Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a change of Captaincy

• 21-11-2008 3:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭

I think a change of captaincy is long overdue - just heard BOD on the lunchtime news and boy does he sound like a deflated college boy - talking about pride in the jersey like he was talking about going to Mass.

How in hell is he supposed to build confidence in the team - imagine him trying to stir up the likes of Paul O'Connell and John Hayes.

Its about time some of the team got stuck into the opposition rather than worrying about the state of their hair on national TV.

Change of captaincy? 54 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    68% 37 votes
    Who cares
    31% 17 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭NotWormBoy

Many would agree that a change of captain wouldn't be a bad thing for the team or for O'Driscoll himself, a credible alternative has to be found. The only two candidates to date are POC or ROG, neither of which have done great for the few times they've been there as captain.

Who else? Wallace?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

How often is it necessary to discuss this?

There is no other stand-out candidate. Talk of other players not being able to repect BOD is nonsense. The end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Who else is there?

How long has Paul O'Connell got left in him? Has Bowe, Fitz, Kearney got the leadership potential?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

I remember there was a documentary of the Irish team which featured Paul O'Connell bellowing at the players in the dressing room, and people called for him to be captain because he had more passion than BOD.

O'Driscoll's captained the Lions, his team, and his country for a reason. He's the most brave and passionate player I've seen in my lifetime, and has consistently stepped up to the mark, more so than anyone else we've produced. The guy's a class act, and deserves the captaincy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

Warper wrote: »
    and boy does he sound like a deflated college boy -

Its about time some of the team got stuck into the opposition rather than worrying about the state of their hair on national TV.

Is your problem with BOD the fact that he is the sterotypical D4 head (even though he is actually from the northside) or that he is a bad captain?

Just wondering because the two comments above highlight your resentment towards BOD not because he is a bad captain but because of his backround and personal life.

Out of interest when has BOD not got stuck into the opposition? What has his hair got to do with anything?

What an idioitc post.

Who do you want to be captain instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Is your problem with BOD the fact that he is the sterotypical D4 head (even though he is actually from the northside) or that he is a bad captain?

Just wondering because the two comments above highlight your resentment towards BOD not because he is a bad captain but because of his backround and personal life.

Out of interest when has BOD not got stuck into the opposition? What has his hair got to do with anything?

What an idioitc post.

Who do you want to be captain instead?

Steady on there RugbyFanatic, this isnt the BOD appreciation thread!!

Look there is IMO no arguing with the fact that O'Driscoll is an exceptional player and upthere in the list of all time Irish greats but you do have to admit that the captaincy does seem at times to be a burden on him and this isnt a criticism its just that it doesnt seem to come naturally to him and he tries too hard which inevitably has an adverse affect on his game, eveidence of this can be seen in his vastly improved form for leinster since he handed over the captaincy.

Personaaly I like the idea of having the captain either in the pack or at OH as you are more involved in the game in these positions personally i would go with wallace but like any of us here that is merely a hunch the reality is I have no idea if he is actually a good leader, organiser, motivater and decision maker but he certainly gives the impression that he would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Tbh there's no outstanding captains in the country just decent one's im afraid hardly gonna make any difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Listen i know BOD is a class player - he always has been - no doubt about this but i question his ability as captain.

But there is a lack of passion about this team and there has been for the past 18 months - as regards who should be Capt. - it should be POC - nearly always the capt. should be a forward - the guy in the firing line. We must do something to get us out of this slump - changing Capt. wont create miracles but at least its a change of focus on the team because as of now we mightn't even beat Scotland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

I think a change of captaincy is long overdue - just heard BOD on the lunchtime news and boy does he sound like a deflated college boy - talking about pride in the jersey like he was talking about going to Mass.

How in hell is he supposed to build confidence in the team - imagine him trying to stir up the likes of Paul O'Connell and John Hayes.

He doesn't have to build confidence or stir up you. Just the team.
    You've no idea how O'Driscoll is getting things going in the changing room with this squad and these coaches and are obviously out of your depth if you think that he is there just for the poses and attention.

