Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Personal trainer - questions to ask?

• 01-12-2008 1:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭

I’m thinking of starting to use a personal trainer maybe once a week/fortnight. I have emailed a local company (not sure if its just a one man show or they have a few trainers), and got a response with a few details and asking me to give a call if I was still interested. I might give them a call over the next day or two but I’m just wondering if there are certain questions I should ask them when I call? Bit clueless about it all!

Hoping to go with a goal of weightloss – would like to lose around 2 stone.
    Any advice would be appreciated !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Just pop along for one session to begin with so see if you will enjoy it first.

They should do a few measurements i.e. body fat, weight, photos, postural/flexibility check etc - whatever system they use to monitor progress.

After that then they should do some weights, core work, stretching and maybe cardio. Everyone is going to have a different approach so at least go for a one or a few session to see if they can provide the nutrition advice, motivation, variety and progress to help you drop the weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭sillysocks

Thanks Transform..... have made an appointment to start this Wed. He has a 2 session minimum so will go fr the 2 sessions and see what I think then.
    Hopefully will be the kick in the ass I need!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Pugmister

The first thing I would be judging a personal trainer on would be the physical condition they are actually in. In the gym I use there a number of personal trainers and I would say 75% of them are in poor physical condition and the other 25% certainly wouldnt be to much better.

After that I would probably try get an opinion off people who use or have used the personal trainer that you have in mind.

Have you tried researching a bit on the internet as there is wealth of knowledge out there and it will do the exact same and more than any personal trainer will do for you. The key point is you just got to have the determination to stick with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Pugmister wrote: »
    The first thing I would be judging a personal trainer on would be the physical condition they are actually in. In the gym I use there a number of personal trainers and I would say 75% of them are in poor physical condition and the other 25% certainly wouldnt be to much better.

I'd be of the opposite opinion here..... those who can do, those who can't teach!

Pugmister wrote: »
    The first thing I would be judging a personal trainer on would be the physical condition they are actually in.

Exactly. If I was a PT (which I will be) I'd be utterly embarrassed if I was out of shape and teaching people
    get a new job if I was not practicing what I was preaching so I would stop making a fool out of myself. Who the hell would want me to personal train them if I look like the rest of the population i.e. unfit and overweight? Disgusting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

Ask him about his qualifications and experience. I would be skeptical if the guy came out with an ITEC course or something, usually a bad sign.
    I judge most of my competitors (aka other PT's) on their physical appearance, 90% of them that are not in shape will have not learnt the flawless technique and intensity of exercising.

Before you have the session sit down and have a chat with him, u could save yourself alot of money just by doing this

Good luck with it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

SomeFool wrote: »
    I'd be of the opposite opinion here..... those who can do, those who can't teach!

Ridiculous. Getting in shape isn't hard. If you can't get yourself in at least semi decent shape, you've no business trying to get anyone else in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Mark Rippetoe isn't in great shape. I'd let him train me.

davyjose wrote: »
    Mark Rippetoe isn't in great shape. I'd let him train me.

Yeah but Mark Rippetoe has a thing called reputation and a damn good one. Plus he wrote that really REALLY famous book called "Starting Strength".
    He has 25 years experience in the fitness industry and 10 years personal experience as a competitive powerlifter.

Powerlifting - He still has that powerlifting build and that hard ass attitude. That sells when you're that popular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Hanley wrote: »
    Ridiculous. Getting in shape isn't hard. If you can't get yourself in at least semi decent shape, you've no business trying to get anyone else in it.
    Actually getting in shape isn't that hard. Most people struggle with juggling work, family, friends and hobbies. For most people the trade off in less time with these isn't worth it.

Once you have the motivation and knowledge applying it is fairly straight forward. I'm never impressed when people mention movie stars getting into shape for a role (with 1 or 2 notable exceptions). They're being paid millions to do it and a have a team of PTs and nutritionists. Anyone could do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Yeah but Mark Rippetoe has a thing called reputation and a damn good one. Plus he wrote that really REALLY famous book called "Starting Strength".

