Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If someone is taller than you, do you ever....

• 10-12-2008 5:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭

.....make yourself taller to match them?

A few hours ago, I was in Stephens Green shopping centre, and I passed a tall, blond girl who cleared my 6'4'' by at least an inch - no heels (to avoid the inevitable "was she hot" query - her nose kept her from being pretty, but she had high cheekbones and a nice, slim body, so she was a pleasant armful:rolleyes:), and I suddenly noticed that I was trying to make myself taller. I had straightened my posture, and was holding myself as straight as I could.
    I'd never noticed myself do that before.

It could be because it was a woman (I can remember every woman who has been taller than me, it's so rare for me to meet one), or it could just be that I do this with everyone taller than me and I just never noticed. It could just be that because I'm tall it subconsciously feels weird to have someone taller.

So. Has anyone else noticed themselves do this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I'm 5'4". Everyone is taller than me. I'm 26 today and there are 10 year olds I look up today. Tis a sad state of affairs. But nah, I became comfortable with my height a long time ago. I think us little people make up for it with a loud personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Im 6'4

Your gheyness is annoying me. What the hell were you doing thinking about trying to make yourself taller at that point in time... ???

You should have expended your energy in thinking of ways to tackle that giraffe. Personally if she's a big one, i find a swift ankle tap brings them down where at that point i can use my better ground skills t subdue her and then at that point you can decide what you want to do with your prize.

Instinct normally however takes over at that point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Heh. Yep.

I'm 6' 2" and taller than most, so I sometimes feel intimidated by those taller than me.

I know it's stupid, but I still do the stretch thing.

It's a dream of mine to do a hot chick taller than me.
    I think it's the actual challenge in finding someone that height who I also find attractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

I'd rather be short than tall, unless I was in a fight, can't say I've ever made myself taller as described

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Terry wrote: »
    Heh. Yep.

I'm 6' 2" and taller than most, so I sometimes feel intimidated by those taller than me.

I know it's stupid, but I still do the stretch thing.

I think it's the actual challenge in finding someone that height who I also find attractive.

Same height as you. I once did find a taller than me hot chick. I was 15 though and only 5'10''. Still though. I lived the dream. It was all down hill from there TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Tall girls are hot-pics pls op! And I think I would probably try to adjust my posture in the presence of hot girls rather than in the presence of tall people.

6ft btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭mcdonnst

Im 6ft5..I think... too scared to get it checked prob 6ft6" but i say 6ft5".

Dosent happen much, especially for girls but when it dose yeah, Im like f*** is he taller than me, Ill show him..haha

mcdonnst wrote: »
    Im 6ft5..I think... too scared to get it checked prob 6ft6" but i say 6ft5".

Dosent happen much, especially for girls but when it dose yeah, Im like f*** is he taller than me, Ill show him..haha

Are you a woman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

MooseJam wrote: »
    I'd rather be short than tall, unless I was in a fight, can't say I've ever made myself taller as described
    Are you a woman?

snyper wrote: »
    Are you a woman?
    Great minds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

A few hours ago, I was in Stephens Green shopping centre, and I passed a tall, blond girl who cleared my 6'4'' by at least an inch - no heels (to avoid the inevitable "was she hot" query - her nose kept her from being pretty, but she had high cheekbones and a nice, slim body, so she was a pleasant armful:rolleyes:), and I suddenly noticed that I was trying to make myself taller. I had straightened my posture, and was holding myself as straight as I could.

It could be because it was a woman (I can remember every woman who has been taller than me, it's so rare for me to meet one), or it could just be that I do this with everyone taller than me and I just never noticed. It could just be that because I'm tall it subconsciously feels weird to have someone taller.

Someone taller than you...?

Dear God the apocalypse is nigh!

*runs and hides*

Great minds.

i wouldnt use the term "great" but there is certainly some thing there :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Great minds.
    What? Where? Who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Cherryvega

I'm 6ft, and I'm taller than most girls I hang out with and I always wanna be taller! :D

A lot of tall lads I know are the total opposite, especially if we're out in clubs. They tend to hunch over a bit more to look shorter, do tall guys feel like they need to make themselves look less tall around short guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

Im 5.8.