The current team are into their third game. They lost last week. To a superior team who generally set the standards in the game today. You've got them written off already? What next? Blame it on the shirts? The Haka? The anthems? The bloke outside who gave wrong directions to the wrong turnstile? :rolleyes:

But there is a lack of passion about this team and there has been for the past 18 months.

There is far far more wrong with the Irish team then just a lack of passion. I don't know how anyone can think that the problem is that the lads just don't care enough when playing for Ireland.

Listen i know BOD is a class player - he always has been - no doubt about this but i question his ability as captain.

But there is a lack of passion about this team and there has been for the past 18 months - as regards who should be Capt. - it should be POC - nearly always the capt. should be a forward - the guy in the firing line. We must do something to get us out of this slump - changing Capt. wont create miracles but at least its a change of focus on the team because as of now we mightn't even beat Scotland.

There hasnt been a massive difference when POC was captain though ala France 2007 in Croker a good ca

Seriously what difference will it make? POC probably has just as much influence as BOD anyway.

Listen its time for a change of captain - end of. Whoever it may be good luck to him.

Whatever about everything else this must be done ASAP.

BOD has even lost the Leinster captaincy for crying out loud.

He didn't lose it, he gave it up. Which is of little relevance, he wasn't the Leinster captain when he became Ireland captain and should never really have been given it - it was too much of a workload and he was missing too many games.

Mind you, I'd have Cullen as captain over BOD in the national team as well as I think he's better at it. I just don't think POC or anyone else for that matter has demonstrated anything to suggest they would be (and your reasons for thinking BOD should lose the captaincy are completely ridiculous).

Listen its time for a change of captain - end of. Whoever it may be good luck to him.

Why is it time for a change? Please, present a decent argument and I'll read it.

He didn't 'lose' it, I'm sure if he'd wanted the captaincy he'd still have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭wowy

Lost? He gave it up. There's a big difference between your implication and the reality.

And give it to who?

Is there some magic thing associated with the captaincy? Will suddenly Ireland start putting 50 points on people and regain our best position of 3rd of the world rankings? Will suddenly every player in the squad become the best in world because someone else has a armband with c on it?

Look there's feck all decent captains in this country at the moment and nothing will happen if BOD looses it as i said already POC has just the amount of influence he has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Snore. This has been done to death. Next thread please. Maybe you would care to start one about ROG playing better for Munster than Ireland. Havent had one of them in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

Personally, I think Heaslip is potentially a good captain in the making, however his performances for Ireland have gone off the boil recently.

He has potential in a year or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

BOD relinquished the Leinster captaincy as he wanted to take a step back from the limelight after what he went thru last season on a sporting and personal level plus Cullen is a great leader.
    Paul O'Connell shouting about putting the fear of God in opposition is not what's required in an International Captain, reckon we'll see Rob Kearney in years to come as Irish Captain.
    ROG would be my call,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

Podge_irl wrote: »

Mind you, I'd have Cullen as captain over BOD in the national team as well as I think he's better at it. I just don't think POC or anyone else for that matter has demonstrated anything to suggest they would be (and your reasons for thinking BOD should lose the captaincy are completely ridiculous).

Steve_o; Was that POC's first time to captain Ireland - and in Croke Park. He has a bit more experience under his belt now as captain of Munster as he only took over from Axel in the start of the 2007 season.

In an interview after the Sale v. Munster match, D Ryan was asked what he felt like when Sale equalised (latish in the match). Ryan just said - "Paulie got us together and said we're going to get the ball down the other end and we're going to score a try." And that's what they did (within about 4 minutes). No panic.

I heard Leamy saying something similar about H Cup final (when his first try was disallowed). "Paulie just said we are going to score. And they did.

