Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Its not perfect. . . .but it'll do!

• 30-11-2008 12:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭

Given that we don't live in a country were guns are readily available and that most of us don't have a Katana lying around the house.
    What would be YOUR best option for a weapon (A) At home, (B) in the car and (C) at work.
    Try list a weapon for each option (A,B & C) and be honest with your answers, this isn't a fantasy weapon league its to be genuine items you would have access to!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Drunkmonkey79

Fo me it would be something like this
    (A) while there are a multitude of things lying around, i think i'd have to go with my trusty crowbar. Its heavy enough to bash a Z's head in or prod at them to push them back while keeping a relatively safe distance.
    (B) unfortunitly the best excuse for a weapon in my car at the moment is an umbrella! I guess i could stab with it a couple of times but i don't think it'd last to long under those circumstances.
    (C) I work in a Barber shop and as such am f**ked, unless the undead have a weakness for fistfulls of hair! The only weapons would be a scissors or cut throat razor both of which would have me far to close for my liking. so i could improvise and break the handle of a sweeping brush into a pointy end a stab away!

So fingers crossed i'll be at home when Z day comes, as that seems like my best option. In the mean time i'm gonna reinforce my umbrella and mount a turret to the front of my shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Home: Bow & arrow's, a few long pointy things, and a solid bastard of a tripod.

Transport: I usually use public transport if I'm going about my day to day business, as such, I'm ****ed. If it gets very close, I'll grab one of those yokes for smashing windows - Worth a try :)

Wait, what am I on about? I know how to drive a bus!

Work: I'm sure there's a fire axe about somewhere, along with plenty of heavy duty hardware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

most of us don't have a Katana lying around the house

Well that's A already answered as I am not most people... ;)

(B) Hockey Stick in the boot, not ideal but it will do until I can find my way to an iron pipe shop

(C) I work from home, so see (A)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

(A) Custom made throwing knives
    (B) The car is the weapon
    (C) Work is currently a fortress like converted warehouse built in the 70's, so I don't think I'd need one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

(A) Would be either an Axe or a hatchet I'd prefer to have both on me when z day eventually comes.

(B)Dont have one but alot of the people who end up being Z's won't need their cars so I could nick some variety of jeep and run the mothers over. Just hope the car i rob has a gun or 12 in it haha.

(C)In college there are nail guns so thats that set

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

(1) At Home
    Best situation here - throwing knives, my brothers ornamental sword collection, axes, hatchets, crowbars, shovels, picks.

(2) In The Car
    This ones a bit of a pain, the tyre iron is very small and lightweight so its not much good. Depends whats in the back at the time really.

(3) Office
    Engineering office so nothing great here. Best idea would be to unscrew the blade from a paper guillotine and use it as a makeshift machette. Other than that use the power pack off my laptop as a flail.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 47,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭cyberwolf77

A.) I have several katanas, and other instruments of melee mayhem around the house.
    B.) I walk everywhere so I could probably use my cane for defense until I could acquire something better,
    C.) I hope zombies like donuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Kromdar

(A) Crowbar, nuff said. if i was feeling adventurous, i would opt for a mini-chainsaw i have for 'tree trimming'

(B) I walk or get public transport. I wonder if Dublin Bus have tyre irons in the back of the bus?

(C) I work in a survey storeroom, so i have many a metal tripod. could be disassembled into spears i suppose. I also have a portable generator & toolbox! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Ah lads most of those swords are not really true swords, the thing would probably get wedged in a zombies neck first try! Not a very practical zombie killer.

a) Very little at home apart from the usual home wares items....again none of which are very good against conventional zombies. I suppose I have an air rifle, not exactly deadly but I do have thousands of pellets, a few directly to the face would take someones eyes out easily (it breaks glass bottles and tears through cans at a few meters, so I reckon it's actually a good one to consider in the event of a minor zombie outbreak) and the range is good. It's fully automatic so just in case someone had the mental image of some young fella firing one of those little spring handguns... :D

I reckon a few rocks into a sock would make a decent makeshift weapon, getting up close and personal with knives/swords/stabbing utensils would carry too high risk of getting their blood on you!

b) Don't have a car unfortunately - not even a bike. So just my nikes for this one.

c) A DIY Store....loads of deadly power tools! Chainsaws would require too close for comfort though, maybe an extendible hedge trimmer - they're more or less mini chainsaws on a 1 - 1.5 meter pole. Straight for the jugular! Runs out of battery after a while though.