And yes. All the time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

you were just horny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Terry wrote: »

Off to the Netherlands with you ..

http://www.wisegeek.com/which-country-has-the-tallest-people.htm

Personally, I'm 186 cm (6"1" and a half) and I don't like being at eye level with women, never mind looking up ...makes me scared :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

(to avoid the inevitable "was she hot" query - her nose kept her from being pretty, but she had high cheekbones and a nice, slim body, so she was a pleasant armful:rolleyes:

Did she have big tits?

My brother hates the fact that I am taller than him and stands on his toes when we stand side by side in an attempt to seem taller than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

On the flip side, there's a really short woman across the road from me and whenever I walk by her, I feel like a giant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

dlofnep wrote: »
    I'm 5'4". Everyone is taller than me. I'm 26 today and there are 10 year olds I look up today. Tis a sad state of affairs. But nah, I became comfortable with my height a long time ago. I think us little people make up for it with a loud personality.

Amen bro.

Oh, and ah, happy birthday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Terodil

The amount of people posting in this thread that claim to exceed 6ft in body height is simply astounding.

Ah right. It's the internet.

... which also answers the other question: No, he's not a woman, there are no women on the net.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭FranchisePlayer

well i am myself 6'2 and still in secondary and the average height of my friends is 6'3 ha so i one of the smallest there we all big feckers.. and yeah lad in my school 6'7 and yeah i do the stretch thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

I'm 6ft, and I've never felt the need to try and make myself taller. My brother who's a year and a half younger than me(not shenanigans1982) is about 2 inches taller than me, which annoys the fook outta me.
    I have a friend whos abour 5'6", and if whenever theres a group of people standin around chatting, he stands on his toes. He's taller than a fair few of the girls he'd know, so that isn't really the reason, but I think he picked up the habit going to an all lads school.We were all taller than him. Poor guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

At 5'6 I think I'd break me back trying :) I used to hate being short but now love it. Like Terry I have a fascination with being with a taller woman at times but it's much easier for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

I'd feel weird with a girl taller than me. Like Tom Cruise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I'm 6ft and when I'm in the company of smaller people, I tend to stoop and hunch a bit, when I'm in the company of tall people, I stand up straight.

Only noticed this recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭In$omniac

:eek: Where the hell are all ye 6footer guys hiding??
    I hate my height :( at 5 9" I never seem to meet tall guys, but have never found myself crouching down to make myself smaller!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Why are people so concerned with height. We all know its penis size that matters. I'm 6ft* anyway

*penis size!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Why are people so concerned with height. We all know its penis size that matters. I'm 6ft* anyway

*penis size!

pfft all about girth.

ShooterSF wrote: »
    pfft all about girth.

It's got a 36 inch diameter, so girth is okay.
    Sometimes I dress it up and pretend its Sean Connery (its the image of him!!)

*penis size!

6ft penis! Jaysus!

it really puts my 14" to shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

I am disappointed in my height. I feel about 5'9". I'm a very mundane 5'5" really. It always surprises me that I'm not, in fact, tall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

6ft penis! Jaysus!

it really puts my 14" to shame.

Its not really 6ft, he's just confused from constantly banging his head in doorways.

