Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oh christ, you're pullin the piss!

• 08-12-2008 2:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭

I was in the examination hall for the pharmacogy exam today, the most important exam of the term. I was fully prepared, with a biro, student card, ruler etc.

The exam starts officially and silence descends.And I notice that my pen (typical transparent Bic) has the whole column of ink empty- nothing to be seen. I nearly pass out-borrowing is not permitted.

But the pen worked fine. It lasted the entire exam, and only stopped when I was doodling a picture of Desperate Dan on the back of a sheet.

Anyone else have a ridiculously close call (not necessarily just exams)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

You brought one pen to your exam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

javaboy wrote: »

Yeah that's pretty extreme. You're an exam adrenaline junky, as if the test itself wasn't bad enough you brought one empty pen to keep things interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

That is pretty hardcore. Respec'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

One time I almost stayed until the end of an exam :eek:

They don't let you leave in the last half hour so it was a mad dash to get it done before then. Just made it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

What's the problem?

You could of just stabbed yourself in the other arm or in the leg and then written the exam in your own blood?

I went in and sat the honours leaving cert physics paper ... I never studied physics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Desperate Dan? Still livin in the 80's eh?

You should be doodling Desperate Housewives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

6th wrote: »
    I went in and sat the honours leaving cert physics paper ... I never studied physics.

How'd you get on in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Smart Bug wrote: »
    How'd you get on in it?

Yeah, how'd you do? Don't you have to register by the end of Feb?

I could call upon an example referring to the withdrawal method and yore ma but then I'd have to eat my own words.

Whoops. :pac:

During our french exams in the Junior Cert (way back when) we had dictionaries stashed behind the heaters.

Think I still failed. Fuppin french.

Fizman wrote: »
    You should be diddling Desperate Housewives.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

I always do, it's probably not the best of habits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

So how exactly was Christ pulling the piss out of you anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

I did my Inter Cert in crayons, not just the art exams but the whole lot, everything was done in crayons. I even mixed up the colours at times for added effect.

That's actually a true story, I failed almost everything and got a C+ in art.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Nehaxak wrote: »
    I did my Inter Cert in crayons, not just the art exams but the whole lot, everything was done in crayons. I even mixed up the colours at times for added effect.

Inter Cert?! Ya big oul fella! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I did my inter cert woodwork practical in blood. Ha!

Seriously, I cut myself with four different tools during the exam and the wood ended up covered in blood.

I failed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

I did an Electronics exam in college. Everything went well and I thought I did pretty good, until I got the results of it back...turns out I got Hepatitis :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Terry wrote: »

Seriously, I cut myself with four different tools during the exam and the wood ended up covered in blood.

I failed.

Ah the Jackson Pollock approach to woodworking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Terry wrote: »

I failed.

Blood on your wood? :eek:

I got an F but all I had was half a ruler, a pen and a pencil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

At least you tried...

Smart Bug wrote: »
    At least you tried...

Well I was waiting around for some mates who were sitting the paper so it killed some time.

Oh and it was an E I got ... not an F.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

During my final year Jurisprudence exam in law, I had one black biro which leaked for the entire exam..so the page had black ink blotches everywhere and my hand was ruined...no idea how it was corrected as I had difficulty reading it...in fact I failed the exam and only my essays during the year got me the final 48% in think.

Also remember forgetting to bring my calculator into a Leaving Cert physics exam and had to use someone else and I cldnt fgure out half the buttons..but got on grand in the end after the sickening feeling left my stomach and my hand stopped shaking...:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I was in the examination hall for the pharmacogy exam today, the most important exam of the term. I was fully prepared, with a biro, student card, ruler etc.

The exam starts officially and silence descends.And I notice that my pen (typical transparent Bic) has the whole column of ink empty- nothing to be seen. I nearly pass out-borrowing is not permitted.

But the pen worked fine. It lasted the entire exam, and only stopped when I was doodling a picture of Desperate Dan on the back of a sheet.

Not sure of the purpose of this thread,but I was in an big office block and was bursting for a crap,first two inches cold situation.
    Spotted a ladies on a landing and took a chance,in to the stall and unloaded violently.
    Almost finished when heard the click clack of high heels,door opening, stall door locking,thwack of elastic being removed and a rasper of a fart followed by a sciud of piss.:eek::eek:

jaysus... stayed as still as poss ,heard door opening taps on, clack clack, out.

make a break son now... clack clack again,sit tight, soon as stall door locked out like a ferrett and no-one the wiser.

Whew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭im...LOST

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    What's the problem?

