Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pork is FINE

• 10-12-2008 5:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭

Sorry if there's already a thread about this/wrong forum/whatnot... but...
    RTE News wrote:
    Irish pork is safe to eat, says EFSA

Wednesday, 10 December 2008 14:38

The European Food Safety Authority has concluded that there is little concern for human health arising from the discovery of dioxin in some Irish pork.

The authority said that if someone ate an average amount of Irish pork each day during the 90-day period of contamination, 10% of which was contaminated at the highest recorded concentration of dioxins, there would be no concern for personal health.

It said that in a very extreme case if someone ate a large amount of Irish pork every day, that while the acceptable weekly intake would be considerably undermined, this would not necessarily lead to adverse health effects.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/1210/pork.html

And after everyone throwing it all out and all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

People threw out their pork. Now they will go out and buy more. Clever government :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

No, that report is a lie. All pork is contaminated and even if you eat a tiny piece you will die.
    Any pork products you have in your house, send them to me and I will dispose of them properly.

PM me for address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

Pork is NOT safe to eat.

My sister's friend knew a guy who tried to eat a hotdog, but there was a razer blade in it and he cut off his tongue and choked on his own blood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

I used to try and defend them, I really did...but how can this govt steer us through an economic crisis when the can't even look after our feckin' sausages.

Let's get them out. We're so docile....bit more 'Greek' spirit. That's what we need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

I believe it now the European FSA says it, when our lot were sayin it I was steerin well clear.

All Hail the return of the mighty breakfast roll :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

i haven't been shopping in a couple days, but my bacon stocks are low. byrne's in phibsboro is closed.
    are tesco importing rashers so i can get my bacon fix? it'll only be a couple days before i resort to black market bacon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

There was an excellent cartoon in the Irish Times yesterday on the whole pork issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I am pie wrote: »
    I used to try and defend them, I really did...but how can this govt steer us through an economic crisis when the can't even look after our feckin' sausages.

Let's get them out. We're so docile....bit more 'Greek' spirit. That's what we need.

I agree, give this government THE CHOP :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I gave my wife a pork last night. The look on her face told me she still likes it!

Lucky me! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Ah, the EFSA save our bacon yet again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Pork is a major contributor to global warming.. We must kill all pigs!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

The EFSA could be telling porkies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Nonsense.

Why would our government waste millions of euros with a product recall if they weren't 100% sure that it wasn't going to kill and maim us all?

This is all a huge plot by Brussels to kill us off before we can vote No to Lisbon again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Wertz wrote: »
    Nonsense.

Why would our government waste millions of euros with a product recall if they weren't 100% sure that it wasn't going to kill and maim us all?

This is all a huge plot by Brussels to kill us off before we can vote No to Lisbon again.

Reckon you're on the pigs back with that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

:confused: Everyone does realise that we knew that there was never any danger?

Even when the story first broke, it said that there wasn't going to be any health damage. We knew the pork wasn't poisonous already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

I think the EU saved our bacon on this one.

The 6 news is on about winning back consumer confidence.
    Hell, the farmers never lost it with me.
    If anything, its just made me buy more Irish meat. Go farmers, stick it to the governement!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

Verb wrote: »

Aye, after they said "No".
    More like they want to fry our bacon ass. I wonder why!
    "European Union" - two more curse words for an updated dictionary somewhere! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Verb wrote: »
    They're where a tad late, hundreds have already lost their jobs and many more could go with them if the farms can't recover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

ScumLord wrote: »
    They're where a tad late, hundreds have already lost their jobs and many more could go with them if the farms can't recover.

That will hardly be the fault of the EU though...more so the complete over reaction by our own government and the bodies charged by them.
    I know it's a case of "damned if you do damned if you don't" but after having let 3 months pass, a few more days to institute a properly structured recall targetting the 10% of affected meat using their much lauded track and trace systems, instead of the frenzy we saw on saturday and the resulting damage to the brand abroad and domestic job losses, would have been a lot more useful to everyone, consumers included.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭galwayguy22

Put pork into google news and you'll see what a mess this is.

For example China have effectively banned Irish pork, with 300 tonnes in "quarantined" at various ports.

Why are the people with power in this country so incompetent?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

More PCB has been found in breastmilk than was found in that pork. Still though I suppose if there are rules governing this kind of thing then they ought to be followed, if just to be on the safe side. Though the amount of people getting worked up about this ****e is feckin stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Bought some rashers a few minutes ago. Yay.

Irish ones too.