Guns are the only really dependable weapon in a zombie outbreak unfortunately. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

A) A spade. Its sharp enough for some Decap fun, light enough to carry, and solid enough not to break. Ornamental swords aren't good enough, they'll break at the first solid impact they get, or get stuck in a body.

B) I'm not using my car to hit a Zed, I'm using your car to hit a bunch of Zed's! ;) Seriously though, extendable wheel brace, scull cruncher in a pinch. 3 cell mag light is going to be next in the car.

c) I work in a hotel, so apart from chef's knives and some are big enough to be classed as machetes, spirits, oh the molotov cocktail goodness, its down to good old fashioned running away. But I can leave them a mint on their pillow.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 47,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭cyberwolf77

For the record all my swords are battle tested and proven antiques I inherited from various family members or acquired elsewhere.

Well, I'd have to go with a woodman's axe - something not to heavy (in case it'd be to slow).

Hmmm, what else? Obviously, cars, but only before the petrol runs out. (speaking of which, I was watching a Top Gear episode the other day and the Hamster was looking at some sort of anti-riot armoured car, which would be great too!).

Other ideas to follow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

A. Hammer/ Hand axe basically a brain basher. One swing, one kill.
    b. Hammer/ Hand axe
    C. I work in a factory with a metalwork department. I'm surrounded by every dangerous tool known to man. I also have ideas in my head for specialized weapons I can make using all the machines here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

while I still stand behind my anti zombie trebuchet home defence system

04082008%28001%29.JPGwhich flings lead weights "real good"

A>if we are getting close and personal.. i dont have a katana but i do have a big mid eastern saber that weighs about 4 kilos. goes through both melons and wood pretty good. also have th eusual crowbars, steel pipes etc

but my money would be on giving a bit of steel plate a quick file down to make sharp and bolting it onto a hurly. viscious sounding

B> the car itself is a best bet but i probably have a power bar or a big torque wrench or something in the boot most often

C> work is just a place full of tools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Ok I need something sharp, long, and blunt on one end for pushing.

I'd get an old wooden pole from the shed and lash a big ol' knife onto the top. I can kill if needs be and most importantly I could use the blunt end to push them away. And Mawk I'll be requiring one your trebuchets for when I've fortified my house, it'll be mainly for fun, flinging bricks out onto zombies and lost people that sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭SmileyPaul

home: thai fighting swords and tribal machete's from belize I've got 4 in total any one wanna keep me company? :P or a good old hand axe

transport:I usually take the bus so most likely I'd dislodge one of the yellow polls (pillars or whatever) hand grip things.... in a car, one of those things for lossening a car whell :) or my night stick :D

work:I be a student, so to the metal workshop and grounds keepers shed for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Home,
    well thats a farm,so plenty of sharp pointy or heavy weighty things to bash and stab with.Next best thing to gun.STHIL 070 Chainsaw.The modern day broadsword.:)
    Car,
    umm that a 4x4,so the folding shovel or Hi lift jack handle.
    Work,
    See top paragraph.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭gino85

not really somthing i could readily comeby but it would be fun to try on a Z altho because its an electric chainsaw it would fail striaght away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

luckily, i do have a sword at home, so that's me sorted:) but for those who havn't, a hurley would do.

um...can the car itself not be a decent weapon? ;)

at work, it really depends on what u work at. anything that has a decent reach and has a heavy weight at one end should do the job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

id get a a big dumper truck to get about in as i think casrs etc after about the fifth person would start to detearate . hence the the big dumper trucks that they have when building moter ways as for guns

Id drive into the nears police station theres allways a wepon in there....

1. If i were at home, I'd probably have to go with a steel bar thingy that's under the stairs.It's essentially just a long steel bar (not hollow) with a rubber handle with a grip on it. Not wuite sure what its purpose is, but thats what i'd go for anyway.

2. Don't have a car and rarely use public transport, so the most lethal thing i'd have on me is my wallet, unless im wearing a hat at the time. Neither are useful for killing, though.

3. A selection of drills and saws, all of which would just get you in more trouble if you tried to kill people with them though. I suppose the most lethal thing would be a big ass cordless drill. It's really big though, and has a pretty long bit on it, so it could be used for going through eyes/throats. But it'd likely get stuck in the body and i'd be left hitting people with my hat again.

