Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Actor gets two years after stun gun 'sting'

• 12-12-2008 12:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭

Friday December 12 2008

An actor who imported 10 stun guns to see "if there would be a market for them here" has been jailed for two years at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court.

Robert Scales (37) of Waterloo road, Dublin 4, said he did not know the weapons were illegal here when he imported them from Thailand and that he intended to sell them to taxi drivers.

He pleaded guilty to possession of firearms at his home on November 14, 2007.

The court heard that a customs and excise officer noticed a suspicious package at a sorting office addressed to Scales. A operation was set up where a customs officer, dressed as a postman, delivered the box to Scales, who claimed ownership.

A short time later gardai entered the house and seized the guns.

Defence counsel, Mr Pieter Le Vert, said his client was "a highly educated and intelligent man" who has appeared in several films, such as 'King Arthur' and 'Braveheart'.

Judge Katherine Delahunt refused a application to suspend some of the sentence and said if it was not for the mitigation plea, the term would have been four years.

Two years for this seems a bit severe condsidering what sentences murderers and rapists get. Good to see the police are getting the real criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Shocking :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭oztots

Silly plonker.

It is a bit severe but you'd think he would have brought 1 or 2 in. Not 10, thats just making sure you'll get done for it.

Should have got the ferry to england, down to france across to germany, and then you can buy pretty much anything to hurt people bar guns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Defence counsel, Mr Pieter Le Vert, said his client was "a highly educated and intelligent man" who has appeared in several films, such as 'King Arthur' and 'Braveheart'.

Yes yes yes, but did he appear in the short Shapespearian tragedy otherwise known as "The Scottish Play"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

A highly educated man who failed to check if the rather obviously iffy items he was bringing into the country were legal or not.

Yeah, real ****ing clever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Friday December 12 2008

An actor who imported 10 stun guns to see "if there would be a market for them here" has been jailed for two years at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court.

Robert Scales (37) of Waterloo road, Dublin 4, said he did not know the weapons were illegal here when he imported them from Thailand and that he intended to sell them to taxi drivers.

The court heard that a customs and excise officer noticed a suspicious package at a sorting office addressed to Scales. A operation was set up where a customs officer, dressed as a postman, delivered the box to Scales, who claimed ownership.

Judge Katherine Delahunt refused a application to suspend some of the sentence and said if it was not for the mitigation plea, the term would have been four years.

Two years for this seems a bit severe condsidering what sentences murderers and rapists get. Good to see the police are getting the real criminals.

Jaysus the sh!t actors go through to learn how to 'method-act'. Just so he can squeal just right......."reeeeeeeeeeeeee reeeeeeeeeeee".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Hilarious that on the same day that guy got 2 years for importing stun guns (to sell to taxi drivers for protection) this guy here got a suspended sentence :

http://www.breakingnews.ie/archives/2008/1211/ireland/mhsnaukfaukf/

A youth who was found guilty of taking part in a violent mugging has been given a six-month suspended sentence by Judge Bryan Smyth at the Dublin Children’s Court.

&

This one got 5 months for a different offence :

http://www.breakingnews.ie/archives/2008/1211/ireland/mhsnaukfcwsn/

A youth convicted of attacking a garda whom he tried to push him off a third-floor flat complex balcony has been given a five-months detention sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭crustyjuggler

Yes yes yes, but did he appear in the short Shapespearian tragedy otherwise known as "The Scottish Play"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

i'd swear some judges found their qualifications in a lucky bag...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I really do wonder where they fu.cken get them from betimes (Not the stun guns).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Einstein wrote: »
    i'd swear some judges found their qualifications in a lucky bag...

Flip a coin job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Two years for this seems a bit severe condsidering what sentences murderers and rapists get.
    Murder carries a mandatory life sentence which is normally about 14 years.
    Manslaughter carries a lesser sentence.
    So murderers don't, by and large, get two years.