Told the mother to keep what pork she had in the freezer and not to throw it out a few days ago.

It's still there now but she's not keen on eating it now, the fecking ejit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

biggest marketing scam EVAR.

all xmas shoppers and general shoppers have thrown aou all their pre xmas hams etc.

now theyre okay.

go buy them again shoppers! $$$ :D $$$

recesion....bah....

well beat it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

I be a thinking that this whole rotten mess is the fault (yet again) of our present incompetent government. If we had of had the ability ourselves in this country to carry out the tests and not to send samples to the UK to be tested, this whole mess could of been contained in our own country and dealt with in a more controlled manner.

As it stands now, the Irish pork industry has been destroyed worldwide and probably never will recover from the damage that has been done.

You can blame anyone you like but plain and simple the finger of blame lies with our incompetent government ministers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭hot2def

what is everyone going on about?

The pork was NOT fine - it was contaminated with cancer causing agents.

Now, perhaps you can/will get away with eating it for a finite length of time - but surely you are not suggesting that they should have let it slip and allowed everyone to continue eating it anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Niall09

Varkov wrote: »
    Pork is NOT safe to eat.

My sister's friend knew a guy who tried to eat a hotdog, but there was a razer blade in it and he cut off his tongue and choked on his own blood.

Pics or..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

hot2def wrote: »
    what is everyone going on about?

The pork was NOT fine - it was contaminated with cancer causing agents.

Now, perhaps you can/will get away with eating it for a finite length of time - but surely you are not suggesting that they should have let it slip and allowed everyone to continue eating it anyway?

you'd have to be eating the infected pork every day for a few years to cause illness.

most pork in the country wasn't even from an infected farm.

anyone with an ounce of cop on didn't throw out their pork, and kept on eating it.

this was posted several times even here in between the OTT hysteria.

the government shouldn't have said anything, and the media should have acted a little more responsibly, and actually investigated WTF they were talking about.

instead, lots of people are out of jobs, and lots of people, from shopowners to consumers, are out of pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I didnt. I'm not stupid. In fact I had a pork chop for dinner last night and I have another for tonigit.

What should they have done? The Belgians did nothign when the same happened to them and there was uproar. Our government did the opposite and there was uproar. :confused
    dlofnep wrote: »
    Pork is a major contributor to global warming.. We must kill all pigs!

I'm doing my bit, but in fairness I think I eat far too much as it is.:)

For example China have effectively banned Irish pork, with 300 tonnes in "quarantined" at various ports.

They have a neck to be banning anything with the record they have for poisonign people. Not to mention any of their other indicretions

you can't seriously think it would be ok for a government (any government) to take it upon themselves to keep quiet about a contaminant in food that was in levels that breached safety guidelines?

if you think our exports are screwed now, imagine what would happen to *all* our food exports if we were caught doing that.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

hot2def wrote: »
    you can't seriously think it would be ok for a government (any government) to take it upon themselves to keep quiet about a contaminant in food that was in levels that breached safety guidelines?

if you think our exports are screwed now, imagine what would happen to *all* our food exports if we were caught doing that.

well look at it this way, they caused uproar by telling us it was contaminated and a risk, then a week later the eu fsa says its fine..

Go figure.

6 Billion worth of damage done to the pig industry / general economy I read somewhere.

Most countries over throw incompetent and corrupt governments.

In recent times, i.e last 20 years or so, the majority of our elected governments have been incompetent and/or corrupt.

The apathy of the Irish people is laughable. Apathy stretching back hundreds of years, we only gained independence because a tiny few fought for what they believed in, while the rest of the country sat back and moaned about them for it.

Sure we'll all go for a few pints and it'll be alright in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

They can't even look after our feckin' sausages.

By the looks of things, Mary Harney had no problem taking care of the sausage(s) :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

My girlfriend won't give me a BJ because "all Irish sausages are contaminated" She's not Irish. This is bollox, the minister better sort this crap out pretty soon... :(

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    well look at it this way, they caused uproar by telling us it was contaminated and a risk, then a week later the eu fsa says its fine..

Go figure.

they didn't say it was fine to eat or to export. They merely said it was a very low risk.

I'm not saying anything will happen to anybody, I'm just pointing out that taking contaminated food out of production is a reasonalbe step.

there is something tremendously Irish about this thread. "Feckin eejits - can't believe they stopped us eating food that was in breach of safety standards. What are they doin?"

This thread would be virtualy identical if they had said nothing and were caught out later. "Feckin eejits - can't believe they were letting us eat food that was in breach of safety standards. What are they doin?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

CT? Of course!