POC seems to be able to inspire confidence and belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Just because POC screamed his mouth of in that rugby documentry in the dressing rooms doesn't make him a great captain. A captain has to be calm under pressure, POC has indicated in the past that he can be a bit of a hot head on the pitch. He plays with an incredible amount of passion, but imo he doesn't control that passion at times on the pitch like Martin Johnson did, who he is often compared to. ROG is the calming influence at Munster on the pitch, but Munster and Ireland are two different things. BOD is there of course because he's the best player and does the whole 'leading by example' thing. There is nobody outstanding atm who deserves to replace him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭John_C

Why is it time for a change? Please, present a decent argument and I'll read it.
    Did you not read the post about BOD's haircut?

John_C wrote: »
    Did you not read the post about BOD's haircut?

I heard he's a D4 head too. :rolleyes:

Steve_o; Was that POC's first time to captain Ireland - and in Croke Park. He has a bit more experience under his belt now as captain of Munster as he only took over from Axel in the start of the 2007 season.

In an interview after the Sale v. Munster match, D Ryan was asked what he felt like when Sale equalised (latish in the match). Ryan just said - "Paulie got us together and said we're going to get the ball down the other end and we're going to score a try." And that's what they did (within about 4 minutes). No panic.

I heard Leamy saying something similar about H Cup final (when his first try was disallowed). "Paulie just said we are going to score. And they did.

POC seems to be able to inspire confidence and belief.

He does that for Ireland though anyway he's pack leader thats what's expected of him so thats why i dont see a major difference in him being made captain.

Stev_o wrote: »
    He does that for Ireland though anyway he's pack leader thats what's expected of him so thats why i dont see a major difference in him being made captain.

The difference is that Munster rarely/never panic. Ireland does. Is it that the team are just in awe of BOD and his talent. Is the problem that the 'leaders' seem to be very different. POC & BOD wouldn't have too much in common I'd say.

I wonder does it make a difference that the Munster players select their own captain by vote?

Something is just not right.

The difference is that Munster rarely/never panic. Ireland does. Is it that the team are just in awe of BOD and his talent. Is the problem that the 'leaders' seem to be very different. POC & BOD wouldn't have too much in common I'd say.

I wonder does it make a difference that the Munster players select their own captain by vote?

Something is just not right.

I mean look against the All Blacks we had 2 Province captains on the field and one former one how in anyway they can be lost for leadership is certainly beyond me.

POC is a vocal leader constant talk etc but can over do it (Stop being selfish and say to the doctor your gone ffs that's how cost Ireland matches)

Bod is a captain on the basis of being the best player there and thus the whole setting the example but he can make some real brain dead decisions
    (Going for the corner against Argentina RWC in the first minute when he should of said go for the post)

Best is a capable leader but is probably told to shut up and play by the looks of things or something i have no idea.

The fact is that there are a number of hugely experienced players in this squad who are either all yes men, are all quiet men or something is holding them back.

It absolutely annoys the living f*ck outta me that TWO of our provinces WON the Magners League and Heineken Cup and yet all we can muster is a win against Canda.

Here's a fact. Leicester won the EDF and Premiership in 2007, Wasps won the Heineken Cup. England got to the final of the RWC 2007

South Africa had two teams in a all South African Super 14 final. They go on to win the world cup.

We have two provinces win two titles and have what to show for it? Oh yeah 8th place in the world rankings and hoping to god that we dont loose again or else we are down to 9th.

F*ck sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

A couple of years ago I was working on the preparations for the marquees at Lansdowne Road (Guinness tents and hospitality etc etc). We were there working for about 4 days while the team were training on the field adjacent to us. What stood out over those few days was how BOD and POC stood out, one for his size (POC is a monster) and BOD.

