Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lossing my tire (the fat round my waist)

• 17-12-2008 9:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭

Hi

OK, ive been going to the gym since sept and am getting in really good shape, (able to run 10k once a week, getting stronger, bigger muscles and harder abs). but i cant seem to lose that flab around my belly, it just wont shift. any suggestions?

Thanx
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Try interval sprinting and sort out your diet!

Edit: And just keep at it! Might take longer than ya want it to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭EileenG

Bodybuilders have a saying "Abs are built in the kitchen, not the gym". What's your diet like?

As a general rule, refined carbs tend to end up on your belly. Switch out some of the bread, rice, pasta etc for more green vegetables and extra protein and see does that help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

if you are seeing ANY changes for the better, even small ones, keep at it as the last of the spare tyre can be the hardest to shift:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

EileenG wrote: »
    Bodybuilders have a saying "Abs are built in the kitchen, not the gym". What's your diet like?

As a general rule, refined carbs tend to end up on your belly. Switch out some of the bread, rice, pasta etc for more green vegetables and extra protein and see does that help.

Thats genuinly interesting. Any further info on that? links etc?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

OP, what kind of stuff are you doing in the gym?

List a typical weeks training and a typical days eatin'.

What height & weight are you?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

... and if you have only been hitting the gym since Sept you need to give it more time, maybe 6 months minimum before expecting drastic changes.

Jon wrote: »
    Thats genuinly interesting. Any further info on that? links etc?

Do some googleing on "insulin resistance" "metabolic syndrome" etc and you'll see that belly fat tends to be one of the first visible signs of insulin problems in general. That's one reason BMI isn't that useful: two people with the same weight (and the same amount of excess fat) are in totally different risk categories depending on whether they carry the excess round their belly or on their bum and thighs.

There are a LOT of studies which show that replacing refined carbs with protein tends to reduce waist and belly size. The most recent one I saw was done by the Pennington Biomedical Research centre, they took two groups of overweight women and fed one two eggs for breakfast for eight weeks, and gave the others the same calories of bagels. At the end, the egg group had a 34% higher reduction of waist and a 16% higher reduction of bodyfat than the bagels. And normal cholesterol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 El Torrente

Was just reading up about IR and metabolic syndrome. I too have a tendency toward more central (i.e. belly/midsection) fat. In the past exercise (even lots of it) alone hasn't generally done anything to improve it.
    But my plan now is to change to completely different diet aswell, that will hopefully help reverse the condition.

If anyone else has knowledge or experience of insulin resistance and metabolic syndrome in relation to fitness & weight loss I'd really appreciate them sharing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭RoosterIllusion

I have a tendency to gain fat around my obliques (love handles) almost exclusively. Is this also a sign of similar insulin issues?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Go on a neolithic diet for a while, see what happens. Its what we would have eaten as hunter gatherers, before we farmed. Lots of meat, eggs, veg, fruit, berries and water. No pasta, breads, biscuits, or anything processed. Your gym work is surprisingly similar to neolithic mans exercise, repetitive scraping of hides and skinning, lifting and butchering of animals with bursts of runs and sprints to bring down game.

The thinking is that our bellies haven't really had time to evolve to suit modern farmed food.

I eat in this fashion and the difference in my body is amazing. I run 6K and work out every second or third night. I feel better, I don't get sick anymore.

I ain't an expert though! Just a suggestion, worked with me, if any of the others here that are experts find holes, please point them out.

It's pretty amazing how often the cure for all sorts of common illnesses and conditions is a low-gi diet with all the refined carbs replaced by fresh meat, fish, eggs and vegetables. Diabetes, PCOS, menopause, age related macular degeneration, high cholesterol, obesity, hypertension, thyroid problems, osteoporosis, IBS, heart burn, you name it, it's a factor in nearly all the lifestyle diseases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Assuming you don't have any medical issues, both eating well (i.e. no junk food, no simple carbs, no alcohol) and continuing your gym/running strategy, you'll get rid of that belly... it'll just take time, so be patient.

