Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Noctcast...

• 06-12-2008 2:01am
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I've just heard the comedy beers podcast thingamie and it's spurred me on to do our own podcast.

The idea I'm thinking of doing first is that I'll gather questions to put to myselg and the other mods and we'll have a couple of beers and answer them, hopefully to much hilarity.

Anyone wanna ask questions?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

DISCLAIMER

I reserve the right to get absolutely shit-faced and then say and do whatever I feel like without any fear of reprecussions for my actions no matter how outrageous or down-right non-sensical they are.

So pretty much me as normal on here really :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Why?

BIF.

(Because it's fun!)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

SDooM wrote: »
    BIF.

(Because it's fun!)

No no, that is my question. Its to do with life and stuff in general...why?

I actually took that up that way the first time I read it myself. I have a philosophy degree, gimme a few beers and I could fill a podcast with my ramblings on this one.

The answer is 42 btw

I think the answer may still be biffy. :)

WHY is on the list. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

In person or via skype ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭SmileyPaul

Thaedydal wrote: »
    In person or via skype ?
    that would be the most animal thing ever if you could drink over skype! think of the possibilities, no one would ever leave there house..... EVER

my Q. would have to be, how did they get introduced to boards, and why become mods?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Nice ^_^
    I especially like the why question ;)
    When is this planned,myself and soj have been hot footing around the christmas special

Nerin wrote: »
    Nice ^_^
    I especially like the why question ;)
    When is this planned,myself and soj have been hot footing around the christmas special

It's very touching that you think i have a plan. :)

Do it whenever, sure even if we recorded this one tomorrow we wouldn't necessarily have to release it for download for a while.

In person or via skype ?

Well I reckon the mods should get together, and I suppose we could do a talk shoe show so people could skype in... sounds like work though!

The mods could meet up and let everyone know what time it's gonna be at, start a thread for people to ask questions in and we could answer them as they are asked and record it or something like that

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

I give this a resounding +1 :)

I've been threatening to join MonkeyFudge for one of the regular pod casts for ages and have never made it out to one. Would love to have a Noc Mods Q&A session or something :D I can source a venue (with wifi and more importantly, a bar) without too much trouble.

Nerin, make your way up to the capital some time and we'll make it happen :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

Kharn wrote: »
    I give this a resounding +1 :)

I've been threatening to join MonkeyFudge for one of the regular pod casts for ages and have never made it out to one. Would love to have a Noc Mods Q&A session or something :D I can source a venue (with wifi and more importantly, a bar) without too much trouble.

Nerin, make your way up to the capital some time and we'll make it happen :)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=312393

heres an old thread guys but I am sure there must be some of theses places with wifi

edit:

Dublin
    AYA Food Bar - 49 Clarendon Strret - 016771544 Avondale B&B - 41/42 Lower Gardiner St. - +353 1 874 5200
    Academy Hotel - 11-13 Findlater Place
    Browns Barn - Naas Road - City West Bridge
    Drury Court Hotel / Bia Bar - 38-30 Lr Stephens St - + 353 4751988
    Dublin 4 Shortlets - Anglesea Road
    KC Peaches - Pearse Street
    Kylemore Café - St Stephen's Green Shopping Centre
    Harbor Master Bar & Restaurant - 30 minutes free with Bitbuzz voucher - Customs House Dock
    The Market Bar - Georges St. Arcade
    Expresso Bar - Custom House Quay
    Kylemore O'Connell - requires purchase - O'Connell Street
    Odessa Club - 13 Dame Court
    Ocean Bar - Charlotte Quay Dock, Ground Floor, Millennium Tower
    Searsons - Baggot Street
    The Bailey - Duke Street
    Mugs Cafe Dalkey - 61a Castle St - 01 2840419
    Cuckoos Nest Public House - Greenhills Rd, Tallaght - 35314515061
    Camden Deluxe Hotel - reception, breakfast room, coffee shop, bar, outdoor seating area and the first floor hotel rooms - 84-87 Lwr Camden St -0035314780808
    Clarion Hotel Ireland - Excise Walk, Financial Services Centre - 353 1 4338888
    The Globe - limited time - South Great Georges Street
    The Bernard Shaw Pub - South Richmond St - Portabello
    Bewley's Hotel - Merrion Road, Ballsbridge - + 353 (0)1 668 1111
    Bewley's Hotel - Central Park, Leopardstown - + 353 (0)1 293 5000
    Leeson Inn Downtown - 24 Lower Leeson St - +3531 662 2002
    Burlington Hotel - Upper Leeson Street - 353 0 1 618 5600
    Tallaght Plaza Hotel - Belgard Road - 00353 876450704
    Days Hotel Dublin Airport - Santry Cross, Ballymun Road - +353(0) 16391136
    Days Hotel Park West - Park West Business Campus, Nangor Road
    Days Inn - 95-98 Talbot St - 353-1-8749202
    Short Let Apartments - Ballsbridge / Donnybrook
    Hartley House B&B - 44 Merion Road, Ballsbridge - +353 (01) 6685080
    Almara B&B - 226 Collins Ave West, Whitehall - +3531 8510512
    Anna Livia Lounge - Dublin Airport - if you have an extended layover at the airport a 20 Euro fee will get you free drinks, snacks and Wi-Fi in this private lounge

