Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Britney Spears on The X Factor

• 29-11-2008 10:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭

Just watched the worst performance imaginable from Britney on the X Factor tonight. What the hell was that about?

She had to be miming because the camera's never got close enough to her face and at several points she was shown to be mouthing faster than the tape track. She also tried to say 'Thank You' at the end of the performance but it was obvious her microphone was off.

At least you knew Miley Cyrus sang live because some twit forgot to turn up her microphone at the beginning.

Unlike previous guests, Take That and M Carey, she offered no coaching to fans and spoke about 3 sentences to Dermot. We were told she was watching the entire show and yet she was able to avoid mentioning the name of a single person in the entire show.

It was built up as a comeback show and yet she performed barely one song before running off as fast as she could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭podge018

Dont let it get you down.

Mariah Carey mimed too fwiw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Of course she was only miming. But she looked amazing, and that's all that matters. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I thought the performance was lol-tastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭aliqueenb

it wasn't great tbh yeah it was well clear she was miming, but atleast shes not bald and fat and showing signs of DID anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Awesome!

That's all she said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

The judges getting on their feet to give her a standing ovation was an insult to the contestants, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

good to see her back on her feet, i think this was all a confidence thing, remember her on the VMA's last year... have to say this performance was alot better than that one...shes on the way up:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Demeyes

It was awful. Really poor, especially in comparison to some of the contestants performances. At least you could see them trying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

128340601289062500leavebritney.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Britney rocked tonight and yeah ...... leave her alone .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Give Britney a break! I think she did pretty well considering her recent troubles. Compare to last year at the VMAs! Think the tracks on her latest album are great. Hopefully she will get even better..

Think the judges standing ovation was more of a general "congratulations on your return to music" than a performance based applaud.

It wasn't a bad routine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭todolist

Things must be bad when she has to promote her lame song on a pile of muck like x factor.

todolist wrote: »
    Things must be bad when she has to promote her lame song on a pile of muck like x factor.
    Viewing figures count .X factor wins ,britney wins ,everbodys quids in .

Joe publics curiosity ensures that . (RTE will be watching) . ;)

latchyco wrote: »

It's a lame talent show.Britney appearing on it does nothing for her career.it actually takes her down a peg or two to appear on a national "talent show" like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

It's a lame talent show.Britney appearing on it does nothing for her career.it actually takes her down a peg or two to appear on a national "talent show" like this.

She's flogging her comeback album - if her publicist thinks appearing on Colm and Jim Jims Home Run wearing a leprauchan outfit would be good for sales, then she'll do it.

Well not nessacarly because x factor is watched and relayed to millions all over the world in different time zones and just an appearence by Britney will put the ratings up in all the national tv .By appearing on it will she giving her seal of approval to the locals who adore her every move and try become the next x factor star in their country / region .

Well to me she looked like a fat celebrity desperate for publicity on any national show and hey presto it was x factor.her latest song is garbage.no argument about that.It's muck.

Think she needs to dig herself out of that terrible mess she was in and any publicity bar papperazzi is better than none they say .

PS - not a big BS fan but my daughter is and i'm sticking to that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Ah, dude, you're saying her songs where ever any good? :eek: :P

Her latest song is garbage.Hence her flight to europe to promote it on a lame talent show.Oh dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

:rolleyes: I wouldn't call it muck. Her latest album Circus is set to become one of the top albums and the single she performed tonight is already doing well. I respect her comeback after what she has been through and wish her well. I hope she sticks with the Timbaland theme.

jaffa20 wrote: »
    :rolleyes: I wouldn't call it muck. Her latest album Circus is set to become one of the top albums and the single she performed tonight is already doing well. I respect her comeback after what she has been through and wish her well. I hope she sticks with the Timbaland theme.
    I'd call it muck because that's what it is.C'mon,if anyone else brought out a single like that no radio station would have it on its play list.It's dreadful stuff.Can't here management pick a decent song from all the submissions they get from all over america.Baffeling.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

It wasn't so much that she was miming, it was that she was miming so badly. At least try and sip sync Brit!

I'd call it muck because that's what it is.C'mon,if anyone else brought out a single like that no radio station would have it on its play list.It's dreadful stuff.Can't here management pick a decent song from all the submissions they get from all over america.Baffeling.
    Thing is Britney appeals to a certain type of age group (pre teens/teens ) and they will buy her records in the millions .Womoniser is not as bad after 20 listens but then i am not a teen but understand when i see my daughter dance to it .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

i'm a fan of britney but i'm not gonna blindly rush to say that she was amazing cause she wasn't, she wasn't really dancing, she was miming terribly, and to be honest she wasnt dressed well

compared to her performences in france and germany this was the worse, but she's meant to be doing a mini concert on monday in new york so lets see what happens then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

Alessandra wrote: »

Think the judges standing ovation was more of a general "congratulations on your return to music"

Return to music? Shes been one of the most prolific popstars the last while, an album out last year, a new one out this year. She never went away, so why is this being called a comeback? Its not even like shes now making good music, its still ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

She's still not 100%. If you compare her performance last night to any performance from 3 years ago you'll see a difference. She was an amazing dancer and that spark is not there anymore. Being a Britney fan and hoping for a good performance, it was sad to watch. :(

That comedian who was on the Xtra Factor was right when he said the contestants who've only been doing these performances for the last couple of weeks were better than her. Waaay better!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Larianne wrote:
    That comedian who was on the Xtra Factor was right when he said the contestants who've only been doing these performances for the last couple of weeks were better than her. Waaay better!!
    Yep. James Corden said it best to be honest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

basquille wrote: »

I thought he was a legend when he said it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

even i can tell her dancing isn't as sharp as it used be be 5years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

I thought she looked hot though! Miming or not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

basquille wrote: »

Fair play to him having the balls to just come out and say it.
    I really like James Corden - he was brilliant on Never Mind The Buzzcocks, and of course he's a great actor/writer on Gavin & Stacey aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

latchyco wrote: »

A car crash isn't a winner just because people stop to have a peek.