I do hardly any cardio (well, no cardio which breaks a sweat) but I eat really well (didn't eat or drink a single bit of junk over Christmas!) and as a result I have a flat stomach and no spare tyre.

Just do the right things and be patient, and you'll get the result you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Money Shot

AARRRGH wrote: »
    I eat really well (didn't eat or drink a single bit of junk over Christmas!)

:eek::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

how did you manage that? did you go out into the wilderness or something

i did the opposite

five days of huge dinners, fry ups, eating chocolate, tea + coffee + lovely biscuits, pringles, ferrero roche, cider, wine. plus sitting on couch for most of that

oh, i can feel the extra half stone

Money Shot wrote: »
    :eek::confused:
    how did you manage that? did you go out into the wilderness or something

I'm a fairly disciplined person, so it wasn't too difficult. I just visualise how I will feel the next morning and ask myself is it worth it. The answer is always no.

Btw, I leave lots of alcohol and chocolate bars (my favorite ones) around my apartment so I always see them. I find this causes me to have excellent will power, as I become accustomed to resisting temptation...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Vampireskiss

Post up a typical days diet for us all to see while one may think what there eating is healthy and it may be compared to other people you need a specific plan to get that lean mid-section look as a rule of thumb

all meals you eat in the hours before a workout should be

VEG+WHOLEFOOD PROTEIN +HEALTHY FATS

all meals during and immediately after working out should be

WHEY PROTEIN+SUGARY CARBS

all meals for up to 3 hours after the workout should be

WHOLEFOOD PROTEINS AND STARCHY CARBS

Basically the take home message is this to lose that last bit of fat insulin management is key and starchy and sugary carbs cause the highest amount of insulin to be released however in saying that once you have done a very intense workout your bodys abilty to handle insulin is more sufficent and in fact raised insulin levels post workout help with recovery by driving nutrients into your muscles for recovery

Now this is very rigid and I know life happens but if you stick to that advice with the appropriate cals and ratios for you ,you will lose that belly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭patrickSTARR

Post up a typical days diet for us all to see while one may think what there eating is healthy and it may be compared to other people you need a specific plan to get that lean mid-section look as a rule of thumb

all meals you eat in the hours before a workout should be

VEG+WHOLEFOOD PROTEIN +HEALTHY FATS

all meals during and immediately after working out should be

WHEY PROTEIN+SUGARY CARBS

all meals for up to 3 hours after the workout should be

WHOLEFOOD PROTEINS AND STARCHY CARBS

Basically the take home message is this to lose that last bit of fat insulin management is key and starchy and sugary carbs cause the highest amount of insulin to be released however in saying that once you have done a very intense workout your bodys abilty to handle insulin is more sufficent and in fact raised insulin levels post workout help with recovery by driving nutrients into your muscles for recovery

Now this is very rigid and I know life happens but if you stick to that advice with the appropriate cals and ratios for you ,you will lose that belly

Now im the one with the spare tire.

my new diet consists of

4 wheatbix for breakfast wit 2 spoon fulls of sugar and a banana

fruit salad for lunch or some green veg and potatos or beans on toast

workout

after workout meal steak/lamb chops with veg/ or pasta

snacks thru out the day consist of ceral bars / fruit/ odd can of red ull sugar free

what would u change to help me loss the tire

now keep in mind im fairly fit, have got abs just have flab over them.

thanks

The bits I would remove are striked:
    my new diet consists of

4 wheatbix for breakfast wit 2 spoon fulls of sugar and a banana

fruit salad for lunch or some green veg and potatos or beans on toast

workout

after workout meal steak/lamb chops with veg/ or pasta

snacks thru out the day consist of ceral bars / fruit/ odd can of red ull sugar free

what would u change to help me loss the tire

now keep in mind im fairly fit, have got abs just have flab over them.

thanks

I think your diet is still quite poor. Am I correct in thinking you have quite the sweet tooth?

If I were you I'd exclude all the bad crap, and instead of eating just three meals per day I'd eat perhaps five small healthy meals per day.

You really should be aiming for as perfect a diet as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭ice27

AARRRGH wrote: »
    The bits I would remove are striked:

I think your diet is still quite poor. Am I correct in thinking you have quite the sweet tooth?

If I were you I'd exclude all the bad crap, and instead of eating just three meals per day I'd eat perhaps five small healthy meals per day.

You really should be aiming for as perfect a diet as possible.

I lost approx 1.5stone since end of september by changing my diet completely. Not alone did I lose the weight but toned up completely. A small bit of a setback over the last week due to the christmas season with all the eating and alcohol consumption.

What I did was introduce porridge as my first meal of the day, extra raisins instead of sugar. I cut out sugar from my diet completely , along with white bread, biscuits and pretty much all processed foods. For lunch I would have tuna sandwich , or ham in pitta bread or wraps (just one) I switched from regular tea to green tea (the ones you can get with hint of lemon etc, roberts roberts i think?) cut down on potatoes, just had one or two per meal instead of usual 4/5. After my workout i would have a smoothie with whey protein and frozen fruits small bit of milk, which filled me up for remainder of tyhe evening.

I would do a 4/5 mile jog 4 times a week and a workout at least 5 (1hr a go with weights etc, dips, pull ups, lunges etc)

Diet is extremely important but at the same time i still allowed myself the odd square of chocolate (70% coco) to satisfy my sweet tooth, just one sqaure mind you! had the same meals really every day, meat and veg, switched from white rice to brown rice also, but just cut down on the portions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Diet is grand for those wanting to look ok but not good if you want to look great.

Wayyyyy to many carbs and at the wrong times.

Hit the weights and sort your average diet out - more porridge, decent protein for lunch and throughout the day (nuts/whey drink etc) and wayyy more veg at all meal times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

I know how the original poster feels. Hate the spare tyre/man boobs vibe that I have going on at the moment. Broke my leg pretty badly last February and only got the clear to resume running the week before xmas. As a result I'm 99kg(15.5 stone) and 6ft tall and 24 years old. I could do with losing about 1.5 stone anyway and hope that with my return to GAA training that it will happen. I've been doing a lot of weights in the gym recently and I wonder if that has made me heavier also?

Also my diet aint too bad no real rubbish in it and I'd prob be fine if I was injury free

Typical diet:

Breakfast: Cornflakes+Toast+Tea
    Dinner: Red meat/Chicken+Veg+Potatoes
    Supper: Cornflakes+Toast+Tea
    Snacks: Tea+Biscuits

Anyone any thoughts/opinion on how I could improve?
    GAA training will be pretty intense from the 3rd week of January onwards with 5/6 nights of the week being taken up between training and matches in both Hurling and Football.

I was thinking of starting on a course of those fat burner supplements like Thermospeed in conjunction with my return to training has anyone ever tried these?

Oh holy mary mother of god!!

Man your diet needs as much help as the irish economy. Cornflakes, tea, biscuits, toast. Its real simple - your eating too many carbs and are not doing the training to justify all of them. It might not seem too bad but actually its fairly full of high calorie, low nutrition foods that will keep you fat and tired.

Look at the stickies and sort it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭ice27

slingerz wrote: »
    I know how the original poster feels. Hate the spare tyre/man boobs vibe that I have going on at the moment. Broke my leg pretty badly last February and only got the clear to resume running the week before xmas. As a result I'm 99kg(15.5 stone) and 6ft tall and 24 years old. I could do with losing about 1.5 stone anyway and hope that with my return to GAA training that it will happen. I've been doing a lot of weights in the gym recently and I wonder if that has made me heavier also?

Also my diet aint too bad no real rubbish in it and I'd prob be fine if I was injury free

Typical diet:

GAA training will be pretty intense from the 3rd week of January onwards with 5/6 nights of the week being taken up between training and matches in both Hurling and Football.

I was thinking of starting on a course of those fat burner supplements like Thermospeed in conjunction with my return to training has anyone ever tried these?

