Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Setanta Price increase

• 01-12-2008 4:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭

Got an email from Setanta saying price increase from € 19.99 per month to € 21.99 from January. When compared to UK we are getting ripped off imo.

Also they seem to be trying to get people to sign up to new terms & conditions.

If they provided a HD service it might be justified as the SD picture can be terrible at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

F**K sake... I hope they buy some decent commentary with my extra €2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭IrishHomer

With the quality of their service i will be quitting.

Looking forward to the liverpool game all day and "no satellite signal being received"!!!!!!!!

Yet 6months ago i had my dish realigned and every other channel is working perfect except for the one with the match:(

I also noticed my neighbours has stopped working too must be all over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Happened myself tonight with the liverpool game. They said beyond thier control all over europe line.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

I believe it did affect a few European operators alright, DigitAlb being one other.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

rubbihsh, setanta are the only channel I have ever lost, tonight I lost 3 of their channels, hard to see how they can blame that on uplinks or whatever todays excuse is.

line isn't answering now, will be on first thing to cancel sub, they charge a firtune for ****ty quality pictures that dissapear all the time..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 742 ✭✭✭channelsurfer

but just think of all that extra sport they are giving you that you cant get anywhere else on satellite in ireland like magners league rugby...fa cup football... etc.... yeah right.. S4C and BBC Wales... itv1 and 4 for uefa cup.
    I guess they cant raise the price in the uk cos they know they would loose subscribers in their droves so the poor irish eejits get hit instead.21.99 a month sure next it will be 30 euro the same as sky sports. ok I hate to say it but I for one am hoping setanta get no premiership rights when the auction starts next year and sky get back 5 of the 6 so it will squeeze setanta into oblivion and force em to give away the channel for next to nothing.... selfish on my part i know but i am entitled to have a christmas wish!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Widescreen

When I had Setanta last year , I got the dish and cabling checked adjusted etc to compensate for pixels on Setanta Sports 1. Picture was grand then.
    Resubbed at the time of Villa/Man utd which coincided with the monsoons here and the picture went off and broke up for a while. Generally though my picture on all their channels is ok.(up until last night of course!). However, despite all this talk about adjusting dishes,checking cables etc there is definately a problem with their service distribution.Apparently there was a big feature on Watchdog on BBC 1 last night about this very issue. I think they will have to go on to the same set up as Sky to guarantee a proper service otherwise they will lose customers because of it. If they could guarantee a great picture all the time they could then justify some kind of increases occasionally as their actual content has really improved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭rhonin

I canceled my subscription this morning. They offered 3 months for half price but I declined. It doesn't seem that long since the last price increase.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭jaggiebunnet

thank the wee man that I never signed up to this shower of chancers at the start of the season...sky sports might be more expensive but provide far better quality of service and games than setanta could ever hope to.

I was always very supportive of Sky Sports. However, their football content has declined significantly. Lets face it, the Championship is nothing compared to the Premiership and lets be honest the premier league will make or break Sky. From my point of view, I want to watch nearly all the footie live but its not an option to pay for the whole lot for me. When my 3 month deal with Skysports is up in Jan, I will downgrade to Skysports 1. The money saved will pay a large chunk of the Setanta sub which I think is better value especially with the Sat afternoon games,England games, FACup matches etc..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭jaggiebunnet

different strokes for different folks

I prefer sat lunchtime and sunday afternoon games and the occasional wed game to Sat evening and Monday night. I prefer decent commentary as opposed to the muppets on Setanta. I prefer consistent picture quality. I have no interest in England games (maybe Scotland ones but I can see them down the pub or on sky sports when they are at home) and couldn't care less about the FA cup except for the final. With so much footie on TV I need to be selective about I watch anyway so when I do watch it I expect a certain level of quality that just isn't provided by setanta.

and then there is the heiniken cup games (ok the commentary is a bit crap there..)

different strokes for different folks

I prefer sat lunchtime and sunday afternoon games and the occasional wed game to Sat evening and Monday night. I prefer decent commentary as opposed to the muppets on Setanta. I prefer consistent picture quality. I have no interest in England games (maybe Scotland ones but I can see them down the pub or on sky sports when they are at home) and couldn't care less about the FA cup except for the final. With so much footie on TV I need to be selective about I watch anyway so when I do watch it I expect a certain level of quality that just isn't provided by setanta.

