Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

if you were a bouncer

• 18-12-2008 6:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭

Hi id like to ask for some opinions on this..
    I was going to a well known club with a shared beer garden on harcourt street.I had drank admitedly a bit too much:o
    but anyway when I got to this club i was refused entry because I didnt have a ticket,which i didnt know was needed, which was fair enough but then the guy called me a rat and they all had a good laugh so i said that one of them laughed like a girl(very high pitched).. then he started to get angry... anyway my question is if you were a bouncer and I came to that club 2 weeks later... would you let me in,would you remember?
    sorry... bit worried:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Yes, we remember everyone that acts the cúnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I've done a bit on doors in my time and i have to admit, its alot easier than people think to remember faces. Thats no reason not to try but don't count on him just forgetting what you look like, especially after only 2 weeks

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

If you do indeed have prominent rat like features then they probably will.

Shave the whiskers, leave the big block of cheese at home, were a urinal cathider and stick your big spooky tail inside your trousers before you give it another bash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Moved to After Hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

poisonated wrote: »
    my question is if you were a bouncer and I came to that club 2 weeks later... would you let me in,would you remember?

It would depend how much coke I'd done the first night.

Also, I'd be just doing my job son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Also, I'd be just doing my job son.

as in take each night as it comes or...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

as in take each night as it comes or...?

Or stop using your brothers ID who admittedly isnt exactly identical to you.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Hop into a cardboard box and run right past him. If it works for solid snake, it'll work for you.

Fad wrote: »
    Or stop using your brothers ID who admittedly isnt exactly identical to you.
    Ill have you know im 19 mr fad so none of your cheek young man:D
    oh and as for the cardboard box idea... pure brilliant I didnt think of that... i will try it;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Hop into a cardboard box and run right past him. If it works for solid snake, it'll work for you.

Or tap on a wall at the side of the Drinkery... that should get his attention then you can slip inside unnoticed.

anyone have any suggestions as to how one would go about grovelling with the bouncer to let you in... would this work?:o:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Perhaps consider going to one of the million other pubs in Dubin instead?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Moved to After Hours.

Thanks buddy!

If I were trying to gain entry into a nightclub after being kicked out not two weeks before I would try and have an incredibly distracting physical trait that does not involve looking like a rat to fool those bouncers. Perhaps fake an amputated arm. Points to both a regimental history and melancholic outlook that appeals to many bouncers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Try to get in sometime in the meantime, if he says no, smile, be polite, leave. Then when you need to get in, this might be what he remembers.

That said, as far as I know, bouncers are extrmely unpredictable, so anything's possible.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

What do you do if you see an Exclamation Mark? This obvious will happen in the third person.
    Ill have you know im 19 mr fad so none of your cheek young man:D

Lies make baby Jebus cry, Billy

thanks for the replies...
    fad i know this is after hours but you sure are menthol!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

First things first, are you in reality a rat? If so, try not being a rat and see how that works out.

If however you are indeed human and do not resemble our beady eyed friends of the gutter then perhaps a quick display of submission would work? Perhaps a lowering of the head, point your eyes to the ground. Should he prove aggressive some sharp, high pitched yelps followed by your laying on your back with your legs and arms in the air may persuade him further.

As a last(but funner) option, find and kidnap his mother, take pictures of the dear old girl in various states of undress and bring them with you. Should he prove troublesome merely show him said pictures and let him know you mean business (and that in no uncertain terms if he wishes to see his mother again unscathed you best be granted entrance). Good times are bound to ensue.

Hope this helps,
    H.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

[high pitch]Tee hee hee![/high pitch] Not a chance, rat-boy!

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭likely_lass

this worked for a friend of mine who was in a similar position

- he went up to the bouncer in question in a reasonably sober state and said "here mate im really sorry i was a dick last week, i drank too much, it will not happen again"

usually the honest apology works best, he will probably remember you caus bouncers dont take kindly to d***s, but he might respect this approach

note:mate seems to work well on bouncers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

this worked for a friend of mine who was in a similar position

- he went up to the bouncer in question in a reasonably sober state and said "here mate im really sorry i was a dick last week, i drank too much, it will not happen again"

usually the honest apology works best, he will probably remember you caus bouncers dont take kindly to d***s, but he might respect this approach

note:mate seems to work well on bouncers

And if he didn't remember you he might appreciate your honesty more......or tell ya to feck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

thanks for the replies...
    fad i know this is after hours but you sure are menthol!:o

At AH we serve many functions - to give sound advice about bouncers, soothe sore throats and flavour cigarettes. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭oztots

Saying sorry can work wonders.