Exactly. Choosing someone on reputation trumps choosing someone on the basis that they've a 6 pack any day. But Really I agree with everyone else - I wouldn't trust a hairdresser with bad hair for example.

Edit: If it's your job, and you're young, there really is no excuse IMO, for not being either strong, fast or have good cardio.

Thanks all..... am seeing him tomorrow so will take it from there then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Perhaps it's best to ask him questions along the lines of
    -how he motivates clients? Is he your friend during the hour or a task master/form nazi? People respond differently
    -can he offer nutritional advice to you?
    -will you need to keep seeing him? or will he send you off after 6-8 sessions equipped to keep training?
    -what will you learn with him? (machines/cardio templates/free weights)
    -get his general vibes, as d-gal said, have a chat with him pre workout.

I say screw all the questions and checking - just jump right in and see if you like him. Thats what it comes down to really.

There are tons of out of shape trainers with poor knowledge on training and nutrition who make 6 figure salaries because they are enthusiastic, charming and make training fun etc - now you may not make the fastest progress or even any progress with this kind of a trainer but you would be surprised as to how many people gladly attend training sessions with said trainers every week. Is it right or wrong??

Its neither - its just what the client accepts

Over the past few years i have had clients come to me from other trainers and some clients that I have trained go to other trainers. I really don't care as long as people are making progress, stick with it and most of all enjoying the process.

On a final point i have a client who has been with me for over 5 years - 3 days a week and her 2daughters and one boyfriend also come for sessions (thats 5-6 sessions a week for one family!!)

She was training with a PT for 4-5years prior to that and had gotten to the point where if she was not feeling 100% they would go have a coffee and training was so low on intensity she never was stiff from workouts and never even built up a sweat.

Now every day i thank my lucky stars to have a PT do SUCH a bad job with a client that she came to me and still comes 5 years later.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Transform wrote: »
    she came to me and still comes 5 years later.

I don't want to offend your client by asking this question .... but... is she thick?

I was under the impression that people would go to a PT to learn how to exercise efficiently, brush up on diet and nutrition tips, etc. What new things is she still learning after 5 years?

Perhaps she uses you as a motivator (and good for you - laughing all the way to the bank) but don't you find that strange that she hasn't learned to drive herself internally?

BossArky wrote: »
    I don't want to offend your client by asking this question .... but... is she thick?

I was under the impression that people would go to a PT to learn how to exercise efficiently, brush up on diet and nutrition tips, etc. What new things is she still learning after 5 years?

Perhaps she uses you as a motivator (and good for you - laughing all the way to the bank) but don't you find that strange that she hasn't learned to drive herself internally?

Bit harsh, a lot of people find it extremely hard to motivate themselves and know when to change their programs and intensitys. I have had plenty of clients that just find it to hard to do it on their own, I think one of the main reasons people go to PT's is the fact that they have no motivation. I would say out of my last 20 clients (say last 6months), 15 are still seeing me once a week/2 weeks. Its just to keep routine and they do not want to ruin it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Yeah bit harsh alright man.

Motivation, accountability I am sure...think if you have maybe struggled with weight issues/psychological issues at play etc - what price can you put on a session where you are guaranteed to work hard and keep yourself ticking over and on the right track?

Even for people who are just lazy/not at all motivated I'm sure it is well worth the money and the benefit to their health and fitness to see a PT on a regular basis! Think of what it might be spent on otherwise, junk food, fags, booze....

I'm sure there as many reasons why someone would see a PT regularly as there are different kinds of people.

I know more than most people (come on, average people know NOTHING about diet and exercise) when it comes to techniques and exercises and nutrition etc and still feel paying a TOP personal trainer money well spent just for tips and check ups on form etc.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I would think that a PT should pass on motivational skills to a client - not just for the here and now, but for future non PT sessions too.

Don't you think the client should learn to motivate themselves after a few months?

