Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what are you ?

• 23-12-2008 2:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭

When you die and stand at the gates of Valhalla ,when asked what role will you be in Ragnarok ? will you be a sniper ,what will you be for this the best battle of all time ??????

Me --- attacker M-4 in hand smile on my face dressed in Celtic battle dress (naked as the day I was born *)

* Close your eye and picture that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭DisasterIRL

whydave wrote: »
    When you die and stand at the gates of Valhalla ,when asked what role will you be in Ragnarok ? will you be a sniper ,what will you be for this the best battle of all time ??????

Me --- attacker M-4 in hand smile on my face dressed in Celtic battle dress (naked as the day I was born *)

If it was real guns or without a limit on fps I would be a sniper

Otherwise I would be assault with my m4 in hang, most likely in Arnie getup, as in torn trousers and a bandoiler. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

only airsoft on this thread !!!! no limit on the power levels !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Beast ASI

No limit.....?

Asashi M249, fully specced up running off a huge HPA tank on my back.

That would probably then be the best gun ever :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

whydave wrote: »

(naked as the day I was born *)

Why do you keep doing that? :( <<<<shivers>>>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

WHY ..... Because life is to short to get upset have fun ,smile ....... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Jimbobak47

Now here's a thread worth replying to, all i need is a comrade on my left and a comrade on my right, and a clip of ammunition for my little armalite!! ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Sniper would be nice but everone and his cat wants to be a sniper so that kinda dilutes it for the good ones., im between both the sniper role and the rifleman one, usually can be seen with an armalite of some sort in hand., :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

Live the dream, I do exactly the job I enjoy in a skirmish; I'm a DM and FO. I move with the troops and provide longer range fire and use my SR25 mounted Hubble Telescope to call out as much intel to friendlies about anything I see as I can. Information is more effective than a hicap. Because of this, you'll usually know who I am on the field. Most people in an average skirmish don't have radios, so I tend to relay everything in a loud, angry shouting voice.

I also dabble in PsyOps by playing Avril Lavigne songs on a pair of speakers in my vest during tense moments in skirmishes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Busta Hyman

minigun on the side of a blackhawk al a matrix style

Asashi M249, fully specced up running off a huge HPA tank on my back.

This guy has the right idea among a few others, look if your going to fight to the death at the end of the world, you don't want to be at the back looking through your Hubble telescope! He who stays in the rear takes it in the rear!

Je moet je muil houden!!

Never said anything about staying in the rear, but when I'm standing beside 5 teammates and I can tell them not only where each player is going, but what type of rifle they're using and how many spare mags they're carrying, it's a heck of an advantage to carry around.
    We're not all gung-ho kamikaze warriors, some people like to know what to expect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

firepower

i´m a turret´ grenade pistol in my left mmg in my left

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Utreg

Jimbobak47 wrote: »
    This guy has the right idea among a few others, look if your going to fight to the death at the end of the world, you don't want to be at the back looking through your Hubble telescope! He who stays in the rear takes it in the rear!

Je moet je muil houden!!

LOL Goed he? :D

Id strap a pile of claymore's to my body and run around like a madman.
    If im gonna go, may as well take as many as possible with me..

I can tell them not only where each player is going, but what type of rifle they're using and how many spare mags they're carrying

Thats cool and all for the Airsoft battlefield or even one in Iraq or somewhere, but when all is fire and brimstone and the great serpent of Midgard rises up from the deep to f*ck up all in its path, you dont want to be there counting mags and looking at rifles! you have to be there shouting Yippie ki yay!! mother f*cker!! and...
    Id strap a pile of claymore's to my body and run around like a madman.
    If im gonna go, may as well take as many as possible with me..

Yes. Now that's what im talking about! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Utreg

Yes. Now that's what im talking about! :P

Must be a Dutch thing... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭ACW

In airsoft heavy there would be airsoft artillery right?

I'd be back in my old role as OP for a 120mm Heavy Mortar battery.Al Tornado Grenade or Maple Leaf James Boom Mk3 style devices with 10 times the size and load. *Smiles eeriely* Imagine the sheer amount of BBs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭padmundo

I'm a small target... we're pinned down, my rifle's taken a hit and all I have is the pistol. Death or Glory charge against that one guy who wasn't taking his hits...*

*Basically my first day in old HRTA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭kevteljeur

Utreg wrote: »
    Must be a Dutch thing... :D

Ja, denk ik ook...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

/\ no txt sp33k please

I dont really play any particular role, I have an assault rifle and vest for assault, an rpk support gun for support.
    Got an mp5sd I'll use for cqb, also use a skorpion at times in kill houses, getting a shotgun soon to field as a primary, will get a dragunov when the polymer one is out for dmr, may get a bolt action for sniper.

So in the game, I dont want to miss any roles but I find I always do one thing.
    Bodge stuff, I make holsters, build custom guns, make parts, tinker with gearboxes in tents in the dark, screw(literally) boots back together, make gun bags out of trousers etc. etc.

At the gates of valhalla?

I'll have a tool box, a pile of bodged aegs, and a smile shining out under alot of grease, glue and epoxy.

you have to be there shouting Yippie ki yay!! mother f*cker!! and...

Praying and spraying isn't my cup of tea. If I can see this "serpent of midgard" (whatever that's supposed to be) then I can see it from further out and take actions accordingly. If we're going to unrealistic (from an airsoft perspective) and over the top then I'd keep the same position and just call in an artillery strike, fast air, air artillery, helos, armour etc.

