Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

stupid immigration arguement!!!

• 17-12-2008 5:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭

okay rant begins.

I have been listenening and looking into the arguements about immigration lately due to that case of that nigerian woman pamela izevbekhai and all the rest and apart from my views and some interesting food for thought, i found this article very intersesting. (please see link) http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/kevin-myers/our-western-values-are-not-just-a-black-and-white-issue-1326485.html

...something else keeps coming up. the same old arguement time and time again how the irish left this country in droves so why should we have the right to complain. its very easy say whoever puts up this arguement has no clue about the history or the current state of irish immigration. Im sure anyone who reads this and has anyone that has immigrated will tell you that when they arrived in their respective countries there were certainly not any officials or ofices patiently waiting to talk to them. they had to find menial jobs, be treated rightly as second class citizens and had not one legal right to medication or benifits when they got there. they simply had to work there way into society, and work hard they did.

I personally immigrated to america myself for a few years and trust me, nothing is for free. the simplist of medical work or dental work you must have done is astronomical in price as you are not a citizen, you feel as if you have to hide also and you have to work as hard as you can every single day whatever hours you are asked and if the boss decides to fire you, you dont have a leg to stand on!

then we have our other immigrants from ireland who leave the country nowadays, that apply to respective embasseys and take the lawful route into other countys and make lifes for themselves.

i have no problem with immigration once the peopple who enter the country are willing to work and make the country a better place, but to the doo gooders out there that think every person has the right to come to ireland please stop with that stupid arguemne t and come up with some useful arguement please!!!! i am also not a racsist and i thin ireland can benifit greatly from other cultures.

rant over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Get a blog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,365 ✭✭✭✭walshb

To me, the argument that 'we left in our droves, so why can't we allow everyone to come here,' is so so banal and uninspiring!

OP,did you immigrate or emigrate to America?

I think you need to distinguish between the two before starting a thread on
    the issue!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'm open to the idea of allowing anyone in that is of practical use to the country.

Why can't we adopt a similar points system as America, Canada, Australia, etc where you get in based on your skills learned, etc.

A lazy layabout who has studied feck all is of no use coming in, whereas someone that has put in the hard work before reaching our island, is not likely just to milk the dole and social welfare (I hope).
    (Same goes for our own lazy home grown dole lot of layabouts. Put them to social local based community work if they are found to be seriously not looking for proper work)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

walshb wrote: »
    OP,did you immigrate or emigrate to America?

I wouldnt think that was relevant - you know that he didnt get a free house and free money when he got there.

Morlar wrote: »
    I wouldnt think that was relevant - you know that he didnt get a free house and free money when he got there.
    Too right; but you can't say that because you will be branded a racist and a begrudger!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Lived in the states myself for a few years and i can guarentee if you went down the social with cap in hand they would'nt just give you a house nor would they have your dole given to you within a few days. As well as our own layabouts (not everyone who is on the dole or lives in a council house BTW) you should have to do some kind of work for your weekly dole IMO. That includes Irish and non-nationals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭meganj

yea but you can't hold America up as an example of how to treat immigrants! Or anyone for that matter!

I don't really think it's the immigrants that are the problem i think it's the government and how they handle the situation.

But then it's a valid argument saying we immigrated and now that we're wealthy it's unfair to say they can't live and work here. As far as I'm concerned if you here legally and you want to work then do. We may find in a few years the poles having the same argument on Boardski

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Nor does anyone who immigrates to Ireland. Jeez :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Most people in this country are decendants of either Scotland, Wales, England and Scandinavia (Vikings arghhhhh)

People have been and will continue to immigrate for a better life. If you dont like it then maybe you'd be better off in a cave on the Moon with your eyes shut and your fingers in your ears.

Mena wrote: »
    So the woman living two doors down from me from an African nation who had been in Dublin four months and was given a three bedroom house for herself and her 3 childern was'nt given the house by the council nor was she given her dole within 9 days of arriving in the country, even though she told my wife this to her face. <<< Btw not a racist observation just reality before the dogooders jump on board:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Most people in this country are decendants of either Scotland, Wales, England and Scandinavia (Vikings arghhhhh)

People have been and will continue to immigrate for a better life. If you dont like it then maybe you'd be better off in a cave on the Moon with your eyes shut and your fingers in your ears.
    Sounds delightful.