The money which will be used to 'clean' up this mess will come from the EU. Conviently that they will be helping us just as they would like us to help them (Lisbon II; Back with a Vengance). It almost seems too good to be true for the pro-Lisbonians (I'm not taking sides here btw) to have us by the town halls. Thus Brian Cowen will be able to bring home the bacon and have Lisbon ratified. The forthcoming publicity campaign will use wording of a sort of 'you scratch my back . . . ' nature.

If the bible has thought us anything, and it hasn't, it is that women should stick to women's sports such as hot oil wrestling and beach voleyball

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Here's another pig farm that needs more quality control....

Is it just me or do all of those people look a bit strange, a bit off, not the full shilling type thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Is it just me or do all of those people look a bit strange, a bit off, not the full shilling type thing?
    Check out the guy in the centre.

All those girls around him and he's staring at the instructor, as if to say "I want yer bollix"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

god most gardai are hounds, bottom right tho, giggidy

EDIT: few scoops in me, may end up re-editing in the morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 SilkySmooth

It was a case of act now, think later. Or panic now, think later. i threw out a load of sausages and rashers, I'll have to have a mega-fry to make up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Or a case of "we have incredibly stringent food controls, we have to abide by them, because the backlash from the export market, WHICH IS WHERE A LOT OF OUR PORK GOES, would be huge."

Or would that be silly - thinking of exports that are essentially guaranteed, in the middle of a recession. No?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 SilkySmooth

Or a case of "we have incredibly stringent food controls, we have to abide by them, because the backlash from the export market, WHICH IS WHERE A LOT OF OUR PORK GOES, would be huge."

Or would that be silly - thinking of exports that are essentially guaranteed, in the middle of a recession. No?

The panic caused a lot of other countries to ban our pork. No need to have told us to destroy the whole lot like that. It was a bit silly really, especilly because people lost their jobs over it, in the processing plants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭SAVE_ME.222

Stekelly wrote: »
    I didnt. I'm not stupid. In fact I had a pork chop for dinner last night and I have another for tonigit.

You're not stupid.. but neither are the people who threw out what, €10 worth of rashers so they don't risk consuming 200 times the safe level of PCBs. Albeit short term consumption, the statistical link between PCBs and certain types of cancer exists but is not fully understood yet. Small amounts could just as equally cause cancer as large amounts. It is not known yet.
    They have a neck to be banning anything with the record they have for poisonign people. Not to mention any of their other indicretions

Yeah, God almighty. Banning a highly toxic carcinogen substance from human consumption. The cheek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

That ban will last an incredibly short period of time, simply due to the fact that there are very few countries that actually export pork in the world. Most have a major defecit when it comes to home grown production.

They did essentially the correct thing - they acted within the guidelines that were set down. We destroy food that is out of date, despite the fact that in most cases it can be perfectly fine, and yet? Oh wait, I forgot, people <3 complaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Sorry if there's already a thread about this/wrong forum/whatnot... but...

Who threw out their pork??? Idiots.
    Went into Londis earlier this evening and asked if they had any pork products - I genuinely had a craving for a bit of ham and they looked at me as if I had three heads - they didn't have any pork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Who threw out their pork??? Idiots.
    Went into Londis earlier this evening and asked if they had any pork products - I genuinely had a craving for a bit of ham and they looked at me as if I had three heads - they didn't have any pork.

You went into Londis and said "Do you have any pork products"? That alone is reason for someone to look at you like you're a loon. Also the fact that pork was recently recalled etc. You're calling others idiots? Ha.

Are you truly stupid, or did you think that your particular Londis might have gone rogue, and decided to sell some pork products on the sly? What do you think might have happened there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Dr. Loon wrote: »
    You went into Londis and said "Do you have any pork products"? That alone is reason for someone to look at you like you're a loon. Also the fact that pork was recently recalled etc. You're calling others idiots? Ha.

Are you truly stupid, or did you think that your particular Londis might have gone rogue, and decided to sell some pork products on the sly? What do you think might have happened there?

:eek: Pork was recently recalled? Really?
    I just thought everywhere was sold out - hence the asking.
    Wow. Egg and my face are in allignment.
    OMG, thank you so much Dr. Loon for informing me that Pork was re-called before I made more of a fool of myself. I don't know what I'd have done, if it wasn't for your revelation. Wow, you're a true hero. Thank you ever so much, for keeping me informed. I don't suppose you know whether McCain or Obama won the election, do you? :rolleyes: