Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€100+€10 NLH F/O Tournament Every Tuesday in The Westbury Club €1500 Guaranteed!

• 23-11-2008 2:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭

Every Tuesday Night €100+€10 No Limit Hold'Em Tournament!

€1500 GUARANTEED!!!

Starting Time 8:30pm Sharp!!!

Satellites from 7:00 pm!!

No Limit Texas Hold'Em
    No Rebuy - No Add On
    Starting Stack:10000

Clock:25/20 Minutes
    1500 Early Bird Bonus Chip

1.Who is running the event..Westbury Card Club
    2.The Purpose of the event..Commercial
    3.Date&Location of event...Every Tuesday ,The Westbury Club,The Green,Malahide ,Co.Dublin
    4.Registration from 8:00pm,Starting Time of event 8:30pm SHARP
    5.Any prerequisites...member of westbury club,Join on the night
    6.Tickets can be purcgased on the night ,pre-reg 01 8453488
    7.Type of Tournament:NLH
    8.Cost of entry:€100
    9.Cost of Registration:€10
    10.% of entry fee/rebuys/top up going into Prize fund....100%
    11.€1500 Guaranteed Prize Fund
    12.Introduce a new Player (non member) and get 25%off your entry fee
    13.Starting chips....10000
    14.Blind Levels:see Blind Structure below
    15.Blind Timeframes ....25/20 minutes for all levels
    16.Places being paid....Top 6 based on 20 players
    17.All fully trained professional Dealers
    18.Rules on Display in the Club.
    19.Is There a Tournament Director....Yes
    20.TD has Final say

Blind Structure:25 minutes each level
    25-50
    50-100
    100-200
    150-300
    15 minutes Break 20 minutes blind levels(Tea ,Coffe,refreshments,food etc...)
    200-400
    300-600
    400-800
    500-1000
    10 minutes break 20 minutes blind levels(Tea,Coffe,refreshments,etc...)
    600-1200
    800-1500
    1000-2000
    1500-3000
    2000-4000

Good Luck Everyone!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Westbury

Any new players(non members) will receive 25% off the entry fee+free registration !!!

last week we had 18 participants

€20 Satellites Tonight from 7:00pm !1 Ticket issued after every 5 player!

Any new players(non members) will receive 25% off the entry fee+free registration !!!

Satellites tonight from 7:00pm !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

Westbury wrote: »

ok so thats great if you are a non member

what do members of long standing get, apart from great service and loads of fun

i should make this tonite

You get Stef for a week followed by Tibor and Csaba and no dicount!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭big_iain

how many do you expect tonight?

to-night there should be 25 or more players for the €100 F/O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭doke

You get Stef for a week!!!!!

Wow. Best loyalty scheme ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 pairs&monsters

put me down for this lads ,try to bring few others as well,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭adhoc

So if i was to turn up to this event tonight it would cost me 75euro as new member is this correct can u confirm please

Yes Adhoc, I'm pleased to confirm that tonight's tournament the €100+€10 NLH F/O will cost you €75 ! Guaranteed good poker night+dynamic cash game after and in-between !

Regards ,

Larry
    Westbury Club

Thanks for everyone ,last night playing the Tournament ,good turnout 28 runners reaching total prize pool of €2800 !!!

Congratulation to the winners!!!

The Westbury,

End of the year €100 F/O Tonight in the westbury with Special Italian Fine Food& Wine !

Tourney Starts at 8:30 pm !!!

All new player welcome with no registration fee !!!

The Westbury,

Tonights €100 F/O should be a good night numbers look lke over 20 hopefully will reach around 2,5K prizepool!!!

TO SAVE me the trouble and time restrictions upon me this evening, would it be easier all round if i just dropped in the money and save myself the usual getting seriously dogged, aprt from which, Rob Taylor will probably win it again anyway
    I will drop the money in, dont know if i will have the time to take part

Derek

Hi All ,Happy to inform that last week we had 33 players ,with a total prizepool of €3300 this week will hopefully beat this number !

€20 Qualifier Satellite on tonight from 7:00pm !

OK, I WILL DROP OVER FOR THIS

Derek

Great Derek I'll see you this evening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

Was on my way to this when I got sidetracked. Presume that Rob won?

no, his sidekick Darah was the worthy winner, man he was running hot, cant recall how many times he had Kings or Jacks in the hole

he was down to 12k at one point but following a doube up 3 times, he was chip leader and once he gets chips, they tend to be in jail, well you know his form, steady builder of stacks

he took me out at the end with another pair of jacks, knocking in to 2nd place

Rob went out about 15th i think, i didnt see the hand but i was delighted to know that at least i have some chance with him gone

as usual, a great bit of craic on the night, well run, some new faces and some old ones that i usually only see in the city casinos

yep, the word is definitely out about this well kept secret bundle of joy

Derek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭byrner1

Unluck Clamper he sure hit the cards at the right time, I ran into him with nines in the big blind when i pushed from small with A 3 , stilll I made some money for third so good night overall. Really enjoyable game last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

WP Dara, another win and you are running well in advance of your Deep Stack title defence.

tm2204 wrote: »
    WP Dara, another win and you are running well in advance of your Deep Stack title defence.