Whut? No I didnt. You lie....get back

~~~LIGHTNING BOLT~~~

That'll teach you

/runs away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Just simple body reaction Min; you were attracted to her, so you instinctively sucked in your gut and pruned your feathers a bit. we all do it even if we dont notice at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

I do this when I pass women (It hurts when they come out sideways). It does not matter if they are taller or shorter than me. But then again, I don't normally meet that many people who are taller than me.

Terodil wrote: »
    The amount of people posting in this thread that claim to exceed 6ft in body height is simply astounding.

Ah right. It's the internet.

... which also answers the other question: No, he's not a woman, there are no women on the net.
    Actually this thread would be biased towards tall respondants, so it's not astounding that most people here are tall.
    Tall girls are hot-pics pls op! And I think I would probably try to adjust my posture in the presence of hot girls rather than in the presence of tall people.

6ft btw.
    Tall girls are indeed incredibly hot - but I've no idea why.
    They just are.
    In$omniac wrote: »
    :eek: Where the hell are all ye 6footer guys hiding??
    I hate my height :( at 5 9" I never seem to meet tall guys, but have never found myself crouching down to make myself smaller!
    Height is good on a girl (but there is also something to be said for tiny girls too).

oeb wrote: »
    I do this when I pass women (It hurts when they come out sideways). It does not matter if they are taller or shorter than me. But then again, I don't normally meet that many people who are taller than me.
    :confused:What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

Tall girls are indeed incredibly hot - but I've no idea why.

Is it cause you are short and can see up their skirts?

Also, am I being too subtle again?

:oSorry, just got it now.
    I had constructed an elaborate scenario in my head where a tall girl in the street having to pass between you and the wall, turned sideways, smacking you with her boobs.
    :o

Also, my height is in the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭SarcasticFairy

I'm short! And absolutely tiny in comparison to some of the people in this thread :O I'm only 5'3'', and would look like a dwarf next to most of you lot. I gave up a long time ago trying to look tall in any situation - the only thing that works is very high heels, and I cba to go around in heels the whole time. I just accepted the fact I'm short! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

It would be pointless for me to try and be taller whenever there were people taller than me around, I'd be standing on tip-toes all day. Yeah, I'm really short.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

I'm 6'2", I've noticed the very odd time when taller chicks have passed me I'd less manly somehow. Being out-talled by a woman. So I'd do the whole making-myself-taller thing.

I don't get the whole tall chick fantasy though. Short cute women ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Parsley wrote: »
    I don't get the whole tall chick fantasy though.

Tsk, you don't?:eek: With a 5 10 or 5 11 woman, there is alot more for me!:pac:

I'm around the 6 feet mark, and totally improve my posture when with taller people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's got a 36 inch diameter, so girth is okay.
    Sometimes I dress it up and pretend its Sean Connery (its the image of him!!)
    Your going to make a humpback whale very happy someday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Your gheyness is annoying me. What the hell were you doing thinking about trying to make yourself taller at that point in time... ???

You should have expended your energy in thinking of ways to tackle that giraffe. Personally if she's a big one, i find a swift ankle tap brings them down where at that point i can use my better ground skills t subdue her and then at that point you can decide what you want to do with your prize.

You know Im actually looking foward to you being mod of the LL for a day, I think you will educate yourself a lot about women. Firstly we are not 'prizes' and secondly tall women are not 'giraffes'! :pac:

To Op's question,cant say I've ever tried to make myself taller. Infact I think Im getting a hunchback from trying to look littler all the time.I hate being tall,it rules out 90% of the male population as most short/average height guys wont touch a women over 6' .

panda100 wrote: »
    You know Im actually looking foward to you being mod of the LL for a day, I think you will educate yourself a lot about women. Firstly we are not 'prizes' and secondly tall women are not 'giraffes'! :pac:

To Op's question,cant say I've ever tried to make myself taller. Infact I think Im getting a hunchback from trying to look littler all the time.I hate being tall,it rules out 90% of the male population as most short/average height guys wont touch a women over 6' .

My cousin is taller than her husband and while it looks a little funny, it's not that big a deal. ^^

I quite like tall girls anyway. Taller than the OP would be scary though, cos he's a big boy. :pac:

I just have this image of you beside this blond giant, looking vaugely henpecked.

Hahaha.

It's me, dude. I'm easily bored/distracted, such things tend not to last. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

I'm only 5' 10" but i find myself hunching more often than straightening up.

*shrugs*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

panda100 wrote: »
    most short/average height guys wont touch a women over 6' .

Ah well theres always Tom Cruise,
    or you can try these guys
    http://hubpages.com/hub/shortman