I must state, we would see only bits and pieces of the training, deadlines etc etc etc with work deadlines and general lack-of-interest, so I am not intending to offend anyone here, this is only what a few of us mortals took from those couple days. BOD was stuckup. On a couple occasions when returning an errant ball BOD would take, turn and off he goes. Everyone else would at least say 'cheers' 'thanks' 'nice one'. I know it's only basic manners - no offense was taken, why would it? - I also understand the pressure these boys are under in representing Ireland and the focus and concentration this entails. 'Press Day' allowed the press there for half an hour. BOD wore different training gear to his previous couple days and a bobbin hat. He stood out. Perhaps for clarity in TV recordings or whatever, but he really stood out. The weather was ok, no one else was in a bobbin hat. Posing like ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

I wonder what the man himself thinks of all of this? Seems to be playing better at Leinster now that his captaincy role has gone. Not sure if that is the reason or not, but it certainly seems to have something to do with it. Maybe he himself would prefer to hand over the reigns now and focus on his game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

A couple of years ago I was working on the preparations for the marquees at Lansdowne Road (Guinness tents and hospitality etc etc). We were there working for about 4 days while the team were training on the field adjacent to us. What stood out over those few days was how BOD and POC stood out, one for his size (POC is a monster) and BOD.

I must state, we would see only bits and pieces of the training, deadlines etc etc etc with work deadlines and general lack-of-interest, so I am not intending to offend anyone here, this is only what a few of us mortals took from those couple days. BOD was stuckup. On a couple occasions when returning an errant ball BOD would take, turn and off he goes. Everyone else would at least say 'cheers' 'thanks' 'nice one'. I know it's only basic manners - no offense was taken, why would it? - I also understand the pressure these boys are under in representing Ireland and the focus and concentration this entails. 'Press Day' allowed the press there for half an hour. BOD wore different training gear to his previous couple days and a bobbin hat. He stood out. Perhaps for clarity in TV recordings or whatever, but he really stood out. The weather was ok, no one else was in a bobbin hat. Posing like ****.

So you're saying BOD shouldn't be captain because he's stuck up? Seriously, what are you saying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

I didn't really say anything apart from that he might perhaps be stuckup. Don't think I said anything else, nothing to merit it being a big deal anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

He didn't 'lose' it, I'm sure if he'd wanted the captaincy he'd still have it.

exactly... plus the fact he will captain the next lions tour..assuming he isnt mangeled before hand.He is not only the capt because he is the best player.. but because he leads from the front. He has shown over the years that he is totally dedicated to the irish team... and by the way everyone makes mistakes on the pitch. It is easy for people who are sitting at home watching the game to bitch about what he should and should not have done. The fact is he has been captain of this country 50 times.. how many people here can say they have captain of their local team not to mind their country.. IMO none of ye have any right to judge him... ye have never been the dressing room or know him for that fact.....

twinytwo wrote: »
    exactly... plus the fact he will captain the next lions tour..assuming he isnt mangeled before hand.He is not only the capt because he is the best player.. but because he leads from the front. He has shown over the years that he is totally dedicated to the irish team... and by the way everyone makes mistakes on the pitch. It is easy for people who are sitting at home watching the game to bitch about what he should and should not have done. The fact is he has been captain of this country 50 times.. how many people here can say they have captain of their local team not to mind their country.. IMO none of ye have any right to judge him... ye have never been the dressing room or know him for that fact.....

Exactly he has been captain of the country for 50 times yet we have never won a six nations, do well in a world cup, had a good tour abroad etc.

We are strugglig to stay in the top 8 of the world - effectively 9 teams playing rugby worldwide and yet brian is our man. Listen the guy can play rugby but i doubt he has much respect from over half of the Irish team - he just doesnt cut it as Capt - never has and never will.

Exactly he has been captain of the country for 50 times yet we have never won a six nations, do well in a world cup, had a good tour abroad etc.

We are strugglig to stay in the top 8 of the world - effectively 9 teams playing rugby worldwide and yet brian is our man. Listen the guy can play rugby but i doubt he has much respect from over half of the Irish team - he just doesnt cut it as Capt - never has and never will.

Why do you doubt the respect of half the team for him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Blured

Listen the guy can play rugby but i doubt he has much respect from over half of the Irish team - he just doesnt cut it as Capt - never has and never will.

So Eddie O'Sullivan, Declan Kidney, Michael Cheika and Clive Woodward know less about Rugby and leadership than you do so!

To say that only half the team respect BOD is absolute nonsense - the man is one of the best players to have ever worn the green jersey and he is respected the world over. I think you are just sh*t stirring tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

I think it is time change.