errrr, I work for a hotel company, with lots of meeting rooms etc ;) But thanks for the link, I'm bookmarking that for future reference!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

errrr, I work for a hotel company, with lots of meeting rooms etc ;) But thanks for the link, I'm bookmarking that for future reference!

yeah but juist edited there taken from here
    http://www.wififreespot.com/europe.html

Bewleys Ballsbridge O2 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Alexander Hotel Eircom 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Bewleys Cafe, Grafton St (James Joyce Room) ESAT Openzone
    Bewleys Newlands X O2 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    The Clarence ESAT Openzone
    Crowne Plaza, Santry Wood, nr Dublin Airport Hotel has a CISCO IP phone system with an RJ45 network connection for one's PC. WiFi net access also available 15.00 per 24h
    The Conrad Hotel ESAT Openzone
    Davenport Hotel Eircom 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Great Southern Airport Dublin Airport Eircom 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Burlington O2 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Citywest Hotel Eircom 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Fitzwilliam Hotel ESAT Openzone
    Fitzpatrick Castle, Killiney
    Four Seasons AT&T Wifi & Wayport 20.00 / 24h
    Hilton Hotel O2 (Lobby, bar, conf, 3/f rooms) 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Hibernian Hotel Bitbuzz 6.00/hr 20.00 day
    Jury's Ballsbridge O2 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Le Meridien Shelbourne O2 (lobby, conf rooms) 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    The Morgan Hotel ESAT Openzone
    Ocean Bar & Restaurant, Millenium Tower Bitbuzz
    The Towers O2 (lounge) 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    The Schoolhouse Hotel ESAT Openzone
    Plaza Hotel, Tallaght 24 eircom 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Trinity Capital 2 eircom 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Temple Bar Hotel eircom 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Shelbourne Hotel
    Skylon Hotel eircom 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Days Hotel/Tramco, Lr Rathmines Rd, 6 Bitbuzz
    Westbury O2 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Red Cow Hotel Eircom 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Radisson SAS (Third floor only) 27.00/hr
    Drury Court eircom 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Wynns eircom 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Upper Ccross Hotel Rathmines eircom 10.00/hr 20.00/24h
    Lansdowne Hotel, Pembroke Road Bitbuzz
    Leeson Inn Downtown Free
    Cafes etc
    Insomnia Coffee Co (Charlotte Way, 4 St Stephen's Green, 20 Upr Baggot St, Dublin ESAT Openzone
    Cafe en Seine, Dawson Street Bitbuzz
    Cafe Kylemore, St Stephen's Green SC Free
    Coffee Society, Camden St 2 Bitbuzz
    Other locations:

SAAB Baldonnel ESAT Openzone
    MIT Media Labs Europe ESAT Openzone
    The Digital Depot ESAT Openzone
    The Mansion House ESAT Openzone
    Citiwest Business Campus ESAT Openzone
    Cocoon, Hibernian Way Bitbuzz
    Powerscourt Townhouse Centre Bitbuzz
    Ron Blacks Bitbuzz
    Sin E Bitbuzz
    Statoil, Newlands X Bitbuzz
    Statoil, Templeville Bitbuzz
    The Harbourmaster Bitbuzz
    The Henry Grattan Bitbuzz
    Lansdowne Road eircom

http://www.lookintoireland.com/wifi.htm

Signed up to talk shoe. should be easy enough for us to record a show, and people can either skype in or sign up to talk shoe themselves (seems easier).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

question: what's the meaning of life?

So I have both "Why" and "Whats the meaning of life".

... going to take alot of alcohol :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

orestes wrote: »
    DISCLAIMER

I reserve the right to get absolutely shit-faced and then say and do whatever I feel like without any fear of reprecussions for my actions no matter how outrageous or down-right non-sensical they are.