Brother drives one of those Iveco Daily vans though. Pretty big van, very powerful and higher up than your regular cars, so i reckon that'd be a pretty safe option. And im a coward so all i'd really be doing is running away anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭smegmar

at home I have a wooden hurley fastened with metal brace,

not a car owner but my dad's golf clubs come in handy

I work in the Airport so I'd taxi a plane on the ground and chop em up
    then make a kool getaway

basically, just watch Shaun of the Dead, until they reach the pub, for training

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Drunkmonkey79

basically, just watch Shaun of the Dead, until they reach the pub, for training

but i haven't got any records!?!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Kromdar

well go buy some then! and make sure theres a pub nearby with a rifle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭skywards

(A) At home- Swords, axes, a scythe laying around somewhere...
    (B) in the car- Theres a pitchfork in tehre currently :rolleyes:
    (C) at work- I work in a barn. I have zombie-proof hellponies, they can deal with teh zombies...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Given that we don't live in a country were guns are readily available and that most of us don't have a Katana lying around the house.
    What would be YOUR best option for a weapon (A) At home, (B) in the car and (C) at work.
    Try list a weapon for each option (A,B & C) and be honest with your answers, this isn't a fantasy weapon league its to be genuine items you would have access to!

A) I've a press with a monkeybar, hachet & hammer. That'd do. Seeing as it's unlikly the ESB will be issueing bills, I'd be looking to set up electrical booby traps while the elecie is still on.
    B) The car itself would be my main weapon, but other that that, I've a jerry can and more often than not a case of empty beer bottles (one day I'll stop and recycle them) that I'd be looking to make petrol bombs out of. And the wheel jack.
    C) Thankfull I'm currently working in the pheonix park. Garda HQ and McKee army barracks are right beside me.

make sure you have your camera ready!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Home: There's some mighty fine golf clubs in the house, along with some even nicer stools. They're bound to do some damage.

Car: I think there might be a wheel lock in the boot?

Work: Well, I'm in the military so I'd be taking a trip straight to the stores for weapons. There's a few Mowags on the square as well so I'd round up the lads, along with the Mowag qualified lads, grab all the kit we need and make a dash for the Curragh :D

What about going all "Half-Life" on the Z's asses and use a crowbar?

Obviously you'd be at a distinct disadvantage because of the need to be in such close quarters with the undead to use it, but it's light, strong, durable, and wouldn't blunt easily.

Plus I'd imagine I'd be relatively easy to wield, as compared to a sword, which can require some proficiency to use properly.

I reckon hand held weapons should be the primary weapon. Zombies are slow and can't actually do a whole lot of damage due to the degradation of their bodies. All they have is their ability to inspire fear and make us act irrationally.

The cost of guns is very high and your going to be limited by the amount of kills you can make with them because of ammo. I think firing weapons is also going to attract attention to yourself. Every time you fire that weapon your giving away your position and drawing in more zombies.

Zombies won't even attempt to protect them selfs against an axe or crowbar and one swing could kill with practice.

What about going all "Half-Life" on the Z's asses and use a crowbar?

Obviously you'd be at a distinct disadvantage because of the need to be in such close quarters with the undead to use it, but it's light, strong, durable, and wouldn't blunt easily.

Plus I'd imagine I'd be relatively easy to wield, as compared to a sword, which can require some proficiency to use properly.

you'r right on the money there. you need something that will smash rather than something that will stab, (unless you dismember)

ScumLord wrote: »
    I reckon hand held weapons should be the primary weapon. Zombies are slow and can't actually do a whole lot of damage due to the degradation of their bodies. All they have is their ability to inspire fear and make us act irrationally.

The cost of guns is very high and your going to be limited by the amount of kills you can make with them because of ammo. I think firing weapons is also going to attract attention to yourself. Every time you fire that weapon your giving away your position and drawing in more zombies.

Zombies won't even attempt to protect them selfs against an axe or crowbar and one swing could kill with practice.

true, an axe never runs out of bullets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

Home: Couple of rifles, some swords including katana, kopis type yoke, Goloks, lots of knives and a pitchfork in the shed with the chainsaw and 20oz and 16 oz claw hammers and roofing hammers.