(general statement - not aimed at any PT on here btw)

It's called business. The client is clearly a very happy customer who knows she would get more out of working with Transform than by herself. If she has the money then I don't see a problem. Celebrities do it all the time.
    I would think that a PT should pass on motivational skills to a client - not just for the here and now, but for future non PT sessions too.

Don't you think the client should learn to motivate themselves after a few months?

(general statement - not aimed at any PT on here btw)

In theory that's what should happen and probably does happen but if she enjoys the company and has the money then what's the problem?

Ideally yes. In reality - no, a lot of the time.

Most people are far more motivated when they have a training buddy, for example. Having a PT is the same thing - along with the expertise, form critique etc etc.....

It comes down to if you feel it's worth it, you'll pay it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

I would be skeptical if the guy came out with an ITEC course or something, usually a bad sign.

Wow, do the NCEF not have a code of ethics or were you just missing the day they went over that material? Talk about generalisation:rolleyes: As a matter of interest here are the contents of the NCEF and ITEC PT courses.....

http://www.ncefinfo.com/personal_training.html

http://www.itecworld.co.uk/Syllabus/Personal%20Training/Personal%20Training%20Syllabus.pdf

As regards the load of crap written about PT like
    The first thing I would be judging a personal trainer on would be the physical condition they are actually in.
    , I suppose results/referrals/education don't count for jack as long as the PT LOOKS THE PART:rolleyes: Just because you are in top physical condition NOW (God help some of the guys I have seen in the gym/on the net in years to come) does NOT mean you are doing things correctly.
    Have you tried researching a bit on the internet as there is wealth of knowledge out there and it will do the exact same and more than any personal trainer will do for you.

Ah yes, why bother educating yourself, having someone motivate you (when perhaps this is the thing that a lot of people find gets in the way of improving their quality of training/life the most), correct execution of technique and regular updating of your INDIVIDUAL programme. Let alone the fact that a BIG portion of the stuff thats online goes from ridiculous to downright dangerous.

Dave Joyce wrote: »
    Wow, do the NCEF not have a code of ethics or were you just missing the day they went over that material? Talk about generalisation:rolleyes: As a matter of interest here are the contents of the NCEF and ITEC PT courses.....

http://www.ncefinfo.com/personal_training.html

http://www.itecworld.co.uk/Syllabus/Personal%20Training/Personal%20Training%20Syllabus.pdf

As regards the load of crap written about PT like , I suppose results/referrals/education don't count for jack as long as the PT LOOKS THE PART:rolleyes: Just because you are in top physical condition NOW (God help some of the guys I have seen in the gym/on the net in years to come) does NOT mean you are doing things correctly.

Ah yes, why bother educating yourself, having someone motivate you (when perhaps this is the thing that a lot of people find gets in the way of improving their quality of training/life the most), correct execution of technique and regular updating of your INDIVIDUAL programme. Let alone the fact that a BIG portion of the stuff thats online goes from ridiculous to downright dangerous.

If you are looking for a PT you would be more confident if your trainer is in shape. As I said majority of them that look unfit and out of shape are usually crap, now there is the odd exception but you have to look at the majority. It's the same in every business. With ITEC, I don't agree with their teachings ever since I was told by one of their lecturers that for spotting a squat you lift the bar which is probably one of the most dangerous things I have ever heard. Also in ITEC you can now become a fitness instructor and personal trainer in all one go without any experience needed. At least NCEF is UL accredited so thats some encouragement but by no means would I call it godsent. I am just trying to cover the majority for the OP but of course their will be the exceptions, again thats in every business.

I agree with the internet thing as well, it is ok for the experienced athlete or trainer but not for the newbie, so simple to get wrong and so many assumptions posted on the web that are false and dangerous.

It's about results Joyce, you're definitely right there. But how are people starting off meant to get clients to get RESULTS with if they don't look the part? People are meant to look at you and go "Wow this guy is in shape and knows what he is talking about"; that's basically what leadership is all about. In business, people want to do things for you if you inspire them to do it and I personally believe personal training is like any other business, if you are good at what you do you will succeed because you will inspire people to get in shape by being in shape yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

If you are looking for a PT you would be more confident if your trainer is in shape.

Well, that COULD depend on whether your client came by referral/reputation or "self promotion". I mean I don't think the Munster rugby squad lack confidence cause Declan Kidney is not a rugby Addonis. Or what about Steve Black who hardly looks the part of a fitness/strenght and conditioning coach. As you're local, I'm sure you know Tony McCaffery and once again he does not fit the supposed criteria. I have seen plenty of coaches who do not "LOOK" the part BUT are not only in demand but command PLENTY of respect. Its great to have the enthusiasm of youth but REAL experience ONLY comes with time and continued upskilling, not JUST appearance.
    With ITEC, I don't agree with their teachings ever since I was told by one of their lecturers that for spotting a squat you lift the bar which is probably one of the most dangerous things I have ever heard.

Wow, once again a WILD generalisation, so because of your anecdote ITEC as a whole are "crap".
    Also in ITEC you can now become a fitness instructor and personal trainer in all one go without any experience needed.

Really, well you can do the same with NTC and if you have the money I'm sure you can go from fitness instruction straight into PT with NCEFas well. Apart from that you have to have a comprehensive case study with 10 live clients before you can even sit your exam with ITEC.
    It's about results Joyce

Look "mate", I don't know you, so at least have a BIT of manners as I was christened NOT pissed on. Then I MAY have the respect to reply to your comments

No worries friend. xx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Just FYI, my strength and conditioning coach is a 'fat mess', his words not mine. I wouldn't give a hoop if the person I went to was in great shape as long as they knew how to get results. Appearance is nothing, and temporary.

Anyway most PTs I know look like metrosexuals; highlights and sunbed tans. You can tell them I said that, it's not like they're going to break a nail to try to deck me one day. Though they may all gang up and come and blet me with their manbags...

As for the girl still coming to the PT years later, I'd say there's lots of wiggly people still going to the gym spending good money after bad years later too without any discernable difference. If she's getting what she wants out of it and (importantly) she can afford the moolah to do it then why not.

And LOL at the "there's enough information on the internet" one. If someone came on this forum and read this topic they'd be fvcked for a start!

davyjose wrote: »
    I wouldn't trust a hairdresser with bad hair for example.
    That's a bit like the dentist with bad teeth though init?

Roper wrote: »
    That's a bit like the dentist with bad teeth though init?

Never been to a dentist with bad teeth though to be honest!

I suppose if you look at football, Alex Ferguson or Arsene Wenger are brilliant at what they do because they get the best out of people i.e. their motivational and man management skills and WEALTH of experience.

But nowadays, would it not be fair to say that for a personal trainer STARTING off (so let's assume they're young i.e. below 30), that they should at least look like they have a passion for fitness by being in good shape due to their age?

Interesting topic this. I remember reading the 'Bodydoctor' book over a year ago - this guy who trains all manner of celebrities and the first 20 or so pages of the book are all testimonials from the likes of football players and tv presenters telling about how they lost x pounds and how yer man really got the best out of him. They can't say enough about him - and then somewhere else in the book he talks about not being in the best shape himself and going round the gym eating biscuits and Doritos or whatever. So go figure.

It's all relative to the situation though isn't it. If you are a proven trainer with a good list of people who'll back you up based on their experience of you sure you can look however you want. Starting out though I'd imagine you at least have to look semi-fit to get any sort of a start - also I imagine that if you are training regular punters who don't know about or care about your particular credentials/whether you are a S&C expert or whatever and you look fat then I imagine you'll have a hard time getting their business over someone who is ripped/looks better etc

Dave Joyce wrote: »
    Well, that COULD depend on whether your client came by referral/reputation or "self promotion". I mean I don't think the Munster rugby squad lack confidence cause Declan Kidney is not a rugby Addonis. Or what about Steve Black who hardly looks the part of a fitness/strenght and conditioning coach. As you're local, I'm sure you know Tony McCaffery and once again he does not fit the supposed criteria. I have seen plenty of coaches who do not "LOOK" the part BUT are not only in demand but command PLENTY of respect. Its great to have the enthusiasm of youth but REAL experience ONLY comes with time and continued upskilling, not JUST appearance.