Just because you cant remember their faces doesnt mean they cant remember yours. And remember, they were sober at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

The person in question might not even be working that night or could be stationed in another part of the club...

Degag wrote: »
    The person in question might not even be working that night or could be stationed in another part of the club...

Which means he spots you and kicks you out after you pay in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Well you'd have a much better chance of avoiding him... Anyway he'd want to be a pretty strict (and petty) bouncer not to let a guy in for saying he laughed like a girl...

Degag wrote: »
    Well you'd have a much better chance of avoiding him... Anyway he'd want to be a pretty strict (and petty) bouncer not to let a guy in for saying he laughed like a girl...

You laugh like a girl, now be nice to me next time you see me? I dunno, wouldnt go down well with me.
    Anytime somebodys been abusize in any way i'll be making sure they're not in my pub/club for a while, unless they say sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭rockdrummer

Or just shoot all bouncers because they are complete wasters !!

Ah dont be saying that now, i dont feel like getting off my stand. I'm practicing looking menacing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

Is this coming from a drummer?

I wonder how many drummers OEB knows and how many he thinks are waster !!??

Its a well know fact most bouncers are on a power trip and just ignorant !!

I wonder how many drummers OEB knows and how many he thinks are waster !!??

Its a well know fact most bouncers are on a power trip and just ignorant !!

Maybe it's a well known fact by people who won't take the effort to abide by the dress code of a place. Or people that do not, in fact, think anyone should be able to tell them that they are too pissed to come into a premises.

I worked as a bouncer for a few years down in Kerry, but how come I have never experienced bouncers having a 'power trip' anywhere else in the country? Is it maybe because I don't try going into night clubs when I am too pissed to stand up? Is it because I don't think tracksuit pants and a hoodie is suitable attire for a saturday night on the town?

If all bouncers are out to get you mate, it's probably you rather than them.

Wonder why their has been so much talk about trying to regulate bouncers...

Anyway ya dont have the faintest idea how to deal with people, maybe its the aggressive attitude that pisses people off.

In my case it wasnt being pissed or anything like that, it was to do with the fact I had long hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭big_show

Anyway ya dont have the faintest idea how to deal with people, maybe its the aggressive attitude that pisses people off.

In my case it wasnt being pissed or anything like that, it was to do with the fact I had long hair.

Like a fairy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

LoL, thats all you have? One incident from someone over your hair and all bouncers are **** who deserve to be shot?

When did I say one incident?

big_show wrote: »
    Like a fairy?

What a comeback.... typical bouncer attitude !

Bar owners are generally very clear about dress code etc to bouncers. I very much doubt that you were stopped for only having long hair.

I'm sure of course, other than the hair (Which was combed) you were also wearing a clean shirt and pants. And wearing a pair of shoes (not trainers)?

Im afraid I was !! Yeah hard to understand but thats bouncers for ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭pallepille

oeb wrote: »
    Maybe it's a well known fact by people who won't take the effort to abide by the dress code of a place. Or people that do not, in fact, think anyone should be able to tell them that they are too pissed to come into a premises.

I worked as a bouncer for a few years down in Kerry, but how come I have never experienced bouncers having a 'power trip' anywhere else in the country? Is it maybe because I don't try going into night clubs when I am too pissed to stand up? Is it because I don't think tracksuit pants and a hoodie is suitable attire for a saturday night on the town?

If all bouncers are out to get you mate, it's probably you rather than them.

dunno about that at all, a very unpredictable bunch altogether, borderlining on random sometimes who gets in, ive seen large groups of sh*tmonkeys inside clubs shortly after witnessing 2 sober 23/24 year old lads being refused for entry for being too drunk (by no means in tracksuits). Got attacked by one aswell before myself for a similar incident ducked away from his ridiculous attack and pointed to the camera on him (he hit me first) while his manager came outside and dragged him into the club screaming at him....Even had to bribe one before just not to give people hassle coming to our gigs, fcukin ridiculous carry on......not tarring every1 with the same brush but thats just what i have experienced...

