Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shotguns?

• 22-11-2008 12:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭

So i want something a bit different for xmas.
    The santa fella reckons I have a 200e budget.
    I would really like a gas shotgun but they are a bit too expensive
    http://www.eirsoft.ie/store/index.php?cPath=37

The silver and wood one looks awfull!
    I really like the short Maruzen.

I have also seen this but there is no brand on it, and one of the lads has it already so i couldnt be doin that.
    http://www.mainirishairsoft.com/scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=439

Any other options?
    And can some one tell me the dealio witht the shells?
    no mag or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

There is a description of how the Maruzen M1100 works in the link. Never used an airsoft shotgun myself so I've no idea what they're likw but I really like the look of this one.

http://www.airsofteire.com/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=shop.flypage&product_id=240&category_id=26&manufacturer_id=0&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭spicymchaggis

skapegoat wrote: »

I have also seen this but there is no brand on it, and one of the lads has it already so i couldnt be doin that.

Any other options?
    no mag or what?

that is the black 6mm of the silver and wood same brand. the ones in eirsoft shoot 8mm bb's though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

skapegoat wrote: »

Any other options?
    no mag or what?

There is a black version of that chrome M500 shotgun too, but as mentioned, they both fire 8mm rounds instead of 6mm. Lovely yokes though, really chunky feel to them.

The Maruzen is great but it ejects shells as it's firing so it's not hugely practical. It is, however, ridiculously good fun.

The other option is spring shotguns. Don't discount then just because they're springers, TM do what is probably the most accurate and skirmishable shotgun in the form of their SPAS12 and M3 Super90. I have the M3 and it kicks snot out of most other shotties, but it's a tad long for most people. The SPAS12 is just as good, and arguably looks a bit better, while being shorter. They use a three-barrel system rather than forcing gas down one barrel to push several rounds. It makes it more stable and gives it a heck of a lot more range. They also use shotgun shell shaped magazines so runnning out of ammo isn't an issue (most other shotties are a pain to reload in the field).
    Double Eagle make a clone of these tri-barrel shotguns which, by all reports I've heard, are great and are a fraction of the price. They mainly have derivitives of the M3 in the line, I haven't spotted a SPAS12 clone yet but it could be there.

If you're definitely going with gas, Maruzens M500 is top drawer stuff, but you will pay higher prices for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Turncoat

NakedDex wrote: »
    There is a black version of that chrome M500 shotgun too, but as mentioned, they both fire 8mm rounds instead of 6mm. Lovely yokes though, really chunky feel to them.

The Maruzen is great but it ejects shells as it's firing so it's not hugely practical. It is, however, ridiculously good fun.

The other option is spring shotguns. Don't discount then just because they're springers, TM do what is probably the most accurate and skirmishable shotgun in the form of their SPAS12 and M3 Super90. I have the M3 and it kicks snot out of most other shotties, but it's a tad long for most people. The SPAS12 is just as good, and arguably looks a bit better, while being shorter. They use a three-barrel system rather than forcing gas down one barrel to push several rounds. It makes it more stable and gives it a heck of a lot more range. They also use shotgun shell shaped magazines so runnning out of ammo isn't an issue (most other shotties are a pain to reload in the field).
    Double Eagle make a clone of these tri-barrel shotguns which, by all reports I've heard, are great and are a fraction of the price. They mainly have derivitives of the M3 in the line, I haven't spotted a SPAS12 clone yet but it could be there.

If you're definitely going with gas, Maruzens M500 is top drawer stuff, but you will pay higher prices for it.

I have the Double Eagle clone of the Marui M3 and it chronoes between 290-300, which I never expected of a springer. A must buy for shotgun lovers. I never tried the TM version but I am sure it would be great for cqb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

now if someone did a gas spas12 with stock.....i would be so all over that...or even the shelled version....i would guess whoever makes that will sell so much of it.

thanks dex the answers and skapegoat for the thread (sorry for the hijack), i have been looking into the gas shotties for a while...

The TM SPAS12 has a fold out stock and is loaded using 30 round shells (three bbs per trigger pull so 10 shots per shell). You can also buy SPAS12 stocks as an aftermarket part, though they take a bit of hunting for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Horse84

I have a TM M3 super 90, the full stock version, it's lightweight, very long and packs a punch. They're hard to chrono but it would be pretty high 290ish sounds about right.

