Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I the only one who thinks that . . .

• 18-12-2008 11:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭

the song 'Hallelujah' is boring and depressing?
    So the X-factor winner will release this and they expect it to be number 1 . . . . exciting isn't it!
    But as usual there is a campaign to try and get some other song to number 1, and this year it's Jeff Buckleys version of 'Hallelujah'
    Looking at the itunes download chart right now Alexandra is Number 1 and Jeff is Number 2.

I have listened to this song for years and years and i cannot see the attraction to it, why is it such a great amazing song that everyone seems to be loving?
    I really find it a turn off!

The Lyrics "poetic they might be" but . . .

well your faith was strong but you needed proof
    you saw her bathing on the roof
    her beauty and the moonlight overthrew you
    she tied you to her kitchen chair
    she broke your throne and she cut your hair
    and from your lips she drew the hallelujah

I have a funny feeling that it's just me that doesn't get this song!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Congratulations, you have an opinion.

It's wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

its a great song when sang well, buckley done it well, wrainright done an alright job, your one of x factor....

<shudders>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

S'not as good as the real Hallelujah by the Happy Mondays.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

SpookyDoll wrote: »
    S'not as good as the real Hallelujah by the Happy Mondays.
    Ah the Happy Mondays. Band of choice to so many scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Elephant Monkey

Congratulations, you have an opinion.

It's wrong.

Congratulations to you too

you found the return key!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

Eh thats vintage scumbags to you !!!

A different breed to the current pond life we have now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

She didn't even do a bad job of it..terrible stupid thing to say.

Half of ye wouldn't even have a problem with her singing it if she hadn't have come out of the X factor.
    It's sad really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

The Leonard Cohen version is good, I also like the buckley one too! Haven't heard or seen a single episode or song cover done on the xfactor (thank christ) and I don't plan on it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I was trying to find an appropriate sad lolcat for this thread.

They all died from boredom. Unlucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

It was originally written by Leonard Cohen, and if you saw him play it in Dublin at the end of the Summer you wouldn't have said it was boring and depressing ;)

ClioV6 wrote: »

Half of ye wouldn't even have a problem with her singing it if she hadn't have come out of the X factor.
    It's sad really.

I think she has an amazing voice, and whether she came from gutter, a reality show, an underprivileged background, a privileged background, under a rock, a child star, disney . . . She will do well, She'll get into the cowel machine and made over, trained on how to handle the media, public, fans, roadies etc . . She will receive an huge amount of coaching to make millions and fair play, she was the best out of the lot!

I just don't get the song! (that's my opinion which is wrong as it was pointed out by MagicMarker ):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'm sure Louis Walsh doesn't get it either since he's a smug annoying git who wouldn't know real talent if it came up and ejaculated all over him.

I hate Louis Walsh in case you didn't notice.

As for Hallelujah - well it's up to you whether you like it or not. Personally I love the song, but I think Leonard Cohen is brilliant so I'm biased.

It's sad really.

I would. I hate that Mariah Carey style warbling so her version is never gonna do it for me. But then again I don't really care for Rufus Wainwright's version either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Switcharoo

I have always hated that song - never understood the fuss!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Switcharoo

Cianos wrote: »
    It was originally written by Leonard Cohen, and if you saw him play it in Dublin at the end of the Summer you wouldn't have said it was boring and depressing ;)
    lol - Leonard Cohen defined boring & depressing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

It's sad really.

I have a problem with the way she sings it. Warbling as if she just took a shot in the stomach. Also she says in a recent interview she had never heard the song before. What singer worth there salt has never heard that song.

She displays no relationship with the meaning of the lyrics. Just trying to display the different things she can do with her voice.

Those are my issues, its a beautiful song that will now be known as an xfactor christmas carol, obviously this was the hope of the composer.

Depressing for anyone with an interest in anything other than celebrity and making an easy buck.

