Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it gay to like the film Ghost

• 25-12-2008 11:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭

Just watched Ghost on tv there and thought it was good. Is this a bad thing??

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Of course it's not gay........if you're a chick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Yes, if any man asked that question to me the answer would ALWAYS be yes...i dont care if you were guaranteed a ride afterwards its v v gay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

Yeah but come on, the pottery scene is pretty 'erotic'.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

swingking wrote: »
    Just watched Ghost on tv there and thought it was good. Is this a bad thing??
    Do you now feel the need to buy Barbara Streisand cds or conform to any other clichéd gay stereotypes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

I worked it out. The pot represents his throbbing cock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Tri wrote: »
    Yeah but come on, the pottery scene is pretty 'erotic'.:o
    I wouldnt actually know what part this is, i've never ever watched past the first 10 mins or so haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

I worked it out. The pot represents his throbbing cock.

Messy too.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Love the film Ghost, was just bitching that i missed most if it tonight.

Men, it should be part of your "what to put on *if i have a women in my gaff and want to get laid" dvd collection.

*Only works if you havent abducted her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Unless at some point during the film you found your penis inside another man, then no, I don't think it makes you gay.

But enjoying that film and talking about it with your mates may well give the perception of being a flamer.

I hear Swayze is currently busy at work on the sequel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

I rather watch King Kong than Ghost - I know the tv selection isn't great tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

If you have to ask....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Nah, there's a fair bit of violence, tough guys, and even some swearing (including the F word) so you're ok OP. Have a sigh of relief for yourself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

No, it's gay to like c**k.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

It's only slightly more gay than 2 men having sex.

mayordenis wrote: »

... with a (female) donkey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

mayordenis wrote: »

With each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

The Academy Award goes to the tear, that slid so magnificiently down her face.

One single tear , I've tried and tried , and I can't make it happen.

Whoppi Goldberg got an academy award for playing a loud black-woman with hell of a lotta sass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

It's a great film :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

OP. Take a step back and listen.

Don't ever doubt your judgement. Everyone that said Ghost is gay is a fcuking arse bandit.

Patrick Swayze is in Ghost. Swayze=Dalton...the hardest motherfcuker that ever walked the earth. He can pull a mans beating heart right out of his chest...I've seen him do it.

Also Demi Moore. Demi Moore had a ripe period which ranged from Ghost to Indecent Proposal. Any real man would blow his load at the sight of Moore in a white vest like Sonny Corleone at the sight of a bridesmaid.

Finally, Goldberg...not pretending to be a nun.

Also Ghost was the first PG/12 movie that had the word fcuk in it.

If you are gay......so is Apollo Creed/John McLaine/Tyler Durden/Batman....I could go o....you know fcuk it I will cos it's Christmas.....John Rambo/Terry McCann/Tony Soprano/Glen Quagmire/Big Daddy/Grant Mitchell/Red Foreman.......you get the fcuking picture.

Swayze is exempt from gayness......even when he was pooning boys in Darko he was exempt.......because he is Dalton.

PATRICK SWAYZE WILL ALWAYS BE DALTON.

Happy Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Whoppi Goldberg got an academy award for playing a loud black-woman with hell of a lotta sass.

Wasn't the line , " I'm a little black woman in a big silver box"?

/think it was.

Wasn't the line , " I'm a little black woman in a big silver box"?

/think it was.

Hmm, I don't know. All I know is her over-the-top performance set the civil rights movement back at least a couple of weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭brosps

OP. Take a step back and listen.

Don't ever doubt your judgement. Everyone that said Ghost is gay is a fcuking arse bandit.

Patrick Swayze is in Ghost. Swayze=Dalton...the hardest motherfcuker that ever walked the earth. He can pull a mans beating heart right out of his chest...I've seen him do it.

Also Demi Moore. Demi Moore had a ripe period which ranged from Ghost to Indecent Proposal. Any real man would blow his load at the sight of Moore in a white vest like Sonny Corleone at the sight of a bridesmaid.

Finally, Goldberg...not pretending to be a nun.

Also Ghost was the first PG/12 movie that had the word fcuk in it.

If you are gay......so is Apollo Creed/John McLaine/Tyler Durden/Batman....I could go o....you know fcuk it I will cos it's Christmas.....John Rambo/Terry McCann/Tony Soprano/Glen Quagmire/Big Daddy/Grant Mitchell/Red Foreman.......you get the fcuking picture.

Swayze is exempt from gayness......even when he was pooning boys in Darko he was exempt.......because he is Dalton.

Happy Christmas.

that was awfully gay, wrong too.

brosps wrote: »
    that was awfully gay, wrong too.

My quote+your rebuttal=you're gay. That closet is getting smaller by the minute...come on out. Everything you thought till now is denial. You are a gay. Roadhouse is heterosexual. You are homosexual. You don't have to get over it. You just have to get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

"When in doubt, you're probably gay"

In fairness tony1kenobi, while excessive macho was just excessive macho back in the 80s... today, it often looks... gay.

Dudess wrote: »
    In fairness tony1kenobi, while excessive macho was just excessive macho back in the 80s... today, it often looks... gay.

I am not sure I follow.

Rocky beating Drago on Christmas day was gay?

Bruce Willis saving the Nakatomi building was gay?

The Goonies are gay?

River Phoenix died for nothing?

