Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Open Letter to the Non-Mudguard-Using Community

• 12-12-2008 10:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭

Dear Friends-I-Haven't-Yet-Met,

We haven't met, so let me introduce myself. I'm the cyclist who often finds himself stuck behind you in the crowded cycle lanes of Dublin city on the way to and from work. Hi!

I can't help noticing you don't have mudguards on that road bike/mountain bike/fixie you're riding. Yet I gather from your apparel that you're on the way to work/college/the fashion parade.

Do you realise that:

(a) You've made your pants filthy?

(b) You've made your jacket filthy?

(c) You've made me filthy?

Dudes (for you are usually of the male persuasion), we'd all love to be able to dispense with mudguards. Aesthetically speaking, they are unhappy yokes. They make a sleek road bike lumpy. They make a lean fixie flabby. And they make a mountain bike look... well, not being a member of that fraternity, I've no firm opinion on that. Arguably, they look okay.

The problem is that when you don't use mudguards on wet roads, you become the cycling equivalent of a tabloid journalist. That is to say: you become a raker of muck. A spreader of it, too.

Maybe you just haven't got round to buying those mudguards yet. Maybe your budget precludes it right now. Or maybe, just maybe, you think the sheer look of your bike is more important than arriving at your destination inside an exoskelton of encrused road sh*te.

Whatever the reason: how about doing the rest of us a seasonal favour? On your Santa list this year, underneath "SCALECTRICS" and "WEE", scribble in the words "MUDD GARDZ". And leave the man a few Jaffa Cakes on a plate. He'll know you mean well... and so will the rest of us.

Sincere thanks and seasons greetings,

Ghost Rider.

(Sorry about the name - it sucks, I know).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭WicklowRacer

I'd rather take the bus than put mudguards on my bikes. Its far far too uncool.

Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Dear Friends-I-Haven't-Yet-Met,

We haven't met, so let me introduce myself. I'm the cyclist who often finds himself stuck behind you in the crowded cycle lanes of Dublin city on the way to and from work. Hi!

I can't help noticing you don't have mudguards on that road bike/mountain bike/fixie you're riding. Yet I gather from your apparel that you're on the way to work/college/the fashion parade.

Do you realise that:

(a) You've made your pants filthy?

(b) You've made your jacket filthy?

(c) You've made me filthy?

Dudes (for you are usually of the male persuasion), we'd all love to be able to dispense with mudguards. Aesthetically speaking, they are unhappy yokes. They make a sleek road bike lumpy. They make a lean fixie flabby. And they make a mountain bike look... well, not being a member of that fraternity, I've no firm opinion on that. Arguably, they look okay.

The problem is that when you don't use mudguards on wet roads, you become the cycling equivalent of a tabloid journalist. That is to say: you become a raker of muck. A spreader of it, too.

Maybe you just haven't got round to buying those mudguards yet. Maybe your budget precludes it right now. Or maybe, just maybe, you think the sheer look of your bike is more important than arriving at your destination inside an exoskelton of encrused road sh*te.

Whatever the reason: how about doing the rest of us a seasonal favour? On your Santa list this year, underneath "SCALECTRICS" and "WEE", scribble in the words "MUDD GARDZ". And leave the man a few Jaffa Cakes on a plate. He'll know you mean well... and so will the rest of us.

Sincere thanks and seasons greetings,

Ghost Rider.

(Sorry about the name - it sucks, I know).

Over take and drop them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

I am afraid it's just non Euro ...

Rules 30 says: ABSOLUTELY NO FORM of seatbag, frame pump, mud guard or mirror shall come within 2 meters of your bike.

So In theory ... even cycling with you is against Rule 30

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Rules 30 says: ABSOLUTELY NO FORM of seatbag, frame pump, mud guard or mirror shall come within 2 meters of your bike.

Uh-oh

Saddlebag: Check
    Frame Pump: Check
    Mudguards: Check

Now to go and buy a handlebar mirror and helmet mirror, and front and rear panniers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

I am afraid it's just non Euro ...

So In theory ... even cycling with you is against Rule 30

Where are these euro rules again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭Redjeep!

I have a confession to make.

I bought a mudguard last weekend.

I didn't want to, you've got to understand....it was them... they made me...my fellow clubmates were starting to talk about us behind our backs and how dirty we were...