Wow, once again a WILD generalisation, so because of your anecdote ITEC as a whole are "crap".

Really, well you can do the same with NTC and if you have the money I'm sure you can go from fitness instruction straight into PT with NCEFas well. Apart from that you have to have a comprehensive case study with 10 live clients before you can even sit your exam with ITEC.

Look "mate", I don't know you, so at least have a BIT of manners as I was christened NOT pissed on. Then I MAY have the respect to reply to your comments

I do agree not every PT has to look fantastic but it does help hugely. In Ireland it is hard to get a very good reputation and I know there are trainers with bad physiques but it does help if you have a good shape. A lot of personal training in our country is based on your own self promotion. You have made your point on Steve Black but again a minority, and who wouldn't agree with a guy who trained Jonny Wilkinson for his whole career! :pac:
    You have to realise Ireland isn't exactly a fitness freak country (their are hundreds of better PT's & S&C coaches in the UK) so when the 'average' person looks for a PT they will pick the best looking, in shape trainer. It might not be logical in cases but it is true, I know the point your making but unfortunately everyone is judged by their cover and PT's have to use this to make a good living

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

There used to be a fitness instructor in my gym who was obese and used to eat McDonald's at reception.

I accept she may have been highly qualified and know everything there is to know, but I do not believe an obese fitness instructor has an interest in her job.

For example, I work in IT. I would also be weary of colleagues who do not have a computer. It does say something about them.

As someone who could sometime pay for a PT, I'd rather take a low risk strategy and hire someone in good shape. I accept this could result in excluding some great trainers, but I'll take my chance.

better trainers in the UK - absolute rubbish!!!

There are tons of excellent trainers in EVERY bloody country it just depends on the type of training people want. For example, i have been working with 8 scholarship athletes over the past month - National level swimmer, kickboxer, boxer, county level footballer etc ALL the program that were given to them were a complete joke and it would not take a genius to work out that they will go no where fast with it.

For example, one program had 10 different squat, lunge exercsies - all for 3 sets. Now there was little or no weight used but its still rubbish. Oh and all of that was before he was supposed to do core work, 3 chest exercises and 4 shoulder exercises.

Finally, in regards to clients coming for years. This is a really fundamental point of personal training business - keep the clients you have as its harder to find new clients than holding on to the ones you already have.

Yes i would love if they kept it up themselves and have tons of clients who come to me every 6-8weeks for new programs and have been coming for years - why??? Because its my blood job to change things around, put some feckin thought into the program and the clients needs and weaknesses.

Now how did that op get on with her session?????

I got on well..... because it was only first session a lot of it was taken up with questions about where I'm at exercise and food wise, and going through a plan for this week. So not a huge amount of actual working out, but seems to be good and going back next week so hopefully might see the start of some results.

And he's very far from being overweight !

For example, i have been working with 8 scholarship athletes over the past month - National level swimmer, kickboxer, boxer, county level footballer etc ALL the program that were given to them were a complete joke and it would not take a genius to work out that they will go no where fast with it.
    What university does scholarships for boxers, kickboxers?

better trainers in the UK - absolute rubbish!!!

There are tons of excellent trainers in EVERY bloody country it just depends on the type of training people want. For example, i have been working with 8 scholarship athletes over the past month - National level swimmer, kickboxer, boxer, county level footballer etc ALL the program that were given to them were a complete joke and it would not take a genius to work out that they will go no where fast with it.

For example, one program had 10 different squat, lunge exercsies - all for 3 sets. Now there was little or no weight used but its still rubbish. Oh and all of that was before he was supposed to do core work, 3 chest exercises and 4 shoulder exercises.