You could of just stabbed yourself in the other arm or in the leg and then written the exam in your own blood?

Most exams state that they should be completed in blue or black ink though. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Forgot to bring a calculator to my leaving cert maths exam. Thankfully there was one girl in the class who was horribly over prepared and had brought two calculators with her so I robbed her spare one :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Forgot to bring a calculator to my leaving cert maths exam. Thankfully there was one girl in the class who was horribly over prepared and had brought two calculators with her so I robbed her spare one :)

Theif!!!! How funny would it have been if her calculator died during the exam and you were all like "No, this is mine. Go away" and then she failed and ended up having a nervous breakdown and running away to live in a supply closet with 47 cats and 47 dogs (all of whom are married to each other) and then she would write a novel about her harrowing experiences which gets published and then wins a Nobel prize. God, the look on your face if that happened!

She was a right kunt it would've been funnier. No actually she was lovely, I miss her. Still have the calculator. Also got an A in maths.*

*pass maths ahem

i've walked into exams before and just got everything i needed of the invigilator at the top.. so handy if the exam isn't in the actual college

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

i've walked into exams before and just got everything i needed of the invigilator at the top.. so handy if the exam isn't in the actual college

I had to google what an invigilator was, wtf man stop with the weird words, first footpads and now this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

She was a right kunt it would've been funnier. No actually she was lovely, I miss her. Still have the calculator. Also got an A in maths.*

*pass maths ahem

I miss you too, but I miss my spare calculator more :(

Thoie wrote: »
    I miss you too, but I miss my spare calculator more :(

You type real well for a dead person :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭HPT

And the prize for the most entertaining off-topic response goes too....
    Not sure of the purpose of this thread,but I was in an big office block and was bursting for a crap,first two inches cold situation.
    Spotted a ladies on a landing and took a chance,in to the stall and unloaded violently.
    Almost finished when heard the click clack of high heels,door opening, stall door locking,thwack of elastic being removed and a rasper of a fart followed by a sciud of piss.:eek::eek:

jaysus... stayed as still as poss ,heard door opening taps on, clack clack, out.

make a break son now... clack clack again,sit tight, soon as stall door locked out like a ferrett and no-one the wiser.

Whew.

I went into an exam totally starving once. My stomach was rumbling the whole time. I got a few funny looks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Its the academic equivalent to a 'danger ****'.

If you pull it off, you are buzzing with adrenaline. If you don't, well lets just say your parents will never look at their little boy the same again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

I remember once, in secondary school, in a german exam the teacher thought I was cheating off the guy next to me...
    He took my exam script from me and told me i'd failed for cheating... I insisted that I was innocent but he wouldn't believe me... So he took it off me and put it on his desk...

Later on in the exam he actually looked at what i'd written and realised it was so crap there was no way I could have been cheating so he gave back my papers... Leaving me with out enough time to finish the test.

I should have refused to continue the exam... I was a crap and lazy student but I would rather fail than stupe to cheating.

I continued the exam and guess what... I failed. Would I have failed if I had had the full time for the exam? All signs point to yes.

This teacher really had it in for me, I was a crap student, but this man would mark 'i' without a dot as lowercase 'L' and claim it was a spelling mistake and use this to push me from a D to a fail.

I got a C1 in honours leaving cert. German and instead of saying congratulations he said "I'm suprised you even passed."

The number of times I said, "oh christ, you're pulling the piss" (or words along those lines) in his class must be in the hundreds...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

no, i was the over prepared guy.I generally had 2 rulers,4 blue pens,3 red pens,3 pencils,2 rubbers,3 calculators for maths,food,water etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

I went in horribly underprepared for an exam in 1st year in college; I had only studied one out of a possible six topics that could have come up and I thought I was doomed to failure and an August repeat. Guess which topic came up? :D

mental07 wrote: »
    I went in horribly underprepared for an exam in 1st year in college; I had only studied one out of a possible six topics that could have come up and I thought I was doomed to failure and an August repeat. Guess which topic came up? :D

The one you studied?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Inter Cert?! Ya big oul fella! :p

Shurrup jung fella! Junior Cert me bollix, they dumbed it down for ye...

Pfft, have you never watched McGyver? You could have had an honours degree armed with those miscellaneous items...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

The one you studied?

10/10 !

mental07 wrote: »
    10/10 !

Woohoo! What do I win?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

one pen ?? jesus christ.... Resession hit more then others... :eek:

I had to google what an invigilator was, wtf man stop with the weird words, first footpads and now this.

lol what can i say, it's the words i was reared with..