Very accurate as well and super reliable, for the price it would want to be i suppose:).

For skirmishing the pistol stock version is more practical i guess. each shell holds 30 bb's and has to pumped after each shot, it also comes with a handy little tool to load the bb's. The shells do look a little plasticy and toyish but do the job. All in all a very good buy i thnk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭tonyj_mc

If tm ever decide to make the spas 12 with stock you'll see me top of the queue with a kidney in my hand. Haven't been able to find one but the quest continues. There are really cheap ones on ebay in the us. Might try to order one.

They made them already? Has noone ever seen them? I must be on my own here.

TM made a tri-barrel SPAS12 at the same time as the M3 Super90 and M3 Shorty. Apparently people kept taking the stock off the SPAS12 and using them without, so TM started making them without the stock to meet market demands. This also dropped the price a bit. A few people still wanted the stock (apparently all of ye included) so TM produced the stock as an aftermarket part for a while. It's hard to find now but it is out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,818 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

NakedDex wrote: »
    They made them already? Has noone ever seen them? I must be on my own here.

TM made a tri-barrel SPAS12 at the same time as the M3 Super90 and M3 Shorty. Apparently people kept taking the stock off the SPAS12 and using them without, so TM started making them without the stock to meet market demands. This also dropped the price a bit. A few people still wanted the stock (apparently all of ye included) so TM produced the stock as an aftermarket part for a while. It's hard to find now but it is out there.

Just to confirm what Dex said:

http://www.redwolfairsoft.com/redwolf/airsoft/ProductDetail?prodID=9404

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭k99_64

Horse84 wrote: »
    I have a TM M3 super 90, the full stock version, it's lightweight, very long and packs a punch. They're hard to chrono but it would be pretty high 290ish sounds about right.

Very accurate as well and super reliable, for the price it would want to be i suppose:).

For skirmishing the pistol stock version is more practical i guess. each shell holds 30 bb's and has to pumped after each shot, it also comes with a handy little tool to load the bb's. The shells do look a little plasticy and toyish but do the job. All in all a very good buy i thnk!

The range is comparable to most aegs and the spread is nice, also it is accurate and reliable as horse says!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

ah yes...but gas shotty...metal....mmmmh.....spas12 in gas metal...maybe even shell ejecting...i would be all over that like a suit from pennies....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Horse84

ah yes...but gas shotty...metal....mmmmh.....spas12 in gas metal...maybe even shell ejecting...i would be all over that like a suit from pennies....

:D +1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Sharad wrote: »
    I have the Double Eagle clone of the Marui M3 and it chronoes between 290-300, which I never expected of a springer. A must buy for shotgun lovers. I never tried the TM version but I am sure it would be great for cqb.

I have the Double Eagle TM clone as well. It's brilliant if your a fan of shotties!

The TM M3 Super90 is pretty light due to it's typical TM plastic stock (robust and strong but light and clearly ABS) and the pistol grip has a nice rubbery coating. The barrel and pump tube, however, are all metal. I haven't seen the SPAS12 up close but I'd assume it's the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 schvattings

Greetings! Great to see the thread lads ...
    I'm posting for opinions/input/advice on a SHOTGUN .....
    Myself & my mates have a few Jing Gong H&K G36C's and have found them really good but I've been fighting-off the itch for something with a little more "grunt" for a long time now and thus have decided just to jump-in!
    I've seen LOADS of them online but not sure which one to go for, GAS probably, I dunno? + I think a full-stock model!

I've been looking at the:

Maruzen M870 BV GBB
    Tokyo Marui M3 Super 90
    and the cheaper M500 Shotgun 6mm

