Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man murdered by youth(s) after home attacked(yes it happened in Ireland)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Pfft eggs...f**cking noobs... Porks where its at these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

seen it on ireland am alright. Some little bastards to do that to the poor man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Kids with guns in this country, you only hear that sh1t happening in the likes of London.

That victim could of been anyone, hands up who has chased youngsters after their home been attacked in the past?

You wouldn't now, fear rules. :mad:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Yes but what will it do to property prices?

Robbo wrote: »
    Yes but what will it do to property prices?

Down further :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Q2002 wrote: »
    Pfft eggs...f**cking noobs... Porks where its at these days
    Good thinking. Thats one way of getting rid of it i suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It appears that the guy knew the kids and had gotten on well with them in the past, but they'd recently had a falling out.

My gut feeling says that it was planned and they were attacking his house so that they could draw him out and shoot him. Whatever you think, teenagers aren't walking around with guns on them as a matter of course. They had that gun for a reason.

seamus wrote: »
    It appears that the guy knew the kids and had gotten on well with them in the past, but they'd recently had a falling out.

My gut feeling says that it was planned and they were attacking his house so that they could draw him out and shoot him. Whatever you think, teenagers aren't walking around with guns on them as a matter of course. They had that gun for a reason.

Hope you're right Seamus. Teenagers shooting people in the manner that was reported has been unheard of in this country till now afaik, hence the shock of this story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭lisbon_lions

Whichever way you look at it, wheter they went out with intention or if they were roaming with a gun looking for mischief - how does a 13 year old get access to a gun?? Thats the real problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Jayzus that's terrible :( He had a son too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

seamus wrote: »

Thats was my first thought when I heard about it (though possibly I just didn't want to consider the idea that every 13 year old scum bag these days is wondering around with a knife or a gun randomly shooting someone at the smallest provocation! :()

It seemed like a classic trap, they provoked him to get him out of the house, they ran away, he chased, when they got to an alley they shot him, rather than a random shooting to do with kids trying to be macho. If it was all about dick swinging they probably wouldn't have run (seemingly only a few of the kids ran, including who ever had the gun), they would have just branded the gun and laughed at him. But then the idea of a group of kids with guns throwing eggs also seemed a bit strange.

I could be wrong, but to me it seems like there is possibly more going on here, it sounds like it could be premeditated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

And all you will hear in the papers is "Tight knit community shocked by mans killing"

When these little scummers probably were harassing him for the last few months.!!!

What were they doing then?
    What were their parents doing?
    Will they co-operate with the investigation,or will they see nothing?

What age was yer man's son? Coulda been the case that they were trying to get HIM to come out, and when the dad came out they sh*t themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭easyontheeye

should there be a local crime forum to discuss this stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Dave! wrote: »
    What age was yer man's son? Coulda been the case that they were trying to get HIM to come out, and when the dad came out they sh*t themselves
    His son is only 7. I doubt they were trying to get him at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

Dave! wrote: »
    Jayzus that's terrible :( He had a son too

the 13 year old or the man who got shot?

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/teen-gunman-shoots-man-dead-outside-his-home-1566878.html
    Local people reported hearing shouts just prior to the shooting on the relatively deserted road.

"He was always fixing cars in the garden. There was a car set on fire in the garden the other night," said one neighbour.

It was also reported that Mr O'Kane's car was pushed from the front of his house in the past by his tormentors.

"He used to fix my car for me. He was lovely," said one local. "I heard he chased them up the lane and he was shot up there.

"He was no trouble. As far as neighbours go, he was grand."

Why were they intimidating him?

I suspect the reaosn, he was a newbie to the area and crucially, actually worked for a living unlike the scum who probably envied someone who worked and contributed good to the community.

They either planned this murder or one of them decided to show bravado to his mates on the spot :mad:

the 13 year old or the man who got shot?
    lol..... the victim

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

some 13 year old is being questioned according to the 10am news

meh, not sure the database on Boards.ie is big enough ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Couldnt believe it when I heard that a 13 years old was getting questioned by police. Wheter this was a planned killing or a spur of the moment thing it beggars believe that group of teenagers think nothing of taking a life.

When I lived in Mulhuddart there was always gangs of scumbags throwing rocks and eggs at the house windows in the area. I chased them myself a few times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Terrible sad news .

Thing is this sort of terrible murder happen frequently in the uk ,good people killed for absolutly nothing by scumbags .Gary Newloves murder springs to mind .He was kicked to death outside his own house in Warrington by a gang of scummers ,one who had only being released on bail the same day for another previous assault. .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭localhothead

gas them , and their parents .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

WHEN this scumbag is found guilty, I would love to see his face like they show it on tv in America - I don't give a frak about his possible appeals afterwards.

These a-holes need to be beaten around the head with a stick every day for six months.
    Knowing thats not going to happen - at the very least, we should stop sticking them into the equivalent of holiday camps with play stations, tv's and pool tables.

Bring back big time hard labour for the little scumbags.

I am a parent of four and I can tell you right now that if just one of my kids EVER go something like this or handle a gun, etc - I will kill the sod before he can possibly do harm to any innocent victims.
    And if he/she has done something already and I get informed so by the Gardi, I want to be left in a room on my own with my child for 30 minutes so I can kick the living crap out of him. I'll put the fear of God, the Gardi and everything so much into them in 30 minutes, I'll make Jack Bauer look like he learned everything from me!

We should stop pissing around and get serious of these teen/adult scumbags!

I'm sick to death of the wuss do-gooders. Stuff them!
    I've got a big stick and by God - I'm not afraid to use it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

What books can be thrown at a 13 year old? A bit of time in St Pats and a pyschological profile?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

mike65 wrote: »
    What books can be thrown at a 13 year old? A bit of time in St Pats and a pyschological profile?
    Take away his wii?

Kid should be made dig the grave with his bare hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

There is a Dublin City forum under "region".

...not when the problem of these little scumbags is one that effects the whole of Ireland and its people/victims! :mad:

Dublin today - your neighbourhood next month maybe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

we're a couple of flaming torches away from vigilante justice. believe me, its only a matter of time.

people are going to take the law into their own hands, its fast becoming the only option

we're a couple of flaming torches away from vigilante justice. believe me, its only a matter of time.

people are going to take the law into their own hands, its fast becoming the only option

It could well go the way of the drug-dealers in the 90's. I.e. the whole community getting together saying a big "GTFO". Don't think we're near a situation like that just yet though. Main problem is the age..If someone of 13-14 did this then he'll be out in 4-5 years and back in the neighbourhood. And an even bigger knacker to boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Or hire Dalton.

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    It could well go the way of the drug-dealers in the 90's. I.e. the whole community getting together saying a big "GTFO". Don't think we're near a situation like that just yet though. Main problem is the age..If someone of 13-14 did this then he'll be out in 4-5 years and back in the neighbourhood. And an even bigger knacker to boot.

...plus they will change his I.D. - look after the family, relocate the lot elsewhere in a new home that is furnished with everything.

What a frakin' system!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I can't wait for all the wooly liberals to step in here and say "But he's a victim of his own environment! The East Wall is a poor area, he was probably never taught right from wrong!".

Such rubbish. No matter how sh*tty your upbringing is, unless you have a really low IQ, you will know inherently that murdering someone is WRONG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

eth0_ wrote: »
    I can't wait for all the wooly liberals to step in here and say "But he's a victim of his own environment! The East Wall is a poor area, he was probably never taught right from wrong!".

Such rubbish. No matter how sh*tty your upbringing is, unless you have a really low IQ, you will know inherently that murdering someone is WRONG.

They will come up with every possible excuse for this piece of human garbage. Liberals and PC brigade card carriers should be made to move into this neighborhood, they would very soon be shouting about super prisons and sterilization..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭gillyfromlyre

Time to start hitting scum in the pocket, no free legal aid, no dole for a few weeks, I don't care if they starve, the laws just inviting scum to commit crime in Ireland, and if they have more than 10 previous convictions lock em away for life doing hard labour.
    Ireland is becoming a really horrible place because of just a few pockets of scum scattered around the country doing what they like with the backing of the law, I'm not blaming the guards, when I say law I mean the laws laid down.
    The only people who seem to be responsible for their actions in this crime haven are the people who generally do their best not to break laws, ie the average working person. If they put as much effort to clamp down on real crime as they do on speed, seatbelts, mobile phones etc it would be great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭kleefarr

Biggins wrote: »
    ...plus they will change his I.D. - look after the family, relocate the lot elsewhere in a new home that is furnished with everything.

What a frakin' system!

And all at the expense of the tax payer. :mad:

Sorry, but I think he deserves to be in front of a firing squad himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

and if they have more than 10 previous convictions lock em away for life doing hard labour.

