Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rent Relief Questions

• 02-12-2008 10:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭

Hi, :)

I've been living in rented accommodation since February '07 and I think I should really be claiming rent relief.

I live with my landlord, is there anything he needs to do before I send in my forms?

Like register as a landlord or anything?

Will I be dropping him in the shít or anything?

I'll be claiming for '07 and this year, I know I'll need two forms for this, they are both the same aren't they?

I have all my receipts in case they ask for them.

Also, will I need to submit a seperate claim for the rest of this year, and net year, or once I claim once, can I take it as read that they'll assume I'm still renting?

Thanks for any answers.

Des

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Ticktactoe

Hi Des

Do you meant Rent Tax relief? Or Social Welfare? If its tax i can advise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

tax, cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭SAVE_ME.222

Is he declaring your rental income in his tax returns?

i don't know

i do know.

he isn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭SAVE_ME.222

Des wrote: »
    i don't know

You need to know this before trying to claim for tax relief on rent payments, you have to give his PPS number in the application and if he isn't declaring the rental income you won't get a cent from revenue.

If he is declaring the income and everything's above board, you'll get the standard rate of 20% tax relief off the payments.

right, cheers for that.

isn't allowed to earn X Amount from renting a room before he has to start paying tax on it.

I think I heard of a room rental scheme or something.

reason i'm asking is that I've known the dude for twenty odd years, and while i'd like the money myself, I don't want him landed with a tax bill before Xmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Hey Des, it's not your problem to worry about the landlords tax affairs
    He's entitled to 10k tax free through the rent a room scheme but he does have to declare it.
    Don't spend a second worrying about it unless you're doing his accounts as a nixer ;)

Get the Rent1 form from the revenue website.
    It's done by year so do one for 2007 and another for 2008.
    Ask the landlord for the pps number. They might say no so just include their name and address on the form. The pps number just makes it easier for the revenue staff

Post it to your office, if you don't it you can enter it on the revenue website, I think you're a jackeen :P so that's O'Connell St Dublin 1

Sorted!

Basically to claim rent relief you must be in private rented accomodation which by the sounds of it you are. In order to claim the relief, you must be paying tax.... don't confuse this with PRSI as it is a common error.
    If you are paying tax, then you can all you need to do is complete the 'Rent 1' form. The following link is the form you need to complete:
    http://www.revenue.ie/forms/rent1.pdf
    For each year you claim you must complete a separate form.
    There is a cap on the amount you can claim. For last year it was (I think) €1800 for the year which means that you will get a refund of 360.
    Basically it means that if you were paying 35 euro a week in rent then you will qualify for the 360 refund.
    For the current year if works differently. It is incorporated into your credits and the refund it given through your wages.

Hope i didn't confuse you! Any questions let me know! :)

You need to know this before trying to claim for tax relief on rent payments, you have to give his PPS number in the application and if he isn't declaring the rental income you won't get a cent from revenue.

Not so!
    You do not need the PPS number. The revenue staff can manage without it if they have the full name and address.
    And the revenue will follow up with the landlord, the tenant will not lose out here

If he is declaring the income and everything's above board, you'll get the standard rate of 20% tax relief off the payments.

Thats not strictly true.... you will get the relief. Revenue will do an audit on the landlord and take it from there.
    If the landlord wont give you his ppsn then you just supply his name and home address and reveune again will take it from there.

micmclo wrote: »
    Hey Des, it's not your problem to worry about the landlords tax affairs
    He's entitled to 10k tax free through the rent a room scheme but he does have to declare it.
    Don't spend a second worrying about it unless you're doing his accounts as a nixer ;)
    lol, he's my mate. :)
    Get the Rent1 form from the revenue website.
    It's done by year so do one for 2007 and another for 2008.
    Ask the landlord for the pps number. They might say no so just include their name and address on the form. The pps number just makes it easier for the revenue staff
    he has no bother giving me the pps number :)
    Post it to your office, if you don't it you can enter it on the revenue website, I think you're a jackeen :P so that's O'Connell St Dublin 1

Sorted!
    I live in Dublin, yes

thanks
    Ticktactoe wrote: »
    Basically to claim rent relief you must be in private rented accomodation which by the sounds of it you are. In order to claim the relief, you must be paying tax.... don't confuse this with PRSI as it is a common error.
    If you are paying tax, then you can all you need to do is complete the 'Rent 1' form. The following link is the form you need to complete:
    http://www.revenue.ie/forms/rent1.pdf
    thank you.

yes, I'm paying tax.

will the fact that I was unemployed for ~6 weeks this year matter?