Bruce Lee died for nothing?

Jesus died for nothing?

Just so I am straight on this.........

......you are calling Jesus a poof?.....on his fcuking birthday?....

............that is pretty bold....

.....I am a little aroused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Not only the single tear (how on earth can she do that? If I've got one tear, many, many more are about to follow), but she can cry without a red nose? Or red eyes? While looking beautiful?

cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

It's not far off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Saibh wrote: »
    I rather watch King Kong than Ghost - I know the tv selection isn't great tonight

AIRPLANE! Surely you were watching it?

(Leaving an opening for an obvious reference)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

AIRPLANE! Surely you were watching it?

(Leaving an opening for an obvious reference)

Stop calling me Surely?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

oh how i cried watching ghost. Recently dumped, and pretty **** xmas day. Dinner was 2 burgers and a box of micro chips! So i have a decent excuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 tobias_wolf

oh how i cried watching ghost. Recently dumped, and pretty **** xmas day. Dinner was 2 burgers and a box of micro chips! So i have a decent excuse.

i think watching a movie like ghost was a bad idea for you, you should have watched airplane.yeah its gay if you watch it on your own or a night in with the mates, not with the girlfriend, then you can love it.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

its so gay, your father has already dis-owned you for posting such a gay question.

I am not sure I follow.

Rocky beating Drago on Christmas day was gay?

Bruce Willis saving the Nakatomi building was gay?

The Goonies are gay?

River Phoenix died for nothing?

Bruce Lee died for nothing?

Jesus died for nothing?

Just so I am straight on this.........

......you are calling Jesus a poof?.....on his fcuking birthday?....

............that is pretty bold....

.....I am a little aroused.
    Rambo was pretty gay - bulging muscles cloaked in oiled skin... ghey.
    Magnum PI was super gay - I don't even need to go into the details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I hated Ghost the first time I saw it when I was bout 13 and I hate it now.

King Kong is also rubbish but I watched that instead.

So to answer your question, I don't know if it's gay, but I don't understand your taste in films.

Ah, I think Ghost is great. Of the four colossal-grossing sappy girlie movies from the late 80s/early 90s, it's by far the best (in my opinion). The other three were Dirty Dancing (not bad, if just for the dancing which is great), Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves (haven't seen it - presume it's appalling) and Pretty Woman (an atrocity).

Dudess wrote: »
    Ah, I think Ghost is great. Of the four colossal-grossing sappy girlie movies from the late 80s/early 90s, it's by far the best (in my opinion). The other three were Dirty Dancing (not bad, if just for the dancing which is great), Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves (haven't seen it - presume it's appalling) and Pretty Woman (an atrocity).

Hate Dirty Dancing (cue shocked gasps from girls everywhere), only saw a bit of Robin Hood, which I hated, and only saw Pretty Woman recently, which I hated.

I'm not a Patrick Swayze fan (cue even louder gasps from girls everywhere) so he can't even save Ghost and Dirty Dancing for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

janeybabe wrote: »
    Hate Dirty Dancing (cue shocked gasps from girls everywhere), only saw a bit of Robin Hood, which I hated, and only saw Pretty Woman recently, which I hated.

I'm not a Patrick Swayze fan (cue even louder gasps from girls everywhere) so he can't even save Ghost and Dirty Dancing for me.

what about robin hood men in tights or space balls do you like those movies ?

Men in Tights is the one with the Aerosmith song right? I haven't seen it in years so I can't say whether I like it or not.

Never heard of the other ones, although a quick google suggests that I should watch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

janeybabe wrote: »
    Men in Tights is the one with the Aerosmith song right? I haven't seen it in years so I can't say whether I like it or not.

Never heard of the other ones, although a quick google suggests that I should watch it.

Thats right you shoudl watch it heres a link, to space balls movie there :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o6Itv1iGSn0
    best movie ever...

blazing sadels is really funny to :cool:

men in tights makes me laugh afetr watchign about 1000 times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

Thanks so much for clearing that up guys. I don't feel as bad now that things have been put in perspective.

I watched airplane afterwords so I feel quite good now.

Never realised Patrick Swayze was in spaceballs!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Now lads, cop on to yourselves.

The question was "Is liking the film Ghost gay". Believe me it is.

I don't care in what other really cool movies your man who I never liked anyway starred. I don't care how hot Demi Moore in this movie is, and yes, she is actually extremely hot in that movie. What I do care about (in the context of the OPs question) is that the film is a crappy 80's chicflic with a ludicrous-romantic story. And yes, I've seen it (obviously) and no I wouldn't see it again unless they stripped it down to just the scenes where Demi Moore acts extremely hot.

If you wholeheartedly liked it you might have more in common with your date than you thought you'd have....:D

Something I've always wondered: why all the praise for Demi Moore's "hotness" in it when she looked like this? http://www.homevideos.com/freezeframes2/ghost37.jpeg

Don't get me wrong, I think she's looked extremely hot in other films... but in Ghost specifically, she always struck me as... plain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

Definately ghey.

She looks like a teenage boy in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Happy Christmas.

11019852_ori.jpg
    How about now? :D

I liked it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭Me to you

I wouldnt be bragging to your mates that you sat at home and watched it, but if you want to get into a girls knickers then add it to the dvd collection, keep it hidden with the porn though, also invest in pretty woman! :D:D:D