Just a bit of input or advise from yeer experience with the likes .... Or even which one to stay away from ...
    If u know anything that might set me straight for a-goodie or make me stay away from a-baddie that would be deadly!
    + Where might be a good Dublin based retailer to pick the beauty up .... ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

best choice for a primary is the Tm tri-shooters with over 110 feet effective range tightgroupings and cheap available shells you can easily carry more ammo then you will need without any real extra weight. they are very plasticky but their still the best all round skirmishable shotty you can get,

best choice for a secondary/cqb shotty well ive been using the Acm 8mm mossberg for a little under a year now and its lethal under 65 feet especially for punching through brush, spreads a lot sooner then a Tm and 8mm is just bad ass :pac:,
    its also much more enjoyable to use with a more realistic pump sound and solid metal weight to it but i wouldnt advise it as a primary in many cases due to its range and ammo capacity. it does have its problems which will pop up eventually such as the weak charging handles and unlubed seals
    Most of the 6mm Acm mossbergs have some serious problems, some [possibly the first production run] dont even have a hop unit, and apparantly they dont spread very well and just go groundword together. Their also known to misfeed which in my opinion is unforgivable in such a gun.
    hope this helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Killinator

but i wouldnt advise it as a primary

Who are you and what have you done to Shane:eek:

Who are you and what have you done to Shane
    *Mr Burns voice* Oh... Wouldn't you like to know? ;)

i only use it as a primary in our cqb woods and in the Gorse, totally unsuited in the pallet field due to its random spead, low range and ammo capacity, its grand everywere else as it will punch through all other kinds of cover but it cant punch through pallets :P and isnt accurate enough to hit someone reliably if their almost entirely in solid cover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 schvattings

best choice for a primary is the Tm tri-shooters with over 110 feet effective range tightgroupings and cheap available shells you can easily carry more ammo then you will need without any real extra weight. they are very plasticky but their still the best all round skirmishable shotty you can get,

best choice for a secondary/cqb shotty well ive been using the Acm 8mm mossberg for a little under a year now and its lethal under 65 feet especially for punching through brush, spreads a lot sooner then a Tm and 8mm is just bad ass :pac:,
    its also much more enjoyable to use with a more realistic pump sound and solid metal weight to it but i wouldnt advise it as a primary in many cases due to its range and ammo capacity. it does have its problems which will pop up eventually such as the weak charging handles and unlubed seals
    Most of the 6mm Acm mossbergs have some serious problems, some [possibly the first production run] dont even have a hop unit, and apparantly they dont spread very well and just go groundword together. Their also known to misfeed which in my opinion is unforgivable in such a gun.
    hope this helps

Cheers dude!
    Very helpful, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭DisasterIRL

What's model is that shotgun?

TM do a couple of kinds in their Tri-Barrel series:

SPAS12 with stock (hard to find these days)
    SPAS12 without stock (great all-around shotgun)
    M3 Super90 with stock (over 42inches long, so not exactly CQB friendly)
    M3 Super90 Shorty without stock (shorter barrel and no stock but hard to find lately)

Double Eagle do copies of the M3 Super90 Shorty with stock and without stock which are, by all reports, just as effective and even can use TM shells. The Shorty without stock would be similar in size to the SPAS12 without the stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭ASI Casper

+1 on what NakedDex & Scope have said. TM tri-barrel shottys are the way to go.

TM Shotty's are FUN! TM Shotty's give SATISFYING KILLS! TM Shotty's don't use much ammo! You don't have to worry about batteries! TM Shotty's are accurate!
    They're basically pump-action sniper rifles! Cheap & cheerful yet still skirmishable.
    In the right hands, they can hold their own against an AEG. They're not for everyone though. Takes a different style of playing than you might be used to with an AEG. Getting into the habit of counting your shots and fast reloads is essential.
    They're not the most powerful with an FPS of 240, but the hop is great on it.

The Double Eagle clones of the TM shottys have caught my eye recently though. Heard good things about them and want to get my hands on one.

I should point, all the TM shottys have exactly the same internals, including the inner barrel length. So the most practical and skirmishable in my opinion is the M3 shorty.

There was MS90 springs for TM shotties available for a while, though I'm hard pressed to find them anymore. There was also upgraded piston heads available but these have gone the same way. A few of these would give it some decent range to match it's excellence in other ways.

What's model is that shotgun?

Tm M3 Benelli [shorty] it was my first gun and i still believe that it was one the most effective out of the box but sadly has been dead for quite a while now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭ASI Casper

Other mods for them include:
    -A vertical foregrip for the M3 variants
    -tight barrels ( set of 3 obviously )
    -an extending stock of the Benelli M4 type. ( AKA as the M1014 Joint-Service Shotgun )

All of which I have. :)