I may even fit it before the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

cool or uncool, it's amazing how much cleaner, you and your bike are when you use mudguards, from personal experience on group rides it still doesn't stop you getting sprayed from the bike in front (which has mudguards) however.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

More importantly, why on earth are you drafting commuters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

@tunney: here you go

@Ghost Rider: I'm one of the non mudguard fraternity (usually), and if you're close enough to get sprayed by me you're too close and should overtake :)

I'm aware I've made my back and pants filthy, but that's why I don't wear work clothes on the commute (I adorn my 'fashion parade' attire for the cycle into the office).

My image is far more important than your cleanliness.

Love,
    Tiny
    xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

tunney wrote: »
    Where are these euro rules again?
    Google them ...

There are unwritten rules, such as Blorg is still alowed on a bike even thought he is to the EuroRules what the easter Bunny is to Christmas ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Ghost Rider

I alwys overtake. Trouble is, that's when you get the biggest spraying!

You Euro people need help, by the way. Now I remember why I voted no to Lisbon...
    @tunney: here you go

@Ghost Rider: I'm one of the non mudguard fraternity (usually), and if you're close enough to get sprayed by me you're too close and should overtake :)

I'm aware I've made my back and pants filthy, but that's why I don't wear work clothes on the commute (I adorn my 'fashion parade' attire for the cycle into the office).

My image is far more important than your cleanliness.

Love,
    Tiny
    xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭blackbox

I completely agree with you OP, but I think you have used the wrong forum. This is the Sports>Cycling forum, presumably aimed at people who cycle with clubs and in competitions (and who abhor anything that might interfere with their performance).

People who cycle to work are COMMUTERS (accepting that they may also cycle for sport in their spare time), so you might get a better reception in "Commuting & Transport" .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

I like your name Ghost Rider.

I have a rear mudguard on my fixie, one of those ridiculous looking yokes that clamps to the seatpost and sits about half a metre above the rear wheel. Very Reasonably effective at keeping me clean (although I am covered in layers of kevlarpolyesterhighvizlycra so it's of little consequence).

On the plus side, nobody can draft my wheel on my commute...so nobody gets sprayed. I'm way too fast, as the guy in green fatigue shorts and high viz vest on a (nice) black hybrid discovered this morning. Leaves me at the red light on John's Road junction and gets about 0.5km in front of me. Thankfully the lights were green at Heuston and Kingsbridge, so I took him fair and square. He was but a mere dot by the time I reached Capel St bridge.:D

I have no guards on my road bike, but then I am so often at the back of the group:o...I'm considering raceblades for the new year, just in case I have to do a lot more pulling next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I have a rear mudguard, doesn't make sense not to in this weather. Entire bike (excepting the chain which I clean) is encrusted with muck, I shiver to think what I'd look like without the thing. Wear bike clothes on the bike so they get mucky and I change.

To be honest though in terms of commuting you should be able to control a road position either far enough behind or far enough in front of a mudguard-less rider that it really shouldn't become an issue. But then my commute is suburban so maybe it's just not as busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

I commute Dundrum - city centre too, and to be honest I've not noticed anyone spraying me. I have raceblades on, but I find I still get sprayed plenty from my own wheels - if the roads are wet there's invariably a spray flying up in front of the handlebars from the front wheel, which i end up riding into anyway. And since I'm wearing bike kit I don't really give a damn anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I have a mudguard. But my arse still gets soaked in the wet.

Clearly I need a better mudguard. Damn rear sus.

That's exactly it. If you were cycling in and around the city centre at both rush hours, you'd soon realise it's more or less impossible to get any distance from other cyclists. However many you overtake, there will always be more up ahead. Plus, overtaking means having to get really close (you can't get out wide on the city streets, for obvious reasons), which means maximum muck spray.

Actually, my own commute is slightly after both rush hours - usually around 9.30am and 6.15 pm. I imagine the situation is even worse from say 8am to 9am and from 5pm to 6pm.
    blorg wrote: »
    But then my commute is suburban so maybe it's just not as busy.

I use Raceblades too. The bike gets dirty but I don't.
    kenmc wrote: »
    I commute Dundrum - city centre too, and to be honest I've not noticed anyone spraying me. I have raceblades on, but I find I still get sprayed plenty from my own wheels - if the roads are wet there's invariably a spray flying up in front of the handlebars from the front wheel, which i end up riding into anyway. And since I'm wearing bike kit I don't really give a damn anyway.