For each year you claim you must complete a separate form.
    There is a cap on the amount you can claim. For last year it was (I think) €1800 for the year which means that you will get a refund of 360.
    Basically it means that if you were paying 35 euro a week in rent then you will qualify for the 360 refund.
    For the current year if works differently. It is incorporated into your credits and the refund it given through your wages.

Hope i didn't confuse you! Any questions let me know! :)

I've been paying 600 a week for what, 23 months now, I've just paid december's rent.
    Not so!
    You do not need the PPS number. The revenue staff can manage without it if they have the full name and address.
    And the revenue will follow up with the landlord, the tenant will not lose out here
    like I already said, I'm not about to drop my mate in it.

but that ten thousand thing sounds like i won't be.

thanks lads.

right, cheers for that.

isn't allowed to earn X Amount from renting a room before he has to start paying tax on it.

I think I heard of a room rental scheme or something.

reason i'm asking is that I've known the dude for twenty odd years, and while i'd like the money myself, I don't want him landed with a tax bill before Xmas.

Is it rent-a-room relief you mean here? If he owns the house and in living in it then he may qualify for rent a room relief. That wont affect you claiming your rent tax relief.

will the fact that I was unemployed for ~6 weeks this year matter?

I've been paying 600 a week for what, 23 months now, I've just paid december's rent.

:)[/quote]

No. 6 weeks wont make much of a difference once you were paying tax for the other 46 weeks.
    If you haven't claimed your rent relief for this year you are better off waiting til the year is over and you have your p60 as any details you give to revenue regarding rent relief for this year will not be processed in time to go through your wages. Therefore once you get your p60 early next year, send it in with your claim for 2008 and you will get your refund via cheque.
    You don't summit rent receipts unless Revenue contact you and request them.

Is it rent-a-room relief you mean here? If he owns the house and in living in it then he may qualify for rent a room relief. That wont affect you claiming your rent tax relief.

yeah, it's his place, and I rent a room there.

So, it looks like i'm sorted to send my forms tomorrow then.

I don't come near the tenK for him to be over the treshold, so that's ok.

Will I have my money by Xmas? I need a new mp3 player :D

Oh dammit, I just read your post above.

I can still claim for 07 right?

hmmm

could you also provide more info on the rent a room relief so I can show him?

thanks a lot, you've been a great help here.

yeah, it's his place, and I rent a room there.

So, it looks like i'm sorted to send my forms tomorrow then.

I don't come near the tenK for him to be over the treshold, so that's ok.

Will I have my money by Xmas? I need a new mp3 player :D

Oh dammit, I just read your post above.

I can still claim for 07 right?

hmmm

could you also provide more info on the rent a room relief so I can show him?

thanks a lot, you've been a great help here.

No Prob!

You can claim for the last four years. That basically means that you can claim for 2004 onwards. However if you wait til next year to claim for fours years then you can only claim from 2005 onwards. From the sounds of it you only started renting from last year so you are grand.
    Ya it wont be till the new year that you will get the relief as Revenue are busy now issuing 2009 Tax Credit Certs. Plus for your employer to receive your updated credits for this year it would take at least five to ten working days and then for them to implement it in your next wages after that would take at least another week..... see where i am going with this!

Rent a room relief basically means that for last year your Landlord/mate can receive up to €7620 in rent from you and will not have to pay income tax on it. HOWEVER he will have to declare it in his tax returns but it will be exempt from tax. It will be exempt from PRSI and the Health levy also. But he must declare it on the FORM 12 or Form 11/11E (form depending on his total income (paye and other) for the year.

Any more questions, fire ahead!

No Prob!

You can claim for the last four years. That basically means that you can claim for 2004 onwards. However if you wait til next year to claim for fours years then you can only claim from 2005 onwards. From the sounds of it you only started renting from last year so you are grand.

This is interesting.

I was living with my parents before moving in where I am now, can I claim for that (i think i heard before that only one child can claim, my brother who still lives there may already have claimed this)

I was in Australia from July 05 until June 06 though.

