Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GOAL Mile

• 09-12-2008 10:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

Hi

I haven't run a GOAL mile in a few years but I remember that there used be races every 10 mins or so, with an elite race at midday or so. Do they still hold the elite race or do they have any races where runners could aim for a fast race - can anyone help/let me know???

Thanks folks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Not sure if you're specifically looking for an elite race, but here's the list of venues with dates and times: Goal Mile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 nudjte

Thanks Krusty. I'm just looking to get a fast run in - an elite race might be a bit out my league!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

I was going to ask the same question.

I want to get an official time for the mile to help me set my goals for next year...thing is it wont be fast and will be likely over 6 minutes and there are not a lot of opportunities for people of my speed to run an official mile, I was just wondering is the goal mile a good place to set such a time or is it very family orientated with loads of people on the track at all times walking?

I realise the focus of the event is not time and thats fine (I think its a great event), just wondering if it will be a good opportunity to see how fast I can run a mile?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭VR46

Babybing you would prob be better off just going to the track on your own and running a time trial.
    I head down to UCD every year. They tell walkers to stick to the outside lanes but with over 100 people running each mile you'll be weaving in an out of the buggies and allsorts by the 2nd lap. Last year I was nearly taken out of it by a kid on a unicycle!
    But if you dont mind zig-zaging through the crowds theres usually a few people in each race that run under 6minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

I've been to the Goal Mile in Tullamore a few times (though not in the last few years). The winning times seem to be between 4:30 and 5:00 and the race doesn't be too crowded. So that might suit you. It'll probably be cold but there's not much they can do about that.

Thanks cfitz - Tullamore sounds ideal for the type of race I am looking for.........except I am in Dublin and Christmas isn't the day to be traveling to races. I'd be shot!!

Maybe Belfield will host a faster race - fingers crossed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

nudjte wrote: »
    Thanks cfitz - Tullamore sounds ideal for the type of race I am looking for.........except I am in Dublin and Christmas isn't the day to be traveling to races. I'd be shot!!

Try Lucan. Less crowded than UCD. The track is shale but it's ok to run on. My sons have run 4:44 and 6:04 there in recent years. There's always a few runners in or around the 5-6 minute mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

nudjte wrote: »

If you're going to Belfield then make sure to run in one of the first two runs - so be there before 9 o'clock. Any later and there'll be hundreds on the track and you'll just be jogging.

I went there two years ago and I wouldn't call it a race by any stretch of the imagination. I went in the first one and the first guy finished in about 5 minutes. The second one had a faster guy running by himself in about 4.45. After that there wouldn't have been any fast times as the track was jammed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

I see there is one in Malahide must be on the trail in the park, Might be able to sneek out for that one, but depends...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

The Goal Mile in Tallaght is on the newly laid tartan track and from speaking to people i know atleast 8-10 lads who are sub five min runners if that will help you to a fast time these will most likely be put in seperate race as many looking for a good time themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

A money spinner no doubt!

ecoli wrote: »
    The Goal Mile in Tallaght is on the newly laid tartan track and from speaking to people i know atleast 8-10 lads who are sub five min runners if that will help you to a fast time these will most likely be put in seperate race as many looking for a good time themselves

Thansk ecoli - that sounds like pretty much what I was looking for.

Enjoy the holidays.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Domer

There is also going to be the first ever Goal Mile in Monaghan Town on St. Stephens Day at noon in Beach Hill College Track. We are planning to have two runs. One at noon for the walkers / Joggers, then a race immediately afterwards for the runners hoping to run sub 6 mins.

Please come support it if you are nearby.

Domer.