Highsider wrote: »
    So the woman living two doors down from me from an African nation who had been in Dublin four months and was given a three bedroom house for herself and her 3 childern was'nt given the house by the council nor was she given her dole within 9 days of arriving in the country, even though she told my wife this to her face. <<< Btw not a racist observation just reality before the dogooders jump on board:rolleyes:

I know full well of many cases where folks are coming here purely and simply for the easy life, money, houses and all that and I can't blame them. Best of luck to them if they can GET AWAY with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Mcfast

do people know the difference between immigration and emigration :p

Can you post me her address? I've been here eight years, also from Africa, and have had to work damn hard for every damn cent I have made. I pay for my house, food, 2 cars and a crap load more. It cost me over 6 grand to have my kid delivered at the Coombe (although in fairness, we chose private/semi private) and the government has given me sweet FA so far.

So please, tell me how I get on this gravy train as to be fair, I think your story is full of crap.

I know full well of many cases where folks are coming here purely and simply for the easy life, money, houses and all that and I can't blame them. Best of luck to them if they can GET AWAY with it!
    Fair enough. That's your opinion and i respect that.

Can you post me her address? I've been here eight years, also from Africa, and have had to work damn hard for every damn cent I have made. I pay for my house, food, 2 cars and a crap load more. It cost me over 6 grand to have my kid delivered at the Coombe (although in fairness, we chose private/semi private) and the government has given me sweet FA so far.

So please, tell me how I get on this gravy train as to be fair, I think your story is full of crap.
    That's fine. I won't lower myself to your level with insults Mena. It's just something i stated as a fact as it is one.

Fair enough. That's your opinion and i respect that.

High, I think you may have misinterpreted my post. I don't agree with what's going on; but we are the problem; not foreign folks. Foreign folks are only exploiting what they can get.
    I would probably be the same myself.

BTW, not all foreign folks here are here purely to sponge. There is a hell of a lot of contributors.
    But, there is also a hell of a lot and more than the country can cope with that
    are spongers!

That's fine. I won't lower myself to your level with insults Mena. It's just something i stated as a fact as it is one.

I insulted your story, which frankly, reeks. Perhaps if she were an asylum seeker there would be some, some validity here, but as an immigrant, sorry, I don't buy it.

As for fact, just because you say it's so don't mean jack.

I insulted your story, which frankly, reeks. Perhaps if she were an asylum seeker there would be some, some validity here, but as an immigrant, sorry, I don't buy it.

Mena, the point is that in a lot of cases it is FACT!
    This is undeniable!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

To be frankly fair - there is two sides that I personally know of which exist.

There is the case for example of one person I know who came over here. claimed immigrant status , said they had feck all and was allowed to stay.
    They are now living off the dole and benefits.
    The person in fact also back in their birth place country actually still owns TWO jewellery shops!
    Then there is some polish workers who came over here, are genuinely working their backsides off to pay rent, food, the usual stuff as we all are...

I'd never stop anyone from applying for the right to move country, but proper background work and research should be done by all parties before all ensundry are let in.

Whereas years ago, when the Irish for example move to America to help buld a new nation, whats coming over now - is coming to established nations and seeking help from an already adopted and in use social system that should be just a temporary prop up - not a constant hand out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

There is one african family on benefits next door to my parents who were given that house despite Irish people on waiting lists - they also have 5 cars (2 people carriers and 3 cars). There is another across the road who have plasma tv's in their kids bedrooms (you can see them from the road as they are on blinds open all night). They also dissappear every 3-4 weeks for about a week or so (presumably going back to africa). They are on benefits and creaming it in - dont ask me how this is possible but they are. You saying it doesnt happen doesnt mean that it doesnt happen - nor does it mean that people are blind to it.

Why are you having a go at me Mena. As for fact i did'nt say it was a fact because i said it, it was because the lady in question mentioned it to my wife when they where having a chit-chat. So if you think my story "reeks" then fair enough then.

I'm really not having a go at you. I just find this hard to believe. It was a real struggle for my wife and I to get into Ireland, and that was back in 2000, when the going was good so to speak.