So pretty much me as normal on here really :D
    I'm going to attend just so that everyone can hear you grimace after bring hit in the scrot ya bastid :P

kaimera wrote: »
    I'm going to attend just so that everyone can hear you grimace after bring hit in the scrot ya bastid :P

Please don't hit Orestes, I need him speaking in the same octave as the rest of us. :)

kaimera wrote: »

Oi, we're quits after last time ya git!
    Please don't hit Orestes, I need him speaking in the same octave as the rest of us. :)

I've been speaking in a higher octave since he punched me in the nadgers after the comedy night! Now I look and sound like a chick :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Why?
    The answer is 42 btw

Orestes, I'm disappointed in you.

Now if he had asked:

and added the words "the universe and everything" then the answer would indeed be 41 :)

This sounds like a cool idea. Always thought Monkeyfudges ones were great craic. And with me living down the end of the country it's unlikely I'll be meeting any of you anytime soon. At least this way I could put names to voices, if not faces!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

I've been speaking in a higher octave since he punched me in the nadgers after the comedy night! Now I look and sound like a chick :(

i have to say he did clatter you so its not surprising.....have they come back down yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

/scrolls back up thread to thank Kai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Only spotting this now... as I was doing a search for something unrelated that lead me to this thread.

How about I get as many of you as possible out to the studio and we can skype the rest in.

I'm ready when you are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I'm ready when you are!

The Monkey... Always at the ready :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭The Don

Now I look and sound like a chick :(

Kai told me you kiss like a chick aswell :P

I'm ridiculously busy right now but if people can pick a day I will try and attendatise!

The Don wrote: »
    Kai told me you kiss like a chick aswell :P

I probably kiss better than a Brazillian ballerina too, but Kai will never be able to make the comparison :pac:
    I'm ridiculously busy right now but if people can pick a day I will try and attendatise!

Same here, up to my arse in college work, I think the only two evenings I have free next week are Monday and Wednesday I'm afraid

Monday would be possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Deja Vu...

Lol, I just remembered I made this for it. Use it if you please :p

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    Deja Vu...

Lol, I just remembered I made this for it. Use it if you please :p

I completly forgot about that.

Looks like we might be trying an experimental one on Monday.

Anyone got any questions they'd like to ask?

I completly forgot about that.

Looks like we might be trying an experimental one on Monday.

Anyone got any questions they'd like to ask?

Tonight's the night folks, any questions or (dare I say it) challenges* for us? There'll be SDooM, Orestes, MonkeyFudge and I and I'm not sure who else may join in via Skype or whatever.

* we reserve the right to not do any challenges and/or save them up for a future NoctCast where we'll have had time to prepare :D

Tonight's the night folks, any questions or (dare I say it) challenges* for us? There'll be SDooM, Orestes, MonkeyFudge and I and I'm not sure who else may join in via Skype or whatever.

* we reserve the right to not do any challenges and/or save them up for a future NoctCast where we'll have had time to prepare :D

Oh gods, more challenges?!

The hair still hasn't grown back on my legs from the last ones! :(

Oh gods, more challenges?!

The hair still hasn't grown back on my legs from the last ones! :(

Yea, but on Radio, no one can *see* you scream... :p

Except Kharn, SDooM, Monkeyfudge... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

it should go out live. that would be awesome. random, i know.

The back story to noxcat and lysander.

Right, I'm on the way out the door now to grab a bus to town to do this, we're starting at about 7 or 8 afaik so still time for everyone to post questions or suggestions and whatnot :)

The back story to noxcat and lysander.

I actually know lyssies past but we need nerout for noxcat, i don't speak shapeshifting feline!

My phone battery is dead. So ring the office when you get here.

I'll PM you now.

I actually know lyssies past but we need nerout for noxcat, i don't speak shapeshifting feline!

wizard's demon familar is it not ?

Which one? Deffo not lyssies ...

Oh sit ye down as i tell thee a tale :p
    I wanna hear lyssies back story.

If anyone else wants to take part, you should be able to skype me up on the left there....

OR click here:

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/sendmessage.php?do=im&type=skype&u=21213

I'll see how well I can get it working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

Good look with this lads.

I do hope there will be impressions of nocturnal regs (ala Dudess:D)

kerash wrote: »
    Good look with this lads.

I do hope there will be impressions of nocturnal regs (ala Dudess:D)

You won't be disappointed.

It's in the can now... I'll try and get it up this evening.

Would someone do me a favour and tell Monkeyfudge I am not talking to him?

He knows why. I am scarred.

Would someone do me a favour and tell Monkeyfudge I am not talking to him?

He knows why. I am scarred.

Sigh.
    Monkeyfudge,doom isn't talking to you. Allegedly you should know why. :)