A lot of people have had good and bad things to say here, and I agree with a lot of opinions expressed, but:

I think that BOD plays better when he is not the captain. He is a better team player, and he puts himself on the line more when he is not captain. He has played very well the last few times for Leinster, I thought it was as if a weight had been lifted off his shoulders.

ROG is a good player, but it seems to me like he has been going through the motions this seasons. He is very good at what he does, but I think that he has been doing enough to keep the criticism at bay, but not enough that people would say - WOW, he had a fantastic game, I have never seen him play as well. (After the game on Tuesday, I thought - WOW, Peter Skinner had a fantastic game. I thought he was a 'has been', but he proved me wrong.)

I think that POC is playing well at the moment, and that he had a good season last year. He would be my choice for captain.

Now, you are welcome to disagree with me, but that is what I think. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭John_C

I was out in Rio's and I saw BOD drinking cosmopolitans but POC was drinking Guinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,889 ✭✭✭cgarvey

BOD has been playing much better in Leinster since he gave up captaincy. That's about the only argument I can think of for doing the same for Ireland. Nowhere near enough of an argument, IMO, to change him.

Paulie is a great motivator, definitely, and I'm sure that's why he's given free reign in the dressing room. However there's more to a captain. There's keeping the head, leading by example, and good decision making (not just in your own play). BoD has shown that. Paulie has too, but he's also had mares.

Paulie and RoG should not be captains, IMO. BoD should probably be relieved of it, too, so that he can concentrate on his game (it's working in Leinster), but there is no better candidate right now, and no compelling enough reason to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

and thats his fault??.. the teams plays crap but its his fault we havent won anything... The best player this country has ever produced who was the only one who even tried at the world cup the last irish man to captain the lions since 83..But according to you he is not respected...And how exactly would you who does and dosent respect him?.... WHo on the irish team at the mo do u think would do a better job?? DO u think that by changing the captain we suddenly jump back up the rankings.... i think not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

And funnily enough the year we should've won it the game we lost and ultimately cost us the six nations was the game that BOD was injured for (v France)

Out of interest what are you basing this doubt that half the team don't respect BOD on? I personally know a player involved in the Irish set up and he says BOD is one of the most popular lads on the team.

Never cut it as captain? Sorry but you dont get to captain your country 50times under two differnet managers, captain your province and more importantly be selected to captain the Lions if you can't cut it.

You dislike BOD as captain for other petty reasons that I have already mentioned in another post. You can dress it up however you like but saying statements like ''deflated college boy'' and ''he should get stuck into the opposition rather than worrying about his hair'' show us that this isn't about his captaining ability at all and rather you acting like a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

Here's my view on it, I would be happy to see a change, not because I don't think BOD is a good captain, in fact I think he was/is a good captain. I would like to see a change because I think a change might shake things up a bit, something that is needed every now and again just like a change of government is and the Ireland set-up right now really needs a shake from what I can see and hear of it. Also I think going on BO'D's recent return to top form for Leinster he himself might relish the chance of fully focusing on his game and not worrying so much about everyone else around him, of course he can still lead by example just by playing well and throwing body on the line etc..

In saying that however I wouldn't want to remove him but would rather let he himself decide if he wants to stay on or not,as forcibly removing him could do more harm than good and his captaincy as I said above is good anyway.

I would be very interested to know what the man himself really thinks about that.

davyjose wrote: »
    So you're saying BOD shouldn't be captain because he's stuck up? Seriously, what are you saying?

Its not about being 'stuck up'. Its manners to say please and thanks. It can portray what his character/style of leadership is. Think Shackleton v. Scott. Shackleton was regarded as a very inspired leader because he treated everyone just the same (whether they were officers or not) and they would/did die for him. Scott was more a remote character.

I see a comment from Roy Keane about one of his players, Chimbondo who seems to have a bit of an attitude problem. Keane's quote is: "He has to train well, be on time, show good attitude to the club, to me, to the girls in the canteen, the staff, the team, the kitman, all round the football club. It's the whole package."