We've also never been offered or given anything, we've had to work our arses off for it. Now I understand asylum seekers are given a place to stay and 19 euro a week to live on, but pure economic migrants get squat. I know a hell of a lot of them, I am one myself. I also now a good few asylum seekers through my wife and the work she does, and to be fair, they certainly are NOT having an easy ride of it.

If you know this as fact, surely it should be reported? It cannot be right? Over and above anything else, it makes my life as an immigrant harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Biggins wrote: »
    Why can't we adopt a similar points system as America, Canada, Australia, etc where you get in based on your skills learned, etc.
    Yeah, because the US and Australia are model societies to which we should aspire :rolleyes:.
    Biggins wrote: »
    A lazy layabout who has studied feck all is of no use coming in, whereas someone that has put in the hard work before reaching our island, is not likely just to milk the dole and social welfare (I hope).
    It’s pretty unlikely that many immigrants (if any) coming to Ireland are here purely to “milk the dole and social welfare”, seeing as how that would constitute welfare fraud. Not that I’m denying that fraud takes place, but that’s an argument for reforming our welfare system rather than restricting immigration.
    So the woman living two doors down from me from an African nation who had been in Dublin four months and was given a three bedroom house for herself and her 3 childern was'nt given the house by the council nor was she given her dole within 9 days of arriving in the country…
    No, she wasn’t.
    There is one african family on benefits next door to my parents who were given that house despite Irish people on waiting lists - they also have 5 cars (2 people carriers and 3 cars). There is another across the road who have plasma tv's in their kids bedrooms (you can see them from the road as they are on blinds open all night). They also dissappear every 3-4 weeks for about a week or so (presumably going back to africa). They are on benefits and creaming it in - dont ask me how this is possible but they are.
    How do you know they’re on benefits? What form do these benefits take? Is it in any way possible that they actually work for their money? Seems to me you’re assuming that because they’re black and well off that they must be fraudsters?

Now could somebody tell me where I can pick up all my free stuff? Seeing as how my wife is an immigrant, I reckon I qualify.

I'm really not having a go at you. I just find this hard to believe. It was a real struggle for my wife and I to get into Ireland, and that was back in 2000, when the going was good so to speak.

We've also never been offered or given anything, we've had to work our arses off for it. Now I understand asylum seekers are given a place to stay and 19 euro a week to live on, but pure economic migrants get squat. I know a hell of a lot of them, I am one myself. I also now a good few asylum seekers through my wife and the work she does, and to be fair, they certainly are NOT having an easy ride of it.

If you know this as fact, surely it should be reported? It cannot be right? Over and above anything else, it makes my life as an immigrant harder.
    Mena i've had to work my arse off for everything me and mine have also, that's why people in this country who scam the system for benefits,houses, etc..... piss me off no end. That includes (for lack of a better word)" White Irish" as well as non-nationals. Don't think for a second that i don't know there are hard working African people out there (i work with two) but i also know there are a certain amount of layabouts also.

djpbarry wrote: »
    Yeah, because the US and Australia are model societies to which we should aspire :rolleyes:.
    It’s pretty unlikely that many immigrants (if any) coming to Ireland are here purely to “milk the dole and social welfare”, seeing as how that would constitute welfare fraud. Not that I’m denying that fraud takes place, but that’s an argument for reforming our welfare system rather than restricting immigration.
    No, she wasn’t.
    How do you know they’re on benefits? What form do these benefits take? Is it in any way possible that they actually work for their money? Seems to me you’re assuming that because they’re black and well off that they must be fraudsters?

Now could somebody tell me where I can pick up all my free stuff? Seeing as how my wife is an immigrant, I reckon I qualify.

Hey, who said all were cheats?

You are obviously blind to those who are!

Hey, who said all were cheats?
    Seems to me people are assuming that their neighbours are cheating the system, with very little evidence to back up those beliefs. If people genuinely believe that welfare fraud is taking place, they should report it.
    You are obviously blind to those who are!
    Did I say that welfare fraud does not happen?

Seems to me people are assuming that their neighbours are cheating the system, with very little evidence to back up those beliefs. If people genuinely believe that welfare fraud is taking place, they should report it.
    Did I say that welfare fraud does not happen?

Look, we all know that there are many decent and hard working foreigners here, as we
    all now there are many chancers and spongers here. Just admit that!
    The chancers and spongers are milking the system, legally and illegally, legitimately and scamishly'. Please, don't be so anal to ask for detailed evidence, It IS happening!