And, btw, those weapons can kill, so the Gardaí just jailed someone for illegally importing semi-lethal weapons.
    He is a real criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

I bet he was stunned with the sentance

Who is he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

With weapons like that, I'm surprised he didn't go down for battery as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I see this debate has sparked some puns :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Friday December 12 2008

pfft. Amatuer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

He gave an electric performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭oztots

Murder carries a mandatory life sentence which is normally about 14 years.
    Manslaughter carries a lesser sentence.
    So murderers don't, by and large, get two years.

And, btw, those weapons can kill, so the Gardaí just jailed someone for illegally importing semi-lethal weapons.
    He is a real criminal.

So its horribel and unthinkable to import semi lethal weapons and promises jailtime. But trying to assaulting and trying to kill a garda gets you? A six month suspended sentence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

the customs officer noticed a "suspicious" package? that sounds like a load of bollix, unless it said "tazers x20" on it or something :)

Bambi wrote: »
    the customs officer noticed a "suspicious" package? that sounds like a load of bollix, unless it said "tazers x20" on it or something :)

Seeing as he seems to have overlooked the fact they were illegal, its quite probable it did. Pointing to him overlooking the fact they were illegal, is that he had them sent to his own address. Two years is a harsh price to pay for stupidity, it must be said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

The current legislation seems to impose very scary charges and subsequent imprisonment for stun guns. I mean watt is that about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I can't say that I would be overly happy knowing that there were 10 taxi drivers going around with stun guns under their seats.

His blatant stupidity could have put a lot more people in danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

seamus wrote: »
    I can't say that I would be overly happy knowing that there were 10 taxi drivers going around with stun guns under their seats.

Oh sweet Jesus.
    That's just going to kick them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

It's a firearm, classed as a prohibited weapon. I'm absolutely delighted to see someone get rode for possession of an unlicensed firearm. It's an extremely positive sentence and a step forward in dealing with violent crime, which is a refreshing break from the legislative diahorrea usually used to spray the area of firearms and violent crime. More harsh sentences for offences, less stupid legislation please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

Would make it easier though for those of them with an aul fella hiding in the back, just jump up, tazer the girl, sure it'd be all over and done with before she came around and knew what was going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Think a suspended sentence would have been in order here.

Terry wrote: »
    Oh sweet Jesus.
    That's just going to kick them off.
    Well, not that taxi drivers are particularly dangerous, but that you might get some guy who thinks it's appropriate to whip it out when there's a disagreement about a fare or who'll fire it prematurely if a passenger is getting a little rowdy.

There's a misconception that you just get a little shock to calm you down and then it's all good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

I'm stunned....

Edit: Wait it's been done.

On a more serious note judge's generally seem to pull sentences out of their arse. Remember that guy a few months ago who got a 6 month sentence for posession of ONE ecstacy pill. Talk about inconsistency...

It's a firearm, classed as a prohibited weapon. I'm absolutely delighted to see someone get rode for possession of an unlicensed firearm.

....regardless of the fact he seems to be more of a gobshyte than anything else. Presumably the next time some eejit commits a minor traffic offence, we should have him castrated, to send a message to hit and run drivers.

Nodin wrote: »
    ....regardless of the fact he seems to be more of a gobshyte than anything else. Presumably the next time some eejit commits a minor traffic offence, we should have him castrated, to send a message to hit and run drivers.

Um, no, you should sentence him in line with his offence. It doesn't matter how thick he was, he imported firearms, and should be sentenced in line with that offence. The penalties laid down in the firearms act provide for far, far stricter sentencing than that as well, so he got off fairly lightly. His stupidity was clearly already a mitigating factor.

If I hit someone in a car, and am completely ignorant of my obligations to stay around, and go home, and say I didn't know it was illegal, I'm still a gobshíte, but you'd be hard pressed to find someone who didn't agree I should be very harshly sentenced as a result. Ignorance is never a defence in law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭Jesus1222

Sentence is way over the top. You wouldn't get more for child pornography or
    that and even some cases of abuse and rape wouldn't get 4 years.