I'm not a fan of the "one man to save the world" protocol. It's barely fun in movies, let alone real life. Fine if you're into it, but I'm not. Give me my long, my scope and my designator over anything.

Ah for ****s sake, your no fun at all. Would it kill you to post something not so serious. I like airsoft for the realism aspect and all that, but my understanding of this thread was, 'a bit of escapisim!' and why not, but oh no Mr.bythebook has to post somthing serious. bah! you just need a wee smoke and you'll be grand!

by the by Ragnarok as you may or may not know is the Viking judgment day where all the gods stood and fought to their dying breath against all of earths evil, and the serpent of Midgard was a snake which encircled the world. (badass!) Yes I know its just mythology but its cool eh?

Merry Christmas man! :p
    (Oh and im not dutch but its a great place!)

War of the Trimmers!

You both fail epicly compared to me!

I hate xmas in trim, I sit, sleep, lie down, stare, eat, crap, sigh, sleep, sleep, boring thing, try to sleep...

Ha ha go Trim!! Small world eh? Christmas can be fun make the most of life my man and all its bountys!!:P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

ah here, these bleedin trim boggers are taking over, first there was dex, then sam and now you., surely in such a small place you must all have met eachother at some stage or another.,lol., :p

Ah for ****s sake, your no fun at all. Would it kill you to post something not so serious. I like airsoft for the realism aspect and all that, but my understanding of this thread was, 'a bit of escapisim!' and why not, but oh no Mr.bythebook has to post somthing serious. bah! you just need a wee smoke and you'll be grand!

by the by Ragnarok as you may or may not know is the Viking judgment day where all the gods stood and fought to their dying breath against all of earths evil, and the serpent of Midgard was a snake which encircled the world. (badass!) Yes I know its just mythology but its cool eh?

Thread says "what are you". I replied with what I am. You made inflections against my position. I defended it. Seems a simple diatribe to me.

By the way Ragnarok was the final war between the Gods and the Giants where many of the Gods died due to Loki's deception and betrayel, not a fight against earthly evils. That was left to the Vikings themselves and the Valkyries who attended the battles. Guess I know mine too.

Richie, trust me, I do my damnedest to dissociate myself from the natives of this town. It says a lot when moving to Limerick was an improvement! (No offence to the Limerick lads, I'd happily move back there tomorrow!)

I know where you live, Its deeper into the bowels of Trim than I am.

Its the epicentre, the heart.

Beside lidl and supervalu, the economic centre of the town, the main offender!

And richie, you know too much about the Trim conspiracy, you must die...

Arse biscuits. When I moved away the back of my house had nothing but fields all the way out to the driving range. I got back to find a sodding road 140 yards beyond by back garden, a shop selling mystery food under odd names and a shower of new traffic lights.

It's enough to put you off your double shot caramel macchiato with cream...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

I like trim, there's something magical about it in my eyes, i think it's the easy to navigate roundabouts, damn galway ones have me gone mad crazy drivers up there...

NakedDex wrote: »
    It's enough to put you off your double shot caramel macchiato with cream...

Is that one of the weekly specials or do lild stock them all the time?

We're out of hot chocolate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭knifey_spoonie

Im a TKS

Tactical Kitchen Sink

Is that one of the weekly specials or do lild stock them all the time?

Please. Behold the might of my Starbucks store card. I have the special edition, it came with a mount for holding it on a RAS rail so I can call in my order while fighting.

Freedom. It smells like a Venti mocha latte. With cream. And cinnamon. Why? Because it's the American way...

<sings America The Beautiful as the Stars and Stripes unfurl dramatically behind>

I will use blue electrical tape, spitting and shouting in russian, to mount a small mirror to my kalashnikov aeg.

This will forever serve to remind me, when confronted with 20mm compatible coffee house membership cards, that the milsim'n "m" to the ofo staring back at me, shuns rails, and their western hypocrisy.

I emphasise hypocrisy, as I have a railed mp5, I bought a red-dot for it, its railed too, put a red-dot on my roomates g36c too, oh I like rails what fun!

Sing, before you get invaded for renouncing rails.

Oh beautiful, for spacious skies
    For amber waves of grain...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭flashinbluelite

attempting to ignore the previous two pages,where the "war" was fought with the oxford english dictionary........ (good work guys some grade A vocab)

:D;)

I , like so many men standing at the gates of valhalla!!! would take a moment to ponder at the airsoft life i have lived and ask myself "was it a good skirmish??" if my answer was "yes,yes it was" i would answer "the role i will play is that of the lazy guy who waits for every other player to run into battle first and enjoy the carnage from a distance" if my answer was "no,not the best skirmish ive ever had" I would turn around duel weilding mp5ks with custom backpack BB delivery system(work in progress) which holds 10000 BBs,launch my UAV helo (work in progress) which through my HUD would give me readings of where every player is...........and i would unlease a mass of BBs the like no man woman or child has ever seen, Zeus himself would shake my hand and join in.............two men casting down their anger....one with BBs the other with raw lightning...........

Now thats a dream......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭MKIII

I myself would love to go out all guns blazing or at least waste all my ammo and use my gun(s) as a club.But Iknow i'd do what Ido best hide somewhere unexpected pop out give my victim a heart atack and get shot. :D it's an art

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

I will be the first to die and then I can greet all of you with a nice cuppa and a biscuit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭MKIII

hmmmm if i died right after you would i need to help make the tea and stuff for everyone else... if so I'm going last or third last incaes you run out