and then there is the heiniken cup games (ok the commentary is a bit crap there..)
    Skysports 1 and Setanta would also give you a large chunk of what you say would prefer with a good bit extra I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 742 ✭✭✭channelsurfer

the question is in economic downturns should setanta be increasing their price or trying to gain more customers instead by keeping prices lower??
    FA Cup rounds 1 to final live on itv first choice
    champions league all rounds up to final live on rte(and tv3 from next year)
    Magners league live on S4C and BBC (albeit i know not every irish game)
    Premiership live on the internet(illegally I know and I wont go into the merits/demerits of it) but suffice to say most streams have around 20000 people viewing at anyone time.
    Gaa matches all live on rte/tv3 bar a few national league matches exclusive to setanta.
    golf irish open british open us masters live on bbc-rte.
    that for me makes setanta not a must have but a would like to have and not necessary to subscribe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭mousey007

yeah i got the same thing. i did'nt realise they had all the fa cup next season. 2euros ins'nt too bad. when i got it i switched off the useless sky movies pack and ditched sky sports 2/3 and xtra. i figure i'll be better off and i'll still have all the games i want. Took me an age to get through to sky on the phone though. there may come i time when i cancel more but i could'nt face saturdays without 2 games. another liverpool and manu double header this saturday on setanta.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Damo.Smith

did'nt realise they put the price up. i went further one further. i cancelled sky altogether but kept the box and rang setanta and they sent me a card in the post for the box. so i get no bills from sky but still get about 25 free channels and rte from my aerial. all i pay is 19.00 to setanta. loads of games and when i wanna watch liverpool v manu i go down the pub anyway. i reckon i'm saving about 60 a month but don't really feel like i'm missing much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

UFC live. Yes please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Setanta are the pits IMO. Goes without saying that the excuse they gave last night for the Liverpool v West Ham game being affected by " Weather conditions in mainland Europe" was a load of cobblers. I will be cancelling by contract with them at the end of the month as their coverage of the premiership is piss poor and the fact they are looking for a price increase is incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

My signal just went yesterday!!!I was livid!I was looing forward to the match!I didnt miss much anyway!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

how is setanta going business wise ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭andrew1977

rhonin wrote: »
    I canceled my subscription this morning. They offered 3 months for half price but I declined. It doesn't seem that long since the last price increase.

Can you ring them up and cancel or do you have to go through the crap of putting it in writing that you want to cancel and give them a couple of months notice ?
    Something has to give in my household budget and satellite tv could be the first of many victims

The UK package is alot different then the Irish package also. When it comes to premiership games you only get 45 in the uk were as Ireland you get 79.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Wiggy

Just phoned them to cancel.

Got offered the next three months at €10.99 which I accepted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭dubmick

Wiggy wrote: »
    Just phoned them to cancel.

Got offered the next three months at €10.99 which I accepted.

Did you threaten to cancel or just complain about the price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Wiggy

I told them I was cancelling because of the price.
    I wasn't just threatening.
    I was going to cancel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

how is setanta going business wise ?

very good... i think... there adds are saying they have a million viewers a week now and there uk channel got 1.5 million viewers for a england game last month...

the owners were looking to sell a few months ago tho... 1.5 billion was the asking price... everyone said no and looks like they wont be selling any time soon...

they have frezzed staff wages/ no x-mas bonus and no x-mas party ( like every other company in ireland at the moment )

but unlike rte / tv3 / channel 6 they havent let any one go yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,373 ✭✭✭ongarite

Setanta haven't made a profit in years. They got the money to survive and pay for FA Cup, Premiership, Magners League from investment companies who have pumped nearly €500 million into the company, more than likely in the hope that someone else will buy them out along with the valuable sports rights assets they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭therewillbe

I also subscribe with them and was thinking of getting rid of it , defo now with the price hike. when they started, what was the price ? 12e !:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

For 21:99 a month it is good value for all they have imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

or get ntl or smart its free on that...

anto-t wrote: »
    or get ntl or smart its free on that...

All the Setanta channels are free on Smart and NTL? When did this happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

I've had Setanta for the last 18 months and never paid more than 9.99 a month.
    I just keep threatening to cancel and they offer me a deal straight away.:cool:
    Its decent value at 9.99 a month compared to Sky.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    All the Setanta channels are free on Smart and NTL? When did this happen?

Yes and No.

Setanta Ireland is free on UPC, but not the rest of the channels.

All the Setanta channels are free for the first 12 months if you sign up to Smart Telecoms new Smart Vision Plus IPTV service (€32 per month).

As I thought. Not all the Setanta channels are free.