Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I want to buy a ps3

• 28-11-2008 6:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭

What are the best offers that are going on at the minute?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭burberry

im looking to buy a psp slim and lite anyone know of any bargains ,cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Got mine 2days ago in Xtra-Vision.

80g PS3
    Need For Speed Undercover
    300 BluRay
    BluRay Remote

€409.99

It came to €417 priced on Amazon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,728 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I hear LBP and PES2009 for 400e in Game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

I think its about time we had a sticky for offers on the ps3. People could post in it whenever they see a good offer so prospective buyers on boards know where to look instead of creating a new thread every time

I couldn't agree more.
    Hmm theres 4 games I really want with a new ps3 which are MGS4, pES2009, Valkria Chronicles and Fallout 3.

I really wanna hold out for a bundle that lets me get two of the four.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

harvey norman are doin some sort of deal that ya go in and make a bundle urself - worth a look

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭seveb

419.99 euro in xtravision

80gb with little big planet/ fifa 09/ iron man blu ray
    & 30 bucks worth of rental vouchers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭DonalN

excellent timing for this post. I'm currently trying to convince myself to buy one. Hoping for some good offers in Jan sales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Zigmund

I don't know whether to wait until January or not to buy one. I doubt there'd be much lower offers on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,913 ✭✭✭Absolam

80GB + Resistance 2 + Mirrors Edge €399.99 in GAME.. got some good 2 free game deals at the moment.

Absolam wrote: »
    80GB + Resistance 2 + Mirrors Edge €399.99 in GAME.. got some good 2 free game deals at the moment.

Ye they're also doing 80GB + Fifa 09 + LBP for 399.99. I think the offer ends Dec 4th though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭cmb.

160gb with LBP, Fifa 09 & Tomb Raider for 489 in Game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Can a PS3 bought in america work here? I'm contemplating getting one for the blu ray player..and well just to have another console :P

But im heading america in the summer and might hold off till I go there, with the hope that also there is a few more titles to entise me.

But there does seem to be some cracking offers around this country lately.

was in gamestop today

80gb & 2 platinum games & 3 used dvds (not blu ray)
    price: 400 euro!

rubbish deal compared to others out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

seveb wrote: »
    was in gamestop today

80gb & 2 platinum games & 3 used dvds (not blu ray)
    price: 400 euro!

rubbish deal compared to others out there

Gamestop is possibly the worst shop out there price(value)wise, I'm sure there's a few good deals in HMV!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kashkai

jasonorr wrote: »
    Gamestop is possibly the worst shop out there price(value)wise, I'm sure there's a few good deals in HMV!

Well said. Gamestop have taken the crown for the highest pricing on games and the lousiest trade in prices, e.g. I got Resistance 2 in HMV for €52.99, Gamestop wanted €65.99. I also recently went to them to trade in 10 dvds, most of which were released in the past 3 months and they offered me €10 for the lot. One of them was on sale in their second hand section for €15 when they were offering me €1 for my copy of the same DVD. Thats some mark up for them.

Never thought I'd see the day when HMV are offering some of the best, if not the best deals in town!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

HMV are offering some of the best, if not the best deals in town!

+1 - I only got my PS3 a couple of weeks ago and the best deal for me was in HMV: 80GB with Dead Space and Motorstorm 2 for €399 (it was only a weekly deal, but they still have other similar ones). Gamestop was by far the worse from the various stores I looked at...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 cheesemonger

How is Zavvi doing in comparison? I'm also looking into buying a PS3 sometime in January.

was in hmv today

80gb with little big planet & fifa 09 - 399.99 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

How is Zavvi doing in comparison? I'm also looking into buying a PS3 sometime in January.

Zavvi are going under I bet, their main supplier is woolworths in uk which has gone bust.

Zavvi are currently contacting all customers that have pre-ordered anything, music, dvd and games to let them know their orders wont be filled.

I have also noticed alot of " out of stock" signs around their store, and alot of worried places.