I know someone who received an extremely harsh sentence from that judge (not child pornography) one time, the sentence was cut by more than a half on appeal.

I don't agree with average Joe's being allowed own stun guns either, they're dangerous and only in serious circumstances should anyone
    ever consider using one, unfortunately minor agreements or scuffles will result in their use by the likes of taxi drivers who would buy them
    in the fist place.

I can't honestly understand people claiming the sentence is too harsh. It's a firearms offence and should be treated seriously. At a time when the government is making a desperate (and pitiful) attempt to curb violence on the streets, mostly by useless and watery legislation, when a positive move is finally made, people bemoan it? That's ridiculous in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Morlar wrote: »
    Hilarious that on the same day that guy got 2 years for importing stun guns (to sell to taxi drivers for protection) this guy here got a suspended sentence :

A youth who was found guilty of taking part in a violent mugging has been given a six-month suspended sentence by Judge Bryan Smyth at the Dublin Children’s Court.

&

A youth convicted of attacking a garda whom he tried to push him off a third-floor flat complex balcony has been given a five-months detention sentence.

Ah but you see, unlike the guy in the OP, these youths weren't 'well-educated' and we can't be seen to get tough on people from deprived areas just because they actually commit violent crime now can we?

The system really is a joke :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

Seen the story in Herald AM today and right accross from it some scumbag steels a jeep drives down the m50 the wrong way and rams a Garda car, crashes then trys to escape on foot he got 3 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Ah but you see, unlike the guy in the OP, these youths weren't 'well-educated' and we can't be seen to get tough on people from deprived areas just because they actually commit violent crime now can we?

The system really is a joke :(

Yep - if you want to get a lighter sentence here's how its done :

(Trying to push a guard off a 3rd floor balcony one)

"The teen already had seven previous convictions for criminal damage, theft, burglary and handling stolen property.

Defence counsel Ms O’Sullivan had said her client was out of school but hoped to begin a training course and had problems controlling his anger. She said the teenager, who was accompanied by his father, was seeking a further opportunity to co-operate with the Probation Service.

Judge Smyth considered the incident “a serious matter” adding that detention had to be a “last resort”.

In sentencing him, he noted that a probation report, which referred to a previous assault incident, was not “wholly positive” and added, “I know he has been in and out of here [court] a few times since”."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

It's a firearm, classed as a prohibited weapon. I'm absolutely delighted to see someone get rode for possession of an unlicensed firearm.
    I can't honestly understand people claiming the sentence is too harsh. It's a firearms offence and should be treated seriously.
    Because most people would not, in their own minds, class it as the same as a gun. Never mind the pedantic legalistic definition. My father violently assaulted me, i.e. slapped me when I was a kid, just tell it like it is. If somebody says the word "firearm" I don't think stunguns spring to anybodys mind.
    He is a real criminal.
    I can buy a whole array of semi-lethal weapons in woodies, only real difference here is it only has one use so they can do you for it. If I walk down grafton street with a hunting knife I would be done, BUT stick it in a Debenhams bag and paint a few tomatoes and onions on the handle and suddenly it is a perfectly acceptable kitchen knife.

2 years is way too harsh, I hate to see my tax money spent housing people like this when other weaponry is so easily available, which would have far more chance of being lethal is used in self defence by taximen. I never knew they were illegal, thought it was a grey area.

I can't honestly understand people claiming the sentence is too harsh.

......in relation to other offences, particularily involving those with a criminal record and violence against persons. A massive fine and probation should suffice. just because "firearms" are the buzz words of the media at the moment is no reason to lynch the first eejit to hand. If somebody has to be strung up, string up the outlaws, not some poxy cowboy.

