Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is short hair sexy or not? (Women's hair)

• 11-12-2008 12:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭TMoreno

According to the therapist and former comic Pamela Stephenson "women who cut their hair are deliberately sabotaging their sexuality. The implication is that short hair is unsexy, whereas long hair leads to masses of exciting bedroom action".
    I think that the longer the better. What do you think?

Is short hair sexy? (Women's hair) 121 votes

No, women who cut their hair are deliberately sabotaging their sexuality
    0% 0 votes
    Yes I love short hair
    100% 121 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I think this was done in depth before and my answer's still the same - it's very rarely, if ever, sexy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Short hair = looks like a boy. It's like glasses - I've seen some women (very few) who could pull the look off, but never have I seen a woman who looks better with short hair/glasses than without.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

Im a woman so I dont know if my opinion is relevant.....but in my opinion no, its actually horrible.

Even the best looking woman with short hair, you just think to yourself what a waste.

Then again I dont even like short hair on men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Guru Maith Agut

SpookyDoll wrote: »
    I dont even like short hair on men.

:eek::eek:

You really are "Spooky" aren't you?! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

I love women with short hair (from at least 300 metres away at all times thank you very much District Court Judge)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Like most questions in After Hours the answer to this question is not Yes or No. The answer is: It depends ya big eejit. Depends on the woman, the hair, the style, etc.

It's like Pighead asking "Do you like all things orange" Again the true answer here is "It depends" Orange poo would probably be a no no in most peopels eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭chavezychavez

Short hair on a woman is terrible.

I absolutely hate the way gorgeous women cut their hair after they get married and then all of a sudden they look mingin'. Fair enough they're off the market, but there's no need to mutilate your looks.

It can work but not very often.You have to be a kinda indie chick as well.

Pighead wrote: »
    Orange poo would probably be a no no in most peopels eyes.

Yeah like wouldn't that sting and stuff and you could get blinded..

Yes, it totally depends on the woman. Mary Harney will never look sexy, it doesn't matter if she styles her hair till the cows come home.

Here is a picture of Mary Harney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

That has got to be the most pointless Harney reference ever.

And no, girls with short hair aren't attractive, they look like toilet scrubbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I’m dreading the day when I get older and have to have short hair cause I’ll look silly with long hair at 60.

It suits some girls but I’ve always had long hair so would look weird with it short.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Very unsexy, with some exceptions.

As a rule, short hair = you're a boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Kiera wrote: »
    I’m dreading the day when I get older and have to have short hair cause I’ll look silly with long hair at 60.
    Not necessarily Kiera. Beruthial still looks sexy.

That has got to be the most pointless Harney reference ever.

And no, girls with short hair aren't attractive, they look like toilet scrubbers.

I reserve the right to railroad a tenuous Harney reference into everything I come across. I also look forward to more pictures of hot short-haired celebrities

Shorter than this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭pallepille

meh, id prefer them to be bald to be honest, its a lot more hygenic, or if not bald at least a brazilian its so much neater.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Carturo

Dave! wrote: »
    Very unsexy, with some exceptions.

As a rule, short hair = you're a boy.

Unless you're Selma Blair (when she had short hair) pi$$ off with your short hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭oztots

Shaved heads are woeful,

Short hair is grand though, gives them a more aggressive look. And who says having a woman in charge isnt bad? some times...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭cmcsoft

I'd normally say know but some women can pull it off....

halle_berry2_600h.jpg HALLE_BERRY005_600h.jpg

BrittanyMurphy009C.jpg BrittanyMurphy003G.jpg

storm015straightshort_600h.jpg

SiennaMiller001_250h.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Entirely depends on the woman in question. You need a very feminine/pretty face to pull it off though so for the poll I'm going to say no.

Natalie Portman and Dolores O'Riordan are two examples of women who could pull it off flawlessly.

cmcsoft wrote: »
    but some women can pull it off....

I'm ready and waiting! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭UsedtobePC

Brazilian all the way. Does that count as a Yes then? Or does it show i didn't understand the question?

I will say one thing though; even in cases where a female looks sexy with short hair, she almost always looks sexier again with long hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

FruitLover wrote: »
    Short hair = looks like a boy. It's like glasses - I've seen some women (very few) who could pull the look off, but never have I seen a woman who looks better with short hair/glasses than without.

