Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone regularly come across any inter-county players?

• 02-12-2008 12:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭

I was in a local pub back home, wandered into the toilet and who else but Eoin McGrath stands right beside me and starts taking a leak! There was in a good few in the toilet at the time, but no one ever even blinked an eye-lid. Personally I wouldn't say I was star-struck, and I've met the vast majority of the panel at some time or another, but I just couldn't get over the fact that an All-Star nominated hurler whose had the best year of his life could just stroll around a very busy, GAA-esque pub and not get noticed.

That got me thinking. As amateurs, inter county players are obviously a very different type of sporting icons to, say, Premiership footballers. Some of them play in front of 80,000 people in the summer, and then stroll back to work with the average fan the following morning. There's obviously a unique connection between the players and fans in the GAA because of that, more so than anywhere else in the world.

So then, as you're all avid GAA-heads, do you often come across your local countymen regularly? Perhaps do any of you know any players personally, either through location, or a club, or work? And if so, how do they come across? Do they stand out as being different just because of their status, or are they regular Joe Average's like ourselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭evil-monkey

I'd see Ronan Curran down the club all right. Was friends with Shane O'Neill in school, see him the odd time. Sean Og would always be bopping about the place for Ulster Bank - it's kinda his job to be seen. Cusack did a bit of work for my ould fella a while back so see him the odd time. Joe Deane, I'd see him every Tuesday morning. He has coffee where I collect my mother from town. Round Cork you'd see a lot of them I suppose, particularly the city based players. For the most part they are regular Joe Averages as you put it. I think so anyway. There are one or two on the Cork team think they are God's gift, but for the most part they just go about as normal as ever. Talking about Cusack again, the ould fella was saying at work he's just a complete professional, won't even mention hurling, while Joe Deane kinda comes across as the guy everyone knows and loves...the kinda "hey Mary, mine's the usual. Era, dy'a know what, I'll go for one of your trademark sticky buns this morning" kinda fella... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

I used to meet a few of the Donegal players through work and they are just average guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

ah ya, would see a good few of the kerry players around anytime im home, have marked a few of them over the past 2 or 3 years too. any big local games like divisonal finals etc, they normally attend them.

also went to school with some of the panel so i keep in contact them as much as possible and know a few more from playing with them underage, so would have a chat to them anytime i see them. most are down to earth and "normal" but looking at some players (non kerry of course) you just look at them and say "dic*head". have to say tom sullivan, a guard in my locality, is perhaps the soundest man ul ever meet and perhaps the most laid back member of the force too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

There are two Kerry inter-county players (one former, one current) who I've known a pretty long time who I would describe as almost shy. Both of them are really quiet guy's in their private lives and absolutely hate(d) press/publicity etc. The former one retired slightly earlier than usual from the inter-county scene and I'd say this was part of it.I think in Kerry especially people wouldnt be getting too overawed as there are so many legends/big names floating around the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Went to school with Gooch for about ten years, same class, regular guy. Doesn't like publicity and that. He was always pretty special with the football though. Even under tens he was the star of the team.

It's not a big deal in Kerry to know or run into Intercounty players. I've met a cavan football panel member at work and the guy loves himself. Find the contrast amazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Jimmy Nallen is working in the same department as myself.

Nice guy, will always say hello and helpful too if ya want anything of him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭anbrutog

Jason Sherlock , the Brogan Brothers , Barry Cahill drink in the same local , often see Kevin Bonner hanging out in the bookies and then speeding off in his three series.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Curlypinkie

Friend of mine living with a guy from the Monaghan team.
    I'm sick to bits of their romantic chatter when they're together (or apart for that matter).
    No I'm not, only joking, really like them both*!

Also, I used to well... bump into a fella from the Dublin panel but not anymore :(
    From what I've heard some of them are nice and normal and some of them less. So, yeah, just like you and me, lol.

*This is in case any of them on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

My dad is best mates with Gerald McCarthy. Would have a lot of dealings with him aswell with Geralds trophy business.

Haven't really met any of the hurlers apart from Sean Og on the pitch after the Galway match this year.

When we were kids my next door neighbour was brother to Jimmy Barry and used to see hime every weekend. He even took a few training sessions with us in the green beside the house....

Went to school with Gooch for about ten years, same class, regular guy. Doesn't like publicity and that. He was always pretty special with the football though. Even under tens he was the star of the team.

I've always thought that even when they are under age, the star players show through.

There is an uder 8 player in our local team and if he sticks with GAA he will be a star of the future. Failing that he will be in the premiership when he's older if he decides to go with soccer

Lex Luthor wrote: »
    I've always thought that even when they are under age, the star players show through.