Just watched it on youtube and I'm sorry but the song just doesn't do it for me and i knew that i would be the only one, and that people would get very defensive about it! Leonard Cohens Voice is like Velvet chocolate dripping onto silk blowing in a breeze with the aroma of watermelon!

I wonder is it the fact that it reminds me of sitting on uncomfortable church seats, made to stand, made to kneel, and made to listen to someone drone for an hour and a bit! And the dreary songs that are sung in church?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Ummm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Those X Factor singers are a useless shower of ****, can't write a decent song so they take great records that were released maybe two years ago and butcher them. All to get get a poxy christmas #1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Its Glorified Karaoke. I dont understand why people dont see this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

jaysus that warbling wrecks my head. amazing song, Jack Lukeman did a version of it too

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I liked this:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/magazine/7787355.stm

The main thing I don't like about the new version is that it's overproduced, the choir bit is shudder inducing. Il Divo's version is way worse though!

I do think they should have the filthy verse that Buckley does in the X-factor version, only to keep Joe Duffy in a job.

Can we not just all agree to download 'Phil Lynott' by Jape tomorrow and make him the Christmas #1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Always liked the original Leonard Cohen version, but have to say it's not my favourite Cohen song by a long way.

Always thought Jeff Buckley's version was solid but don't understand the rave reviews it gets.

Don't like the x-factor version at all.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I love the Buckley version. I dont listen to it every day or anything and its not something that gets me going everytime i do but it is a beautiful that is sung with passion and soul.

Im not mad on Cohen's original version.

Either way, when a singer cant inject any life to a song and insists on warbling like a firecrackers exploded in the backside, then it pretty much renders it null and void.

Sorry if that offends anyone from a disadvantaged background. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

The Lyrics "poetic they might be" but . . .

well your faith was strong but you needed proof
    you saw her bathing on the roof
    her beauty and the moonlight overthrew you
    she tied you to her kitchen chair
    she broke your throne and she cut your hair
    and from your lips she drew the hallelujah

Its a fetish song, have you seen the second verse?

She swore and violated you anally,
    with a strapon and some KY jelly
    You tried to scream but the gag held tight on you
    It felt like an almighty sh1te
    You prayed and prayed you'd be alright
    Then you came and she withdrew from you hallelujah

Roadend wrote: »
    Its a fetish song, have you seen the second verse?

She swore and violated you anally,
    with a strapon and some KY jelly
    You tried to scream but the gag held tight on you
    It felt like an almighty sh1te
    You prayed and prayed you'd be alright
    Then you came and she withdrew from you hallelujah

LOL, you obviously have some talent at parodies, do the lot and i'll record it! We'll make millions!

Sex sells . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

The original version is nice enough I think, its mournful, doesn't mean its not great but its nothing special either though. I think Cohen wrote much better songs. "Depressing" music isn't necessarily bad music :) But Jeff Buckley took that song and really made it his own, not something a lot of cover versions manage to pull off. "All along the watchtower" would be one that springs to mind.

That X-factor version is just populist boring muck, all the previous, great covers of Hallelujah make it look ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭thermo66

i love this song! l like all versions of it and Alexandra did a great job. However my favourite version is by K.D Lang when she sang it on Jools Holland a few years ago. Brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Takk

I have listened to this song for years and years and i cannot see the attraction to it

Bit of a contradiction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Leonard Cohen's version of his song is beautiful.

I haven't heard the new version, and I hope I never do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 529 ✭✭✭rhapsody!

I like Wainwright's version or however you spell it.
    First heard the song in Shrek years ago.
    Don't like Alexandra's version really.

Oh and about the Leona Lewis Run? UGH.
    Snow Patrol <3

Anyway stupid X factor people always steal the Christmas no 1 place, I think for once a non X factor person should get it.
    Jeff Buckley's version is really good aswell. Numero Uno for Buckely imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

anyone who buys this single should immedidately be sent to hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I'm sure Louis Walsh doesn't get it either since he's a smug annoying git who wouldn't know real talent if it came up and ejaculated all over him.

Got rejected at the first round of auditions did we, eh?