Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Card Mechanics - Are they rare?

• 19-12-2008 9:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭

My first post in this forum, just wanna throw this question out.

I was a spectator at a tournament last week. It was a regular event, ran by a local pub. (I will NOT name names here, so don't even ask!:))
    While watching one particular table I noticed some particular goings-on form one guy when he dealt the cards.

I'm just wondering, have any of you guys ever come across one of these legendary card mechanics we have seen on TV and in the movies?
    Or am I just being paranoid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Rigmincedeal

Ah they have to be rare! And i doubt ur gona see some amazing stuff in ur local pub of all places! Wer u drunk? :cool: Interesting if any1 else has come across antin like it before though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭alanbb

Ah they have to be rare! And i doubt ur gona see some amazing stuff in ur local pub of all places!

Are you kidding me?! I would have thought that would be the ideal place for them... amateur night. People would be more off guard I would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

They are very rare in casinos as staff are professionally trained (so would spot them easily enough) and self deal tournaments are rare in casinos anyway too.

Plenty of players have been banned over the years for general cheating though.

And I've seen a few dodgy things (*not talking about Nicnicnic in the Wacky Apple*) in self deal pub tournaments out in the countryside before but nothing for serious money.

carfax wrote: »
    They are very rare in casinos as staff are professionally trained (so would spot them easily enough) and self deal tournaments are rare in casinos anyway too.

Plenty of players have been banned over the years for general cheating though.

And I've seen a few dodgy things (*not talking about Nicnicnic in the Wacky Apple*) in self deal pub tournaments out in the countryside before but nothing for serious money.

That's my point. You will only see these guys in tournaments that allow player-dealing, so it's stand to reason they will target the smaller events.
    When I said it was a small tournament, I really should have said SMALL-TIME as there was an entry of around 100 people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

When i started off playing in Breaks in Drumcondra, one of the lads always volunteered (sp?) to deal. He'd regularly false shuffle and deal from the bottom of the deck. He's quite well known and has been barred from almost all casinos in Dublin for palming chips and other shenanigans

Flushdraw wrote: »
    When i started off playing in Breaks in Drumcondra, one of the lads always volunteered (sp?) to deal. He'd regularly false shuffle and deal from the bottom of the deck. He's quite well known and has been barred from almost all casinos in Dublin for palming chips and other shenanigans

That's what I think was going on....

He was'nt dealing every hand, but the players would each deal for 5 or 6 hands each. This guys luck would suddenly change when he got the cards in his hands!

Let's just say I know what to look for - mechanics grip, different sound when dealing his own card, fast riffle shuffles followed by a quick false cut etc. etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Whyno

Like the way in rounders.....Eh duh
    All you have to do is look at the way his hands move when Shuffling etc and whether he offers to cut the cards and what not.
    I heard rumours bout a few mechs travellin round with the CPT....Heard they went broke cos evert time they dealt themselves aces they were cracked by Q4offsuit....:D

Whyno wrote: »
    Like the way in rounders.....Eh duh

Please....

I'm not one of these poker buffs who has seen rounders and thinks he can spot a card cheat!:)

Let us just say I have some practical knowledge of the techniques involved.

Anyway, the way Ed Norton was caught in Rounders was horsesh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

Car mechanics? Eh.....try the Yellow Pages mate.

This is about poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

carfax wrote: »
    And I've seen a few dodgy things (*not talking about Nicnicnic in the Wacky Apple*) QUOTE]

Forgot u were one of the lucky ones in Waterford to experience the madness of this game when it ran .. Roll back the gd times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭TommyGunne

Not as rare as you'd think. I've come across at least one when playing live in town, and another one who attempted some dodgy stuff in a pub tourney (he was ridic bad at it though!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

I once played in a self deal Irish open satellite ran in a pub where a guy was caught dealing himself an ace from the base of the deck every time it was his deal.

NickyOD wrote: »
    I once played in a self deal Irish open satellite ran in a pub where a guy was caught dealing himself an ace from the base of the deck every time it was his deal.

Well that's a sure fire way to get yourself caught!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

Card mechanics are one reason why you will never find me playing a CPT tournament. I'm not accusing CPT here or any players as such - But that is the kind of event that would be perfect for them. Big prize, booze and self deal until last few tables.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Used playa lot in pubs in Galway when iw as younger and cheating was rampant.
    We used elay 5 card daw with red deuces wild so quite often guy would have a deuce hidden as its ajoker card.
    One time we were all getting smashed and alad goes to the jacks and a card is seen stuck to his arse he obv slipped it under his seat and forgot a bout it as he was half cut.
    There is afamous card player in the south east who is arenowned mechanic so no matter how good your starting hands dont play with this guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

There is afamous card player in the south east who is arenowned mechanic so no matter how good your starting hands dont play with this guy

I was wondering how long it would before he was mentioned:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

No names and the southe ast is abig place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭bantee

Is that the shark from Waterford that was mentioned in the "How much do you make at poker?" thread? I'll have me wits about me if I'm ever playing in that part of the country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

yeah theres a big bad david coperfield type character in waterford that takes all the moniez :rolleyes:

but i dont think he cheats he just charges all the players a thing called rake and his name is Kelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Rigmincedeal

Wow didnt realise alot of it went on, wuda just assumed it was v difficult to do so wud be very rare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭DEEP THROAT

In some (dodgy) establishments it is like Wimbledon the way they play...

If you can't get a few Aces on your Serve you'll end up F**ked by the end of the Game