Virign ( pre zavvi) was doomed the minute hmv came into this country, so why they thought a name change would make it any better, meh.

bought a ps3 from shopto.net
    was surprised that i could buy from them as they are english

80gb with little big planet, 300 blu ray & blu ray remote all for £283.99 & £12 odd delivery to ireland. bought it in sterling of course. total charged on my visa after currency conversion was 347 euro! :D

bought it sunday night & to my great surprise it arrived at my door 10am tuesday morning - that was F-N quick!

impressed so far with the ps3. like the way you can copy files to the hard drive, wish i could do this with my 360.

Wheres that bundle?

Dont see it there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Single Malt

Can a PS3 bought in america work here? I'm contemplating getting one for the blu ray player..and well just to have another console :P

But im heading america in the summer and might hold off till I go there, with the hope that also there is a few more titles to entise me.

But there does seem to be some cracking offers around this country lately.
    Games are region free, but if you want the bluray player it may be worthwhile checking if movies are region locked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Games are region free, but if you want the bluray player it may be worthwhile checking if movies are region locked.

Most movies aren't. You can check which are and which are not here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭deiseff

Bought a ps3 yesterday e410 80gb little big planet and fifa 09 in smyths in waterford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Anyone know if the PS3 deals on the UK Game site are the same over here?

PS3 Bundles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 silverY

Was in 'toys r us' in Lisburn yesterday, they have great deals on PS3. Their exchange rate yesterday was .87. Although web site says not in stock might be worth ringing them.

http://www.toysrus.co.uk/index.jsf?fh_location=%2f%2ftrus%2fen_GB%2fcategories%3c%7btrus_trus%7d%2fitemtype%3dproduct%2fcategories%3c%7btrus_trus_toysrus_truvideogames%7d%2fformat_format%3e%7bplaystation203%7d%2fcategories%3c%7btrus_trus_toysrus_truvideogames_truvideogamesbundlesconsoles%7d&fh_reftheme=promo_255&fh_refview=lister

Then went next door into Argos and picked up spare controller for €38.92!! Their exchange rate was .88 yesterday.

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/5660830/c_1/1%7Ccat_10199869%7CPlaystation+3%7C10199878/c_2/2%7Ccat_10199878%7CPlaystation+3+accessories%7C10199879/Trail/searchtext%3EPS3.htm

Argos didn't have the dvd blu-ray control in stock so ordered it last night online for €19.99 and also the HDMI cable for €30.99 (not too well up on cables but as its sony hope its ok).

http://www.cdwow.ie/games/Accessories

Happy days:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Sarah**

Ok so really girlie question but buying himself one for xmas, and he is a PES man rather then a Fifa....any bundles out there with PES?

Also 80gb and 160......take it 80gb is ok to buy for him??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Dagon

80gig should be fine Sarah.

I know there are Fifa bundles, but not sure about PES.

As for buying him a PS3 for xmas; well my girlfriend wanted to buy me a PS3 last year but when I found out I stopped her in her tracks - it's way too expensive and she would have been broke after it! (of course I would have loved it as a gift, but that's not the point).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭Niska

Was passing Zavvi i the Crescent and they've seeme dto have cut the prices of all their consoles: the PS3 was €350, but don't think there were any bundles...

(X359, BTW, was 150, 200 and 250 for 0/60/Elite)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭SAVE_ME.222

Sarah** wrote: »
    Ok so really girlie question but buying himself one for xmas, and he is a PES man rather then a Fifa....any bundles out there with PES?

Also 80gb and 160......take it 80gb is ok to buy for him??

Will you go out with me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭lego

Direct linking to the sonystyle website doesn't work, so here goes:

Go to the sonystyle UK home website:

https://www.sonystyle.co.uk

Search for playstation 3 in the search box in the top right hand corner.

40GB PS3
    price: £249.00 (€268, xe.com)

80GB PS3 with Little Big Planet
    price: £289.00 (€311, xe.com)

Prices include vat and both are in stock.

OK I was in HMV yesterday and they had the best deal I think.