Britney Spears isn't so much a woman as she is a gigantic marketing tool. I thought the South Park episode on her was scarily accurate. She is a circus act that is trotted out for ratings, CD sales, etc. every couple of years whilst the press go through their phases of kissing her arse one minute and then looking to mock and destroy her the next.

In one sense I feel sorry for her, in another sense I feel sorry for the people who feed the whole sorry charade. I guess you have to feel most sorry for her kids. I'd still be very concerned about her mental state and would wonder if she's truly got her head together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

jaffa20 wrote: »
    :rolleyes: I wouldn't call it muck. Her latest album Circus is set to become one of the top albums
    Thing is, the new album isn't all that good...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

2qk4u wrote: »
    I thought he was a legend when he said it....

I taught he was funnier when the presenter looked at the screen, hoping her association with this interview wouldnt have her blacklisted, and the other X Factor contestants started laughing....then to shut him up the presenter tries to clap along for the contestants...but he just keeps speaking...and what he is saying is what everyone is thinking AND YET nobody will be brave enough to admit

A car crash isn't a winner just because people stop to have a peek.

Britney Spears isn't so much a woman as she is a gigantic marketing tool. I thought the South Park episode on her was scarily accurate. She is a circus act that is trotted out for ratings, CD sales, etc. every couple of years whilst the press go through their phases of kissing her arse one minute and then looking to mock and destroy her the next.

In one sense I feel sorry for her, in another sense I feel sorry for the people who feed the whole sorry charade. I guess you have to feel most sorry for her kids. I'd still be very concerned about her mental state and would wonder if she's truly got her head together.
    No doubt she has had mental problems and she is a marketing tool that has being exploited badly .
    She may (hopefully not ) join the A list of female celebs down the years who's fragile existence secumbed so much to drug dependency ie, Marilyn Monroe , Judy Garland and many others .She hinted at her own vunerability and insecurity in the video ' Every Time ' were she slunks down under the bath water . I hope she comes good again for her own and her childrens sake .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

I used to love britney back in the day but she's an eejit now and that performance was insulting to the other contestants.

EOGHAN YOU SING SOMETIMES WAAAAAAAY BETTER :D

CHEEKY <3's EOGHAN

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

Miley was waaay better than britney even if her song was a bit ****

and like everybody else is saying it was an insult to the other contestants who all did better performances than britney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 422 ✭✭Ckal

I really don't see the point of lip synching. I know most of the guest performances on The X Factor lip synch... but still... it looks cheap.

Did Miley Cyrus (*shudders*) lip synch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

as far as I could tell miley was actually singing, could be wrong though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    I used to love britney back in the day but she's an eejit now and that performance was insulting to the other contestants.

She was an eejit back then too; you just hadnt figured that out yet!:o:D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

I do love Britney but that performance was cringetastic, reminds me way too much of the MTV disaster a few years ago.
    It was a walk through, lack lustre show, the miming was awful and the bit of dancing she did she looked bored doing it.
    She looks great but bored.
    The poor girl has been forced back too soon by the family/management like they want to prove shes ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

she looked good but mimed terrible and danced terrible and yet she got a standing ovation :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

as far as I could tell miley was actually singing, could be wrong though

Yeah she seemed to be singing as far as I could tell. But it wasn't 'live' so to speak, as it was recorded earlier in the week. I thought the editing of it in to the live show was desperate, as was the Xtra Factor interview from 'earlier'.

Britney was terrible. The build up was massive and it was a serious let-down. I'm no Britney fan, but it was one of the big talked about things over the last couple of weeks, and was a big anti climax.

James Corden was excellent. His Louis Walsh impression was very good, and then when he came out and said all that about Britney, I just thought fareplay to you!

Ckal wrote: »
    Did Miley Cyrus (*shudders*) lip synch?

No, and the reason you will know, is because at the start of her performance some twit forgot to put the microphone on so when she started they had to turn her volume up real quick

oh yeah, and there has just been a big thing about this on This Morning...and a lot of criticism towards Britney's performance and the fact she was saving her voice for the Industry professionals at Heaven that night.

She didn't do a show at heaven that night in the the end though did she?

Ginny wrote: »
    She didn't do a show at heaven that night in the the end though did she?

Quite right, I have just learned she didn't turn up at Heaven in the end after all....one person posted the following online....

Just wanted to let you know that after much hype London now HATES Britney Spears. I just came back from G-A-Y at Heaven where she was supposedly performing. A friend and I were right at the front and saw Larry Rudolph come out twice to survey the crowd. There was a large space cleared then a guy got on stage and told us all that Britney was in the building but she wasn't coming out. Everyone was booing and pushing, dozens of people passed out it was mayhem. I myself got injured quite badly in the madness of it all. Eventually everyone realised she wasn't coming out and after probing the security guard for info he said she was in the bar next door having and drink and she won't be coming on stage. Everyone left at this point cursing her name. She has certainly lost a few friends!

I would take it from that that she realised the **** up she made on live TV a few hours previous

This was the performance we should have gotten on Saturday night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Dude, you just need part of the youtube code for it to work:

[noparse][/noparse]

Gives you:

Yup saw the Star Academy performance, much much better, I also think the X factor stage was too big for her the smaller area seems to suit the routine better.
    Less wandering around.