Somebody linked with FF there a while back was caught with a CS emitting weapon and was given a non-custodial sentence and a fine. He had it as a souvenir on his desk and thought there was no harm in it. That was the proper sentence. Here, though theres more items involved, I think the same course should have been followed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I know drivers that carry these. Others I know carry other items.
    Never bothered me all these years. They know me - I trust them. Don't see a problem to be honest in them having them as a form of self-defence.
    I'm not going to rob/attack them so I have little to worry about.

Now I know that because these things are available that others other there will use these items for bad use.
    Its an awkward situation and I can see both sides of the argument.

I'm just sticking up for taxi drivers in the meanwhile.
    Ordinary decent passengers have nothing to worry about.

Biggins wrote: »
    I'm just sticking up for taxi drivers in the meanwhile.
    Ordinary decent passengers have nothing to worry about.
    As I replied to Terry, it's nothing against taxi drivers. I'd be no more happy if truckers or salesmen or bankers were carrying these as they went about their business.

But that taxi drivers by and large deal with more troublesome members of the public than most other professions, that puts more people at risk from illegally-held weapons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

A operation was set up where a customs officer, dressed as a postman, delivered the box to Scales, who claimed ownership.

Feckin eejit, if he'd looked down the road he would have seen the Customs van.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

As I replied to Terry, it's nothing against taxi drivers. I'd be no more happy if truckers or salesmen or bankers were carrying these as they went about their business.

But that taxi drivers by and large deal with more troublesome members of the public than most other professions, that puts more people at risk from illegally-held weapons.

O' same here, totally agree.
    As the mention of drivers came up, it's just a shame that they have been forced to take these measures.

As for the two years jail time, I don't consider that extreme.
    One of the weapons he sold alone, could have been used to rob drivers, etc.
    I'd dread to think about the female aspect alone with these things!

Fair play to the judge for talking a strong stance. I only wish more would do the same for other crimes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

You mean Macbeth?

/runs from banhammer :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

doing a google search for stun guns I see them listed on the same sites selling tasers, pepper sprays, and so on. So not the favourite toy of the 'hood, or the sophisticated drug dealing Mafiosi. They probably have real guns. Those boyos probably import their guns via small boats, or private planes, or some poor mule who owes them a favour. Custom officers are not all that successful in stopping this.

What the criminal classes do not do is send away for a package which the vigilant custom officer can intercept because it says Ten Stun Guns Inside - Be Careful. As it comes from a country where, no doubt, stun guns are legal.

Ergo, no criminal conspiracy. A slap on the wrist is warranted. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

You can make these things really easily yourself anyway, one of the many 'under the counter' badges i got in Scouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

griffdaddy wrote: »
    ...one of the many 'under the counter' badges i got in Scouts.

There's no such thing!

<_<

>_>

Ssshhhh! Ixnay on the gabdes derun the ternouc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

sorry, what i mean to say was that i actually learned...how not to accidentally make them, yeah, that'll do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Morlar wrote: »

&

these weapons could lead to ten of those cases.

griffdaddy wrote: »
    sorry, what i mean to say was that i actually learned...how not to accidentally make them, yeah, that'll do.

Doesn't matter. Since the Good Friday thing, all the 'scouts' are forgiven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭board om

I actually know the guy. well im pretty sure its the same person. I use to hang around with him when i was younger. i havent seen him in years but the last time i saw him he was moving to Thailand to live. it makes sense that he had the stun guns sent from there. he is mad into guns and martial arts weapons and stuff like that. he is a bit of a lunatic tbh. when i saw the article in the herald i had a look at his myspace page to see if it was him and there are loads of videos of him shooting handguns in shooting ranges. crazy stuff.

he actually posts on Boards.ie but im not going to say his username.

he isnt an actor though, he was an extra in a few films that were made here like Braveheart and a few others. and he definitly isnt 'highly educated', in fact i think he dopped out of school and he definitly didnt go to college. so i dont know where they got that from.

2 years is definitly too much. 6 months to a year would have been more than enough, and even that would be a bit extreme.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

'you can take my stun guns, but you'l never take my freedom!'

Too late.