If you get this everywhere you go, maybe you just look like a scumbag? It does happen. Working on the door, you do have to judge people by how they look, and how they speak. It's often the only thing that a doorman has to go by when they are deciding if they want to let someone in or not. Maybe you display agressive body language when you are approaching a door? There are a million and one reasons why someone could get stopped at a pub or club, but if it's something that happens to you on a regular basis, in more than one pub (by more than one security company), I can certainly say that it's you rather than them.

You are going to meet the kind of asshole who should not be working on a door, you are going to arrive at a door 10 minutes after some scumbag has tried to bottle him, or just after some pissed d4 arts student with a sense of entitlement has just spent much too long telling him how he 'knows his rights' and he is in a foul mood. But these are generally occasional things, and still, 99% of the time, even in those cases, you should have no problem getting in.

What a comeback.... typical bouncer attitude !

Any more trolling = banning.

MMM very interesting so I look like a scumbag thanks very much. But to be quiet honest Im just a typical average bloke who just had long hair - FACT...

I've no problem getting into places now, Im older and dont have the long hair anymore... But to be honest its more the agressive behaviour that bothers me, most of them are basically knackers themselves, to be honest who but a knacker would want to be a bouncer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Any more trolling = banning.
    most of them are basically knackers themselves, to be honest who but a knacker would want to be a bouncer?

Uh oh, this looks ominous...

I've been refused for being drunk, and I've refused people for being drunk.

I've been refused for wearing a hoodie, and I've refused people for wearing a hoodie.

Any good bouncer will tell you, you get further with a kind word than big mouth and a fist. Same goes for bouncers, a quick "quit it or you'll be out" gets less a hostile response than screaming at some fella.

The amount of times I've seen people refused sober for wearing a hoodie, trainers and having a shaved head then getting abusive makes me wonder how they dont cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

to be honest who but a knacker would want to be a bouncer?

Yeah... Your attitude is definitely not the problem man. All the bouncers fault. They conspire against you, to keep you out of clubs so that their plans to start a war in central asia can see fruition. :pac:

MMM very interesting so I look like a scumbag thanks very much. But to be quiet honest Im just a typical average bloke who just had long hair - FACT...

I've no problem getting into places now, Im older and dont have the long hair anymore... But to be honest its more the agressive behaviour that bothers me, most of them are basically knackers themselves, to be honest who but a knacker would want to be a bouncer?

I take offence to that, I'm a student in UL who does bouncing for a job.

To name the full time jobs other people working with me had.

Chef, Insurance broker, Civil Engineer, Block layer, and a shop assistant.

Have to say its quite obvious why you wouldnt get into places.

Uh oh, this looks ominous...

Indeed.
    Rock Drummer is outta here. 7 days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭pallepille

i wonder will he be able to get in next week hehehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Hi id like to ask for some opinions on this..
    I was going to a well known club with a shared beer garden on harcourt street.I had drank admitedly a bit too much:o
    but anyway when I got to this club i was refused entry because I didnt have a ticket,which i didnt know was needed, which was fair enough but then the guy called me a rat and they all had a good laugh so i said that one of them laughed like a girl(very high pitched).. then he started to get angry... anyway my question is if you were a bouncer and I came to that club 2 weeks later... would you let me in,would you remember?
    sorry... bit worried:(

i worked as a bouncer for years, and theres more to this story than you disclose.

and no, they wont forget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭boredatwork82

I am a bouncer too with a very respectable day job.
    I was actually chatting to the other lads on the door on saturday night about the number of people who look like scumbags, and wonder why they can't get in.
    They are probably the nicest people, but if my manager sees a group of lads who look like they just got out of booze Britain in, I'd get the sack.

I also knew a a club manager who had a dress policy of no long hair on guys. Any guy who came in with long hair was given an elastic band to tie his hair up. If he didn't like, he was free to go to another club.

On the issue in hand, the fact that you say these guys were laughing at you, is unprofessional. But in my experience, after you stop someone I try to block them out by starting up a convo with the bouncers, and if you have 3 guys who get along this will inevitably turn to a joke, and people automatically assume you were laughing at them, where you were probably laughing at something else completely unrelated.

As for letting you back in, I am leniant and polite. I will tell lads what they need to do if they are to come in(wear less chunky jewellery, cover up some tatoos, dress better, tidy change hairstyle etc) or if they are never gonna get in. But if someone makes a personnal insult to me, I will not ever let that person in.