Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai

• 26-12-2008 5:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭

Have you ever being in trouble with the gardai? If so for what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 529 ✭✭✭rhapsody!

You like posts about defying the law.

Anyway nope not me, I'm good lol, I know a fair whack of people who have though. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

it's been, and the answer is not for anything requiring paperwork, a warning to change the lightbulbs on my car when the Garda was in a foul mood....yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

I've had mates get lifted for things as small as going for a wee up a laneway, if they're in a bad mood you'll pay for it....

i took my little brother to a demonstration once, he's only 14 and felt passionate about the issue (Shell,blahblah) anyway,he was the first one the Branch man aproached for the name/address business. I'll never forget that.

Late at night stay out of their way, and 90% of us will be grand. A good night doesn't have to end in a cell ;) If they're in a bad mood you can pay for it. Dads a fireman and says some nights you can tell when the copshop phones rang more than their own based on their attitudes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I was banned from the Emergency Services forum, the Mod is a copper, does that count?.

I wasn't banned, I'm just saying that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Mairt wrote: »
    I was banned from the Emergency Services forum, the Mod is a copper, does that count?.

I wasn't banned, I'm just saying that

Aren't they all.:D
    I'm scared of the Ban Hammer

No , Ive never been in trouble with the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

both here and in the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Anyone else think of Gardai COMPLETELY differently to how you think of coppers in other countries? Probably years of D'unbelievables/Father Ted but the 'lovable community-worker gob****e' idea is in most of us I think.... Even see it in town on Saturdays with English stag parties etc., completely different attitude to the police here to how I imagine they'd be at home, though that could be down to booze(!)

http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00083/gardai_83354t.jpg

versus

The lads in Greece, France etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Interesting to see if this thread turns into a debate on whether someone should or should not have gotten penalty points!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

One, fresh from Templemore, screamed at me a few weeks ago. I spotted him standing in the middle of the road waiting for traffic to appear from a car-park so that he could direct it. There was no sign of any traffic and he had his arms by his side. I decided that I should carry on driving as he hadn't signalled me, or anybody else, to stop. As I drove slowly behind him, he decided that I wasn't going anywhere and melted my ear-drums with abuse. He was obviously under severe stress. He saw that everyone else in the car just stared at him with their mouths open and turned away.

Unfortunately you're in trouble if you get out of your car and whack em with a car-jack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Never been in trouble with the Guards, and never likely to be caught anyway.

But, I am not in anyway intimidated by Gardai, they are too small and delicate these days,

What happened to the big, Bacon and Cabbage eating, 6 foot 5 inches tall, Size 13 boot, Tipperary Sh1t-kickers that used to be, now they would put the fear of god into ya!!! These newer baby gardai they are coming out with are utterly useless. And don't get me started on the amount of small dainty female Gardai!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

What happened to the big, Bacon and Cabbage eating, 6 foot 5 inches tall, Size 13 boot, Tipperary Sh1t-kickers that used to be, now they would put the fear of god into ya!!! These newer baby gardai they are coming out with are utterly useless. And don't get me started on the amount of small dainty female Gardai!!!!
    The big, Bacon and Cabbage eating, 6 foot 5 inches tall, Size 13 boot, Tipperary Sh1t-kickers of the past weren't equipped with Tazer and pepper spray. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

The big, Bacon and Cabbage eating, 6 foot 5 inches tall, Size 13 boot, Tipperary Sh1t-kickers of the past weren't equipped with Tazer and pepper spray. :eek:

True, but they did have real nice Ash Batons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Out side my local night club one night , its a know hot spot for fights and in the middle of the huge crowd were three female gardai felt sorry for them because if anything kicked off really doubt they woulda been able to handle it on there own especially with the off there face scum bags in my town.

Never been in trouble myself i go outa my way to avoid trouble when iv drink in me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

I once told a copper to flip off. He gave me a clip round the ear and then tried to make peace by offering me a room in one of the 8 houses he owns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Yes I have. Why do you ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Never been in trouble. The only 'encounter' that I can think of was when I was going to a concert in August I took a piss on a tree, before noticing police on the other side of the road directing traffic. They came over but there was a good few of us so it was grand, just told me to throw out my drink

Yes I have. Why do you ask?

I think his a off duty gardai and needs a rush from finding out all the naughty stuff we have done and by doing so he will be all hyped up for his next shift and become a super gardai cleaning our streets of drunks and other non law abiding people or things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Once when i beat the **** out of a burgler with a hurley stick, scumbag made a complaint but i convinced the Garda i had no idea what he was talking about. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Vain wrote: »
    I think his a off duty gardai and needs a rush from finding out all the naughty stuff we have done and by doing so he will be all hyped up for his next shift and become a super gardai cleaning our streets of drunks and other non law abiding people or things.

Does the non law-abiding refer to the "people" not declaring their bed and breakfast earnings, or income from other jobs on their tax returns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

Lots of trouble when I was younger, arrested loads of times and an 18 month prison sentance when I was 19. I was just a bit wild. I'm the complete opposite these days, model citizen now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 872 ✭✭✭craiginireland

The nearest i've been to being in trouble for anything was with a security guard in a shopping centre. Santa was arriving by helicopter. All i did was point out that if santa had any style he would have used his reindeer.