That's exactly it. If you were cycling in and around the city centre at both rush hours, you'd soon realise it's more or less impossible to get any distance from other cyclists. However many you overtake, there will always be more up ahead. Plus, overtaking means having to get really close (you can't get out wide on the city streets, for obvious reasons), which means maximum muck spray.
    Damn cyclists, get out of my way!

(Sorry, had to be said, I take your point :D)

No, you're right. Who the hell do we think we are??
    blorg wrote: »
    Damn cyclists, get out of my way!

(Sorry, had to be said, I take your point :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭stuf

Does anyone know of any raceblades/full mudguards that can be used on a frame for 27" wheels - front 700c raceblade works fine but rear would rub the tyre. Got a seatpost mounted rear at the moment but I think it just looks crappy on my lovely steel framed fixie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

I'd rather take the bus than put mudguards on my bikes. Its far far too uncool.

Sorry.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Actually, my own commute is slightly after both rush hours - usually around 9.30am and 6.15 pm. I imagine the situation is even worse from say 8am to 9am and from 5pm to 6pm.

I cycle through town regularly at rush hour and I'm never so close to other cyclists to get sprayed, even when overtaking???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

My sentiments are the same as Unionmans. I go by people too fast.

If they overtake me at the lights, well, if I happen to swing back in front of them too close and they get some mud, that not my fault. *cackles maniacally*

I actually did have a rear mudguard, but broke it and haven't replaced it. It was highly ineffective for protecting others though. Now I just let my bag hang down over my arse and take the brunt of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Start work earlier.:)
    I commute from around 6.45am onwards.
    Many advantages (1) fewer cars, (2)fewer cyclists to get sprayed by.
    (3) Can also mean you finish a bit before the 5-6pm rush starts, (4) Many mornings I have the bus lane up the quays to myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I used to get a bit of spray on my bag, but I only ever noticed spray when cycling on wider tyres. I commute on 25s and I only got mudguards because I can't resist wiggle.

Frankly, I'm not really too concernced about the chap behind me getting sprayed, if he has a problem he can drop back and wait for a chance to go past. I would have the same attitude if I were behind someone myself.

Sorry, but they will never touch my road bike, as Caroline says that would violate the most sacred parchment :)

Verb wrote: »
    If they overtake me at the lights, well, if I happen to swing back in front of them too close and they get some mud, that not my fault. *cackles maniacally*
    Just deserts, don't get started with people who overtake me at lights. Why? I just overtook you a minute ago, you must know I am just going to have to go around you once the light goes green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭peterk19

Ive seen these going around London thinkin about putting a cap on my fixie for when its needed

mudguard.jpg

that is genius!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

In an offensively ugly and highly non-aesthetically pleasing way maybe !

Put a plastic bottle on the Banana! I think not!

I never said it was nice, I said it was genius!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭peterk19

aye its far from nice but it is genius,

Ive seen another one with the 2 ribbed volvic water bottles stuck together that looks like it would work really well

Given that purpose-made mudguards start at £2.99 I am going to have to pass on this one (£2.99 in yellow too, Verb.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

I do notice that some clubs do insist on mudgaurds in winter. Delicate little lambs. My lot would not go near a mudgaurd. We are a pure race club and I think the rationale is that as most of the big races are early in the year and therefore usually held in miserable weather, you may as well get used to riding in a constant haze of water, mud and airborne animal waste. It's not like the peleton will be putting mudgaurds on when the serious stuff starts so you may as well get used to it now. I did note at a race in Newbridge the amount of riders from one particular club famous for their mudgaurd rule had an inordinate amount of abandonments when the rain started chucking down....

Although I understand why some clubs do insist on mudgaurds, its also hard to argue against the rationale of my own lot considering their race focus (The attitude is that if you can't handle being sprayed with manure for a 5hr ride then you are not tough enough to be racing in the first place !) That being said if one of the lads has been halfwheeling me all day, I do sometimes go out of my way to go through the biggest pile of mud I can find just to shower him with it.

Fun times.

AFAIK the "mudguard rule" is more of an Audax thing, I can see the point when racing is not the focus.

My beef is limited purely to commuting. Racing, or even club cycling, is surely different. I mean, you're in your full cycling clobber and, presumably, you're out to enjoy the elements, whether you be Euro or Euroskeptic.