Biscuits are a no no! An absolute killer for the spare tyre effect! a couple of biscuits a night is enough to pile on the pounds if youre not exercising regulary! If i want a snack i grab a handful or two of nuts and a piece of fruit and that does the job just perfect!

Defo cut out the cornflakes, switch to porridge if you can!

Also, switch to green tea if you can! I used to love a cup of barrys tea with a spoon of sugar. Maybe you take sugar with your tea and if so that aint good! i switched to having a roberts roberts green tea with lemon and enchion (herb I think?) Its has a nice taste and is good for you and cleanses your body at the same time!

fair enough thanks for the advice!!

i dont limke porridge though is there any cereals that you can eat like?

here is an example of a good diet for someone that wants to losefat gain muscle and look fantastic.This is the type of diet menshealth guys will be doing

7.30am meal 1 6 eggwhites 2 yolks omelete some cut up ham a little cheese and lots of mixed veg and 2 fish oil caps and 2 glasses of water

10.30am meal2 cut up chicken breast mixed veg and lots of veg mixed with olive oil and basalmic vinegar

1.30 meal3 large baked salmon fillet and lots of broccoli

4.30 during workout sip a dextrose and whey drink with creatine and l-glutamine 2 parts dextrose 1 part whey

5.30 postworkout have another one of those during workout shakes

7.30 meal4 baked potato and chicken or steak

10.00 meal5 cup of cottage cheese and 2 fish oil caps

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

here is an example of a good diet for someone that wants to losefat gain muscle and look fantastic.This is the type of diet menshealth guys will be doing

7.30am meal 1 6 eggwhites 2 yolks omelete some cut up ham a little cheese and lots of mixed veg and 2 fish oil caps and 2 glasses of water

10.30am meal2 cut up chicken breast mixed veg and lots of veg mixed with olive oil and basalmic vinegar

1.30 meal3 large baked salmon fillet and lots of broccoli

4.30 during workout sip a dextrose and whey drink with creatine and l-glutamine 2 parts dextrose 1 part whey

5.30 postworkout have another one of those during workout shakes

7.30 meal4 baked potato and chicken or steak

10.00 meal5 cup of cottage cheese and 2 fish oil caps

So in your considered opinion,its best to wait two hours before bedtime to have your only proper carb-source of the day?
    In order to lose weight,yeah?:rolleyes::rolleyes:

whats posted is a bit extreme coming for most - all this has been done better and best in the stickies.

This won't be the last thread of 2009 on 'why have i got a fat belly' etc and the reply will always be - CUT BACK ON THE FATTENING CARBS, earn those feckers if your going to eat lots of them, otherwise your going to end up having to keep looking at the same reflection in the mirror waiting for the message to sink in.

you can't out-train a bad diet.

i dont limke porridge though is there any cereals that you can eat like?

Granola?

Flahavans Hi-8?

As a general rule, if the food is processed or manufactured, you should avoid it. In other words, eat "natural" food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Transform wrote: »

You take that back:D

Seriously he's right. What anyone looking to lose a few kg's or reduce bodyfat is to really look at what they're eating and record it for even a week. Eat as you normally would and just jot down every time you eat.

When you look back you'll prob be amazed to see the bad stuff you eat regularly coupled with a lack of intake of varied veg, vitamins and iron etc.

Transform wrote: »
    whats posted is a bit extreme coming for most - all this has been done better and best in the stickies.

This won't be the last thread of 2009 on 'why have i got a fat belly' etc and the reply will always be - CUT BACK ON THE FATTENING CARBS, earn those feckers if your going to eat lots of them, otherwise your going to end up having to keep looking at the same reflection in the mirror waiting for the message to sink in.

What about fat in meat as a source of body fat?
    I lost lots from my gut just by not having sausages for breakfast(in addition,obviously to my eggs and porridge..they were just so tempting)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

How much of a sausage do you think is meat? How much of the approximately 40% of the sausage that IS meat do you think is lean meat?

I love sausages, but they're not meat unless you buy gourmet.