Finally, in regards to clients coming for years. This is a really fundamental point of personal training business - keep the clients you have as its harder to find new clients than holding on to the ones you already have.

Yes i would love if they kept it up themselves and have tons of clients who come to me every 6-8weeks for new programs and have been coming for years - why??? Because its my blood job to change things around, put some feckin thought into the program and the clients needs and weaknesses.

Now how did that op get on with her session?????

There is better in the UK simply because of the courses available, say for example the UKSCA, the best of the best lecture for them and you learn so much more. I say for every 50 PT's in Ireland around 2 or high standard and know what they are talking about. I know I am comparing Ireland to Strength and Conditioning coaches but still the standard in Ireland is crap in my opinion. Not knocking anybody in particular and yes there is some good one's in Ireland but UK is better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

d-gal wrote: »
    There is better in the UK simply because of the courses available, say for example the UKSCA, the best of the best lecture for them and you learn so much more. I say for every 50 PT's in Ireland around 2 or high standard and know what they are talking about. I know I am comparing Ireland to Strength and Conditioning coaches but still the standard in Ireland is crap in my opinion. Not knocking anybody in particular and yes there is some good one's in Ireland but UK is better

I say blame the course providers.
    2000yo-yo's for a 16 week course and you're a PT?
    There is no high level training for PT's available in Ireland. The current courses available like NCEHS & NCEF are only starting points and if anyone is serious about the profession they would back that up with a university degree in sports science/anatomy/physiology etc.

I suppose what I am trying to say is that I would not let some dopey 19 year old who blagged their way through the NCEF/NCEHS teach me how to deadlift...

Zamboni wrote: »
    I say blame the course providers.
    2000yo-yo's for a 16 week course and you're a PT?
    There is no high level training for PT's available in Ireland. The current courses available like NCEHS & NCEF are only starting points and if anyone is serious about the profession they would back that up with a university degree in sports science/anatomy/physiology etc.

I suppose what I am trying to say is that I would not let some dopey 19 year old who blagged their way through the NCEF/NCEHS teach me how to deadlift...

Do you really think someone needs a degree in anatomy to be a PT? If someone told me they had a degree in anatomy and that they really really wanted to work as a PT I'd tell them to stop being a tit and go to medical school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

I worked with qualified sports scientist before, im a quaalified PT, and my knowledge of actual exercise was way better than his, his was more suited to testing in labs etc,,mine was about training clients..he done PT for a while and was genuinely 1 of the worst PT's i've ever seen..

ncehs etc are starting points but if your the realo deal you'll go on and get better PT qualifications that are more advanced, without the basics this would be too hard though..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

cowzerp wrote: »
    I worked with qualified sports scientist before, im a quaalified PT, and my knowledge of actual exercise was way better than his, his was more suited to testing in labs etc,,mine was about training clients..he done PT for a while and was genuinely 1 of the worst PT's i've ever seen..

ncehs etc are starting points but if your the realo deal you'll go on and get better PT qualifications that are more advanced, without the basics this would be too hard though..

Can you give examples of better PT qualifications?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Roper wrote: »
    Do you really think someone needs a degree in anatomy to be a PT?

I don't think that but I do think that you need more than a 16 week course to be a PT. And in the absence of better PT qualifications in Ireland a logical option would be to do further studies in relevant subjects.

Ideally I would like to see a University diploma or degree that covered a number of fields including fitness instruction/sports coaching/weight management/sports injury/physical education.
    I would also like to see regulation of the course providers (though it will never happen).
    Having been through a number of these courses myself, I feel the course providers are more interested in numbers = $$$ than providing trainers with adequate knowledge. After all, the majority of the course providers are for profit companies.
    And gyms play a role too, vicarious liability or not, surely they should have some responsibility in recruiting properly trained individuals. We have all seen examples of completely incompetent fitness instructors over the years.
    The whole industry from top to bottom needs to be examined.
    Sorry I'm putting myslef to sleep here waffling on...:pac:

David - the UK is still not better, you just have not bumped into the RIGHT trainers. Yes there are lots of rubbish trainers but hey you started off on an NCEF qualification and moved on, just like all the others that have done the same in their studies.