Thanks guys. There's never a bad time to get a run of cards but late on in a tournament when you've just been crippled (QQ v AQ all in pre) down to 2 big blinds is a particularly good one :)

well done

byrner1 wrote: »
    well done

Thank you. Pleasure playing with you.

Great place to play poker as ever...nicest place in Dublin imo.

byrner1 wrote: »
    Unluck Clamper he sure hit the cards at the right time, I ran into him with nines in the big blind when i pushed from small with A 3 , stilll I made some money for third so good night overall. Really enjoyable game last night

WELL PLAYED Alan, for a newbie, you sure have a great understanding of the game, you were a bit unlucky to hit a wall when you went all-in, Dara was running hot at that point and you didnt stand a chance

you werent long gone when i ran into Dara with Jacks again and that was that

Dara is a great player at the best of times and of course once he starts hitting cards, well the likes of you n me have no chance

well done Dara

Derek

Thank you everyone who turned up for this tourney and congratilation to Darragh ,well done Clamper who came second and congrats to everyone who scored !

Many Thanks Everyone ,

ok, put me down for this tomorrow evening,

any chance you could send Dara and Rob a couple of tickets to a show or something, these guys are breakin me heart

Derek

I have you down for this ,and anyway you are running hot so dont think anybody should be concerned about dara or rob you are the one to watch!!!recently winning a tough satellite,second in westbury,scoring in killarney ...well done !!!looking forward to see you in the club tomorrow

stick me down for tonight please

no probs Paul,looks like this one will be another good one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Maddogg

think it was my fault he won last week

i had him all in with 4.7k early on with AJ V my 10s with my stack at 27k and of course he spike a J :mad:

dont know if im gonna make it tonight...... very good tourney once you get those few donks out early like last week :D

ps byrne1 i think you peaked last week mate :P

Last week ? you mean last year !!

ok, put me down for this tomorrow evening,

any chance you could send Dara and Rob a couple of tickets to a show or something, these guys are breakin me heart

Derek

Rob didn't managed to get past the diversion Clamper arranged on the M50 to keep him from coming, I was out after 3 hands! So it fell to Alan, the newest member of the crew, to take it down this time :D

Great tournament and spot to play in as ever, and I think I'm in love with Tanya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

I really like the club and its nice and local to me but I have some constructive criticisms.

The standard of dealing is woeful this could be addressed with some training Im sure.

The TDing is a bit haphazard the application of some rules is wrong and the exclusion of others could be looked at, particularly the breaking of tables and moving players.

Apart from that the place is spot on and by far the most welcoming of Dublin cardrooms at present.

MAYBE YOU WOULD CLARIFY "WOEFUL"

the dealers can clearly deal the game and have an understanding of it

I am unaware of who you are or i might be able to work out which dealer you had a problem with

Gerri, is one of the most acomplished and knowledgable dealers around, so i am guessing she didnt deal at your table

The only off-beat thing i saw was a Rabbit Hunt being done, which I personally dont like seeing, other than that, maybe you would post what you saw as incorrect, I am sure the manager out there would like to hear it . them and correct it

I do agree, one of the most welcoming clubs around, they have a handy knack of customer relations you dont see very often these days

Well done to ALAN, one of the crew (Rob-Dara-Kat-and now Alan)
    dont know if he is playing that long, but he has his own style of play, which is hard to contest , particularly now as he is justified with a win

Derek

MAYBE YOU WOULD CLARIFY "WOEFUL"

the dealers can clearly deal the game and have an understanding of it

I am unaware of who you are or i might be able to work out which dealer you had a problem with

Gerri, is one of the most acomplished and knowledgable dealers around, so i am guessing she didnt deal at your table

The only off-beat thing i saw was a Rabbit Hunt being done, which I personally dont like seeing, other than that, maybe you would post what you saw as incorrect, I am sure the manager out there would like to hear it . them and correct it

I do agree, one of the most welcoming clubs around, they have a handy knack of customer relations you dont see very often these days

Well done to ALAN, one of the crew (Rob-Dara-Kat-and now Alan)
    dont know if he is playing that long, but he has his own style of play, which is hard to contest , particularly now as he is justified with a win

Derek

The last time I played a tournament there the dealer dealt a street without giving a player a chance to act three times (twice you were the player who had their option taken).

Once the dealer mucked a players cards whilst their was a chip on them as a card protector (you were the player again DereK).

Then in another hand the the legendary moved in Baz called and put his cards face up inside the betiing line only for the dealer to muck them.