Arriving in work, however, civilian clothes spattered with an acne of mud, makes for a bad buzz.
    Quigs Snr wrote: »
    I do notice that some clubs do insist on mudgaurds in winter. Delicate little lambs. My lot would not go near a mudgaurd. We are a pure race club and I think the rationale is that as most of the big races are early in the year and therefore usually held in miserable weather, you may as well get used to riding in a constant haze of water, mud and airborne animal waste. It's not like the peleton will be putting mudgaurds on when the serious stuff starts so you may as well get used to it now. I did note at a race in Newbridge the amount of riders from one particular club famous for their mudgaurd rule had an inordinate amount of abandonments when the rain started chucking down....

Although I understand why some clubs do insist on mudgaurds, its also hard to argue against the rationale of my own lot considering their race focus (The attitude is that if you can't handle being sprayed with manure for a 5hr ride then you are not tough enough to be racing in the first place !) That being said if one of the lads has been halfwheeling me all day, I do sometimes go out of my way to go through the biggest pile of mud I can find just to shower him with it.

Fun times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭flickerx

On your Santa list this year, underneath "SCALECTRICS" and "WEE"

I think its spelt "Wii", although unless you're like me, genuinely asking for wee - but the less said about that on a respectable forum like this, the better, my girlfriend wouldnt approve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

My beef is limited purely to commuting. Racing, or even club cycling, is surely different. I mean, you're in your full cycling clobber and, presumably, you're out to enjoy the elements, whether you be Euro or Euroskeptic.

Fashion doesn't take breaks sunshine.:p

I know dat, boss. I think you'll also find "SCALECTRICS" is spelt "Scalextric"!
    flickerx wrote: »
    I think its spelt "Wii", although unless you're like me, genuinely asking for wee - but the less said about that on a respectable forum like this, the better, my girlfriend wouldnt approve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭bobtjustice

seamus wrote: »
    I have a mudguard. But my arse still gets soaked in the wet.

Clearly I need a better mudguard. Damn rear sus.

Or a smaller ass....sorry coldn't help it.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭bealbocht

To OP

unless they are "full" mudguards.. going down to and past the half way point of the wheel... you are still going to get spray from a bike in front.

Dont get so close.. or get a front visor off a Vespa (could be great if the wind is behind you ..)

Something like this..

http://www.scooterwest.com/files/items/000/000/000/023/04/windshield2.jpg

the colour might suit you too.. but not easy to keep clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Carbon fibre mudguards FTW!

21P01.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

Lumen wrote: »
    Carbon fibre mudguards FTW!

Still not Euro im afraid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

Well, that would be from Liz Hatch's site. Easy for her to adopt Euro Rules; she races and trains in dry weather for the most part.

Absolutely no mudguards where I live. Mudguards in North America are only for Canadians. We do break the saddlebag rule however - but it's got to be a tiny bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭souter

Good thread. I remember back when I were t'lad, 5 or even 10, speed racers were the ultimate in cool, even cooler because they had those tiny "racing mudguards" that were about 6 inches long and completely pointless.
    I used to religiously rip the mudguards off the bikes I got, imaging I was secretly supercharging the machine like the A Team would do (it was also the only modification I was competent to do).
    After many years it dawned on me that they were there for a purpose, and weren't actually made out of depleted uranium.
    So I now ride fixie (starts cool..), but with full length mudguards (no!), front and back brake (say it aint so..) and panniers (look away now). But at least my back and face aren't caked in oily mud.

Incidently, bike snob nyc has come out recently as pro mudguard (or "fender" in his vernacular)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭victorcarrera

My runabout bike has full mudguards and chainguard and I use it for short trips around town when Im wearing my everyday clothes. Mudguards keep my clothes clean, chainguard is very good at keeping chain and sprockets clean and prevent trousers fouling the chain wheel.
    My training bike has full mudguards because they are very good at keeping mud, animal excrement etc off my bidon, out of my eyes and mouth and offers those behind me the same protection. Im not too concerned about the extra weight or wind resistance in training. If anything I think in training the heavier the kit the better.
    I also have two race bikes with no mudguards for race days.

My opinion on this. Use the right tool for the job.

And keep smiling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Dolani

Cycled Galway - Dublin this year without mudguards. The quietness of the road, closed for the Ballinasloe Horse Fair, was offset by not being able to use my bidon after passing through that fair town... you get the picture!!