Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Justify this spending!!!!

• 12-12-2008 5:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭

I've just ordered a new pair of ray-ban sunglasses for 235 euro and I really need to justify that spending...I'm not rich before anyone asks, i'm a student and my weekly budget is 200 but i got some extra cash and decided to splurge...is that a good enough reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

No, you're a gobsh1te, they probably cost about 30cent to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭chrussell

The-Rigger wrote: »
    No, you're a gobsh1te, they probably cost about 30cent to make.

ah now thats abit of an exaggeration

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Kdub

Great spend OP, especially with all the sun we're expecting!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

Jaysus wept, ya feckin eejit.

Sunglasses are only €3 in Penneys.

Perhaps, I'd say it's f-all though. And probably made in the same factory as ones that cost 15e, perhaps not.

Anyhow, it's your money, shure do what you want with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

chrussell wrote: »
    I've just ordered a new pair of ray-ban sunglasses for 235 euro and I really need to justify that spending...I'm not rich before anyone asks, i'm a student and my weekly budget is 200 but i got some extra cash and decided to splurge...is that a good enough reason?

Let me guess, these are sunglasses with each lens about the size of a dinner plate.

Why do you need to SUNGLASSES?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

If buying the sun glasses is not going to effect your day to day life and you had the extra cash, why not?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

It'll probably hide the ugly...so I think that's justification enough :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

i could not justify that at all. ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭omgiluvxmas

If it brings you joy I see no reason why they were not a good purchase.

Enjoy and don't mind the people opinion here. They are just jealous.

post a picture of the glasses you bought..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Hey, if the Gov thinks it's ok to splash out on the pig farmers, then you're more than right to splurge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Post a picture of yourself in the glasses.

Let the infinite wisdom of After Hours be the judge of whether your purchase was justified.

If it brings you joy I see no reason why they were not a good purchase.

Enjoy and don't mind the people opinion here. They are just jealous.

Thats a very BOLD statment

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Sure it's a good enough reason.....

if you're a fúcking dumbass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

These sunglasses, I presume they hug you when you're lonely and make you lovely tea and toast on cold winter mornings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

You know it's winter, yeah...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cokehead Mother

You should spend your money as you wish. :)

You shouldn't desperately seek approval of your spending. :(

The worst thing about this thread is the real reason the OP posted was to tell everyone they spent 235 euro on a pair of glasses!

You're so cool!

Dave! wrote: »
    You know it's winter, yeah...?

Perhaps he is in the other hemisphere.

Also, as far as I am aware, sunglasses have no best before/use by date, so it is possible to purchase them in winter
    and then use them in the summertime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I spent 180eur on a class pair of sunglasses, the ones Bale wore in Dark Knight, raybans too. Then I went on a holiday to Italy and it was the summer.

Your purchase doesnt have any logic though :D

Sure it's a good enough reason.....

if you're a fúcking dumbass.

Hey don't say something like that. It's mean and you might hurt the posters feelings. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Splurging is absolutely fine and I'm obsessed with sunglasses (cheap ones though) but you could have splurged on something so much cooler. Heck you'd get a 360 for that price and change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The-Rigger wrote: »
    it is possible to purchase them in winter
    and then use them in the summertime.

What an age we live in!

Hey don't say something like that. It's mean and you might hurt the posters feelings. :mad:
    Poster's don't have feelings.

Also, shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Don't worry, he has the sunglasses to protect him.

Also, shut up.

Reported. You seem very angry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

can you not think of something decent to spend your money on?
    tut tut/nods head in disgust

/cowers and puts on own ray bans just to miff off AH:)

Reported.

I won't take that kind of abuse. How dareth you!!?!?!?!!!!?!?11/1

What the deal with the bold writing? It hurts my eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Also, shut up.
    No. You shut up.

Terry wrote: »
    No. You shut up.
    But.... she started it!