80GB
    Resistance 2 (or others)
    Dark Knight Blu-Ray
    HDMI Cable

€400

Im gonna check Harvey Normans and Smyths tomorrow though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

lego wrote: »
    Direct linking to the sonystyle website doesn't work, so here goes:

Go to the sonystyle UK home website:

https://www.sonystyle.co.uk

Search for playstation 3 in the search box in the top right hand corner.

40GB PS3
    price: £249.00 (€268, xe.com)

80GB PS3 with Little Big Planet
    price: £289.00 (€311, xe.com)

Prices include vat and both are in stock.
    €270 for a PS3 is very tempting. I think i'll wait it out until the Sterling gets even closer to the €1 mark.

www.sonystyle.co.uk only seems to ship to the UK.

I'm pretty sure they say they deliver to ROI too.

Dman001 wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure they say they deliver to ROI too.

Hmm. On the checkout page it says "This website ships only to Great Britain" and Great Britain is hardcoded as delivery country. Where did you see that Sony delivers to the ROI? Would be great if they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭lego

I got my brother to buy it (he lives in London). Then he sent it back to Ireland.

Kinda strange that the sonystyle UK website doesn't ship to Ireland. If you buy from the sonystyle Ireland website they ship your order from the same warehouse in the UK.

They have free shipping until December 31st, but only within the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭wilford

I'm getting one in the next couple of days Game.co.uk have some great bundles at the moment,anyone been up north lately?hate to drive up and find there out of stock!!

Actually they don't exactly say they deliver to Ireland but I saw this on their help page and it implies that they do deliver to Ireland.

"Delivered next day after dispatch
    (Service not available for all postcodes in UK and IE. Please refer to the UPS site to check if your postcode is covered)"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭No_Deal

lads im looking to get one in the next few days.

was hoping if i ordered one online in the next day or so it would be delivered by christmas.

however that doesnt seem to be the problem,both play.com and game have some tasty bundles on offer on their website and with the current exchange rates can make a nice saving.

problem is neither seem to ship to ROI.

game tell me when i go to the checkout that they dont deliver packages over 1kg and to remove the hardware or else choose a UK delivery address.

play.com say they only deliver to UK addresses when you click on one of their bundles.

where do people buy hardware/consoles etc online that deliver/based in ireland?

thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭eddie-n07

440euro

PS3 80gig
    Motorstorm
    Extra Dualshock 3 controller
    3used dvd's (not blu ray)

Thats what i bought last week..

I second Argos in UK. 80gb with LPB, Resistance 2 and Motorsotrm 2 for 287 pounds. Or 325e

noodler wrote: »
    I second Argos in UK. 80gb with LPB, Resistance 2 and Motorsotrm 2 for 287 pounds. Or 325e

Online?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Cosmonaut

HMV:
    400 euro
    80gig with moterstorm or LPB or Resistance 2
    and another game (usually Fifa, but u can twist theyre arm for a deal)

Conor108 wrote: »
    Online?

No, .co.uk won't deliver to the Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭thecivvie

Just been to Argos in Galway, they have an 80gb PS3, LBP, Motor Storm and Resistance 2 for €399

Join Ireland Weather Network

thecivvie wrote: »
    Just been to Argos in Galway, they have an 80gb PS3, LBP, Motor Storm and Resistance 2 for €399

Sweet. Just the games I was looking for. Anyone know if this offer is available in Dublin as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I saw this advertised in Argos in Limerick.
    One ad says PS3 with the 3 free games,another smaller ad says you can pick any of the 3 games when you buy a PS3 so it might be just a typo or just some clever marketing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭thecivvie

jackncoke wrote: »
    I saw this advertised in Argos in Limerick.
    One ad says PS3 with the 3 free games,another smaller ad says you can pick any of the 3 games when you buy a PS3 so it might be just a typo or just some clever marketing

There is a new yellowish sale sheet which says on the back it is valid between Dec 17-24, the white offers are older

Join Ireland Weather Network