The Style Police are always the worst.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

me and my identical twin brother were both put in the cells in Pearse St station for drunk and disorderly. Gardai trying to find out the name of one of our friends. We didnt tell them....long silly story.
    Funnily enough 2 weeks later had to make a follow up statement,during this meeting i had to tell the Garda the reason i was laughing so much the night of the arrest was cause he sounds like the goat off that Bóthar advert "milk and cheese i can do but calves,you must be kidding!!" He was highly unimpressed but i still laugh about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

I used to be in an amateur drama group, and traditionally at the end of every play we did, we'd have a p*ss up. Anyway, one play we did, we got a lock in back in the local pub that we put on a performance for. As it happened, our stage director was having an ongoing petty dispute with the local Garda Sargent, who got wind of our little knees up in the function room of our local on this particular night, so didn't he arrange to have it raided that night.

I'll never forget us all told to line up to have our names taken for whatever law we had broken to do with drinking afterhours in a pub, but how we didn't all p*ss ourselves laughing when every single one of us gave our stage names to the Garda! The names he wrote down in his little black book were all from a Rogers & Hammerstein play!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

galwayrush wrote: »
    Once when i beat the **** out of a burgler with a hurley stick, scumbag made a complaint but i convinced the Garda i had no idea what he was talking about. :D

Ya musn't have taken out enough of his teeth with the hurley if he was able to make a statement to the Garda!

Darragh29 wrote: »
    Ya musn't have taken out enough of his teeth with the hurley if he was able to make a statement to the Garda!

Sadly true. I only whacked him hard in the legs and arse a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I've had a few run-ins with the boys in blue but, thankfully, I've never been arrested. I have managed a caution but that was much ado about nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭flushje

yes,went to court, but for some reason he was a sound chap when the crazy judge entered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

flushje wrote: »
    yes,went to court, but for some reason he was a sound chap when the crazy judge entered.

Probably because they also get ate the bollocks off by the judge..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Not yet, working on it.

Nearly knocked a gardai over a while ago was taking a drive around town squad car was parked on the other side of the road and he one gardai jumped out of the back of the car i stuck the brakes to the floor i just manged to stop for him. The guy he was after wasnt even running so was no need for me to nearly kill him with his foolish 100m sprint:D Was going to f him out of it but said i better not or il be in the cell for the night:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

No, my daddy is friends with the Sergeant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

galwayrush wrote: »
    Sadly true. I only whacked him hard in the legs and arse a few times.

Good for you, but I think his human rights might have been violated there somewhere [/sarcasm]....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 lyingeyes

I was in trouble with the lads a few times when i was a wild and carefree kiddo, just minor underage drinking and stuff. My dad was a gda in town at the time and the lads he worked along with new id be out and about messing when dad was away on business. They would just lump me into the passenger seat of the paddy wagon and bring me home. The use'nt to knock on the door and bother my mother, but when dad would come home they'd let him know what happened and dad would march me into the garda station and make me apologisse to everyone...all 30 or so on duty very humiliating!! Thats a couple of years ago now, i wouldnt really no the gards around town now!!
    A good friend of mine owns and runs his own security company and was out last christmas on a staff party, one of his staff took a fit outside the nightclub and my friend was trying to help him, the bouncers mistook the situation for a brawl and flagged down the paddy wagon, and the gards lumped all of the lads into the back of it, my friend tried to knock a bit of crack out of the situation by ringing the garda station and telling the garda who answered the phone that he had been kidnapped, he was asked by the garda to describe the vehical he was in and that he would dispatch all units immediatly,, he said he was in a big van with a stripe down the side of it and that he wasnt sure what colour it was as he was colour blind, but he was certain it wasnt the a-team van. The garda seen the humour in the situation when they got it all sorted!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Got shouted at by a guard on driving duty (some minister or other) for putting a cone out in the middle of the road in dun laoghaire and blocking a nitelink :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Was walking past a house party in my old area, bunch of younger lads all 16/17 were drinking and we ended up chatting to one that we knew. Was about 21 at this stage and stone cold sober.

Riot Van and two unmarked cars come tearing down the road, everybody starts running except me and the friend. I actually had to waste 3 hours of my life in the local cop shop while I carefully reiterated the point to the police that when pulling into a scene like that you don't go for the two lads calmly standing on the pavement watching while the rest run like headless chickens and laughing.

I saw the same two cops that questioned me about 6 months later, they pulled over at a traffic checkpoint. While they were trying to find something wrong with my car I was chatting with the Customs officer and having a good laugh with him about why they were clearly interested in finding something to get me with.

Since then nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,154 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Where do I start. I was sixteen for a start and quite drunk.

Arson
    Evading Arrest
    Resisting Arrest
    Falsefying documents
    Falsefying Statement
    Underage Drinking
    Drunken & Disorderly
    Damage to private property
    Assault and battery on a Garda(never happened, the opposite actually happened and my only two witnesses were "known to the Gardai" watching out their window :mad:)

All happened in the same night. Nice :D

5 days later I reversed out of my parents driveway with the drivers door of their car open and bent the door all the way back so the outside handle was touching the drivers wing.

It was a bad week for Berty :eek:

I hope I have grown up somewhat.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I was in a niteclub on Easter Sunday '94 in a place called Kabale in Uganda. A bit of a ruck started in the club (it wasnt me) The copper couldnt get in at the action so just pulled out a shotgun and shot it in the air.

My trousers turned brown. :eek: