Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tell me to feck off if u want!!!

• 07-12-2008 3:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭

Hi All, this is my first time posting in the boxing section of Boards and I am looking for some advice. Quick backround, I am 28 and when I was about 16 I did boxing for about 2 years. Now I am at a stage where I would love to get backt to into boxing but feel that most clubs around would rather focus on younger boxers (which is fare enough). So my dilema.. I have a gym kitted out with all the gear and have started sparring with my cousin... problem is I am getting caught much more then I taught I would. I was hoping that if I posted the link up here of us sparring people here could pick apart my performance and help me improve. So if anyone is willing to take the time to watch me sparring let me know and i will post the link, if not I will just feck off. Thanks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

thats a very good idea boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Post the link bobby..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭mits2006

Best of luck with endevour i like ur spunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭bobbyg

Thanks for the good response. Ok here it goes, heres the link, http://ie.youtube.com/user/muckhea I am the bigger guy. Now there is a four stone weight difference but the smaller guy is a weight lifter and has represented Ireland in weight lifting, he is only 60kg but can bench over 100kg so he is a lot stonger then I am. All criticism welcome, except for telling me that I need to improve my fitness because I know that already.

You need to work on your range, basically footwork, keep him out of range using your jab and the footwork-i'd say your cousin would be very easy to beat using a proper jab alone, you dont seem to use the jab at all!

all your cousin is looking to do is land a haymaker right, if he is not in range this will not work for him-simple really..

Hope this helps..

cowzerp wrote: »
    You need to work on your range, basically footwork, keep him out of range using your jab and the footwork-i'd say your cousin would be very easy to beat using a proper jab alone, you dont seem to use the jab at all!

all your cousin is looking to do is land a haymaker right, if he is not in range this will not work for him-simple really..

Hope this helps..

Thanks for the advice. I'm heading the gym tomorrow to do a bit of training for a spar on Wednesday, I will do a lot more work on the bag practicing my jab. The strange to is in my head I know this is what I need to do but once we start sparring it all seems to go out the window. I'm really going to work hard on my jab tomorrow. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

I find it hard to get an idea of who's bigger from looking at a clip, so ill assume your the lad in the blue. Your being hit cause when ye move in ye seem to forget about your defense completely, the guard drops and ye throw wild shots, he tries to avoid and go for the big shot.
    Your right should be touching the face around temple level maybe slightly closer to the right eye and should stay there unless your throwing it, when you throw it it should be straight back. Your left should stay up at the same height and when your properly in your stance there should be no way for a straight shot to get through. They should be close to each other, if your left doesn't block a straight shot the right should without having to move the hands about to block.
    Keep your movements small, like don't be flying in with telegraphed shots, use your jab to keep him away and if it looks like he's going to fly in move rather than getting involved in a brawl, pick your shots concentrating on keeping your gaurd right. When you throw a punch the hand should return to the face including when throwing combinations.
    It's all easier said than done but can be picked up, you'll probably find yourself fighting worse in the begining when your thinking about it all.

Another thing which would be worth practise would be doubling up on your jabs, get in the hang of throwing 2 or 3 in quick succession, i've found it very effective, sometimes they block the first but don't expect the second or if it causes them to cover up its a good opportunity to step in with a right hook

If your the other guy, the same applies with the guard (more so actually), this fighter holds the hands way to low and is moving them to block shots. Another thing done by this fighter is dropping the head when moving in, basically taking the eye off the opponent, this leaves you open to an uppercut plus its hard to fight a guy you take your eye off, stand tall.

Not long at it myself but hope it helps, the videos a great idea, you'll pick alot more up from joing a club though and there are a few that would take you
    bobbyg wrote: »
    The strange to is in my head I know this is what I need to do but once we start sparring it all seems to go out the window.

Thats just down to experience, its the same for everyone, it will become natural

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭conceited

Your stance is to wide and your weight distribution is bad. Stand up straight . Move your upper body more left to right up and down move your head more...

Fair play to you for posting the video you got big balls my friend.