Last cash game I played in, myself and another gent have effective stacks of 500, one player opens to 7 the other guy makes it 37, I call as the initial opener only has 42 then when the action gets back to the second guy after the opener shoved for the 42 the dealer allowed him to reopen the betting.

Same cash game I had to explain the subdivision of a side pot to the dealer after her two attempts both ended up with incorrect totals.

When you are moved in a tournament there you get to choose your seat at the destination table if there are a number of empty spots.

I like the place I just think these things are a bit amateur hour.

Eoin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭baz2007

derek have 2 agree with pillowtalk on this 1. westbury is customer friendly and has a good atmosphere.that hand were i tabled my 55s and the dealer mucked themi asked a few tds and they said that if they are tabled they can be retrieved from muck because the hand has been declared.There was a couple of other mistakes that could be tweaked out.1 of these is the payout he payed 9 last month for a 250 monthly with 35/40 runners it should be 4/5 max. the fitz monthly 100 plus only pays 10maybe he could luck at this also.i think these are just small problems that are easily fixed and i will defo return thx.

First of all many thanks for all the observations it is always good to mention these things so we can look at them and fix them .
    I have to say that I agree with Mr Pillowtalk in some of his comments and this will make us better ,breaking the tables and new sitting arrangements has been solved since ,in relation to payouts certenly we can look into and change it for better,as we have a new TD the ruling will be improved also .
    We will do absolutely everything to keep all our customers and players happy!
    Regarding the Standard of dealing in our club is absolutely first class ,of course the best of the best can make one or two mistakes as well ,it happens in every poker room every now and again!

Once again all issues will be dealt with immediately !

Thanks Derek ,Baz,Eoin

Regards,

Larry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 JJ Geddes

How can I get you to stop texting me? I have emailed you, texted you, called and come in to the club to ask for these to be stopped but you keep sending them. I have played here once and do not plan on returning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Donkathon

very simple, go to the local garda station and report them for harrasment and if it continues press charges against the owners

Hi JJ ,O2 recently has improved their website and txt-ing services which is giving us a bit of a hard time got more complicated etc... , please txt me your full name and mobile number to 0863304086 and i will make sure that you wont get any more messages from us or alternatively you can ring the club from 12 pm today and leave your details there.
    Once again I apologise for any inconvinience we may cost!

Regards,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

the dealer dealt a street without giving a player a chance to act three times

Once the dealer mucked a players cards whilst their was a chip on them as a card protector

Baz called and put his cards face up inside the betiing line only for the dealer to muck them.

one player opens to 7 the other guy makes it 37, I call as the initial opener only has 42 then when the action gets back to the second guy after the opener shoved for the 42 the dealer allowed him to reopen the betting.

Same cash game I had to explain the subdivision of a side pot to the dealer after her two attempts both ended up with incorrect totals.
    Regarding the Standard of dealing in our club is absolutely first class ,of course the best of the best can make one or two mistakes as well ,it happens in every poker room every now and again!

I've only played in the club once and have every intention of going back, but it does seem like there's a problem with the dealers that you're not seeing. Eoin has pointed out 5 occasions where dealer error has occured, and they arent just petty mistakes. There's nothing worse for driving players away from the club, than having incompetent dealers.

FWIW i dont know any of the dealers and dont know first hand if they are the best of the best or not, just pointing out that it may be something to look at

Once the dealer mucked a players cards whilst their was a chip on them as a card protector (you were the player again DereK).

ACTUALLY, now that you remind me, i recall that happening, as it turns out she saved me money in that hand, i would have been n busto for sure after the flop and dead on the river

even so, you are correct, at the time i was hopping, but after that river, i was happy she did it

as a poker player i have learned to forget bad beats and bad hands that send me to the rail, so these hands were long forgotten

in fairness, errors by dealers happen everywhere we play, no casino is exempt

I saw where Larry (from the westbury) immediately commented and thanked the posters for their consturctive criticism, promising to remedy as much as possible, which is great and at least is taken on board, genuinely trying to always improve

seriously though, well done to Larry and his team in the Westbury, i believe they are genuinely trying to make it a great place to play and trying to improve standards

Derek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

I have to agree with you there Derek , I have played in a lot of places around the country and the Westbury is ranked very near the top in my book anyway . There might be a few things that need tweaking a bit but i think Larry should be commended for adressing the issues straight away. WP larry and the Westbury,

Hi Everyone next week on the 17th of February this €110 NLH F/O tournament will be replaced with our Montly €270 event ,hopefully will have close to 50 players,along with complimentary Dinner in The Orchid Chinese Restaurant!
    Tonight the usual 110 F/O reaching numbers up tp 30-35 players !
    Good night and fine italian food&wine,selection of hot and cold buffet , etc....

I dropped in here over the weekend again, the game was fish filled as allways and the dealer was a far more competent (polish perhaps) lad who didnt make any obvious errors. The place deserves to be busier, the games are softest in Dublin and you are well looked after.

Anyone know who won this last night ? how did Bob the donk do