Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Production Lessons

• 25-12-2008 2:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭

Hi

Im just wondering does anyone here or know someone who give lessons on Abelton live 7??
    Ive had Abelton now for a long time and i havent got around to getting stuck into it.
    And i am determined to do it in the new year!! :D
    Im looking for private one to one lessons, not really interested in these classes or courses?
    If anyone on here is interested in doing them,
    PM me with rates and info and we will sort something out!!

Cheers!!

And merry xmas and happy new year to you all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭dav nagle

Hi

Im just wondering does anyone here or know someone who give lessons on Abelton live 7??
    Ive had Abelton now for a long time and i havent got around to getting stuck into it.
    Im looking for private one to one lessons, not really interested in these classes or courses?

Cheers!!

I know the master I will PM you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭nicknackgtb

RTFM, thats how i did it

That works to an extent :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

Hi

Cheers!!

sounds pretty lazy to me.i got to grips with ableton by just getting stuck in,plus i went to a dedicated ableton forum and asked questions when i encountered a problem.
    honestly man save your money and just log onto an ableton forum and ask questions.its really not a difficult programme to figure out.theres tons of videos on youtube too to check out.
    why not try teach yourself and if its not working out then get lessons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

Sean may indeed have a point -

However if tuition is what you need talk to Barry at Virtu -

http://www.myspace.com/virtustudios

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    Sean may indeed have a point -

However if tuition is what you need talk to Barry at Virtu -

http://www.myspace.com/virtustudios
    well it was under his own admission that he never got stuck in yet.so he might not find it as hard as he thinks itll be.
    im sure hell be fine with getting to grips with the basics.at least this way his tuiton wont be spent on learning how to cut and paste or how to use softsynth and he might actually get more value for his money by learning about the deeper aspects of it.id personally feel robbed if i only learned the basics in a few courses but thats all he be taught if he gets lessons straight away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭ICN

Ableton is an absolute utter piece of piss.. But doing anything in it needs to be done the long way.. which is fustrating.

Personally, it didnt take me long to see its flaws & to desire getting something more capable like Logic or Cubase.. (I sold it & bought Logic - Thank Fcuk). It honestly wont take you long to master it - and possibly outgrow it! ;)

Got Live 6 Lite free with my soundcard anyway, which lets me do a little bit whenever required.

I'd have to agree with the Lads & go the YouTube Tutorial route maybe 1st Mate.

Best of luck! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭richie rich08

Cheers for everyone getting back to me,
    its not the fact that ive been LAZY and that im jsut not arsed to teach myself.
    Its just in the last year i have been extremely busy and havent had the time to do anything with the program.
    09 im going to make time to learn it,
    and would prefer lessons in doing so....
    Dont really care if some of you think im LAZY in doing so or i should just RTFM,
    each to there own, dont think il be the first person to get lessons.........
    Anyway i have something sorted thanks to one of the members on here,
    which i really appreciate and its at bloody good price too!!

great price for teaching you the basics.:rolleyes:
    i can give you the names of a few producers who will happily make a track for you.lets just cut out all the middlemen here and get down to what you really want to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭richie rich08

seannash wrote: »
    great price for teaching you the basics.:rolleyes:
    i can give you the names of a few producers who will happily make a track for you.lets just cut out all the middlemen here and get down to what you really want to do.

Yeah!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

if it's any help along the way, I found the video tutorials and other free stuff provided by Tom Cosm (New Zealand psytrance guy) to be quite good when I started using Ableton a few months ago.

having said all that, I've thought it fine for live work but am currently trying it out for creating new music and am finding it a nightmare for things like mixing tracks ..... it all sounds fine and then I export a master recording and the sound levels/eq bear no relation to what was happening in Ableton. I'd spent years working with FL Studio and found it quite easy to arrive at a nicely finished mix.