Thanks for all the advice. I think I will probably join a club after Christmas. Like I said I did do boxing about 6/7 years ago for a couple of years but i didn't realize how rusty I was until I sparred again. Looks like I really need to work on the basics. This thread has gone better then I thought and I really appreciate the advice. When I watch the videos back I can see I am making a lot of basic mistakes but it is always hard to be critical on yourself. I was conviced when I was sparring that my hands were constantly up but it was only when I watched the video back that I seen how much I was dropping my hands especially my left. I also thought by widening my stance I would have a longer reach but I guess the opposite is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Fair play to you for posting the vid. It does indeed take big cajones. Maybe you could post another in 6 weeks or so to track progress, or even just film another spar for yourself so you can see the difference.
    Best of luck with it. :)

joepenguin wrote: »
    Fair play to you for posting the vid. It does indeed take big cajones. Maybe you could post another in 6 weeks or so to track progress, or even just film another spar for yourself so you can see the difference.
    Best of luck with it. :)

Thanks, I should have stated before I posted the link that the link is two different sessions one week after the other. The one where I am in the blue top (probably took bigger balls to show people I am an Everton fan) is week 2. There was actually 4 rounds both weeks 1 minute rounds the first week and 1 1/2 minute rounds the second. My cousin owns the camera and I am waiting for him to post up the other 3 rounds from the other day. I probably should have waited till all the all rounds were up before I posted the link but to be honest it's pretty much the same as the rest. This Wednesday will be the first spar following on from the Boards advice so I will let people know when they are up on youtube. Hopefully there will be some improvement followed by more advice. The plan is to put the videos up every week and label them week 1, week 2 etc. to see if we are improving. Thanks again for all the advice.

Hopefully there will be some improvement followed by more advice. The plan is to put the videos up every week and label them week 1, week 2 etc. to see if we are improving. Thanks again for all the advice.

Don't be disappointed if there isn't any, it can be more difficult when you first start thinking about it all but once it starts to come more naturally it all pays off though. It just takes time, practice your shadow boxing from time to time when your not fighting him to try get your technique nailed down.
    Keep the vids coming, hopefully well see it coming together over the next few

colly10 wrote: »
    Don't be disappointed if there isn't any, it can be more difficult when you first start thinking about it all but once it starts to come more naturally it all pays off though. It just takes time, practice your shadow boxing from time to time when your not fighting him to try get your technique nailed down.
    Keep the vids coming, hopefully well see it coming together over the next few

I went the gym last night and did at lot of work on my jab and I was trying to concentrate on keeping my feet closer together. I think you're right and there won't be any drastic improvement tomorrow night becasue it took a lot of concentration to get my jab and feet right and I seemed to be boxing a lot slower just trying to get it right. I think from now on I will bring my own camera and open my own youtube account and post the new link tomorrow night after the sparring. I have being relying on my cousin to upload the videos and he seems to be having problems uploading them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭kitser

just watched some of the videos. you tend to rabbit punch your jab. you're not being too fair to your cousin as you back him up against the weights every time and leave him nowhere to go and then drop bombs on him. you need to shadow box a lot more in front of a mirror. no need to punch too hard on each other. it doesn't matter what he can bench press - he's weights below you and will feel every punch. you lean back on your trailing leg too much which stops you getting out of the way - roots you to the floor.

still . big improvement from your first video. work on your balance, don't move in too much - more jabs, less haymaker rights till you get your comfort zone.
    when using the bag, work on speed instead of power.

theres a pay by day club in dublin for all comers if your in the city.

best of luck to you - some balls. you will see more improvement if you only video every few weeks. everyday will be like watching your hair grow.

kitser wrote: »
    just watched some of the videos. you tend to rabbit punch your jab. you're not being too fair to your cousin as you back him up against the weights every time and leave him nowhere to go and then drop bombs on him. you need to shadow box a lot more in front of a mirror. no need to punch too hard on each other. it doesn't matter what he can bench press - he's weights below you and will feel every punch. you lean back on your trailing leg too much which stops you getting out of the way - roots you to the floor.

still . big improvement from your first video. work on your balance, don't move in too much - more jabs, less haymaker rights till you get your comfort zone.
    when using the bag, work on speed instead of power.

theres a pay by day club in dublin for all comers if your in the city.

best of luck to you - some balls. you will see more improvement if you only video every few weeks. everyday will be like watching your hair grow.

Thanks. I am off to the gym now in a while to do some sparring with my cousin so I won't really be able to take your advice on board too much as |I was working on the earlier advice I got during the week and want to focus on that tonight. I watched back over the video and I noticed what you were saying about the rabbit punches but that is something I have been working on over the last two days. I will have a proper read of your advice and try to work on it next week in the gym. I totally agree with what you say about not having to land haymakers, but my cousin doesn't seem to understand the concept of a spar (at least not at the minute) so I find myself trying to retaliate to his big blows. I would much prefer to just do light spars and focus more on boxing corrctly rather then just trying to knock someone out.
    I think you are right about posting too many videos so I probably wont post a video after every session. One thing I struggled with in the gym during the week was my balance so if anyone has any tips on how to improve footwork and balance I would really appreciate. However if you are going to post some advice for me maybe just wait till later tonight until I post tonights vids, that way you can analyze and critisize everything in one post. Many Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Thanks. I am off to the gym now in a while to do some sparring with my cousin so I won't really be able to take your advice on board too much as |I was working on the earlier advice I got during the week and want to focus on that tonight. I watched back over the video and I noticed what you were saying about the rabbit punches but that is something I have been working on over the last two days. I will have a proper read of your advice and try to work on it next week in the gym. I totally agree with what you say about not having to land haymakers, but my cousin doesn't seem to understand the concept of a spar (at least not at the minute) so I find myself trying to retaliate to his big blows. I would much prefer to just do light spars and focus more on boxing corrctly rather then just trying to knock someone out.
    I think you are right about posting too many videos so I probably wont post a video after every session. One thing I struggled with in the gym during the week was my balance so if anyone has any tips on how to improve footwork and balance I would really appreciate. However if you are going to post some advice for me maybe just wait till later tonight until I post tonights vids, that way you can analyze and critisize everything in one post. Many Thanks.

Man you're clubbing the head off your cousin who's only a little fella, even when he's defending with his gloves over his head?? - I thought you were going to land him on his back over those free weights - that'll be the end of the sparring!!:eek: I know he's goin at it hard but still....! I'm just strangely concerned for his welfare!!

celestial wrote: »
    Man you're clubbing the head off your cousin who's only a little fella, even when he's defending with his gloves over his head?? - I thought you were going to land him on his back over those free weights - that'll be the end of the sparring!!:eek: I know he's goin at it hard but still....! I'm just strangely concerned for his welfare!!
    No need to worry too much, as the last thing that stuck in my head before I went yesterday was Kitser's advice whenever I backed him up on to the weights I just backed away this time. Kitser is completely right and there was nothing to be learned from pounding somebody in the corner. I had problems with my camera last night so again I have to wait for my cousin to post his videos up. I was going to give a brief report of what happened when the link was updated so people could just read the report then watch the link but since I have started this post I may continue. Last night was a completely different spar to the others and resulted in me being Ko'd.

I was really concentrating on my feet and my jab and I was just very slow and sluggish. I watched the video back afterwards and I just seemed to be moving in one straight line and was very easy to pick off. I had told my cousin before hand that I was going to be working on my technique a lot more and wasn't going to get involved in another free for all. This seemed to just inspire him…. Yes he is a lot smaller but boy does he punch hard, it's probably a lot easier to work on technique if you are sparring with somebody that isn't trying to knock your head off your shoulders! Anyhow back to the spar. I was pretty happy with my defence, I definitely kept my gloves up around my face a lot more but I seemed to leave my body a little open. I was very disappointed with my footwork and my jab. Though it did seem to improve I was still throwing silly air shots and at times I seemed to be punching in a downward motion (more rabbit punches). When I was sparring and doing this I realized at the time and kept trying to stop so I guess that's an improvement.

Ok to the KO, midway through the second round my cousin caught me with a cracking right to the ribs. Blink and you would miss this punch but from what I can recall I lead for a left jab and his right comes straight under my left a catches me. This hurt but I was able to continue. After that round I could feel my ribs stinging but after a minute break I felt ok so we started round 3. I think it's about 40 seconds in and bam, my cousin catches me with a wonderful right in the exact same spot. He really gets everything behind this punch and I'm in agony. I stop the spar then as there was no way I could continue. I have taking some decent enough head shots before and been able to shake them off but there was no shaking this off. So my ribs are in agony today and there will be no spar this Saturday. I should be fine to spar again next week but with Christmas parties etc. it will probably be after Christmas before we spar again. So that will give me plenty of time to work on whatever advice I get from here. I also have another sparring partner lined up and this person will be the same size as me and we use to box together so we will not be going so hard in the spars. Thanks all and I will update this thread when the videos have being uploaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Wow! Any chance of a paragraph?:D

Sorry I have just edited the post so hopefully it's easier on the eye.