Car: Unless I bring my guns and knives and sticks and axes, there's usualling a folding entrenching shovel in the boot.

Work: Heavy engineering workshop with hammers and welders, milling machine. I know enough about heat treating to make pretty much any type pole arm or war hammer I may want. Differential heat treat using a mixed gas torch to draw the back edge, and leave the primary cutting surface fully hardened?

In my fortress I need to get me an industrial mincer and a 40ft container. Place container in main entrance, access ramps to allow Zeds in, funnnel in floor leading to mincer and a waste sluice feeding to the sea. Sliding grates like they use capturing and releasing wild Lions and tigers to prevent Zeds clogging the mincer. Live bait one end, Zeds enter, fall, mince and eject to sea. Stops having thousands of Zeds build up outside your fortress!

The local meat plant will get a visit from me once a secure location has been sorted and raids for food and weapons carried out. I was in the local gun club for years, I know most of the lads in town who would own guns and have ammo at home. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 seeker099

How or what could you use from everyday objects to kill a zombie.

Heres my fav:

Ingrediants
    1 800 Watt micro wave oven (not beko)
    5 cans of WD-40
    assorted marbles(steelies are good)/ or nails
    1 20m flex
    1 tape deck playing Russ abbots "Oh what an atmosphere"
    Procedure
    Run the flex the full 20m onto the road and plug in both tape deck and micro wave.
    Place all WD-40 into the micro wave, set it to full heat and place shrapnel around it.
    Set Russ on continious play and set the time for 60 mins.
    Run away and wait for the horde to surround the device.
    After about 55 mins check it again, they should be ready to pop.

Once exploded, relax in the knoledge that you are bloody great, and treat yourself to a go on your BMX.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭MacBrayne

Living in a country that allows guns has its advantages. Large calibre is the way to go if you have a choice, I use the 7.62x39 rifle round and the .45ACP for a handgun, both very good at destroying watermelons. But firearms aside...

Home: Antique Moro Barong (beheading sword) and a hardwood practice sword (bo-ken) in the bedroom with the firearms, a couple heavy frying pans in the kitchen, some duct tape to strap a blade to a broom handle in the living room, some fairly heavy bottles behind the bar and I guess if it came to it I could bash them with my racing helmet but I'd rather keep that on as cranium armor. Floor jack handles, breaker bars, welders, power saws, grinders and the like are in the detached garage. Also, 3 carpentry hammers in various rooms of the house including the garage.

Car: My anti-zombie vehicle is the Jeep Grand Cherokee, the other cars have nothing better than a tire wrench or jack handle in the boot and are to be used to get to the Jeep. The Jeep speaks for itself, although a small toolbox is available for assembling an appropirate device to use when going outside.

Work: I work from my house and the Jeep, see above.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Home
    Well if it Was Ireland, I have a 12 foot Steel Pike in the Rafters, which I have practiced with a fair bit.

Over here its a Selection of Axes Machetes,an my fave for CQB uld be a Sickle.

I drive 'Weapon Cars' so the choices are
    78 Series Landcruiser SWB, with Roobars and rollcage
    60 Series Landcruiser Wagon, roobars again, and an indestructable Motor
    75 Series Landcruiser Ute, the lightest at a touch under 2 Tonnes, more modern electronic injection and a Turbo make this thig go like hot snot, downside is the open tray

300SE Mercedes, nice car, but not in the same league as the cruisers, might lend this one to the BAITAdvanced Scout Team

At Work

I work in a Sawmill, and we do Construction, so Saws, Axes, Nailguns, lots of strange things in the MAchinery Workshop.

My plan would be to organise a convoy and then drive the 78 Series as its set up for long hauls offroad with 2 Fuel tanks and an LPG conversion giving me about 1200KM range

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭I Love Cheese

A. Fire Poker? The heavy end of a pool cue x 2? Pull Up Bar? Hatchet
    B. Tire Iron/Jack thing for taking off the nuts
    C. I dont have a job, could probably get a pool cue at college

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭DakotaYoda

(A) At home - Sioux Falls, SD USA
    • Hand axes
    • 308 rifle, 9mm pistol, .50cal black-powder musket, .22 rile, 30-30 lever action rifle
    • 3ft wrecking bar
    (B) in the car - '95 Honda Accord :)
    • Aluminum baseball bat x 2
    • Tire iron
    (C) at work - Manufacturing plant makes big rolls of plastic.
    • Weighted aluminum baseball bat
    • Crowbar
    • 6 inch Buck knife
    • box cutters
    • Hammers, screwdrivers, etc
    • Forklifts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

Out of curiosity, how well would those air-soft weapons work? Say it the more powerful red gas conversions as opposed to the standard green gas? Would it penetrate the skull at a close enough range?

