not had a drop of alcohol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Brothers, Brotherettes and wimmins, I am ashamed of you all.

Am I the only one to have savaged through countless measures of Jim Beam Distillers Series, Famous Grouse and an assortment of domestic and foreign beers?

Am I the only one who was simply unable to function Stephen's Day due to a lethal combination of wine (I was being sociable, ok?), beer and whiskey the day before (Note to self: it is not a good idea to open a €130 bottle of your Father-in-Law's precious Scotch after a feed of drink and proceed to inform him and the assembled family of the prodction techniques of Bourbon vs. Scotch vs. Irish whiskey)?

Am I the only one to notice this very morning that I am down one bottle of Wild Turkey since yesterday? (Note to self: Starbucks Christmas blend does in fact make a nice Irish Coffee, even if it is made with bourbon. The fact you couldn't sleep last night might just have something to do with the six Irish Coffees you had over the course of Sunday. Oh, and I think we have conclusively proved that the 2:1 ratio of whiskey to coffee does not negate the effects of caffine)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

Yes you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

I was a good boy this year and dranks very little by comparison with other years.
    Half a dozen bulmers, some Tuborg that somehow showed in my fridge, and a few bottles of red wine.

Not all at the same time though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Congrats Tom!!
    you drank for us that couldnt!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I've mainly stayed on the Heineken, though I had a dash of vodka and champagne here and there. I've been drinking since the 19th and stopped last night because I needed the break before starting work today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

Sweet F-All. Been sick with this stupid flu over Christmas, and now am on antibiotics so drinkings out of a bit. Havent had a drink since the 17-12-08, and yes... I am counting! Roll on New Years!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

There's a bottle of Single Barrel Jack Daniels in the shop up the road. I may have to forget about paying my rent next month and get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I've had 6 bottles of Miller and 3 glasses of red wine.

In toto... :eek:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Seriously lads I put yis to shame, half a bottle of Vodka, half a bottle of Tia Maria, 3 bottles of wine, 2 bottles of Champagne and 4 Kopperberg.
    Actually we drank so much we're heading up North to replace our stocks...:D We were supposed to go up today, but its hangover city here..:D

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Only really drank a serious amount on Christmas day itself when I managed to get through vodka, wine, beer and bourbon. Just a few beers and/or bourbon the other days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,181 ✭✭✭DenMan

Not an awful lot it has to be said. I like Fink Brau, bought a crate of them. Also had some red wine, bottles of bud and cans of Guinness. JD and coke has been a big favourite have to say.

Think I will have a pint of Guinness later on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

So far going by the casualties: 8 bottles of wine, most of a bottle of rum, half a bottle of gin, and a slab of vitamin H.

Not including Christmas day, I wasn't at home and have no idea.

It's only a warm up for the new years party though. :D

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

Had a gallon of beer on christmas eve and nothing on christmas day because we were driving to Donegal. stephens day apparently I put away a helluva lot of red vino. and thats been it really. I need to get very very drunk but its not working. I was hoping to get to the pub tonight but oh no. lets go the cinema instead!!! gah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i went balastic on the drink from the thursday before xmas and had my last drink on sunday. i was mixing guinness and black bush. ill go mad again tomorrow then try knock it on the head on the 2nd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I drank, so I did!

On Christmas Eve and Christmas Day I had 2 litres of Baileys, a half litre of sambuca, a few Duff beers and a few cans of Bulmers!

Took St Stephens Day off so I could catch up on eating chocolate.

Then I'm not sure how much I drank on the 27th and 28th but I know there was mass amounts of Hennesy and vodka.
    And I know where it all went at the end of those two nights :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭kev_s88

so far from Xmas day and the random nights out since, i reckon ive drank about 30 pints of Carlsberg. thats in the space of a week :D my liver hurts :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭exiot

Over the last week alone I easily consumed at least 40 pints of a mixture of Guinness,Fosters and Cider. Drank the whole box of 24 bottles of Heineken on Christmas Day, though I was good enough to stay away from the spirits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Not much really. I had one big night out that I can't remember much of and after that I decided to be good and drink in moderation! :eek:

Good thing too, because prying my crying friend off a lamppost would have been significantly harder had I been drunk.

My parents have had more alcohol than me this Christmas. But that's nothing unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Christmas Eve - Baseless
    Christmas Day - Baseless
    Stephens Day - Baseless
    27 December - Very Baseless
    28 December - Baseless
    29 December - Not too bad (the liver wouldn't open for business)
    30 December - Sick (Drink and flu)
    31 December - Gonna get baseless
    1 Jan - My Birthday, gonna be extra baseless

All in all a good Christmas, best wishes to ye all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

'scuse my ignorance, but is "baseless" what the Young People are calling drunk these days? :o

Or is it a euphemism for being homeless at Christmas?

I would consider myself to be relatively young, and I thought that baseless meant to be without a base.

It kind of makes sense....I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

Lots and Everything!!!
    Know the one that is one too many - and make it a double!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    'scuse my ignorance, but is "baseless" what the Young People are calling drunk these days? :o

Or is it a euphemism for being homeless at Christmas?

lol baseless = warped, plastered, twisted, intoxicated or just plain old drunk

p.s. I'll be 35 tomorrow and as long as I can remember 'baseless' has been used as a term describing being drunk. I commend you on spotting its possible connection with being homeless, never thought of that before. Seasons Greetings and keep up those Pet Sounds lol.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

FunkZ wrote: »
    On Christmas Eve and Christmas Day I had 2 litres of Baileys

When did you have the sex change?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭CSC

Started drinking Brandy while out this Xmas. Got the taste for it after having one at my work party. Can't believe how drunk I get on it - defintely not drinking it again for a long time.

ugh new years was a mess. after 8 cans me and a friend decided to play the game of drink with Bushmills.......11 shots in and he gave up and got sick. i therefore won and managed to wait til this morning to get sick!!! 3 TIMES!!! i just lost my dinner and it wasnt nice.....now im hungry :(

edit: ive now been sick 5 times :D

But did you have a good night? That's the main thing.

I had half a glass of presecco (sp?) mixed with Tanora to mask the taste.

It was a quiet night!

janeybabe wrote: »
    But did you have a good night? That's the main thing.

I had half a glass of presecco (sp?) mixed with Tanora to mask the taste.

It was a quiet night!

oh it was a great night.until this morning :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭spitfireIRL

bottles of miller before christmas, dutch gold during christmas along with jack daniels and vodka (not together:p), and cans of carlsberg.. still some in my fridge but i cant go on!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Spent xmas in france so i augmented my massive beer intake with huge quantities of wine.
    I cant remember exactly how much i drank over the week but one night i accounted for ten litres of beer and 2 bottles of wine.That wasnt the heaviest session,mind.
    I've been off it for two days and i'm hoping to continue sober into february.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭vikingdub

Also spent xmas & new year in France so I stuck to the champagne, with the odd cognac after a meal. Put away rather a lot of the fizz but was never really out of it, must have been the food. Will get back to normal Irish drinking habits tonight mixing the champagne with gin !! Would hate the liver to get lazy.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭CyrildoSquirrel

Bought a big tray of beers and didn't even drink half of them!

*Hangs head in shame*