Hey, what's wrong with glasses? :(

:P

Short hair can look good on women. Halle Berry pulls it off well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

biko wrote: »
    you really got an obsession with swedes dont ya:p

I think short hair can look nice ,depends on the person...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

On the poll where is the "In general short hair isn't my preference, but it can look sexy on the right person - but I don't regard it as deliberate sabotage, just a choice of hairstyle" option? :) I think if that was there it would summarise my feelings, that normally long hair is sexier, but short can be good in the right circumstances! Although in my experience it takes a very feminine girl to pull off short hair properly.. a very elfin looking girl can get away with it no problems!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

No my biggest turn off. As a smart man once said "Eww that's the one place you want them to have hair"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

short hair can be nice but usually isnt. Rihanna comes to mind, she was beautiful with long hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

I voted no because there was no it depends on the woman option and only certain women can pull off looking good with short hair but they can look stunning, but in general most girls look better with longer hair (in my opinion).

By the way how short are we talking?

Sinead O Connor short or Sarah Harding from girls allowed short?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭TMoreno

It does not depend on the woman. If she cuts her hair for herself because she likes it that way or because it's practical, fair enough, but she must realizes that she's not going to increase her attractiveness.
    If a woman wants to please her husband or her boyfriend and make him happy she should keep her hair long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭Recon

Short hair and glasses can look really sexy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

Tago Mago wrote: »
    I will say one thing though; even in cases where a female looks sexy with short hair, she almost always looks sexier again with long hair

I REALLY agree with this onel; a good example of this is the HIGHLY typical scene in many movies with the "dorky" girl with her hair in a bun and glasses.. but WAIT, she lets down the hair and takes of the glasses and instant goddess! I know it's hackneyed & girls with short hair certainly can look REALLY hot (hell there Halle ;) ) but yeah, long is generally a bit better :)

TMoreno wrote: »
    What do you think?
    It does not depend on the woman. If she cuts her hair for herself because she likes it that way or because it's practical, fair enough, but she must realizes that she's not going to increase her attractiveness.
    If a woman wants to please her husband or her boyfriend and make him happy she should keep her hair long.

What’s the point in asking for someone’s opinion and then just saying they are wrong if they don’t agree with yours?

I think short hair makes some women look better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭bush Baby

Ladies, if any girlfriend suggest you would look well with your hair shorter all they are trying to do is "remove the competition". FACT

Short hair is not attractive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭TMoreno

Doc wrote: »
    What’s the point in asking for someone’s opinion and then just saying they are wrong if they don’t agree with yours?

I think short hair makes some women look better.
    My point is about sensuality and how to look more sexy in front of somebody you care of and how turning a man on or turning him off. I don't want to insult or offend anyone ;).
    It's just that all the arguments in favour of short hair are practical or personal. I respect them and I understand them but they do not explain why short hair is sexy or more attractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭oztots

Anybody ever see Sinead O'Connor with longer hair, shes mad hot, when i say longer hair, its would still be considered short, just not near bald like normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭big_show

Daphne from Heroes FTW! (short Hair) :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

People always cite Halle Berry in this debate, no doubt she is hot BUT I suspect she keeps it short out of neccessity rather than preference.

She is mixed race and looks to have fine hair so any time you see her with long hair its a weave which is painfully itchy and very bad for the scalp.

Shes nice enough with short hair but with long hair she'd probably be a 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 nickname

Voted yes cos I'm a girl with short hair..and I love it! I feel feminine and I think I look better with short hair I feel more confident and happy about my appearance, I have a smallish face and if I have long hair it just swamps it and looks kinda scruffy tbh.

OP can I just ask you one thing....what do you find attractive about long hair? In what way is it more sexy and appealling to you than short hair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

how short is short?

I don't think girls with shorter hair are less attractive. Or do you mean really short, like with a fringe and stuff?

then, yeah i'd immediately think dyke (hypocritical coz i'm a guy with long hair but there ya go).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

It depends on the woman and the hair, but I dont mind short hair on a woman. I dont prefer it, but as long as they're not fat or ugly it doesnt matter.

My point is about sensuality and how to look more sexy in front of somebody you care of and how turning a man on or turning him off. I don't want to insult or offend anyone ;).
    It's just that all the arguments in favour of short hair are practical or personal. I respect them and I understand them but they do not explain why short hair is sexy or more attractive.

But the same can be said for long hair. Can you explain why long hair is sexy more attractive?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Can you explain why long hair is sexy more attractive?

Cos I said so, now shut up and eat your dinner :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

But the same can be said for long hair. Can you explain why long hair is sexy more attractive?

Cause it's more feminine than bloke/dyke hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

From my own experience my ex of eight years had short black hair and she was a total damp squib in bed. Recently I have hooked up with a chick with long curly brown hair and she literally begs me to pull her hair when I am riding her.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I like a bit of long hair.

Its something to hold on to and pull ...and she screams a little bit louder while we bronco! :D

dSTAR wrote: »
    I have hooked up with a chick with long curly brown hair and she literally begs me to pull her hair when I am riding her.

ROFLMFAO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Unless the girl has a certain gamine / pixie look to her face, she can pull it off.

In general though, women look better with long hair.