Just watched the vids from last night, it looked alot more composed, he caught ye in the first round but overall it looked alot better, he wasn't given an opportunity to get at ye to land the haymakers he managed last week, the guard was better and the jabs looked cleaner.

Didn't want to bump this thread with so few updates on the sparring but I need some more advice. The link on this first page has been updated with the latest bouts from last week. It was the first time we sparred since Christmas so there isn't any major improvement.

Although I do feel I am improving slowly, we are due to spar again tonight and I am having big problems with me footwork. When I was boxing (a long time ago) I was told that the ideal position for your feet is a 10 to 4 position if you can visualize a clock. My feet seem to be more at a 5 to 6 position and I seem to be making myself a lot smaller because of this and a lot easier to hit.

Has anyone any advice on how I can adjust my standing position? And any other general advice is welcome; I am the guy in the white Everton jersey in the latest videos.

I was told that the ideal position for your feet is a 10 to 4 position if you can visualize a clock. My feet seem to be more at a 5 to 6 position and I seem to be making myself a lot smaller because of this and a lot easier to hit.

Has anyone any advice on how I can adjust my standing position? And any other general advice is welcome; I am the guy in the white Everton jersey in the latest videos.

10 to 4 would be for muay thai!
    for boxing put your feet nearly 12 and 6, then you go forward and back with ease and swivel on your toes to move around..
    try standing with your feet facing toes forward and about shoulder width apart, then swivel your toes to about 1 on the clock, this will be about right, make slight adjustments to suit your body type and comfort..

do you understand that?

for boxing put your feet nearly 12 and 6, then you go forward and back with ease and swivel on your toes to move around..
    try standing with your feet facing toes forward and about shoulder width apart, then swivel your toes to about 1 on the clock, this will be about right, make slight adjustments to suit your body type and comfort..

do you understand that?

I think I understrand what you are saying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

do you understand that?

So basically if you draw a line on the floor. your front foot is on it, toes pointing forward (line dividing your foot equally) and the heel of your back foot is on the line but you are up on your toes so its kinda hovering over it.

I think this thread has almost served it's purpose for me but if people get a chance to have a look at the link and the most recent videos can they let me know if there has been any improvement?

And if they have any further advice I'd really appreciate it?

http://ie.youtube.com/user/muckhea

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

wont say too much mate, always be aware of your defense, always lead with your jab, you have the size advantage. Your opponent keeps his hands low and winds up on punches quite alot, so be aware of this. Watch him close throw a feint and nail him

maxxie wrote: »
    always lead with your jab

Thanks for the advice, one thing I need to ask and this is a genuine question, you say lead with the jab, I thought that's what I was doing. If I am not leading with the jab then what am I doing wrong here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

Thanks for the advice, one thing I need to ask and this is a genuine question, you say lead with the jab, I thought that's what I was doing. If I am not leading with the jab then what am I doing wrong here.

You do the majority of the time mate but one video in particular you were leading with a straight right hand alot and it was leaving you susceptible to the left hook. You have the physical advantage over your man so an effective jab would put you in control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭c1979

You need to use your jab more double, triple it up. You need more lateral movment , try jabbing and moving to your right away from his right cross.

Try some combos; body head. when you see him drop his left fire out a right cross

Just like to thank everyone the responded to this thread, it has certainly helped me improve. I probably won't be bumping this thread again but if people ever want to check the link they are more then welcome and as always all advice is appreciated. The link is to my cousin’s YouTube account and he will be uploading the videos most weeks.

On a side note I would post more regularly in the Poker forum and they have recently set up a soccer team that has played and beat the soccer forum twice. Would anyone here be interested in a Boxing Forum football team? If there is enough interest I will do the organizing and we can arrange a match against the Poker Forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Just like to thank everyone the responded to this thread, it has certainly helped me improve. I probably won't be bumping this thread again but if people ever want to check the link they are more then welcome and as always all advice is appreciated. The link is to my cousin’s YouTube account and he will be uploading the videos most weeks.

On a side note I would post more regularly in the Poker forum and they have recently set up a soccer team that has played and beat the soccer forum twice. Would anyone here be interested in a Boxing Forum football team? If there is enough interest I will do the organizing and we can arrange a match against the Poker Forum.

Yeah I'd play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

Yep id play also.

I play for the soccer forum but if ye's were playing the poker forum id be well on for the match

Right so I will start a new thread to see who would be interested and I will let the Poker Forum know we may be looking for a game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭mits2006

id b well up 4 the soccer game pm me 4 updates :D