Mena, the point is that in a lot of cases it is FACT!
    This is undeniable!

To be fair, I need more than the word of Internet Person B. No offence, but living the life I see it very, very differently.
    There is one african family on benefits next door to my parents who were given that house despite Irish people on waiting lists - they also have 5 cars (2 people carriers and 3 cars). There is another across the road who have plasma tv's in their kids bedrooms (you can see them from the road as they are on blinds open all night). They also dissappear every 3-4 weeks for about a week or so (presumably going back to africa). They are on benefits and creaming it in - dont ask me how this is possible but they are. You saying it doesnt happen doesnt mean that it doesnt happen - nor does it mean that people are blind to it.

Are you sure they're on some form of benefit? I'd bet they're working their arses off like you and me. I could be wrong, but experience tells me otherwise.
    Mena i've had to work my arse off for everything me and mine have also, that's why people in this country who scam the system for benefits,houses, etc..... piss me off no end. That includes (for lack of a better word)" White Irish" as well as non-nationals. Don't think for a second that i don't know there are hard working African people out there (i work with two) but i also know there are a certain amount of layabouts also.

I agree. Sponges should be removed, as for your own "Irish spongers", well I can't possibly comment.
    Look, we all know that there are many decent and hard working foreigners here, as we
    The chancers and spongers are milking the system, legally and illegally, legitimately and scamishly'. Please, don't be so anal to ask for detailed evidence, It IS happening!

There are spongers here I would imagine, but milking the system to the degree of a large house and 5 cars, sorry, I just don't buy it.

The chancers and spongers are milking the system, legally and illegally, legitimately and scamishly'.
    Illegally? Yes, unquestionably.

Legally? How does that work? My wife arrived in this country about 6 years ago. Are you saying that, legally, she could have sponged off the state and not work a day? Because if that's the case, I'll tell her to pack in the job and go collect her free house and car.

Illegally? Yes, unquestionably.

Legally? How does that work? My wife arrived in this country about 6 years ago. Are you saying that, legally, she could have sponged off the state and not work a day? Because if that's the case, I'll tell her to pack in the job and go collect her free house and car.

Now we are getting somewhere.
    Legally there are people milking the system to me.
    Not just foreigners.

See, you are married to a foreign person, asylum seeker or whatever, it may bias you
    REGARDING the situation! I would probably be the same. If it's legal, so be it, doesn't make
    it right, and that applies to all PEOPLE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

they can. There is a nigerian family and a polish family in a 10 house council estate.
    Not free, but for 50 euro.

i have no fixed opinion on this issue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

So there are foreign chancers and spongers. There are also Irish chancers and spongers. whats your point please?????

T runner wrote: »
    So there are foreign chancers and spongers. There are also Irish chancers and spongers. whats your point please?????

I thought my point was obvious There are spongers and chancers. Hey, YES, there are Irish
    spongers and chancers, so we have enough of them already without importing them!

I thought my point was obvious There are spongers and chancers. Hey, YES, there are Irish
    spongers and chancers, so we have enough of them already without importing them!

Now that we can agree on.

No not obvious. There are also hard working and beneficial people coming into the country surely as you have admitted (as there are Irish). According to your logic we could equally argue to bring in more for this reason?

Why should the majority of hard working immigrants be penalised as a whole for the indescretions of a few?
    Why not just sort out the Welfare system, if it needs it?Is that not easier?

Legally there are people milking the system to me.
    Please explain how. How does a recently arrived immigrant go about legally "milking the system"?
    See, you are married to a foreign person, asylum seeker or whatever...
    I am married to an immigrant, not an asylum seeker.

stevoman wrote: »
    okay rant begins.

I have been listenening and looking into the arguements about immigration lately due to that case of that nigerian woman pamela izevbekhai and all the rest and apart from my views and some interesting food for thought, i found this article very intersesting. (please see link) http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/kevin-myers/our-western-values-are-not-just-a-black-and-white-issue-1326485.html

...something else keeps coming up. the same old arguement time and time again how the irish left this country in droves so why should we have the right to complain. its very easy say whoever puts up this arguement has no clue about the history or the current state of irish immigration. Im sure anyone who reads this and has anyone that has immigrated will tell you that when they arrived in their respective countries there were certainly not any officials or ofices patiently waiting to talk to them. they had to find menial jobs, be treated rightly as second class citizens and had not one legal right to medication or benifits when they got there. they simply had to work there way into society, and work hard they did.

