Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

50% Off at Burton.co.uk & 10% extra code

• 24-12-2008 4:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭

50% off online and instore.

http://www.burton.co.uk

Some good prices, and Burton stuff is generally quite nice.

//Edit

Another 10% off with this code: NUS10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Good luck ordering anything online from the Republic as the stupid site will sell and ship to Ireland but demands a UK postcode!!! Grrrrrr.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Good luck ordering anything online from the Republic as the stupid site will sell and ship to Ireland but demands a UK postcode!!! Grrrrrr.

Most sites have this. Use either NONE, EIRE, or BT11AA

wixfjord wrote: »

Wixfjord, you're a genius, I never knew that. Order placed, no idea what the gear is like but you can't argue with those prices, 5 jumpers, 3 shirts and a T shirt for €140!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

I ordered a few things from it 2 weeks ago, delivery only took about 3 days.

They deliver to Ireland no problem, just use a postcode like Eire/Ireland or your county etc.

Got Ben Sherman trousers, £79 down to £20, and with the additional VAT rate of 15% and the 10% discount, brings it down to around £18 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭coldfire1x

Cheers OP. Ordered couple of shirts :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Sharp

Thanks OP got some bits and pieces, most of the jeans sold out.

But picked up a load of shirts and tops :).

The postcode did start to drive me nuts at one point( theirs a second postcode box you put Eire in).

Cheers!

Happy Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

nice one !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭johnfás

I bought stuff in the last sale and had an absolutely terrible experience with them. They only shipped me the trousers of a suit when I rang up to complain they said they had cancelled the jacket and could not give a reason why. Then they reordered the jacket for me - it never came. Then I phoned them up again and they said that it was now out of stock. All this dragged on for 2 weeks which meant that they would no longer give me a refund on the trousers which they did send to me and are completely unnecessary now that I don't have the jacket. I'll be taking it up again with them after Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Quatre Mains

thanks zAbbo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭coco06

johnfás wrote: »
    I bought stuff in the last sale and had an absolutely terrible experience with them. They only shipped me the trousers of a suit when I rang up to complain they said they had cancelled the jacket and could not give a reason why. Then they reordered the jacket for me - it never came. Then I phoned them up again and they said that it was now out of stock. All this dragged on for 2 weeks which meant that they would no longer give me a refund on the trousers which they did send to me and are completely unnecessary now that I don't have the jacket. I'll be taking it up again with them after Christmas.

I ordered two trousers and a jumper from them on the 24th, took a while to get sizes and correct items so placed the order. Got email from them on 31st to say the order was dispatched minus the jumper because it was out of stock! This would put me off ordering again as you are not guaranteed you will get what you want. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Gerbud

coco06 wrote: »
    I ordered two trousers and a jumper from them on the 24th, took a while to get sizes and correct items so placed the order. Got email from them on 31st to say the order was dispatched minus the jumper because it was out of stock! This would put me off ordering again as you are not guaranteed you will get what you want. :(

Placed an order on the 25th Dec. Received an email today stating items were dispatched although half the stuff I ordered hasn't been as it's unavailable. I was not overcharged for my goods but still a shabby service as website did not say items were out of stock!

I won't be using Burtons online again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Compak

Gerbud wrote: »
    Placed an order on the 25th Dec. Received an email today stating items were dispatched although half the stuff I ordered hasn't been as it's unavailable. I was not overcharged for my goods but still a shabby service as website did not say items were out of stock!

I won't be using Burtons online again.

Was just coming online to make the same complaint.

Exact same here, smae dates. Disgraceful service when I could of selected alternatives if informed out of stock.

Processing 1 week later off course loads gone.

Beyond amateurish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭skywalker_208

hmmm was gona place an order but sounds like the service isnt the best judging from the last few replies!

Anyone know if the sale applies to Burtons in Blanch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭RodVelvet

I placed an order with them for a good few items took about a week for the order to be pricessed. Luckily enough I got everything apart from one shirt which wasn't in stock.

I wouldn't be happy if I only got one half of a suit. At least they could notify you that an item isn't in stock. There stock management must be fairly ropey. I found prices and quality of stuff I got excellent to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

First time I ordered was a big order and two things were cancelled without informing me. Second order was just before xmas and bought 4 things and all they shipped me was a tshirt. Absolute bums. I'd have cancelled the order rather than buy one tshirt. The shirt doesnt even work out the cheap now when you add the few quid shippin onto it. Wont be using them again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Compak

GStormcrow wrote: »
    First time I ordered was a big order and two things were cancelled without informing me. Second order was just before xmas and bought 4 things and all they shipped me was a tshirt. Absolute bums. I'd have cancelled the order rather than buy one tshirt. The shirt doesnt even work out the cheap now when you add the few quid shippin onto it. Wont be using them again

If that happened to me I would of canceeled payment or ordered the credit card compant to take it back for an incorrect charge.
    I would then inform burtons my incorrectorde is sitting in my hall for them to collect.