Degsy wrote: »
    So in your considered opinion,its best to wait two hours before bedtime to have your only proper carb-source of the day?
    In order to lose weight,yeah?:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Hey its not my material but that of Dr John Berardi and expert in the field of sports nutrition and creator of precision nutrition

Your reasoning that potatoes are the only proper carbs in the diet I listed is flawed. Vegetables are carbs too they are fibrous ones and they fill you up alot more because of there fibre content and are lower on the GI index than starches To eat an amount of broccoli equal in calories to a potato you would be stuffed.

The reason I have the potato where I do is because its ok to eat these types of carbs within a few hours of training because insulin resistance is better -the eating before bed thing has no relavance especially if you have just worked out

Bottom line there is no such thing as a bad carb or bad food for that matter you just have to have them at the right times

I eat 4000+ calories every day, and I do very little cardio, yet I am able to maintain very little body fat.

The reason for this, I believe, is because I eat clean, natural food.

I am able to satisfy my sweet tooth cravings with a carton of an innocent smoothie per day, so I do allow myself a bit of a treat.

But apart from that, I eat no pointless calories - no junk, alcohol or processed food.

The above is very easy, and it enables me to have a good physique.

so basically no bread, pasta, potatoes and stuff??!

What about dairy products like yoghurts etc how do they fit in all this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 True_Blue

I lost 3 stone in 4 months with my diet and training, I've changed it a little but the basics are the same, check it out + A Picture that proves the results.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055424808

Hey its not my material but that of Dr John Berardi and expert in the field of sports nutrition and creator of precision nutrition

Your reasoning that potatoes are the only proper carbs in the diet I listed is flawed. Vegetables are carbs too they are fibrous ones and they fill you up alot more because of there fibre content and are lower on the GI index than starches To eat an amount of broccoli equal in calories to a potato you would be stuffed.

The reason I have the potato where I do is because its ok to eat these types of carbs within a few hours of training because insulin resistance is better -the eating before bed thing has no relavance especially if you have just worked out

Bottom line there is no such thing as a bad carb or bad food for that matter you just have to have them at the right times

FFS,you were on here a couple of weeks ago saying you were 20 stone(again) and blah blah how can you lose weight.
    NOW you're dispensing advice based on stuff you saw on the internet.
    How much of Berardi's "teachings" are you employing yourself???
    None.
    Time waster.

Roper wrote: »
    How much of a sausage do you think is meat? How much of the approximately 40% of the sausage that IS meat do you think is lean meat?

I love sausages, but they're not meat unless you buy gourmet.

Thats my point.
    Everybody is going on about carbs being fattening but the fact is that most processed meat is just a mass of fillers,fat and salt.
    The same goes for the likes of Big Al's chicken fillets or the low-budget mince available from supermarkets.
    Pure junk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Not knocking you at all man and good luck with your goals. :)
    And for the OP too, you've gotten good advice from the regulars, a helpful & knowledgeable bunch

Just wondering Vampirekiss did you used to have account called JuanVeron45? Tbh, I spend more time in Work & Jobs forum and education forum then here and I see a trend, that's all.

mikemac wrote: »

Just wondering Vampirekiss did you used to have account called JuanVeron45? Tbh, I spend more time in Work & Jobs forum and education forum then here and I see a trend, that's all.

He did.
    AND one called timetogetfit
    AND one called dumplin
    AND one called liberation

First he asks questions,then he ignores any advice he's been given,then he starts dispensing advive,then he gets antsy with anybody who calls him on it.

mikemac wrote: »
    Not knocking you at all man and good luck with your goals. :)
    And for the OP too, you've gotten good advice from the regulars, a helpful & knowledgeable bunch

Its not me.You have me mixed up with someone else

Thats my point.
    Everybody is going on about carbs being fattening but the fact is that most processed meat is just a mass of fillers,fat and salt.
    The same goes for the likes of Big Al's chicken fillets or the low-budget mince available from supermarkets.
    Pure junk.

Well the quick answer to that is to get ye to a butcher. I would never buy meat off a supermarket shelf unless I was in some sort of hurry, and I would never touch some frozen mass of processed chicken, soya and polyfilla, covered in stale bread.
    Transform wrote:
    I can! But that's just me.