I personally immigrated to america myself for a few years and trust me, nothing is for free. the simplist of medical work or dental work you must have done is astronomical in price as you are not a citizen, you feel as if you have to hide also and you have to work as hard as you can every single day whatever hours you are asked and if the boss decides to fire you, you dont have a leg to stand on!

then we have our other immigrants from ireland who leave the country nowadays, that apply to respective embasseys and take the lawful route into other countys and make lifes for themselves.

i have no problem with immigration once the peopple who enter the country are willing to work and make the country a better place, but to the doo gooders out there that think every person has the right to come to ireland please stop with that stupid arguemne t and come up with some useful arguement please!!!! i am also not a racsist and i thin ireland can benifit greatly from other cultures.

rant over

A few quotes and facts about Kevin Myers:

n July 2008, Myers wrote an article arguing that providing aid to Africa only results in increasing its population. As aresult the Immigrant Council of Ireland made an official complaint to the Garda Síochána alleging incitement to hatred

"How many girls - and we’re largely talking about teenagers here - consciously embark upon a career of mothering bastards because it seems a good way of getting money and accommodation from the State?" Kevin Myers, Irishmans Diary Irish Times.

"....and why the term "bitchiness" accurately describes how women often behave towards one other __ in precisely the same way that female dogs do: they are riven and driven by social insecurity."
    An article by Kevin Myers about females on "the apprentice" on British TV.

You get the picture?

To put it mildly, females and immigrants are not on this guys favourites list.

In this article he tries to compare this unfortunate young boys case with that of the Izenbayai girls.
    They are not like for like and he knows it. The first case was for manslaughter I guess. The second was an Asylum case. Myers knows this.

This boy died as a result of a botched male circumcission which resulted in his genitals being mutilated.
    Every single female circumcission results in genital mutilation.

Myers also casts doubt on whether Elizabeth Izenbayai really died of FGM forteen years ago. The Irish courts have absolutely no doubts about this. Myers also knows this.

Myers effectively blames "mothers" for FGM in Africa. Yet he would surely also know that FGM is internationaly accepted as a form of male violence / torture against women.

He casts doubt on the Izenbayais:
    "What if a baseless threat of circumcision is being falsely used to enable the Izevbekhais to stay?

And even if it's not, are we to be the refuge for every single Nigerian or Somalia or Chadean or Kuwaiti woman who wants to avoid genital mutilation?"

No where in his article has he shown that the threat of circumcission to the Izevbekhais is "baseless". The Irish courts have accepted that Pamela Izevbekhai genuinely believes the threat to be real. Again Myers knows this.

As for the Floodgates threat of "every single Nigerian or Somalia or Chadean or Kuwaiti woman who wants to avoid genital mutilation", surely a prominent report who does his research would know of the precedent in the UK (1 case in 3 years). Again you would imagine he would know this. The only thing "baseless" are Kevin Myers' nutter (or dleiberatly misleading?) arguments.

And who does he blame?

-Nigerian Mothers for FGM
    -Pamela Izevbekhai for being dodgy: Did her daughter really die from FGM? etc
    -Immigrants for male circumcission and threatening to overrun the country.
    -And of course females groups.

No surprises there I guess,
    Females and Immigrants.

Please explain how. How does a recently arrived immigrant go about legally "milking the system"?
    I am married to an immigrant, not an asylum seeker.

Look, we have reached some sort of common ground. I said ALL people at times
    milk the system. ALL, not just foreigners, and just because it's legal, doesn't mean it isn't open to abuse.
    OR RIGHT! There are some laws I think need changing and don't agree with

You are looking for an argument when there's no need for one.

Read my previous post that Mena replied to.

We have enough abuse of ou kindness from those who are Irish bloody citizens without
    importing in many many more to abuse the system!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

I find that hard to believe with over 50000 people on housing waiting lists. Maybe they have other sources of income? Even if they are scamming is a fraction of what the Govt, developers and banks have been screwing us out of. TBH I'd rather they got some of my tax money than those other b**tards.