Roper - I am working with athletes in the national college of ireland - great scholarship program.

Really? Boxers I'm not surprised at but kickboxers I thought was unusual. Do you have more detail? pm if you're not sure about posting publicly.
    Ideally I would like to see a University diploma or degree that covered a number of fields including fitness instruction/sports coaching/weight management/sports injury/physical education.
    Sorry, but you just don't need that to be a PT. In all honesty, I reckon to be a really good PT you'd just have to be interested and read a lot.

As for qualifications, I've seen what the ncef and the like produces and I'm far from impressed. I've had two guys I know go through it, one an athlete who got into lively debates every night with the course instructors, usually starting with him saying, "no, that's wrong" and going from there.

Also, there's guys coming out of courses like that and going to train football teams and the like under the guise of being strength and conditioning coaches which would be laughable if it wasn't so sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭injured365

anyone know anything about the ActiveIQ qualification for gym instruction, think they might have a personal trainer one as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Can you give examples of better PT qualifications?

ISSA
    NSCA
    CHEKK -wrong spelling i think!
    Just 3 off the top of my head out of a number of quality 1's.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

David - the UK is still not better, you just have not bumped into the RIGHT trainers. Yes there are lots of rubbish trainers but hey you started off on an NCEF qualification and moved on, just like all the others that have done the same in their studies.

Believe me I have met so may trainers, sure 1 or 2 quality ones but the UK guys are so much better in general, out of every 50 trainers in the UK at least 5 of them are good ;) No seriously the top guys of the UK just seem lengths ahead (and I have talked to several top trainers from UCD, UL etc.)

d-gal wrote: »
    Believe me I have met so may trainers, sure 1 or 2 quality ones but the UK guys are so much better in general, out of every 50 trainers in the UK at least 5 of them are good ;) No seriously the top guys of the UK just seem lengths ahead (and I have talked to several top trainers from UCD, UL etc.)

What is it that separates UK from Irish trainers do you feel?

cowzerp wrote: »
    ISSA
    NSCA
    CHEKK -wrong spelling i think!
    Just 3 off the top of my head out of a number of quality 1's.

http://www.issaonline.com/certification/certified-fitness-trainer.cfm

Online personal trainer course? Really?

I think they have better education systems and better associations. Several universities offer top class courses while ireland is very limited. associations such as the UKSCA are world class as well. Also for trainers there is a lot more job opportunities in so many different sports due to their setup, much more professionals in the sector.
    Ireland is well behind with a lot of governing bodies not employing fitness coaches, the likes of Irish Basketball Association are struggling so how can trainers in Ireland further progress with no quality job opportunities? Doubt a lot of personal trainers want to spend their life with basic weight loss regimes when they would love the opportunity to train athletes

As someone who has done a sports science degree in england (and 2 years prior to that doing physiology in carlow RTC) i would agree there are better job opportunities post-study but this still does NOT make a better trainer.

Anyone from ireland can go to uk, usa, sweeden etc and study with the best BUT even that does not make them a good trainer. I agree you have to learn more to earn more but having a better knowledge base does not necessarily make you a better trainer. How many top class athletes have you train/trained? Create job opportunities rather than moan that they are not there.

For me, i would gladly take the unfit joe or jane for training sessions ANY day of the week over an athlete, why? Athletes have bugger all money and can't afford one-to-one session unless its part of the program they are on (like scholarship programs).

This is the fiction/fantasy part of personal training that you are sold when you embark on your studies- 'oh i will get my qualifications, courses etc and i will train top class athletes' - total BS, the bread and butter of any 6 figure salary trainer are normal people. This is also the primary reason most trainers earn bugger all - they do not see it as a business.

Give me Mary who is going to come every bloody week, pissed off about not being able to get in shape and is just bursting to drop the pounds over an athlete who THINKS they train hard any day of the week.