There is an uder 8 player in our local team and if he sticks with GAA he will be a star of the future. Failing that he will be in the premiership when he's older if he decides to go with soccer

I know we're gona get way off topic here but I disagree. I cover underage GAA for a few local rags, and I've seen dozens of players who "definitely gona make it" not make it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

I know we're gona get way off topic here but I disagree. I cover underage GAA for a few local rags, and I've seen dozens of players who "definitely gona make it" not make it...

There are always going to be plenty of players that show huge promise at underage but for whatever reason (drink, women, genetics etc) don't make it. It's very rare though that you find a young lad that's fairly average but ends up being a great player. Lads like Gooch, Sean Cavanagh etc didn't just become great players when they started playing senior football, they've had it since U10s and before. That's the point that's being made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Yeah that would be my experience aswell, iv seen more guys that were supposed to ''save'' Tipp hurling down through the years but never came good, you need such a combination of so many things to make it to the top it really is impossible to tell at a young age if they will make it all the way to the top

An Citeog wrote: »
    There are always going to be plenty of players that show huge promise at underage but for whatever reason (drink, women, genetics etc) don't make it. It's very rare though that you find a young lad that's fairly average but ends up being a great player. Lads like Gooch, Sean Cavanagh etc didn't just become great players when they started playing senior football, they've had it since U10s and before. That's the point that's being made.

Ya that's fair enough, I accept that. But for every Gooch that made it, there are a dozen Gooch that didn't, despite everyone saying they definitely would.

I think what I'm trying to say is that a player like Gooch would have been a star at under age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

I think there seen as stars by gaa mad children but other than that the way gaa is compared to soccer there wont be any superstars.

It in reality probably comes to the fact they have to go to work monday morning like everyone else.

I guess some of them have a better lifestyle than if they werent well known gaa players especially the less academic guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Went to school with Dec O Mahony and played on the same hurling team as Conal Keaney and a few of the Dubs hurlers. To be honest, In Dublin if you wanna meet them, just go to Coppers every Fri and Sat night. Always a couple in there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Lived with Paul Ormonde last year, so saw him nearly everyday. Dead on chap.

Would then see some of the Wicklow players here at home, mainly ones from Pats or Rathnew. and even though I don't see a different one now, I was in the same school as him, bout two years behind him.

Came across Ronan Curren and someone else in Cork one time too. Walking up the stairs in the B-town, and they were coming down the stairs, Liam in tow:mad::D Just had a few quick words though, begrudginly(sp?) offered some congratulations.

EDIT; Commin Goggins worked with my mother, so met him a few times, also met Nicky English hanging round too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Being from St Vincents,I always see Mossy Quinn,Dermot Connolly,Pat Gilroy and the legendary Jimmy Keaveney.I see Dermot in one of my locals the odd time,Hardly ever see Ger Brennan funnily enough.See Ronan Fallon around too and Derek O Reilly (Craobh Ciaran) lives on my road.

Mark Vaughan went to the same college as I did,DIT,so I'd see him quite a lot as well as out and about.I'm sure he knows the face.:) Also Cian Ward (Meath) went to DIT so I'd see him in the library sometimes.

I've pretty much met nearly all of the regular Dublin team.Met Collie Moran and Jason Sherlock in Parnell Park reception when doing the referee course.They were training for the league in their upcoming matches against Westmeath and Cavan.

I also bump into Paul Caffrey and Stephen Cluxton from time to time.I'm also related to David Duffy (Westmeath midfielder) so I see him the odd time.

Thats it pretty much in terms of regularly seeing inter-county players.

Other GAA stars I have met are Conor Mortimor (getting denied entry into Barcode :D),Colm "Gooch" Cooper and Jack O Connor in the airport.Met Nicholas Murphy and Graham Canty and Micheal O Muircheartaigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Arctic89

Worked with Charlie Vernon during the summer. Sound lad, doesnt talk a whole lot about football though. I'd know a good few of the Drogheda based Louth players aswell. (Nothing worth bragging about though, eh?) Them and the famous JP Rooney would spend a vast majority of their time in the same nightclub as me during the winter months.
    Also know all the Louth hurlers,.(anyone care?) You'd be surprised the amount of effort these lads make, even down there in Tier 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭injured365

Friends with a few lads that are on the cavan panel, one or two on the monaghan panel as well. Also i know some lads of the louth panel, who for some reason think they are the best thing to ever happen to football. But i played with some of the current cork/kerry squads when i was in college and not surprisingly the louth boys arent upto much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

blackbelt wrote: »
    I'm also related to David Duffy (Westmeath midfielder) so I see him the odd time.