OP do you cook? If so, how well? Often the difference between good and great is making the stuff you need to look good taste great.... if you follow.

He did.
    AND one called timetogetfit
    AND one called dumplin
    AND one called liberation

First he asks questions,then he ignores any advice he's been given,then he starts dispensing advive,then he gets antsy with anybody who calls him on it.

Firstly I am not that person and secondly after reading some of the abusive posts you have made towards other posters on other forums and have gotten banned for I dont have the time or the patience to go down to your level and debate with you because all that it would turn into from your end is a slagging match

Roper wrote: »
    Well the quick answer to that is to get ye to a butcher. I would never buy meat off a supermarket shelf unless I was in some sort of hurry

Hey,hey..you're preaching to the converted here.I have a very good local butcher and i wouldnt buy meat in a supermarket unless i was under severe pressure.
    Every couple of days i buy my steak,pork and lamb in the butcher and its always good quality food,expensive but worth it.
    The sausages i'm talking about are the ones in the canteen in work,they t end to be invitingly close to the scrambled eggs and porridge but i've given them up.
    However,not all butcher will carry a decent type of sausage,they nearly all have the mass-market kearns or dennys which may be tasty but are full of gunk.

The sausages i'm talking about are the ones in the canteen in work,they t end to be invitingly close to the scrambled eggs and porridge but i've given them up.
    Ugh. I know the ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Beerlao

i see lots of good advice on here, but looking at that meal schedule from the other page, who on earth has the time for preparing that sort of food and is in the position to take the time from work to go and eat it?

It also baffles me how anyone can have the energy to go and work out intensively but i suppose the results speak for themselves. i reckon i'm just gonna cut out the crap sugary stuff as much as possible and cut out a few carbs and force myself to increase my veg intake (even though i don't really like veggies much)

Beerlao wrote: »
    i see lots of good advice on here, but looking at that meal schedule from the other page, who on earth has the time for preparing that sort of food and is in the position to take the time from work to go and eat it?

It also baffles me how anyone can have the energy to go and work out intensively but i suppose the results speak for themselves. i reckon i'm just gonna cut out the crap sugary stuff as much as possible and cut out a few carbs and force myself to increase my veg intake (even though i don't really like veggies much)

Exactly what I was thinking too. Its almost like fanaticsim the effort required

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Exactly what I was thinking too. Its almost like fanaticsim the effort required

Almost? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭DAVE_K

It also baffles me how anyone can have the energy to go and work out intensively

WTF? :eek:

This a fitness forum

Just start from where you are and make the changes you can manage.

Typical diet:

Right then since you think the other diet is too much (it's actually not, you're just so faraway from eating like that that it seems that way), here's what you could do with yours right now with very little effort.

Typical diet:

Breakfast: Cornflakes+Toast+Tea- replace with porridge and dried fruit(can be prepared the night before) or scrambled eggs and toast, (it takes 1.5mins to scramble an egg, I timed myself one day.... shutup) Switch from white bread to granary.
    You're missing this whole meal we call lunch in here. Salad, low gi sandwhich, actually anything would be an improvement on skipping a whole meal.

Dinner: Red meat/Chicken+Veg+Potatoes- Okay, but why not make it meat +loads of veg+just one potato? Any gaps you can fill with more veg. You can almost eat as much green veg as you want but be wary of starchy veg like carrots and parsnips etc.
    Supper: Cornflakes+Toast+Tea- Pretty poor, but I'd wager that you won't need a supper if you have your lunch.
    Snacks: Tea+Biscuits- A mate of mine reckons that the first sign of maturity is when you only have one biscuit with your tea :D. While you can certainly improve what you're snacking on, you'll probably find that with the changes above, you won't need to snack as much

They're just small changes, you won't be eating seeds all the time and you have all the variety in the world at your disposal. The one thing I tell every single bloke with a few pounds on them who comes to me is to learn how to cook. You don't have to be Jamie Oliver but you should be able to rustle up simple meals.