I think it's a good idea, for certain convicitons, that people be compelled to spend years doing pointless back-breaking work. The rehabilitation approach doesn't seem to work in some cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭merrionsq

I think if I still lived there, this could be the final straw. I couldn't walk by those kids everyday without hating their guts more than anything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭TripleAce

I wonder why I am not even surprised of reading news like this at this stage....a good fascist regime is the answer to the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Biggins wrote: »
    I am a parent of four

You always gave me the impression you were older.

Mairt wrote: »
    You always gave me the impression you were older.
    *BOOM BOOM!*

I'm a "bleeding heart liberal", and I would say that East Wall is a poor area and he probably never was taught right from wrong. I imagine the kid who shot this man is a severely damaged individual, everything from terrible parenting to a bad diet.

I wouldn't say he is a "victim" of his environment though, simply a product of it.

People get too wrapped up in the blame game in these situations. Blaming someone only works if the person cares what they have done and cares that you disapprove. I doubt this child cares. Ultimately blaming him is pointless. It might make you feel better but it doesn't actually do anything. There is no way to force him to feel guilty.

You either stick him in prison forever where he can't harm others, or you try and rehabilitate him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Wicknight wrote: »
    I'm a "bleeding heart liberal", and I would say that East Wall is a poor area and he probably never was taught right from wrong. I imagine the kid who shot this man is a severely damaged individual, everything from terrible parenting to a bad diet.

What makes you say that (a) Eastwall is a poor area and (b) he was never taught right from wrong?

Personally i think the world these children are growing up in is so much more violent than it was years ago when i was 14 and this crime is another extreme example of that mindless violence. I dont think its down to bad parenting, i would say it is more down to the society we now live in where guns and violence are precipitated in every orifice of the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I'm a "bleeding heart liberal", and I would say that East Wall is a poor area and he probably never was taught right from wrong. I imagine the kid who shot this man is a severely damaged individual, everything from terrible parenting to a bad diet. .

There is NO EXCUSE for murder. Absolutely none.

I presume you live in a middle class area where this sort of thing would not occur. I wonder if you would be so tolerant if you were sent to live in East Wall or similar? It's easy to be a liberal when you are cosseted from what you are defending.

The book should be thrown at this little scumbag so that his mates and other wasters in Ireland don't see him get 6 months in juvenile detention and think "Deadly, I can go and murder fellas now and get only 6 months!".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭jane86

I hope the Gardai beat the little cretins. Imagine what these yokes will be like by their 20's :mad:

Killme00 wrote: »
    What makes you say that (a) Eastwall is a poor area and (b) he was never taught right from wrong?

I'm wondering the same thing.

I lived in Eastwall for seven years (Forth Rd to be exact) and I'd consider most residents there to be touching the upper end of working class, and while there's a teenage problem in the area its a tiny minority of the little fvckers - and anyone who is from Eastwall (and there's some in this thread) can throw the name of one family and their friends out as the instigators of the majority of problems in the area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Unfortunately, we need the wooly bleeding-heart liberals in order to counterbalance the raving right-winger fascists who would sell out our liberal democracy in order to gain some percieved 'safety' from the terrible evil which 'lurks all around us'.

There is NO EXCUSE for murder. Absolutely none.
    Brilliant, I'm sure once this kid has that explained to him he will feel really really bad about what he has done and never do anything like this again ...
    The book should be thrown at this little scumbag so that his mates and other wasters in Ireland don't see him get 6 months in juvenile detention and think "Deadly, I can go and murder fellas now and get only 6 months!".

The "book" says that he cannot be held longer than his 18th birthday. So lets send him off to a detention center for 4 years, and when he gets out I'm sure he will be all better, having learned the errors of his ways

You and I both know that won't work.

What makes you say that (a) Eastwall is a poor area and
    The 2006 census
    (b) he was never taught right from wrong?
    What, other than he just shot someone ... ?
    Personally i think the world these children are growing up in is so much more violent than it was years ago when i was 14 and this crime is another extreme example of that mindless violence.
    Unfortunately kids were killing people years ago as well.
    I dont think its down to bad parenting, i would say it is more down to the society we now live in where guns and violence are precipitated in every orifice of the media.
    And they weren't 10, 20, 30 years ago?

I'm still going to go with the parents. There is a clear amount of evidence that disruption at home can lead to criminal behaviour in children, where as there has never been any significant evidence that violence in teh media does

The 2006 census

Linky?.