I think going to email them and reference them to this thread once there is a lot of views/replies. As someone who works with the public I cant get over this third world service and I hope their business gets hit badly from it.

I certainly am advising people not to go near them. They need a wakeup call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Absolute disgrace both topman and burton.

See my thread on them here. Burton didn't even deliver my goods and topman half delivered it.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=58517801#post58517801

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

im still waiting for my stuff to arrive

very slow postage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

i'd hate to go against the grain here lads but i put through 2 separate orders there around about the 10-15th of December (20% sale i think at the time) and whadayaknow? they arrived in about 3 days respectively no problems at all! some of the shirts are really nice, lovely fit, cost pittance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭MisterKipling

myself inlcuded....i got 3jumpers, two pairs of sweet trainers, 3thsirts and a shirt inlcuding delivery for all under 100€.....very very happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭BFassassin

Ordered some stuff from them on the 31st and got it today. I got everything I ordered and all is ok apart from my suit jacket. It came and was all dusty but that has come off with a brush down but there is still a security tag left on it!!
    I will have to contact them tomorrow about it. Its going to mean extra hassle for me though and without the jacket for a week or so.

Also just received my stuff, 3 shirts, 3 jumpers, 2 T-shirts, all for €130, if I could tolerate the misery that is trawling around shops it would have cost me a multiple of that. Very pleased with the price and quality. I'll be back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭bittihuduga

my whole order got refunded :-(
    after 20 days....
    i got my money back - less 5 euros for forex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Lots of orders, but no-one hit the thanks button :(

zAbbo wrote: »
    Happy now :p

my order was despatched on the 28th of december

still no sign

bit of a disgrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Great prices but there customer service is a nightmare. About 10 calls and 1 visit to there store in Liffey Valley later I'm still no closer to getting a refund for an item not delivered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭EyesOnly

Ordered a pair of trousers, ashirt, a jacket and a pair of trainers on the 26th got them on monday Thanks OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Craig-S

wixfjord wrote: »

use deafault too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Wudyaquit

Anyone have any issues with the sizes? I was in their shop in Enniskillen and the sizes were all arseways - would've been screwed if I'd bought from their website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

apologies dude, great spot by the way

Nice one zAbbo, both me and my wardrobe thank you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

got my delivery today, 2 pairs of runners, wallet & t-shirt for €30

i ordered 3 stuff from burton

2 of the stuff were shipped on the 28th dec

the other one was shipped on the the 1st jan

guess which one i got today ,the 1st jan one:rolleyes:

very strange

at least i got an extra pair of gloves by mistake

i think Burton will be getting a ring from me if i dont get my stuff tomorrow

the jacket i got today is brilliant
    very impress with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Neanderthal boy

Have ordered stuff from Burton on about 5 or 6 occasions and all my orders were sent out within a few days and were all correct. Obviously if there is a sale then stuff is going to move a bit more rapidly so items are going to go out of stock before the volume of orders have been gone through. Will continue to shop with Burton as long as the exchange rate allows!!

Ordered 3 different consignments from them all arrived within a week the latest today and yesterday. All items accounted for and the right sizes.

No complaints.

Thanks Op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭gnolan

Is there a Burton shop in Dublin in case of returns??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

Yeah there is one in the Jervis Centre anyway. Not sure if there are others.

It is very handy though that you can drop returns into their branch here.

One in Blanchardstown too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

Thanks lads

eVeNtInE wrote: »
    I wonder would they be able to sort out my suit jacket. The one I got has a shop security tag still on it and the only way to get it off is to take it to a store apparently. The nearest burtons to me is in drogheda but I never go there so it would be out of my way. I could get my sis to go to the doroty perkins in newry though.

Anyone know what courier thay use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

gnolan wrote: »
    Anyone know what courier thay use?

Parcel Force label was on my last del

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭nava

The_Edge wrote: »
    Parcel Force label was on my last del

Did anyone manage to get the tracking working? on what website? in the dispatched e-mail there's a tracking number and postal code and couple of websites for UK shipping but nothing mention for Ireland

EDIT: tracking doesn't work on Royal Mail, Parcelforce or Anpost.

nava wrote: »
    Did anyone manage to get the tracking working? on what website? in the dispatched e-mail there's a tracking number and postal code and couple of websites for UK shipping but nothing mention for Ireland

EDIT: tracking doesn't work on Royal Mail, Parcelforce or Anpost.

Sent them off an email there the other day about this.

Dear Mr xxxxxx,

Thank you for your email received 20 January 2009.

I can confirm that we use the UK Royal Mail service to send parcels to Eire.

Unfortunately parcel tracking is only available in the UK. Although international orders usually arrive within around 10 days, please allow one month in case there are any delays in the postal system.

Regards,

Joel
    Burton Customer Service

To telephone us please call the Customer Services department on
    0844 984 0260 between 9am and 9pm Monday-Friday and 9am-5.30pm Saturday and Sunday (please note these times do not include Bank Holidays).