Ya it wont be till the new year that you will get the relief as Revenue are busy now issuing 2009 Tax Credit Certs. Plus for your employer to receive your updated credits for this year it would take at least five to ten working days and then for them to implement it in your next wages after that would take at least another week..... see where i am going with this!
    So, even if I whack in my claim for Feb-Dec 07 tomorrow you reckon I won't see a cheque until the new year. That sucks tbh, but no matter.
    Rent a room relief basically means that for last year your Landlord/mate can receive up to €7620 in rent from you and will not have to pay income tax on it. HOWEVER he will have to declare it in his tax returns but it will be exempt from tax. It will be exempt from PRSI and the Health levy also. But he must declare it on the FORM 12 or Form 11/11E (form depending on his total income (paye and other) for the year.
    I'll show him this, but he's a lazy animal and won't fill in forms tbh.

not my concern though
    Any more questions, fire ahead!

heh, you'll be sorry you said that. :)

cheers dude.

One last question.

I will definitely be moving out of here in February, can I submit a claim then for relief in January, and then re-submit for a claim in my new place for after that?

This is interesting.

I was living with my parents before moving in where I am now, can I claim for that (i think i heard before that only one child can claim, my brother who still lives there may already have claimed this)

I was in Australia from July 05 until June 06 though.

So, even if I whack in my claim for Feb-Dec 07 tomorrow you reckon I won't see a cheque until the new year. That sucks tbh, but no matter.

I'll show him this, but he's a lazy animal and won't fill in forms tbh.

not my concern though

heh, you'll be sorry you said that. :)

cheers dude.

One last question.

I will definitely be moving out of here in February, can I submit a claim then for relief in January, and then re-submit for a claim in my new place for after that?

Rent relief is only for Private rented accomodation so renting a room in your parents house doesn't qualify unfortunatley.
    December is one of the most busiest times for revenue as the volume of Certs been issued to employers and employees is extremly high i.e every paye worker and their employer receives certs! and before Jan 09. Therefore these must get priority to be issued.
    You can submit your form for Jan 09 for the rent relief. You will get the credit then for the year but will be apportioned for the 52 weeks of the year. If you wish to keep your record up to date, you can notify revenue of your change of address where renting and they will update your record. :):)

There's two or three posters giving advice here, so I'll leave it after this. You're getting the same info a few times, getting confusing :)

There is absolutly no way you could claim rent relief living at home. Sure we'd all be doing it if that was the case

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

OMG - i explained all this to you.

I even showed you the relavent legislation and you still didnt believe!!!!!!!!!!:eek:

Your landlord on the the rent a room scheme, now just fill in the forms and stop fec.king around :eek:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

There is absolutly no way you could claim rent relief living at home. Sure we'd all be doing it if that was the case

actually you can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Now. New Questions. :D

i) I've rented two apartments over two periods..one being from mid 2005 to 2006 and the other being 2007 to 2008. Do I fill in four individual forms to claim for the 6 months of each year ?

ii) I have all the necessary details of landlords barring PPS numbers. I know I can provide just address and names but the second apartment was via a letting agency as the owners were living abroad. As it is the case that I was paying the agency directly that I put them down on the form ? If so..do I just put down the name of the agency's owner and the address of the agency on the form...?

Thanking you! :D

Now. New Questions. :D

i) I've rented two apartments over two periods..one being from mid 2005 to 2006 and the other being 2007 to 2008. Do I fill in four individual forms to claim for the 6 months of each year ?

Complete one form for 2005, one for 2006 and so on.
    I realise some of your gaffs overlap between years but you're claiming by the year so that's how you complete.

So you might actually have to do 2 forms for one calender year.
    ii) I have all the necessary details of landlords barring PPS numbers. I know I can provide just address and names but the second apartment was via a letting agency as the owners were living abroad. As it is the case that I was paying the agency directly that I put them down on the form ? If so..do I just put down the name of the agency's owner and the address of the agency on the form...?