As for my 3:

Home: I'll take the end off my garden rake and attach a screw driver to the end or use a large kitchen knife

Car: The car!

Work: Hmmm, I'm pretty screwed come to think of it!

Modified rake it is :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

On the topic of Using yer car as a Weapon, it would work for my andCruisers as they have been fitted with Front Protection DESIGNED specifically for the Purpose of hitting a 6 Foot Roo and keepin going, it has RooBars made of Steel, Bolted to the Chassis, and even then there is a finite amount of times you can hit things before you wreck your motor.

a 95 Accord would be good for one or 2 hits then you lose your Radiator and overheat, or worse one of them comes crashin through the Windscreen, Most modern cars are designed to minimise the damage caused to pedestrians if you hit them, Landcruisers are meant to plough straight through :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Bucklesman

messymess wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, how well would those air-soft weapons work? Say it the more powerful red gas conversions as opposed to the standard green gas? Would it penetrate the skull at a close enough range?

No way, jose. You can forget airsoft guns as any sort of counter-Zed weapon. Nowhere near enough power. Just no.

Not even remotely close. Even if you upped the power ten times it wouldn't do anything to a Zombie. Even a real person would be nothing more than severely pissed off if hit with the more powerful airsoft gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

So as far as weapons go it's farmer joe's shotgun or nothing then?

There has to be some way to do something lethal with these things. Steel ball bearings and C02 gas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

A) My father has 2 licensed guns that Im sure if Z dat breaks out he ouwld have no problem taking out. A 12 gauge Beretta shotgun and iirc a 6.5 calibre Steyer deer rifle. Other then them, there is a big iron hunting bar.

B) I have a pitching wedge in the boot.

C) Nothing of use, maybe a fire extinguisher or a coat stand would be my best option.

So as far as weapons go it's farmer joe's shotgun or nothing then?

There has to be some way to do something lethal with these things. Steel ball bearings and C02 gas?
    You could probably build a steam powered projectile weapon, given time and a secure position. It would be a fixed installation part of a bigger fortified building.

I don't know how feasible it would be to make your own gunpowder after the downfall. It's going to be hard to find the components of any chemical based explosive unless the chemicals are naturally available in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭komodosp

Hmmm.. I don't have a Katana at home, but I do have a hunting knife... I also have a decent axe in the shed, unfortunately not really an option when fighting several zombies because of its weight... You need to put your weight behind it and after swinging at one, the rest of them will be on top of you.. A claw hammer might be better for that.

My house might not be the best tactically speaking though. Although the back garden is surrounded by walls about 2.5m high (can zombies climb walls?) It also makes escape difficult - although I can climb walls, they could infiltrated the surrounding houses also. I think I'd prefer a wide open space to escape to.

In the car, I suppose all I have is an extendable wheel brace in the boot, which could be quite heavy if used right... Also the car itself.

At work I have f*ck all being a web developer, but my office would almost be a fortress - at the top of a high, steep, narrow staircase, even if they managed to infiltrate the bottom floor, they'd have a tough time penetrating further as it's single file up the stairs and I have a great height advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Home: Crowbar/ 2.5foot bat with a lead weight in the center my dad used to keep in the car from when he had to do nights in dodgy areas.

Car: Hockey Sticks.

Work: Multitude of bottles of wine and spirits that can be used for bashing or Molotovs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭NOGMaxpower

(1) At Home
    My Trusty lump hammer and gurka blade. Bash and slash!

(2) In The Car
    Tire iron and golf clubs.

(3) Office
    My stapler lol, but in all fairness I've had my eye on a fire axe in the main stairwell if the **** goes down Im calling her Betty.

(2) In The Car
    Tire iron and golf clubs.
    I have my doubts about golf clubs effectiveness, while they would do a serious injury to a living person I think they might break before causing enough damage to a Zombies skull.