Stev_o wrote: »
    I mean look against the All Blacks we had 2 Province captains on the field and one former one how in anyway they can be lost for leadership is certainly beyond me.

POC is a vocal leader constant talk etc but can over do it (Stop being selfish and say to the doctor your gone ffs that's how cost Ireland matches)

Bod is a captain on the basis of being the best player there and thus the whole setting the example but he can make some real brain dead decisions
    (Going for the corner against Argentina RWC in the first minute when he should of said go for the post)

Best is a capable leader but is probably told to shut up and play by the looks of things or something i have no idea.

The fact is that there are a number of hugely experienced players in this squad who are either all yes men, are all quiet men or something is holding them back.
    It absolutely annoys the living f*ck outta me that TWO of our provinces WON the Magners League and Heineken Cup and yet all we can muster is a win against Canda.

BOD was out injured most of last year and hardly played for Leinster. Leo was captain.

Ulster is hardly pulling up trees under Rory's leadership - I've heard Ulster fans say he is not a particularly vocal captain anyway.
    Here's a fact. Leicester won the EDF and Premiership in 2007, Wasps won the Heineken Cup. England got to the final of the RWC 2007

South Africa had two teams in a all South African Super 14 final. They go on to win the world cup.

We have two provinces win two titles and have what to show for it? Oh yeah 8th place in the world rankings and hoping to god that we dont loose again or else we are down to 9th.

Maybe it shows the preparation for the World Cup was wrong and the provinces benefited from it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Probably the most retarded post I've read on here in a long time. Thanks.

And funnily enough the year we should've won it the game we lost and ultimately cost us the six nations was the game that BOD was injured for (v France)

Indeed, best player we have missing, Shane Horgan as centre :). Its a miracle they held France so close. btw, Stringer, who is a good decision maker, was also missing ;)
    Out of interest what are you basing this doubt that half the team don't respect BOD on? I personally know a player involved in the Irish set up and he says BOD is one of the most popular lads on the team.

I'd say DOC is very popular as well - not too sure he is captain material though!
    Never cut it as captain? Sorry but you dont get to captain your country 50times under two differnet managers, captain your province and more importantly be selected to captain the Lions if you can't cut it.

You might - if you are that country's best player. And no reflection on BOD here, but the 2005 Lions was an absolute disaster!
    You dislike BOD as captain for other petty reasons that I have already mentioned in another post. You can dress it up however you like but saying statements like ''deflated college boy'' and ''he should get stuck into the opposition rather than worrying about his hair'' show us that this isn't about his captaining ability at all and rather you acting like a child.

BOD was in the same class as my cousin (who wasn't into rugby) in Blackrock. He says a lot of the rugby guys were real pain in the asses, but BOD wasn't one of them. Keith Wood tells a very funny story about Austin Healy and BOD on the 2001 Lions Tour having a boxing match - (BOD floored Healey a few times!). :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭High&Low

And the reason we didn't win the 6 nations/grand slam in 2007 is arguably because BOD was injured against France and someone else was captain!!!

High&Low wrote: »
    And the reason we didn't win the 6 nations/grand slam in 2007 is arguably because BOD was injured against France and someone else was captain!!!

Yes, our best PLAYER was missing. Peter Stringer's experience was probably also missed as he was injured as well.

It was amazing we got anyway close with those two missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

the decision to have o gara kick at goal from a bad position rather than take a 10 metre scrum defies logic.

old boy wrote: »
    the decision to have o gara kick at goal from a bad position rather than take a 10 metre scrum defies logic.

Not too sure which one you are referring to here - but our scrum has never been our strongest point so I can understand why that option might have been chosen.

In the HCup final this year (against Toulouse) - Munster got a lot of flack for stuffing the ball up the jumper!

You can't please everyone.

Bearing in mind that Leinster (captained by BOD) went for pointless glory in Toulouse last season and missing out on a bonus point suggests that BOD's decision making can also be suspect.