In that article, Myers speaks honestly and rightly!

Tell me anything you disagree with or untruths in the article. He is
    saying what a lot of folks think but cannot say because you have the
    likes of the Residents against Racism branding you abhorrent!

Sense I say!

"And even if it's not, are we to be the refuge for every single Nigerian or Somalia or Chadean or Kuwaiti woman who wants to avoid genital mutilation? So all they have to do is get here, allege that if they go home they'll be circumcised, and then we must give them asylum: is that it? And if we don't, are we then to get the self-appointed cranks from Residents Against Racism accusing us of being racist, and then RAR will be rewarded with their usual quota of headlines?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Decent People wanting to come here, of whatever race, culture, from wherever, and work, integrate and respect our laws like your average Irish person, and enter the country legally ???

YEP Come on, NO problemo, if you can find work, good luck to you ;-)

Chancers, Fraudsters, so called 'Asylum Seekers' that manage to do a European Tour before they get here....etc and spend most of their time going through our courts system, at the Irish tax payers expense ????

GOODBYE !!! and don't let the door slap you on the arse on the way out....

pretty much sums it up for me....

professore wrote: »
    I find that hard to believe with over 50000 people on housing waiting lists. Maybe they have other sources of income? Even if they are scamming is a fraction of what the Govt, developers and banks have been screwing us out of. TBH I'd rather they got some of my tax money than those other b**tards.

Ok, how many of these 50,000 are foreingn asylum seekers or refugees?

I bet a tiny tiny tiny fraction. They skip the queue. They get first choice and always will.
    That is NOT RIGHT or fair!

By saying they 'skip the queue,' I mean with the backing and say so of the Irish State!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

Sense I say!

"And even if it's not, are we to be the refuge for every single Nigerian or Somalia or Chadean or Kuwaiti woman who wants to avoid genital mutilation? So all they have to do is get here, allege that if they go home they'll be circumcised, and then we must give them asylum: is that it? And if we don't, are we then to get the self-appointed cranks from Residents Against Racism accusing us of being racist, and then RAR will be rewarded with their usual quota of headlines?"

Exactly, in this day and age you cant argue anything against immigration least you be accused of racial hatred. Again the people supporting asylum and unchecked 3rd world migration never have to deal with the consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

The argument is black and white to me, and I won't be discussing it any further..

:p

Orange69 wrote: »
    Exactly, in this day and age you cant argue anything against immigration least you be accused of racial hatred. Again the people supporting asylum and unchecked 3rd world migration never have to deal with the consequences.

The very same people who probably never lifted a bloody finger to help their next door neighbour!:rolleyes:

Sense I say!

"As for the Floodgates threat of "every single Nigerian or Somalia or Chadean or Kuwaiti woman who wants to avoid genital mutilation", surely a prominent report who does his research would know of the precedent in the UK (1 case in 3 years). Again you would imagine he would know this. The only thing "baseless" are Kevin Myers' nutter (or dleiberatly misleading?) arguments. "

I have answered this and made many other objections to that article in my previous post. Please have the integrity to read posts before you reply to them

We have enough abuse of ou kindness from those who are Irish bloody citizens without
    importing in many many more to abuse the system!

Very few immigrants abuse the system. Not enough to warrant stopping all immigrants. Just change the welfare system

marcsignal wrote: »
    Decent People wanting to come here, of whatever race, culture, from wherever, and work, integrate and respect our laws like your average Irish person, and enter the country legally ???

YEP Come on, NO problemo, if you can find work, good luck to you ;-)

Chancers, Fraudsters, so called 'Asylum Seekers' that manage to do a European Tour before they get here....etc and spend most of their time going through our courts system, at the Irish tax payers expense ????

GOODBYE !!! and don't let the door slap you on the arse on the way out....

pretty much sums it up for me....

Thats the most idiotic post i've read in a long time.

Orange69 wrote: »
    Exactly, in this day and age you cant argue anything against immigration least you be accused of racial hatred.

If you are not being racist you can easily refute these allegations.
    If you cant refute the arguments you are probably either thick or a racist or both.

Again the people supporting asylum and unchecked 3rd world migration never have to deal with the consequences.

Could you elaborate please?