It's good to have the PPS number as the staff can process your claim, I'll not say faster but it's easier for them.
    A name and address will do.
    If all you have is the agency and not the landlord then give all the details for the agency and I mean the business address and the business landline, not some reps mobile. Again, make it easy for the revenue staff.
    If this is not acceptable, they can come back to you but it should do for now.
    Thanking you! :D

You're welcome and if were you I'd:
    1. get the forms in and do them over the weekend, it's the kind of thing people put off for months
    2. registered post my friend, I did what you did once and they lost all of them :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,586 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Just a quick question! If someone waited til early next year to claim their rent relief for 2008 would it be paid to them in tax credits in their pay or in a cheque like it was in 06/07? Thanks

Ginger83 wrote: »
    Just a quick question! If someone waited til early next year to claim their rent relief for 2008 would it be paid to them in tax credits in their pay or in a cheque like it was in 06/07? Thanks

If your claiming for 2008 in 2009 then your refund will be a cheque or delivered to your bank account once you supply the details. If you are claiming for this year as well then your relief for this year will be implemented through your wages. Past years = refund. Current year = tax credits. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,586 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Thanks for the reply Ticktactoe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭LeahBaby

This applies to me. I live with my friend. It's his house. I paid him 8k last year in rent and still iving with him.

If he declares I'm there now will it be ok for me to claim my relief??we never knew about it before?

How much would i be due back would anyone know?Thanks

LeahBaby wrote: »
    This applies to me. I live with my friend. It's his house. I paid him 8k last year in rent and still iving with him.

If he declares I'm there now will it be ok for me to claim my relief??we never knew about it before?

How much would i be due back would anyone know?Thanks

Yes, claim! Make sure he declares it as Rent a room relief and not Rental income as he will have to pay tax on it if he declares it as rental income! And the best thing is as it is a room in his own house he doesn't have to register with the Private Residential Tenancies Board (PRTB) as a landlord. If he is unsure about how to declare/submit it to Revenue, just get him or you to PM me with any queries. Once pointed in the right direction it is quite easy. Just make sure he has declared it to Revenue first before you make your claim. :)

In relation to how much you are due back... There is a max on the relief of 400, therefore if you have paid tax last year over the amount of 400 then you will get back the 400. In 2007 the max was 360. Its basically calculated at 20% but its capped at 400.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

can students claim rent relief? ive been living in the same rented accomodation since september and it would be nice to get a few bob back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭living

Hi everybody,

I have a couple of questions about this. I am living with my girlfriend in the same flat. We are paying the rental using my bank account but the money belongs to both of us.

1) Is she entitled to apply for the rent relief? (she was working). If she is...do we have to divide by 2 the amount that we have to put in the field "Amount of Rent Payable in the tax year " ( I suppose that this field is all money that we paid for the house in last year).

2) if I was working from June to December then I only have to put the money paid during that period?

Sorry, It's hard to expain it in english :D

Thanks in advance!!!

papagormo wrote: »
    can students claim rent relief? ive been living in the same rented accomodation since september and it would be nice to get a few bob back!

Hi Papagorma
    If you are working and paying tax then yes it is worth your while claiming as you will benefit by getting Tax relief. If you are working but not paying any tax as your income is to low (which is generally the case with students) then you can claim but you will not get any relief as this relief is based on Tax paid or in the current year paying. :)

living wrote: »
    Hi everybody,

I have a couple of questions about this. I am living with my girlfriend in the same flat. We are paying the rental using my bank account but the money belongs to both of us.

1) Is she entitled to apply for the rent relief? (she was working). If she is...do we have to divide by 2 the amount that we have to put in the field "Amount of Rent Payable in the tax year " ( I suppose that this field is all money that we paid for the house in last year).

2) if I was working from June to December then I only have to put the money paid during that period?

Sorry, It's hard to expain it in english :D

Thanks in advance!!!

Hi Living
    I am going to recap on what you wrote above so just to confirm that I have it right!
    Both you and your girlfriend are paying rent on an appartment/house. You are paying from your account.
    You basically want to know who claims and how?

Ok, well if you both are paying the rent then you both claim separately by claiming the amount that you both contribute under your own ppsn.
    I understand from above that wife is working. If she is working and paying tax then she will benefit from claiming Rent relief.
    This also applied to you. In order to benefit from the Rent relief tax credit you must be working and paying tax.

Hope this helps! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 kazza81

Hi I'm I'm paying 650 a month rent, and am confused as to how much I can claim back, I've looked at the form, does the 20% tax thing mean I can claim back 20% of what I've paid in the last 2 years??? any help appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Hi Kazza,

No, sadly it doesn't mean that. Basically if you're single and under 55, the rent is capped at €2000. In your case you're paying €7800, but it's irrelevant once you go over the €2000. You get 20% of the €2000 back (€400 a year).

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/housing/renting-a-home/tax_relief_for_tenants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 kazza81

i thought it was too good to be true :rolleyes: cheers tho