I dunno, if I wasn't moving back into doing live work I'd probably drop Ableton. Even now I'm wondering about alternatives that will do studio and live work to a professional standard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

its not the fact that ive been LAZY and that im jsut not arsed to teach myself.

then my friend, production is most definitely not for you

you might be better taking up something else

Richie, don't mind them eejits. Get tuition if you want. I've always found one to one is the best way to learn and certainly the quickest.

And if you're Rich then who cares?

Richie, don't mind them eejits. Get tuition if you want. I've always found one to one is the best way to learn and certainly the quickest.

And if you're Rich then who cares?

You're banned for 1 week Paul - You cant be calling the Lads eejits! :pac:

ICN wrote: »
    YYou cant be calling the Lads eejits! :pac:

You can if they are ....;)

Mmmm..

If you want someone to inspire you and and if you want to learn quickly then one to one is great. I worked off the book and net for 6 years before I got tuition one to one and I am glad I did. I was able to write questions out every week and bring them to the table. I gather your not lazy it's just a figure of speech I take it yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

ICN wrote: »
    You're banned for 1 week Paul - You cant be calling the Lads eejits!
    hell yea man, yo' can't be violating the lads willy nilly. no way dude! :pac:

dav nagle wrote: »
    If you want someone to inspire you and and if you want to learn quickly then one to one is great. I worked off the book and net for 6 years before I got tuition one to one and I am glad I did. I was able to write questions out every week and bring them to the table. I gather your not lazy it's just a figure of speech I take it yeah.
    thats all well and good man but hes had the programme over a year and hasnt even taught himself the basics.to get good at this **** takes personal hard work.hes gonna waste his money letting somebody show him the very basic steps.i think his money would be better spent with getting taught the more advanced stuff but unfortunately all hell get is the basics for the first while.
    i think helix hit it on the head to be honest.;)
    and if he needs to get inspired by someone else hes gonna find it hard when hes at home by himself with no one around him.
    ive has friends who do this.they claim they want to learn but are so lazy about it i refuse to help them til they go and teach themselves the basic and show some sort of commitment.
    he'll be in for a shock when hes not making chart toping tracks in 6 months.:eek:
    tuition is great but theres no excuse for having all the tools at your disposal for the past year and not having the desire to check it out for yourself.
    we are ALL busy,everyone has commitments.
    im sure we can all swap stories about burning the midnight oil on some project.i cant count the amount of times ive stayed up all night working on music and then gone straight into work without sleep.
    sorry for the rant,i just have a lot of friends who sound exactly like the op and this is what i tell them.
    a favourite comment from one of them is that hes a visual learner.
    who the **** isnt :D

anyway op just ignore this.its not going to affect you and your decision.just feel like sharing my opinion with people.im not really out to cause you offence

seannash wrote: »
    thats all well and good man but hes had the programme over a year and hasnt even taught himself the basics.to get good at this **** takes personal hard work.hes gonna waste his money letting somebody show him the very basic steps.i think his money would be better spent with getting taught the more advanced stuff but unfortunately all hell get is the basics for the first while.
    i think helix hit it on the head to be honest.;)
    and if he needs to get inspired by someone else hes gonna find it hard when hes at home by himself with no one around him.
    ive has friends who do this.they claim they want to learn but are so lazy about it i refuse to help them til they go and teach themselves the basic and show some sort of commitment.
    he'll be in for a shock when hes not making chart toping tracks in 6 months.:eek:
    tuition is great but theres no excuse for having all the tools at your disposal for the past year and not having the desire to check it out for yourself.
    we are ALL busy,everyone has commitments.
    im sure we can all swap stories about burning the midnight oil on some project.i cant count the amount of times ive stayed up all night working on music and then gone straight into work without sleep.
    sorry for the rant,i just have a lot of friends who sound exactly like the op and this is what i tell them.
    a favourite comment from one of them is that hes a visual learner.
    who the **** isnt :D

anyway op just ignore this.its not going to affect you and your decision.just feel like sharing my opinion with people.im not really out to cause you offence

There is no question that the OP should have his basics down. If not, then he is certainly wasting his money, you are correct. Anyone can learn the basics after all.