I am not, nor have i ever been related to any Meath player and if anyone suggests it, i will have them shot!!! :D Ah ok, im related to Cormac McGill, recent addition to the Meath line-up, so see him a bit also. Havent in a while tho but sure i will over this festive season......been training the dog to attack lol j/k :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 mickdlk

Arctic89 wrote: »
    Worked with Charlie Vernon during the summer. Sound lad, doesnt talk a whole lot about football though. I'd know a good few of the Drogheda based Louth players aswell. (Nothing worth bragging about though, eh?) Them and the famous JP Rooney would spend a vast majority of their time in the same nightclub as me during the winter months.
    Also know all the Louth hurlers,.(anyone care?) You'd be surprised the amount of effort these lads make, even down there in Tier 3.

Aye the Famous JP has been seen about Dundalk with Ollie McDonnell (An ex Louth player for about 10-12 years) and a few others like John Neary, Simon Gerrard would be with them.
    Sound lads all the same, not big headed in one way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Actually, forgot to say I'd see some of the Drom-Inch players on the Tipp panel when I'm down that neck of the woods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

i was in shannon airport 3 weeks ago and seanie mcmahon was up in the cafe with his two young fellas, in the queue in front of me. now over the years seanie has put manys the man in his place, but the two kids were makin a pure fool of him, knocking stuff over, dropping things etc, i never seen him under as much pressure -it was gas! nice modest guy though by all accounts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Was taking my 2 sons to strabane leisure centre for swimming lessons last winter, was always sure to meet Brian Dooher in the place, must have never left gym there. He sure is one queit man, spoke to nobody, just a nod of the head was about as far as it went.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭zenmonk

played underage with some of the great Clare team of the 90s know most of them well enough and some of the current panel too
    have dealt with 6/7 of them through work all great lads very sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭looder

I would have met/talked to quite a few of Tipp hurlers.

I knew Seamus Butler through work, Eoin Kelly through a friend (drank with him a few times actually), Brenden Cummins from a summer camp a few years back. Conor O Brien, through college. I would have been friends with his friends.

Off the Waterford Team, I'd kinda know Kevin Moran, well I woke up in his house 1 morning :). I'd also know Andy Moloney (former Waterford Hurler) to talk to and would have talked to brick walsh once or twice.

From Galway, I'd know Ger Mahon and Adrian Cullinane from college.

I'd know a couple of tipp footballers too and 1 or two former Waterford and Kilkenny hurlers.

I've also hurled against most of the Tipp senior hurling team. Would have played against; Cummins, O'Brien, Paul Curran, Declan Fanning, Shane Maher, James Woodlock, Seamus Callinan, Eoin Kelly, Festy Kerwick and probably a few more. The only person that I was ever starstruck with was Eoin Kelly but after a few bevvies, that went ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Diggabot

I used to work in a niteclub and some of the Dublin panel used to drink there. One night Ciaran Whelan comes in and orders a Smirnoff Ice.... I was bitterly dissapointed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭jethro081

Diggabot wrote: »
    I used to work in a niteclub and some of the Dublin panel used to drink there. One night Ciaran Whelan comes in and orders a Smirnoff Ice.... I was bitterly dissapointed :)

we don't take kindly to that sort round here. i work in a nightclub too. it's amazing how some of the biggest hardest looking men drink the girliest drinks,:)

Went to school with a few of the lads off the monaghan team/panel and i've bumped into most of the ones who drank around blayney. generally decent lads. what i have noticed is that the big headed tossers were generally big headed tossers prior to being on any county teams. I always found that success for a small slub tends to inflate the ego more than anything else though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Diggabot wrote: »

Hardly surprising if it is true.I'd take the above comment with a pinch of salt,a shot of tequila and a slice of lemon.:)

I hear big Ciaran does not go out on the lash with the team after games.I believe he goes home to the girlfriend after games.Hardly surprising when you take into account that he is still able to go on the Dublin senior football team after all these years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

blackbelt wrote: »
    Hardly surprising if it is true.I'd take the above comment with a pinch of salt,a shot of tequila and a slice of lemon.:)

I hear big Ciaran does not go out on the lash with the team after games.I believe he goes home to the girlfriend after games.Hardly surprising when you take into account that he is still able to go on the Dublin senior football team after all these years.

Yeah true enough however plenty of players his age still go on the piss after games! Maybe she's just class in the sack:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭zenmonk

I came across Cora Staunton once.