Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The take over that never happened

• 29-11-2008 11:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭

i would just like to let everyone know that cimcom sports are the people
    that wanted to try and take over drogheda airsoft, but they didn't get the site so now they've opened an airsoft site in dundalk
    (I HOPE NO-ONE TURNS UP ON THE OPENING DAY FOR TRYING TO TAKE SOMEONE ELSE'S BUSINESS THAT THEY STARTED BY THEMSELVES)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭-PornStar-

Wha? Surely its just a matter of saying "no you cannot have our airsoft site".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Bitter much? Afraid of competition, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭JOHN MC

WHY WOULD I BE AFRAID OF COMPETITION WHEN FINGAL AIRSOFT IS ONLY 10 MINS AWAY FROM WERE I AM, ITS NOT ABOUT COMPETITION ITS ABOUT PEOPLE TRYING TO TAKE OVER A SITE THATS ALREADY STARTED UP, AFTER ALL THE WORK THAT HAS BEEN DONE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

How did they try to take over?

Karoma wrote: »
    How did they try to take over?

thay offered the land owner more money for the land that i could not match
    and wanted me to work for them and to run the site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

jealous?

shblob wrote: »
    jealous?

jealous (whats that suppose to mean?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭DisasterIRL

He is right, it's not on to go behind someones back and try take the lad away from a business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

For gods sake lads...

John worked his arse off to open only the second airsoft site in Ireland.
    He built it up with shag all resources, with his own sweat and the help of some regulars. He has every right to be p**sed off at someone trying to cut him out.

I'd be just as annoyed if someone tried to feck me around after all the work I've done to build Eirsoft up from nothing.

This is a small community....the sooner some of you people realise we're all in this together, and need to STICK together, the better for airsoft in general.

Competition is one thing, but unethical competition is quite another. Some of you guys need to realise that if an operator or retailer is willing to screw over his competition by using unethical means, he wont think twice about screwing over YOU, his customers.

Cop on to yourselves, stop proclaiming unscrupulous get-rich-quick commercial interests as some kind of heroes, open your eyes to what they're doing, and vote with your feet. I'm in the happy position now that it'd be very difficult to drive me out of the business, but dont believe for a second I didnt have to fight off a lot of crap in order to get here. Some of the genuine new start-ups who want airsoft to thrive, and open their business with the best of intentions are being undermined by shady dealings and abuses of power by some people.

Stop and think....if these people thrive, and the genuine airsoft enthusiasts are driven out of the commercial end of the sport - where will things be a year from now ? You'll be paying through the nose to play and obtain your kit, because all the people who actually give a crap about this sport will have thrown in the towel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭-PornStar-

I wasnt getting on at the guy. Just didnt fully understand his situation. His OP isnt exactly the most descriptive of posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

I'm sorry John but this kind of thread is not going to provide anything productive to the forum.

Thread Locked

(On a personal note: I have a lot of respect for John starting Drogheda and building it when he did, he's one of the ones who's been around since the early days when airsoft wasn't just about trying to make money, putting his own time and effort into the site knowing full well there was little or no money to be made out of it)